OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Anchor Cottage,17th C Fishermans Cottage, quiet harbour location, opposite beach



Updated: 23-Oct-2016
2 bedroom character cottage opposite beach, peaceful location, coastal views from bedroom

Anchor Cottage is in the Minehead Harbour conservation area and is one of a line of fisherman's dwellings built in the early 17th C along Quay Street. Full of character.Front bedroom with window seat looks over the sea to the coast of Wales and to the east the Quantock Hills and the islands of Steep Holme and Flat Holme. Refurbished to a very high standard with central heating and log burner the property has 2 double bedrooms, new country kitchen and modern bathroom with additional wc downstairs. Steps in the hill give access to a patio, which can be lit at night, with views out to sea.

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I moved to Somerset in 1997 with my young family. Anchor cottage has been my holiday home since 2009 and offers a peaceful and relaxing retreat from the hustle and bustle of every day life, with all the home from home comforts you will need.

My Son Alistair has now joined me in the business, we hope you love Anchor cottage, Minehead and Exmoor as much as we do.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

January 2015

from Solihull

Everything catered for and beautifully clean.

Great location and quiet area

January 2015

from Bristol

Anchor cottage is 'home from home' due to the thoughtful things ie milk and biscuits and hooks where you want them.

Thankyou for sharing your lovely cottage.We will be back

(Already booked for 2016 !)

November 2014

A beautifully renovated cottage in the most interesting part of town

October 2014

from Leicester

A lovely stay in a lovely place. Perfect for playing on the beach and watching steam trains. We even saw the lifeboat launch for a practice.


September 2014

Excellent weather, beautiful countryside & lovely comfortable cottage.

Had a BBQ on the patio, steps quite a challenge for the over 70's

but great fun ! Thankyou.

from Hereford

Cottage once again A1

Took steam train to Watchet - lovely day

Enjoyed sunshine and sea air

Will visit again soon. Many thanks

August 2014

from Kenilworth

A perfect location with views to die for
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 1

10 Reviews

based on 10 holidaymaker reviews


Great little cottage on the harbour

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay at Fishermans Cottage, using it as a base while we explored Exmoor. Very cosy home from home, my wife loved sitting in the front bedroom window seat watching the world go by.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
South Wales

Perfect cottage in ideal location

  • 5 of 5

It was a delight to return to your spotlessly clean, warm cottage, a real home from home where we instantly relaxed. We loved the new log burner which was a great success. so cosy! Enjoyed days walking especially Porlock Weir to Culborne Church on a warm day - after a cuppa on the patio enjoying the view! Great Sunday lunch at The Wheelhouse in Minehead. The West Somerset Railway too was a major attraction this time. We look forward to a return visit later in the year. Thankyou for a memorable stay .

  • Review Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. Look forward to seeing you in the Autumn for your special celebration.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

quaint cosy little gem

  • 4 of 5

I stayed here as short stop over and the owner managed to fit me in at short notice for a short stay. Very kind and the cottage was immaculate, very homely I didn't want to leave would definitely stay again for a longer holiday next time. . Thankyou.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always happy to take last minute bookings. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Anchor cottage.It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to your next holiday with us, just give us a call.Thankyou for taking the time to write this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

very disappointed

  • 1 of 5

First impressions the cottage looked nice an we brought are belongings from in from the car an spent the day exploring Minehead town. We decided to go shopping an get food supplies as we were staying 5 nights. However when we got back we had to clean the fridge, cupboards an work surface as they had not been cleaned. The cottage smelled of smoke an when upstairs we also noticed the toilet was not cleaned an while cleaning the toilet i noticed what i suspect could be mouse droppings around the left of the toilet. I contacted the owner who came over to the cottage with wine an chocolates but would not listen to our complaints an refused a refund. We stayed the night as to short notice to find somewhere else an upon awaking the next morning myself an my partner had sore throats due to the awful smell.We are still trying to retrieve money owed to us.During the week i have received some messages from the owner that have felt like we were being bullied into backing down for a refund. We did however book into a local hotel for the rest of the holiday which was clean with good customer service. We have stayed at many different accommodation in Minehead that has been warm an welcoming so this bad experience wont be putting us off from returning to a beautiful town.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jennifer I am sorry that you have felt the need to give Anchor Cottage a negative review. However, you must understand that you left my property of your own free will and that is not my responsibility for you to have a change of heart for whatever reason. With regards to your allegations: When I received your telephone complaint, I was absolutely shocked and came straight over to see you within twenty minutes. I brought wine and chocolates as a gesture of goodwill, and because in 7 years of owning Anchor Cottage, I have never had a situation like this. I absolutely listen to complaints of my customers and take them extremely seriously. However, when I arrived, there was no evidence of mouse droppings, dirty surfaces or odorous smells of smoke. There was nothing I could do and no proof whatsoever that anything was wrong or unclean in the first place. I find it very strange that, having travelled for 3 hours to get to Anchor Cottage and being “very tired” you “spent the day exploring Minehead town” and then took it upon yourselves to clean, rather than letting me know at that stage. After you left the property you said you had evidence, but when I asked to see the photos, (offering to meet you at your Hotel), you held this over my head saying you would provide this only after I paid you your money back? This is absolutely wrong, because if you were so disgusted in my property you would have shown me at the time and no doubt taken pictures to substantiate your claims, and I would, without hesitation, have compensated you with your refund. I am so sorry that Anchor Cottage was not to your liking, but rest assured I thrive on high standards and service in order to allow tenants to enjoy their holiday let and valued time away. Anchor Cottage
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

A Great stay at Anchor Cottage

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we arrived we felt at home, The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The biscuits were a nice touch along with the logs ready to go onto the fire! The location is great with a fantastic view looking along the seafront and only a short stroll to the local pub The Ship Aground that did some great meals.

The log fire was great and spent most nights in with a drink in our hands relaxing it was just what we both needed!!

Looking forward to our next visit.

Sam and Andy

  • Review Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review.So glad you had a relaxing weekend. Looking forward to your return to Anchor cottage for your New Year celebrations.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Warm and relaxed stay in a delightful cottage.

  • 2 of 5

A well situated cottage on the coastal road of Minehead which was very quiet for our stay with plenty of parking available (pass provided) .

The cottage was well equipped, clean and excellent for our needs.

we had use of the rear bedroom which was comfortable and quiet.

The bathroom had a bath in which was heavenly after a slog around the moors . The front bedroom gave excellent views of the tides coming and going and on a clear day Wales would show itself on the horizon.

As it was bonfire night whilst we werea way Butlins gave us a great display for free from the cottage.

In short we had a very relaxing stay at anchor cottage

Many thanks


The front bedroom gives great views of the tides coming and going with a drink you can while away the hours in peace and on a clear day Wales will show itself on the horizon.

we also had a bonus as it was bonfire night and we were treated to a firework display by Butlins, which we could watch from the cottage the bathroom had a bath which was a must after a long slog around the moors just to be able to soak was heavenly.

The front bedroon was idyllic to just sit and watch the tides come and go with such a great view whilst enjoying a drink or a quiet read.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and free firework display Thankyou for your lovely review
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

Minehead has long been known as 'the gateway to Exmoor' and some of the most beautiful and dramatic scenery in the West Country is within minutes access by car or on foot from the cottage. Activities to suit all interests are available in and around the town including riding, golf (18 holes, par 69), deep sea angling, steam excursions on the West Somerset Railway and pleasure cruises on the Balmoral and the paddle steamer Waverly from the Quay. The cottage is also on the start of the South West Coastal footpath

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Exmoor National Park at 2 Miles Nearest Barpub : Old Ship Aground at 200 Metres Nearest Golf : Minehead Golf Club at 1 Kilometres Nearest Train : West Somerset steam railway at 200 Metres Nearest Motorway : Taunton /Bridgewater M5 at 25 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Wheelhouse Restaurant at 1 Kilometres Nearest Beach : opposite at 10 Metres


Located in conservation area next to beach.Near to Exmoor National Park

West Somerset Steam Railway station within 100metres


Within walking distance of pubs, restaurants and the town centre.

Further Details:

The property is situated within easy distance of fantastic walking countryside (Exmoor National Park), and right next to the start of the South West Coast Path from Minehead to Poole in Dorset.We provide maps and walking books for guests.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
22 Oct 2016 - 28 Oct 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 11
29 Oct 2016 - 19 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Rate 12
20 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Rate 13
7 Jan 2017 - 11 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Rate 14
12 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Rate 15
1 Apr 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
rate 17
29 Apr 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
spring 2017
24 Jun 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
summer 2017
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
autumn 2017
2 Sep 2017 - 22 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Changeover Day:
Saturday( but in low season November to February we are very flexible)

Notes on prices:
Prices shown are for the property per week in UK pounds.
Short stays available from 31st October 2015 until 13th February 2016 (not including Xmas/New Year) weekends Fri to Mon (3nights) for £235 or Mon to Fri (4nights) for £255.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 23-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Every effort has been made to give a 'home fom home' atmosphere and many basics such as tea, coffee, bubble bath, soap, loo rolls, washing up liquid and other cleaning materials are supplied for guests use.

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Away From It All
  • Family


  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television


  • children welcome

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • town


  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis


  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Modern bathroom with bath and power shower, shaver point and wc.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed. Bedroom 2 with twin 3ft beds.


  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: New for 2015 Log burner. Bespoke kitchen with slate and beech worktops. Refurbished to a very high standard. Low season short stays available for 3 nights from £235 Outside: Steps built into hill at the rear of the property give access from the kitchen lobby to a secluded patio (lit at night) with uninterrupted views out to the channel across to Wales Utility Room: Useful outside tap for washing off muddy walking boots or buckets and spades. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All hand, bath towels and linen provided. Property cleaned and fresh linen provided weekly even on a 2 week rental. Other: Additional wc on ground floor.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot