OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Delightful Barn Conversion in Coastal Village

Overview

Property

Updated: 06-Dec-2016
Converted Barn in Kingston, Kingsbridge, South Devon - Close to the Coast & Beaches; Lovely Pub in Village

A lovely old coach house, recently converted to a very high standard, providing a great base for 2 people to explore this fantastic part of South Devon. Situated in the coastal village of Kingston (awarded the 2009 Calor Village of the Year for the West Region) and just a mile from the sea, coast and beaches. Kingston is a small rural village and has a lovely pub - The Dolphin Inn, just a few minutes walk from the Coach House. The stunning Erme estuary and Wonwell beach are just over a mile away, as is Westcombe beach, while Bigbury-on-Sea and Bantham beaches are only a few minutes drive.

The lovely old market towns of Modbury & Kingsbridge are just a few miles away, with Dartmouth, Salcombe and Totnes within a 30 minute drive. The maritime city of Plymouth is only 13 miles away, with countless restaurants, bars and the Theatre Royal. The wilderness of Dartmoor is just a 20 minute drive away - giving you a fantastic choice of walks and cycle routes nearby, as well as water sports!

The cottage has an open plan living & kitchen area upstairs which is lovely and sunny and the cottage also has its own private secluded garden and patio table. There is a cost woodburner in teh living room. Downstairs is a double bedroom and bathroom. Free wifi is available and all your bed linen and towels are provided.

More Details
  • Sleeps 2
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We have lived in Kingston now for over 10 years and love it here. Although only a small village, there is so much going on and the Dolphin Inn is always welcoming. We both work locally and try our best to be as green as we can, using local organic and fair trade items where possible - something we have tried to continue with the Coach House. We have two dogs, Tug and Dex, who also love life here - after all, with the main decision being a walk on the beach or a walk on the moors, who can blame them! We hope you will love it as much as we do in this beautiful part of Devon, so close to towns and shops, yet so distant and remote as well...

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

"What a lovely place to stay! Everything you need in such a tranquil location... Katherine & Mark have thought of everything in 'The Coach' it makes it all so relaxing. We will come again!"



"What a lovely time we've had. A daily dilemma between hibernating in the cosy Coach House or exploring the perfect Devon coast."



"A lovely and relaxing holiday enjoyed by both of us. The Coach House more than exceeded our expectations, a beautiful and cost cottage to wind down after a day exploring the outstanding Devon countryside. The village itself is an ideal place from which to explore on foot or bike and the Dolphin Inn provided a lovely setting to unwind in after a long walk."
Dec 2009
  • 1 of 1

21 Reviews

4.9
based on 21 holidaymaker reviews

5

The perfect retreat

  • 5 of 5

The Coach House at Kingston was exactly what we wanted for a weekend away from it all to relax and put our feet up -- not that there wasn't anything to do! The surrounding area is full of great places to visit, wonderful walks and beautiful beaches, little market towns and so on. There's a great deal more that we have left to explore. But the property itself was perfect -- warm and snug, and so, so comfortable. It had everything we wanted (wood burning stove, wifi, plenty of local information and maps, and a super comfy bed). Can't wait to book a return visit!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased to hear you enjoyed your winter holiday in the Coach House! I do hope that we can welcome you back soon to this wonderful part of Devon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, cosy and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Quaint, cosy and comfortable is this lovely "upside down " barn conversion, nestling in a friendly Devon village. katherine, the owner answered our questions prior to arrival, and provided perfect directions to the property. Everything you require for your stay at the cottage is provided, from kitchen utensils, bedding, literature/places to visit, books, dvd's and games, even shopping bags! The free wifi reception is brilliant. Plus it's lovely and clean and well maintained

The cottage is ideal for visiting many lovely nearby towns, or walking the coast path. Nearby Salcombe, Bigbury on Sea, Hope Cove and Totnes are all well worth a visit, and if you like chilli's The Chilli farm at Loddiswell is well worth a visit - some of it's HOT!!

The only downside was the parking, some evenings we did struggle to park, we didn't mind the walk, the weather was lovely, but it would have been different in the rain!!

If we stay in that part of Devon again we would stay at the coach house :)

  • Review Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway for two

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Coach House for a week in October and had a wonderful time. The property has been converted to a high standard with everything you need including excellent WiFi (if that's important to you). There's piles of useful local information provided along with books, games, a DVD player, fully equipped kitchen and so on. The only slight negative is the lack of a dedicated parking space, but we were never more than 30 seconds walk away so absolutely no problem. We enjoyed trips to Dartmouth and Salcombe as well as some lovely walking on Dartmoor and the nearby coastal area plus the stretch from Bantham to Hope Cove. In fact the only disappointment of our entire week was there not being enough space for us at the local pub quiz on the Weds! Overall, super property.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Coach House - and we didn't manage to get a table for the pub quiz night either!! I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable stay in well equipped accommodation

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay in the Coach House in Kingston. Everything was there that we needed. It was a beautiful part of Devon with many nearby walks. People in the village were friendly and it all went well.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and lovely to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in the Coach House and our lovely friendly village!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful Barn conversion in the village of Kingston Devon

  • 5 of 5

My wife & l stayed at Katherine & Marks property for a short break, it was a lovely property & was very clean also stocked well with all you need when we arrived there was a pint of milk that we appreciated very much the bed was comfortable. The only problem (. & it was only a minor problem) was that you could not always park near the property but as l say was only a minor problem so do not be put off by this. The Dolphin Inn just a short walk away was very nice & served very good food.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed a few trips to our local village pub as well! All the best, Katherine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A beautiful upside down barn conversation that has a homely feel

  • 4 of 5

This lovely looking upside down cottage is set in a small village. Access is typical to Devon with narrow roads, some only the width of the car. Try to ignore sat nav and stay on main roads as much as possible. You are unable to park next to the cottage but generally we found a parking space without too much trouble. The cottage was very clean and tidy with quality soft furnishings etc. The kitchen was bright, fully equipt and has all the little nik naks you will need. The bathroom was spacious with a very good shower. The bedroom was pretty and had lots of storage space. We found it difficult to get phone access from inside the cottage but could get reception from the garden. Free wifi was very helpful/essential. The cottage was very homely and we had a wonderful relaxed and comfortable stay. The only negative point is at times traffic passing the bedroom window late at night would wake us up as we are not use to traffic noise. The owners supply useful tourist information and maps to make the most of your holiday. The Dolphin Inn (local pub) was within easy walking distance and provided excellent food. Do try the Pickwick Inn at Chapel St Anne (will need to book) which is only 1.5 miles away and is worth a visit or two. Opposite this pub is a small shop to get your daily needs otherwise we drove to Modbury as they have a few more shops that include a Coop which we used on our first day to get our groceries. Wonwell beach is worth visiting, a great walk recommend the coastal path easier on the knees although steep in places. Lydford Gorge is about 1hr 15 mins drive and we enjoyed the long walk seeing the waterfall, and devil's couldron. Katherine from Owners Direct made it very easy to get in touch and book The Coach House. Good communication throughout.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Coach House and our lovely village of Kingston. We have extremely little traffic down our village lane as we are at a dead end - so I am sorry that the odd car did disturb the normal peace, quiet and dark skies that we enjoy here! All the best, Katherine (owner).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Bristol at 114 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Kingston (Dolphin Inn) at 500 Metres Nearest Ferry : Plymouth at 18 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Bigbury at 4 Kilometres Nearest Train : Plymouth at 18 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : M5 at 60 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Kingston (Dolphin Inn) at 500 Miles Nearest Beach : Wonwell at 1 Kilometres Car: necessary

Coast/Beach:

The Coach House is just over a mile from 2 local beaches (Wonwell and Westcombe) and the stunning South Devon coast path. The wonderful beach at Bigbury-on-Sea is about 3 miles away which also has a great cafe (open all year) and at low tide you can cross the causeway to Burgh Island and the famous Pilchard Inn!

Travel:

Plymouth airport and national rail station are about 14 miles away. Use of a car is essential as there is no bus service to the village.

Distances:

The Coach House is situated in the lovely village of Kingston, with a local pub - The Dolphin Inn. There is a great local shop at St. Ann's Chapel (about 1.5 miles) which sells pretty much everything you need and is open 7 days a week. The village is about 3 miles from the delightful small town of Modbury, 9 miles from the market town of Kingsbridge and the famous coastal sailing town of Salcombe. Dartmouth is about 16 miles and the historic maritime city of Plymouth is 13 miles.

Further Details:

There is a great local shop at St. Ann's Chapel (about 1.5 miles) which sells pretty much everything you need and is open 7 days a week.

The lovely town of Modbury (3 miles) has all shops, including a butcher, baker, greengrocer, Co-op, Lloyds bank, hardware store, chemist, Post Office, Deli and a lovely range of gift shops, antique shops, art gallery and coffee shops! It also has a doctors surgery, dentist and vet.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter 2016
3 Oct 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
£295
 
 
Christmas/New Year
17 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£495
 
 
January-March
6 Jan 2017 - 26 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
£295
 
 
Spring
27 Mar 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£445
 
 
Summer
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£399
for 3 nights
From
£133
£545
 
 
September
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£445
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Provisional booking can be made by email or phone and will be held for a maximum of 5 days. The booking will be confirmed on receipt of a completed booking form and deposit for 25% of the total amount due. The balance is due 8 weeks before the holiday and full directions will be sent at this time.

Short breaks are available all year. Short breaks of 3 or 4 nights are available at 75% of the week price; a 5 night stay is 80% of the week price and a 6 night stay is 90% of the week price.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is totally flexible - just let us know what day you prefer! Arrival is any time after 1pm and departure is before 1pm, hopefully giving you plenty of time to enjoy both arrival and departure day.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK Pounds. Short breaks of 3 or 4 nights are available at 75% of the week price; short breaks of 5 nights are 80% of the week price; short breaks of 6 nights are 90% of the week price.


** 2014/15 WINTER SPECIAL - 3 nights for £175 or 4 nights for £195!! **

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 06-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • barn

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Romantic

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • churches
  • playground

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom with bath/shower over, basin and toilet.

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 bedroom with double bed. The settee in the living room also converts to a double bed if required.

Outside

  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 2 bicycles

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: The Coach House is situated at the bottom of our garden, but is totally private, with its own entrance from the village lane and with its own small garden. Your bed linen, towels, cleaning materials, heating and power are all included, but I am afraid that we do not supply logs for the woodburner. Free Wi Fi internet access is provided. Sorry, no children under 14 and no pets. Outside: There is a small private garden outside, fully fenced and overlooking the fields behind. There is a patio table, chairs and BBQ for your use. Access to the Coach House is through a gate from the lane and up some steps. Parking: There is no reserved parking, but street parking is available close by in the village. Utility Room: There is a utility room on entry - ideal for leaving wet coats and boots! Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Crisp cotton bed linen, lovely big bath sheets and hand towels are included as well as bath mats, tea towels, oven gloves, cleaning cloths etc. The Coach House is cleaned thoroughly before your arrival.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot