OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful renovated stone house with private pool, walled garden, outdoor living area, 7 bedrooms



Updated: 10-Oct-2016
On Hvar Island, near Stari Grad - 15 Minutes Walk To Secluded Beach

The property is in the charming village of Rudina. Beautiful secluded beaches are a 10 to 15 minutes walk away. The town of Stari Grad, 2 km away and a Unesco Worl Heritage site, offers plentiful shopping and restaurant choices. The property have been renovated and completely modernized, including air-conditioning and Internet access. Perfect for several families, offering both communal and separate living quarters.

The villa has a 200 square metre garden with a pool, a lovely shaded patio with a Weber barbecue and an outdoor salon with hardwood deck. It is surrounded by a high stone wall for exceptional privacy. The property comprises roughly 300 square metres of living space, and can sleep 14 people. 6 of the bedrooms have queen-size beds and one bedroom has 2 single beds. The high-end Italian kitchen includes a dishwasher and a washing machine.

One important note: you will need a car or cars during your stay, or at the very least you will need to rent motor scooters once you are there. Stari Grad is close by, but Rudina is up a big hill from it, and you won't want to walk every time you need to do some shopping or eat out.

More Details
  • Sleeps 14
  • 7 Bedrooms
  • 5 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I'm an American magazine writer living in Paris with my wife and two kids. I moved here in 2001 from New York, partly because I had never lived anywhere else and because Europe always seemed to me the seat of romance and real charm. It was the best decision I ever made. I'm staying put.

I'm an avid reader and a music lover--I play the piano for fun--and I like to sit around the house. The homes I make for myself tend to enhance the act of sitting around, and I think the Rudina house does this better than anyplace I've lived.

There are few things more deeply pleasurable to me than sitting in the garden pavillion in my Rudine house, listening to the cicadas and watching the sun slide down over the garden wall.

Call Owner
Speaks English, French, Italian

7 Reviews

based on 7 holidaymaker reviews


We had a perfect stay

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was even better than what we expected.

The house and garden are big enough to accommodate 14 people while allowing each and everyone to enjoy its share of intimacy. The rooms were clean and luminous, and we fell in love with the lush olive trees that provided enough shadow to enjoy a quiet afternoon nap.

If you enjoy hiking, running or swimming, there are some paths to try near the house, as well as a magical creek 10 minutes away by foot.

Stari Grad is close by and we used to buy some fruits, vegetables, and fish (for fish, make sure to go there before 9 AM) on the open market.

Access to other cities and beaches is quick and easy (we had cars), which makes the location perfect. For example, one can rent a boat in Hvar for the day, come back to Stari Grad for an aperitif while enjoying the sunset and finally go back home in Rudina.

I can only recommend :)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs upkeep - garden and amenities. Unclean

  • 2 of 5

Very dissapointed not good value for money.

We were not shown the house just given the keys. Used only half the house, not discovering the rest until the 2nd last day. No reserves of toilet paper- one roll each bathroom. No cleaning products nor washing brushes. One towel per person for showering- no pool towels. No basics food in the cupboards. Mice infested kitchen. Our food that was unopened was eaten at night by mice/rats? Garden overgrown, weeds and olive trees need pruning. Pool chemicals made the swimming costumes rot- swim shirts ruined and bathers stained yellow. Swim goggles sticky and yellow after one week. Dirty couches, outside table had not been cleaned - filthy

No washing products in the showers. Wrote email to joshua with to this day no response. His helper responded, came and set a trap (didnt work) for mouse and brought some kitchen soap and brushes.

Lovely place that needs attention.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm disappointed and surprised by your unfair and strangely vindictive review of our house. Disappointed because we want all our guests to enjoy their stay at our house, and, unlike almost all our other guests (see reviews), you did not. I am also surprised given our email conversation when you first arrived, which I will briefly remind you about. You wrote to me expressing your unhappiness at finding no food and certain cleaning products waiting for you at the house. We supply basic items (a roll of toilet paper in every bathroom, trash bags, dishwasher tabs). For the rest, all our guests understand that they need to bring or buy whatever they will use during their stay (including beach towels, which we say in our ad are not provided.) This is a rented home, not a hotel. In fact, we bent over backwards to meet demands that we never get from other guests. I immediately conveyed your complaints to our caretaker, who was sick at the time (this explains why his son showed you the house.) I quote from the email he wrote me on the day you arrived: “After he sent me that email, I went there and showed them the house, the village and the path to Zukova. After that, I went to Stari Grad and I bought some detergents, sponges, matches and kitchen paper.’’ The other complaints in your review strike me as bizarre. You complain about mice in the house. I remind you that people rent our house because it is in a rural village, where mice also live. You acknowledge that the caretaker came to set traps for them, and he wrote me to say that he just caught three. I am sorry he did not catch them fast enough for you. You complain that the swimming pool had too many chemicals. Croatia gets very hot in summer, and we are compelled to use chemicals to maintain the pool’s hygiene and proper Ph balance. I apologize if you found the chemical level excessive, but you might have mentioned this to the caretaker, who can adjust that level. Regarding cleanliness, I can only say that we have employed the same team of experienced and reliable cleaners for years. This is the first time, anyone has complained. Finally and most strangely, you complain that our garden is overgrown and the olive trees needed pruning. Most of our guests enjoy the lush garden, and so do we. I can only say that some people like more pruning and some like less. To sum up, we tried our best to satisfy your very particular demands. I am sorry you didn't appreciate the extra effort we made on your behalf.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4

Stunning, spacious villa outside Stari Grad

  • 5 of 5

This is such a beautiful and spacious house. A group of 14 of us stayed in the villa and there was more than enough room for all of us. Bedrooms, living rooms and the kitchen were all well equipped. The house had air-con in rooms. The house-keeper was extremely pleasant and was at the end of a phone call and the owner of the house communicated effectively and answered any questions I had.

All in all, a fantastic stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed the house as much as we do! Come back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Stunning, spacious and peaceful stone house

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful house near Stari Grad on the beautiful island of Hvar. The stone house was very spacious for our family of 8 with plenty of bedrooms/bathrooms to spare. No shortage of hot water, very clean, comfortable beds, air conditioning throughout, 2 well equipped kitchens, balconies offering lovely views. Lovely pool area with loungers and a great shaded outside seating area and dining area with a BBQ. It was a ten minute walk to a stunning cove for swimming. Stari Grad offered plenty of choice for restaurants/bars. Various sized boats & bikes were available for rental to explore this wonderful island. A fabulous holiday!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful, peaceful, pretty, well equipped

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 8 adults, 30-43 years, that had a fantastic week enjoying this stunning house. From swallows diving and dipping into the pool with you, to wonderful late night meals outside on the terrace...we all want to go back asap! The owner, the housekeeper and dedicated taxi driver looked after us so well, going above and beyond their call of duty. Make sure to walk the 15 minutes to the beach and you will be rewarded with the loveliest, secluded cove all to yourself, with the clearest sea we've seen anywhere! The house has been fitted and furnished to a high standard and has a great layout allowing us all privacy and space when we needed it, very comfortable beds, and lots of seating areas inside and out; there was literally nothing we needed extra, not even a utensil! We hired a car and some scooters locally and explored the whole island; we're so glad we did as it has so much to offer. The owner recommended a restaurant up in the hills (Dubokovic in the town of Pitve) where we had a brilliant night and gorgeous food (even a delicious birthday cake baked by the mother for us), with the family owners really looking after and entertaining us...they felt like old friends by the time we left! We did the seaplane transfer from Split, and took the ferry back, and would recommend doing the same so you get the best of both worlds in terms of the views. We're planning our return; thanks to JL, A and G :)

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A beautiful and fantastic getaway

  • 5 of 5

It was a fantastic place to stay. Everything was as described by the owner and even better! We travelled as 3 families and everyone took great advantage of the property. We loved the fact that it's one property but it offers private space for everyone. The children loved playing around the house but also going on exploring expeditions around the village, which is very safe because there are no cars. The garden is perfect, with lots of comfortable places to relax. We loved having the pool and also going down to our little beach. We liked the decoration also, simple but charming. We would sign for another week there in a heart beat!

  • Review Submitted: May 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

I fell in love with Dalmatia and the exquisite island of Hvar on a visit to a friend in 2003. A year later I bought this old property and set about bringing it back to life. I was very lucky to have found some wonderful artisans and I am thrilled with what we all made together!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Seaplane in Jelsa at 10 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : In Stari Grad at 2 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : at 4 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : In Stari Grad at 2 Kilometres Nearest Beach : at 700 Metres Car: recommended


Beautiful secluded beaches are a 15 minutes walk away. There are also lots of beaches accessible by car.


The most direct route to our house on Hvar is to fly to Split. There are five car ferries per day between Split and the town of Stari Grad, which is 2km away from our houses. The ferry trip takes a little less than 2 hours.

There is also fast ferry service from the Italian cities of Pescara and Ancona, direct to Stari Grad. The trip takes approximately 4 hours.


The port town of Stari Grad, 2km away, offers plentiful shopping and restaurant choices. The main town of Hvar is a 20 min drive and is the epicenter of the island’s social life. The Italian Renaissance churches and palazzos provide a dramatic backdrop for clubs and restaurants that cater to an increasingly glamorous crowd.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Low Season
16 Sep 2016 - 14 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
High Season
15 Jun 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Low Season
16 Sep 2017 - 14 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £357

Booking Notes:
A 30% down payment is necessary to secure reservation. Balance is due 5 weeks prior to arrival. A 400 euros security deposit is required.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday. Departure time is 10 a.m.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 10-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

The island of Hvar has many beautiful villages, but I knew from the outset that I wanted a house in the village of Rudina. It is unique in several ways. Many people prefer a house in the bigger port towns of Stari Grad, Hvar or Jelsa, but these towns tend to get noisy with tourist life in summer, and I knew I didn't want that. However, most of the villages that dot the hills are a bit too remote. You've got to drive to the beach, for instance. Rudina has the best of both worlds. It's only 2 kms. from Stari Grad, and it's a short walk down the hill to the beautiful cove--the only village I know that has this kind of easy access. And it is a little jewel of a place, with most of the houses of the old stone type.

Property Type

  • villa


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool ...

Onsite Services

  • Private Chef


  • children welcome

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village


  • bay
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 300 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 5 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • There are 6 bathrooms. - Three en-suite bathrooms to the master bedrooms with shower and wc. - One bathroom with bath and wc. - 1 bathrooms with shower stall and wc - 1 separate wc.


  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Bedroom 6
  • Bedroom 7
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 14 - 7 full bedrooms Notes on bedrooms: There are seven large bedrooms. Two master bedrooms have private terraces. Six of the bedrooms have queen-size beds and one has 2 single beds.


  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering


  • Outside: The garden is designed as the center of the property. A recently renovated garden pavillion functions as a full outdoor livingroom with day beds, cushioned banquettes, a large dining table and outdoor fridge. The 21 square meter swimming pool is lined with high end stone tiles and surrounded by famous local limestone from Brac Island. The landscaped garden features olive, palm, cypress and orange trees. The scent of lavender and rosemary perfume the air and the bougainvillea bright colors are a pleasure for the eyes. There are 6 sunchairs for suntanning and a shaded patio between the two houses where you will love sitting enjoying a drink. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels are included. Maid service is extra. Private chef service can also be arranged (extra).

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot