OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Elegant Victorian House with Sea Views

Overview

Property

Updated: 10-Sep-2016
Country House in Lynton, North Devon - Peaceful, Private Location, 15 minutes walk to the Beach

Lynhurst is an elegant late Victorian country house with great character arranged on 4 floors. Nestling into the cliff it has commanding views over Lynmouth Bay and Exmoor. Accommodation is presented to a high standard retaining many original features including a tiled entrance hall that leads to an impressive grand staircase with stained glass windows and dome. Ten well appointed, spacious bedrooms many with private bathrooms. All rooms have TVs and some have private balconies and incredible seaviews. Farmhouse style kitchen with Aga, double oven, hob, two fridges, one freezer, dishwasher. Separate laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer. Enjoy the garden with BBQ area and relax on the terrace or in the conservatory both taking in the panoramic seaviews.

  • Sleeps 22
  • 10 Bedrooms
  • 9 Bathrooms
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I bought The Lynhurst as a bed and breakfast business 13 years ago and then turned it over to self catering 10 years' ago. Much thought and work has gone into the property to make it comfortable and welcoming. Many guests have commented that The Lynhurst is a 'happy house'. It certainly as a very warm feel about it. Previous owners relatives have arrived to look over the house from as far away as Australia. They have forwarded some pictures dating back to the 1950s. The house was built originally as a gentleman's residence. A successful businessman called Mr Bateman had the house built as a summer retreat for himself and his family. I personally fell in love with the Lynhurst on my first viewing. I am personally involved in all aspects of the maintenance and cleaning of the house.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

"A fantastic week! Fantastic house - house beautifully equipped" Anne and Bill's Golden Wedding



"Fantastic house! Gardens - B-B-Q - views, rooms - lots of fun. Thank you" three families from Bristol



"We just wanted to say thank you for a lovely weekend at The Lynhurst. Everyone had an amazing time. It was lovely and relaxing and felt like a home away from home. We had beautiful weather which made it even better. My brother is thinking of having his 30th there too!" (Feb 2012)



"A lovely house, so much character. Beautiful surroundings. Would love to come back and stay again" Williams
Dec 2009
  • 1 of 1

2 Reviews

3
based on 2 holidaymaker reviews

5

Amazing Holiday!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at The Lynhurst in July of this year for a 50th wedding celebration for my parents. All the family were there – my brother and two sisters with their respective partners and their children ranging in age from 11 months to 15 years of age. Close friends were also invited to the celebration and stayed close by in a bed and breakfast.

We contacted Jane over a year ago to book this marvellous house for the celebrations. Everything we needed to know was quickly answered by Jane (the owner) who directed us to the suppliers that could help us with our plans. My parents decided that it would be a good idea to hire outside caterers to provide a BBQ. As there were so many of us Jane suggested that we erect a gazebo on the lawn in case it rained. However, we were really fortunate with the weather. All the family had a wonderful time and my parents could not believe how fortunate we had been in finding this venue.

The house is located on the coast of Exmoor National Park, North Devon in the village of Lynton. The sea views from the house are stunning. The Lynhurst was lovely and secluded, but it only took us 10 minutes to walk into the village. There are lots of different types of restaurant to choose from, shops and all amenities.

We loved the house. Jane obviously relishes taking care of the house which you can see from the effort she has put into making it so welcoming and comfortable. We mentioned this to Jane and she did confirm that the winter has been spent upgrading the furnishings and re-decorating throughout.

Most of the bedrooms are ensuite and there is one family bathroom for the one room without facilities. This makes staying here so good, because there is no waiting for the bathrooms in the morning! Everything was so clean and well cared for.

During the remainder of the week we relaxed in the comfortable lounges and the children enjoyed the games room with Xbox, table tennis and other games provided. We also went out and about to the various theme parks in the area like The Big Sheep and The Milky Way which are within a 30 minute drive.

The conservatory was a real joy with its own grapevine laden with grapes. The views from here are also stunning and a nice place to relax and get some peace and quiet. That is the great thing about this house in that there is plenty of room to spread out and we never felt we were on top of eac

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your celebration. I hope that you will get an opportunity in the future to be able to return. We would love to see you. Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

A catalogue of errors

  • 1 of 5

From start to finish we had a horrendous experience. Most of this was down to terrible organisation and incredibly rude behaviour.

Mistakes by the owner meant our party had to split up in alternative, sub standard accommodation for part of our stay, some had to cut the holiday short and the children in the party where left without a garden to play in.

We were incredibly polite but no apology or form of reimbursement was offered and upon arriving we were spoken to aggressively by one of the owners colleagues. Not the welcome we were hoping for.

The house itself, whilst great for groups, with stunning views, was quite run down and wasn't clean. The beds in particular were quite disgusting.

Upon returning from the holiday we wrote a letter to Jane explaining all of the problems we had encountered but, again after no apology, we were directed to Jane's solicitor for any further communication.

We are a very easy going group of 30 somethings with 4 small children and all it would have taken was an apology and at least some small form of reimbursement. A couple of bottles of wine on arrival, a nice greeting and an apology and I wouldn't be writing this review.

Lynton and Lynmouth are lovely but almost anywhere else will be better than The Lynhurst.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I gave this client unreserved apology for a major blunder on my part, the first such instance in 15 years. This included the offer of generous compensation by way of full refund or for an alternative booking, also to accept ‘out-of-pocket’ expenses. The group elected to take up the offer of alternative accommodation for 2 nights for which I paid the sum of £950.00. This was organised by Lynton Tourist Board.. In addition I offered the group the opportunity to stay on at the house for extra nights which was taken up by members of the group. Fortunately, reviews from all other clients of The Lynhurst since I first opened the house reveal markedly different experiences.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0

Location

From the Owner

Lynton and Lynmouth are known as little Switzerland and have all the aspects of outdoor activities that I love literally on the doorstep. The South West Coast Path is a few hundred yards away taking you over the cliffs to Coombe Martin and beyond or in the other direction to its start in Minehead. Horse riding over Exmoor through the Doone Valley.

Activity and Interests

Coast/Beach:

5 minute drive to beach at Lynmouth, car parking included in area car parking permits.

15 minute walk or go up and down on the unique water powered Victorian railway.

Also beaches at Woody Bay with its own waterfall and natural swimming pool at low tide. Also sandy beach at Lee Bay. Only 10 minutes drive.

Travel:

Exeter and Bristol Airports two hours drive. Trains nearest stations Barnstaple and Tiverton. Frequent bus service from Barnstaple (one hour journey)

Distances:

5 minutes to village of Lynton. Minehead 30 minutes, National Trust at Arlington 30 minutes, Watersmeet (National Parks) 10 minutes, Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton beaches 30 minutes. Exmoor with its pony riding, Doone Valley, mountain bike trails. Also within five minutes is the Valley of the Rocks home to a colourful herd of horned feral roaming goats, fishing on the East Lyn, steam trains at Woody Bay, Porlock (30 minutes)

Further Details:

Two small supermarkets, one vegetable shop (also selling local meat and bread), post office, bank, hardware shop, chemist, doctors and small hospital. Numerous restaurants, pubs, tea rooms and cafes all within walking distance. Fishing, mountain biking, walking, boat trips along the coast, horse riding, rock climbing, RHS Garden Rosemoor.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Rate
29 Oct 2016 - 21 Dec 2016
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
£998
for 2 nights
From
£499
From
£500
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,995
 
 
Christmas/New Years Rate
22 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,895
for 7 nights
£3,895
 
 
Winter
5 Jan 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,100
for 2 nights
From
£550
£1,995
 
 
Mid Winter
17 Feb 2017 - 23 Feb 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£2,149
for 7 nights
£2,149
 
 
Mid Winter 2
24 Feb 2017 - 22 Mar 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
£684
for 2 nights
From
£600
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,395
 
 
Easter
24 Mar 2017 - 20 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,595
for 7 nights
£2,595
 
 
Spring
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
£1,300
for 2 nights
From
£650
From
£650
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,595
 
 
Whit
27 May 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
6 night minimum stay
£2,730
for 6 nights
£3,185
 
 
Summer
2 Jun 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,111
for 3 nights
From
£632
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,592
 
 
High Summer
24 Jun 2017 - 13 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,284
for 3 nights
From
£665
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,995
 
 
Peak Summer
16 Jul 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,185
for 7 nights
£3,185
 
 
Early Autumn
25 Aug 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,112
for 3 nights
£2,595
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 2 nights
From
£750
£2,595
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £300

Booking Notes:
Please phone or email to ascertain availability. Deposit of one third required to secure booking followed by the balance ten weeks before arrival.

Changeover Day:
Friday is the preferred changeover day (flexible at certain times of the year) 4.00 pm arrival time (flexible) and departure time 10.00 am (flexible) . Again depending on the time of year

PRICES : PLEASE NOTE THE PRICES WILL DIFFER FROM THOSE ADVERTISED AS THIS SITE HAS NO FUNCTION TO UPLOAD MY SEASONAL PRICES.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 10-Sep-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Lynton and Lynmouth is a unique place often referred to as 'little Switzerland'. It is where Exmoor meets the sea and therefore has some of the most panoramic views in England and The Lynhurst enjoys many of these views from its position thus making it quite unique. It's completely secluded, offers complete privacy, yet all amenities are within easy walking distance five minutes away.

Property Type

  • house

General

  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Television

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • beach
  • village

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • tennis

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 3 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 4 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 5 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 6 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 7 - Shower Enclosure
  • 8 ensuite bathrooms with shower or bath and WC. Bedroom 3 with shower and basin. A toilet is on the same corridor. Family bathroom with bath, overhead shower, basin, toilet Bedroom 9 basin.

Bedrooms

  • 10 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Bedroom 6
  • Bedroom 7
  • Bedroom 8
  • Bedroom 9
  • Bedroom 10
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 22 (10 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 double bed Bedroom 2 double bed Bedroom 3 twin Bedroom 4 four poster Bedroom 5 twin Bedroom 6 king size Bedroom 7 double and twin Bedroom 8 twin Bedroom 9 twin Bedroom 10 twin

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Full central heating throughout the house. Close to the beach. Two high chairs, two Mothercare travel cots, Z bed, single aerobed, Bed settee, two brick built BBQs, Conservatory with stunning sea views. Outside: Large area of flat lawn, securely fenced. BBQ area and terrace, securely fenced. Separate conservatory area reached by fenced steps. Four outdoor tables seating 22. BBQ area includes charcoal burner All very private and not overlooked. Utility Room: Washing machine, tumble dryer Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: One bath towel, one hand towel and all bed linen included. Linen changed once a week. Cleaned once a week. Other: Dining room to seat 22 adjacent to farmhouse-style kitchen. Maximum seating capacity 30.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot