OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Family friendly house with pool near beach and waterpark

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking


About the property

Four bedroom gite with private heated pool

Four bedroom detached old stone house in a rural setting which benefits from its own private heated swimming pool, table tennis and Wi-Fi. Our house is on one level and the living/dining area is open plan. It is comfortable and family friendly. Situated in the quiet village of Lairoux with a friendly bar/restaurant a two minute walk away and only a short drive from the lively town of Lucon which has numerous interesting shops, restaurants and bars, not forgetting its magnificent cathedral and weekly market. Activities on our doorstep include boating and fishing on the River Lay, go-karting in nearby La Jonchere , zip wires through the trees in the Indian Forest Adventure Park, new Waterpark 15 minutes away, watersports at La Tranche sur Mer and cycling on the hundreds of kms of bike trails, with bike hire widely available. A day out in La Rochelle is a must and the mediaeval theme park at La Puy du Fou comes highly recommended. There are also very good golf courses all within an easy drive. There is more information in the house of activities available.

Julie T
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018

About Julie T

I live with my husband in England and we both work full time. We spend as much time as possible over in France as we enjoy the relaxed way of life and the fabulous weather, food and wine!

Julie T purchased this farmhouse in 2005

Why Julie T chose Lairoux

We bought a house in this area because we had holidayed here and fell in love with the beautiful sandy beaches which never get too crowded even in the height of summer and the local people who are always so friendly and helpful. It is also not too far from the UK so that we often enjoy long weekends here.

What makes this farmhouse unique

We love being so near to the coast (approx 15 minutes drive) and surrounded by beautiful countryside but with the option of just spending the day lazing round the pool and we are lucky to have a very friendly bar/restaurant recently opened in the village.

The house has enough room so that we often holiday with friends and family and don't feel that we are all on top of each other! It is only a 3/4 hour drive from La Rochelle airport or approx 1 hour from Poitiers or alternatively an easy drive from St Malo.

Guestbook comments from the owner


I have been meaning to email since June but wanted to say what a lovely holiday we had at your beautiful cottage Le Figuier. It was gorgeous. Thank you. The cottage was splendid, so lovely and the people in local pub were so lovely and helpful.

The kids had a fantastic time (as did we).

Kind Regards,

Jun 2016
  • 1 of 3


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse in Lairoux in Vendée

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Family bathroom with bath, over bath shower and toilet. Separate toilet. Shower room with basin
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed. Bedroom 2 with twin beds. Bedroom 3 with twin beds. Bedroom 4 with double bed. All with ceiling fans
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Child friendly as house has no stairs and we provide a travel cot and highchair. The heated swimming pool is totally enclosed with a security fence. Outside: Our private heated swimming pool is 30 feet long with roman steps into it for ease of access and enclosed by a security fence with plenty of sunloungers and parasols. At the front of the house is a barcecue, a table tennis table and swingball and there is a grassy area for the children to play on. Lovely secluded garden at the rear of the house has mature trees ,a large wooden table and chairs and a built in stone barbecue and plenty of outside lighting for night time dining. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: We don't charge for cleaning but ask that you leave the house in a clean and tidy condition. Bed linen is provided but guests are asked to bring their own towels please .


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Family friendly house with pool near beach and waterpark
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 12 reviews
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

A home from home in the sun

  • 5 of 5

Thanks Julie and Gerry for sharing your beautiful house, garden and pool with us.

The house was really comfortable, well equipped (including for keen cooks like me!) and the garden was a delight. We spent many hours watching the butterflies and birds getting on with their daily chores!

We also enjoyed exploring the area including the amazing 11km nature walk through local farm tracks and tiny roads, with the bird hide an added bonus where we saw storks, egrets, ducks, geese and lots of little waders. We also spotted a family of Coypu which excited us, although the locals told us they were pests!

The 'Baguetterie', as we named the local bread dispensing machine, was excellent and we also rather enjoyed Sunday lunch in the village bistro. Luçon was easy to get in and out of and we enjoyed the Marché and the beautiful Halles where it is held every Wednesday and Thursday.

Everything was well organised and looked after from the house to the garden and the pool. Thanks for making it a great place to holiday!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lairoux and your holiday and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our house and pool and the local area - you were great guests and it would be lovely to see you again
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Everything we wanted in a holiday property

  • 5 of 5

Great house and wonderful pool.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Dawn So glad you had a wonderful holiday - we hope to welcome you back another year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Home from home

  • 5 of 5

Having stayed in La Jonchere for 3 years we decided to try Julies other home in Lairoux.

There were 5 of us and the house was more than spacious enough for all of us and having 2 showers made it much better!

The house is comfortably furnished with all appliances that you would expect. There are plenty of board games and books (that we added to) in case the weather is poor, however we were graced with the sun on all but one day.

Plenty of parking for 2/3 cars so great if you are going with friends or another family.

Good English housekeeper and pool man which is reassuring if you have any problems.

Would recommend this property to other families or those less mobile.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review Lynda and we're delighted that you enjoyed your time in Lairoux. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Extremely disappointing Property

  • 1 of 5

This property was not to a letting standard, generally grubby although the owners assured us a clean had been done this was obviously a significant time before we arrived. Property was dusty, windows dirty, toilets seats (fittings dirty) need replacing, rusty kettle around rim and bottom, rusty drainage rack, extremely moldy refrigerator, moldy in bottom of dishwasher had to be washed empty initially, some cutlery had dried food on as did some bowls. Cobwebs from appliances to walls or other appliances, no shower mat in one bathroom. 1 shower appliance had hardly any pressure so little water flow the other was incorrect shower in holder and fell towards the wall so had to be held to shower body. Outside no BBQ grills at the property and one bbq filthy so unusable, (one set of grills was supplied on request) garden overgrown to the rear, garden furniture wooden - green with mildew could not be sat on, other wooden chairs painted and flaking again leaving marks on clothes, swimming pool not cleaned on arrival and cleaned on Thursday as we left on Saturday, broken/loose coping stones and dangerous, all pool cleaning equipment poles and nets left around edge of pool area and had to be tidied up out of tripping hazzard. During a rainstorm all three sky lights leaked needing buckets below, a leak in a hall way also needed a bucket and then the fan light stopped working in one room. Informed owner who sent roofers, roofer told us roof needs replacing skylights have sunk they would report to owners. Nothing was done about the light not working for the remaining 4 days.

We were more than disappointed with this property's standard of living. On contacting the owners they made some efforts in bringing replacement washing up bowl and a door and shower mat. There was the offer of a cleaner but we had cleaned through and unpacked by the time of this offer. Continued with holiday and contacted owners on our return with disappointment and asked for a part refund for inconvenience. This was refused and blame put back on us and apparent damage and costs caused by ourselves! Very disappointed, will not recommend to friends, family or strangers!!!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you found our property disappointing and we admit that there may have been some areas which were not up to our usual high standards. However this was partly caused by dust settling in the house after some extensive building work just completed days before your arrival and also as your stay coincided with the worst storms in the region for 30 years. As soon as you contacted us on your arrival we immediately responded with the offer of another full clean of the property (this was within 10 minutes of you contacting us), the replacement of any kitchen items you weren't happy with, together with money for lunch for all your party as a gesture of goodwill, however this was refused. The pool WAS cleaned prior to your arrival but as a result of the storms and torrential rain, our pool man could not return to remove the leaves blown into the pool until the storms subsided, however we were pleased to know that this didn't stop your children enjoying the pool. - the fan/light in the bedroom was working at the switch but you hadn't pulled the chain on the light - the roof had been replaced 5 years ago but the storm blew the water up underneath tiles resulting in some minor leaks in the living room and hallway - the garden chairs were affected by the weather and yet again these would have been cleaned at your request, they have all been jet washed now - the white chairs are shabby chic finish and we have never experienced paint flaking off on our clothes but we will look at this - the coping stone around the pool which was dislodged during jet washing of the terrace has now been re-cemented - we will look into the water pressure of the shower and the shower holder position Apart from the weather, over which we had no control, all of the above could have been resolved quite quickly during your stay if you had allowed us to.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Paradise in France

  • 5 of 5

We stayed as a party of eight and when we arrived the house was well prepared with a small welcome pack of groceries. The gardens front and rear were well looked after and the heated pool just the right size. The rooms were large and the beds comfortable, the living room had been furnished comfortably with some mod cons thrown in.The kitchen area was large with everything you needed for self catering and the bbq area in the rear garden was very nice as well. All in all we all enjoyed the house and surrounding area and would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Relaxing holiday home

  • 5 of 5

This house is located in a quiet village. It is clean and well equipped and has an excellent heated swimming pool. Our family had a wonderful time (age range 3 - 69 years!) . Wish there had been a restaurant within walking distance but the Barbecue area was good and there is a good takeaway pizza place 10 minutes away by car. We had very good weather but if there had been a rainy day there were plenty of games, DVDs and books as well as the TV. Owner and local manager were very helpful.

Would recommend to my friends.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in Lairoux and I am delighted that you and your family had a wonderful holiday. The bar in the village has a Moules Frites evening on a Friday and serves a great 3 course Sunday lunch with wonderful home made desserts by Joy but unfortunately doesn't do food any other evenings.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
La Rochelle
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
La Tourterelle
Nearest Ferry
290 Kilometres
St Malo
Nearest Golf
25 Kilometres
Nearest Train
9 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
20 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Auberge du Moulin
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
La Faute sur Mer
Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

The Vendee has more kms of canals and rivers for fishing than any other department in France. For more information go to www.federation-peche-vendee.fr

Great for cycling with hundreds of kilometres of cycle paths, with bike hire widely available. NEW for 2015 - Quality bike hire available with FREE delivery and collection to holiday accommodation - www.bikehiredirect.com


Beach at La Faute sur Mer which is less than 15 minutes by car

La Tranche sur Mer about 20 minutes drive - watersports available - Blue Flag beach

Both are long sandy beaches with a good variety of bars, restaurants and shops.

The chic resort of Les Sables D'Olonne is only 3/4 hour away.


St Malo is approximately a 3 hour drive - contact us to get 20% discount off Brittany Ferry crossings

La Rochelle airport - 3/4 hour drive With flights from Gatwick with Easyjet and From Stanstead with Ryanair - Cheap flights available - go to www.skyscanner.net

Poitiers airport - 1.5 hours drive

Calais is approximately a 7 hour drive.

A car is essential.


Bar/Restaurant - in village

Beach - 10/15 minutes drive

Lucon (local town) with shops, restaurants etc- 7km.

La Faute sur Mer - 12km.

Indian Forest Adventure Park (zip wires etc) - 15 minutes drive .

O'Gliss Waterpark - 15 minutes drive

Puy du Fou theme park - 60km.

La Tranche sur Mer - 20km.

Les Sables D'Olonne - 45km.

La Roche sur Yon - 45km.

La Rochelle - 45km.

Further Details:

Nicola runs La Tourterelle bar in the village and this has "moules frites" evening on Friday and wonderful three course lunches on a Sunday and this is just a short stroll from the house.

La Faute sur Mer has a colourful market on a Sunday morning and also on a Thursday. This is one of the largest mussel producing areas in France.

Karting is available in the nearby village of La Jonchere which is great fun for both adults and children.

The nearest supermarket is in Lucon which is only a ten minute drive. There are a selection of nice restaurants and shops here also.

The area is great for a cycling holiday as there are hundreds of kilometres of cycle tracks and bike hire is widely available.

Tennis courts are at La Tranche sur Mer which is approximately a 20 minute drive - there is also an indoor swimming pool here.

Our house is managed by an English couple who will help you if you have any problems/questions.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday farmhouse in Lairoux, Pays de la Loire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
31 Mar 2018 - 25 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 1
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 4
2 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
7 Jul 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late summer
25 Aug 2018 - 21 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
We require a 30% deposit (Non refundable) at time of booking with the balance payable 8 weeks before the start of the holiday together with security/damage deposit

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday in June, July and August . Out of high season we can be more flexible with regard to duration and changeover days - please enquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question