OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Family friendly Gite with Private Heated Pool close to beautiful Sandy Beaches



Updated: 10-Oct-2016
Four bedroom house with private pool

Four bedroom detached old stone house in a rural setting which benefits from its own private heated swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Our house is on one level and the living/dining area is open plan. It is comfortable and family friendly. Situated in the quiet village of Lairoux with a friendly bar/restaurant a two minute walk away and only a short drive from the lively town of Lucon which has numerous interesting shops, restaurants and bars, not forgetting its magnificent cathedral and weekly market. Activities on our doorstep include boating and fishing on the River Lay, go-karting in nearby La Jonchere , zip wires through the trees in the Indian Forest Adventure Park, new Waterpark 15 minutes away, watersports at La Tranche sur Mer and cycling on the hundreds of kms of bike trails, with bike hire widely available. A day out in La Rochelle is a must and the mediaeval theme park at La Puy du Fou comes highly recommended. There are also very good golf courses all within an easy drive. There is more information in the house of activities available.

  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I live with my husband and son in England and we both work full time. We spend as much time as possible over in France as we enjoy the relaxed way of life and the fabulous weather, food and wine!

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner


I have been meaning to email since June but wanted to say what a lovely holiday we had at your beautiful cottage Le Figuier. It was gorgeous. Thank you. The cottage was splendid, so lovely and the people in local pub were so lovely and helpful.

The kids had a fantastic time (as did we).

Kind Regards,

Jun 2016
  • 1 of 3

6 Reviews

based on 6 holidaymaker reviews


Extremely disappointing Property

  • 1 of 5

This property was not to a letting standard, generally grubby although the owners assured us a clean had been done this was obviously a significant time before we arrived. Property was dusty, windows dirty, toilets seats (fittings dirty) need replacing, rusty kettle around rim and bottom, rusty drainage rack, extremely moldy refrigerator, moldy in bottom of dishwasher had to be washed empty initially, some cutlery had dried food on as did some bowls. Cobwebs from appliances to walls or other appliances, no shower mat in one bathroom. 1 shower appliance had hardly any pressure so little water flow the other was incorrect shower in holder and fell towards the wall so had to be held to shower body. Outside no BBQ grills at the property and one bbq filthy so unusable, (one set of grills was supplied on request) garden overgrown to the rear, garden furniture wooden - green with mildew could not be sat on, other wooden chairs painted and flaking again leaving marks on clothes, swimming pool not cleaned on arrival and cleaned on Thursday as we left on Saturday, broken/loose coping stones and dangerous, all pool cleaning equipment poles and nets left around edge of pool area and had to be tidied up out of tripping hazzard. During a rainstorm all three sky lights leaked needing buckets below, a leak in a hall way also needed a bucket and then the fan light stopped working in one room. Informed owner who sent roofers, roofer told us roof needs replacing skylights have sunk they would report to owners. Nothing was done about the light not working for the remaining 4 days.

We were more than disappointed with this property's standard of living. On contacting the owners they made some efforts in bringing replacement washing up bowl and a door and shower mat. There was the offer of a cleaner but we had cleaned through and unpacked by the time of this offer. Continued with holiday and contacted owners on our return with disappointment and asked for a part refund for inconvenience. This was refused and blame put back on us and apparent damage and costs caused by ourselves! Very disappointed, will not recommend to friends, family or strangers!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you found our property disappointing and we admit that there may have been some areas which were not up to our usual high standards. However this was partly caused by dust settling in the house after some extensive building work just completed days before your arrival and also as your stay coincided with the worst storms in the region for 30 years. As soon as you contacted us on your arrival we immediately responded with the offer of another full clean of the property (this was within 10 minutes of you contacting us), the replacement of any kitchen items you weren't happy with, together with money for lunch for all your party as a gesture of goodwill, however this was refused. The pool WAS cleaned prior to your arrival but as a result of the storms and torrential rain, our pool man could not return to remove the leaves blown into the pool until the storms subsided, however we were pleased to know that this didn't stop your children enjoying the pool. - the fan/light in the bedroom was working at the switch but you hadn't pulled the chain on the light - the roof had been replaced 5 years ago but the storm blew the water up underneath tiles resulting in some minor leaks in the living room and hallway - the garden chairs were affected by the weather and yet again these would have been cleaned at your request, they have all been jet washed now - the white chairs are shabby chic finish and we have never experienced paint flaking off on our clothes but we will look at this - the coping stone around the pool which was dislodged during jet washing of the terrace has now been re-cemented - we will look into the water pressure of the shower and the shower holder position Apart from the weather, over which we had no control, all of the above could have been resolved quite quickly during your stay if you had allowed us to.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Paradise in France

  • 5 of 5

We stayed as a party of eight and when we arrived the house was well prepared with a small welcome pack of groceries. The gardens front and rear were well looked after and the heated pool just the right size. The rooms were large and the beds comfortable, the living room had been furnished comfortably with some mod cons thrown in.The kitchen area was large with everything you needed for self catering and the bbq area in the rear garden was very nice as well. All in all we all enjoyed the house and surrounding area and would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing holiday home

  • 5 of 5

This house is located in a quiet village. It is clean and well equipped and has an excellent heated swimming pool. Our family had a wonderful time (age range 3 - 69 years!) . Wish there had been a restaurant within walking distance but the Barbecue area was good and there is a good takeaway pizza place 10 minutes away by car. We had very good weather but if there had been a rainy day there were plenty of games, DVDs and books as well as the TV. Owner and local manager were very helpful.

Would recommend to my friends.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in Lairoux and I am delighted that you and your family had a wonderful holiday. The bar in the village has a Moules Frites evening on a Friday and serves a great 3 course Sunday lunch with wonderful home made desserts by Joy but unfortunately doesn't do food any other evenings.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Simply Lovely

  • 5 of 5

We sailed to St Malo and had an easy drive through France. On arrival we found the house to be light, airy and spacious for us. There was room to park for 2 cars and the gardens were ample for the kids to run round. The pool was a highlight as it was large enough for all the family to play in and had 6 loungers. There’s a cover on the pool for when it’s not in use to keep the heat in which was easy to use and worked well as the temperature of the water was really lovely. The inside of the house was beautiful and totally in keeping with the French cottage feel. There was lots of room to sit in the lounge and plenty to keep the kids amused with DVD’s and games supplied. There was nothing lacking in the kitchen and the cook and tableware was of a very good quality with an essential dishwasher and washing machine. All the bedrooms were beautifully furnished with ceiling fans which came in very handy.

The village of Lairoux has a bar, but no shop, but within a 10 minute drive to Lucon you have large supermarkets. There is a boulongerie nearby in Bretonniere. The bar in the village opens from Thurs to Sun lunch , but you need to book for moules Friday. The surrounding area is flat farmland and interspersed with canals and rivers. If there’s any fishermen out there then there’s a good choice around. The beaches are within 20 mins drive through pretty villages. Our favourite was La Griere near La Tranche Sur Mer. It had great beaches and a little tourist town where we ate a couple of times on our way home.

As a family ranging in age from 3 to 71 I can honestly say there is something for everyone in this house and location and we will return.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review Katie. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed our house and the surrounding area and had such a lovely holiday. You were lovely guests and we look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

We had a great one weeks holiday staying at this lovely comfortable spacious house. It suited my combined family of 6 adults and two little granddaughters. The pool was secure and safe for the little ones and was enjoyed everyday. Location was peaceful but no distance to beautiful sandy beaches. Plenty of markets locally. Places of interest to visit. Nichola's bar in the village is a fun place to visit and food superb. The house ticked all my boxes and hope to return in the future but for 2 weeks, one week was not enough. Thank you Julie for allowing us to stay in your lovely holiday home.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you and your family had a great holiday in Lairoux and we would love to have you stay again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write this review Doreen - it's very much appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Malden

Lovely French house

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely spacious home, nicely decorated and furnished, and very well maintained. It has loads of character, but with all modern benefits.The living area is open plan, with a vaulted ceiling, which adds to the airy feeling.

There is plenty of space outside too, and the pool is lovely!

The location is peaceful, but has the added attraction of a very good restaurant/bar in the village.

Beautiful sandy beaches are a short drive away, and there are some lovely old towns nearby - Lucon is my favourite.

I have no hesitation in recommending this property very highly.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely comments - we are so glad you liked the house and surrounding area and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


From the Owner

We bought a house in this area because we had holidayed here and fell in love with the beautiful sandy beaches which never get too crowded even in the height of summer and the local people who are always so friendly and helpful. It is also not too far from the UK so that we often enjoy long weekends here.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : La Rochelle at 50 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : La Tourterelle at 500 Metres Nearest Ferry : St Malo - get 20% discount on Brittany Ferries at 290 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Nesmy at 25 Kilometres Nearest Train : Lucon at 9 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : A83 at 20 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Auberge du Moulin at 1 Kilometres Nearest Beach : La Faute sur Mer at 15 Kilometres Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

The Vendee has more kms of canals and rivers for fishing than any other department in France. For more information go to www.federation-peche-vendee.fr

Great for cycling with hundreds of kilometres of cycle paths, with bike hire widely available. NEW for 2015 - Quality bike hire available with FREE delivery and collection to holiday accommodation - www.bikehiredirect.com


Beach at La Faute sur Mer which is less than 15 minutes by car

La Tranche sur Mer about 20 minutes drive - watersports available - Blue Flag beach

Both are long sandy beaches with a good variety of bars, restaurants and shops.

The chic resort of Les Sables D'Olonne is only 3/4 hour away.


St Malo is approximately a 3 hour drive - contact us to get 20% discount off Brittany Ferry crossings

La Rochelle airport - 3/4 hour drive With flights from Gatwick with Easyjet and From Stanstead with Ryanair - Cheap flights available - go to www.skyscanner.net

Poitiers airport - 1.5 hours drive

Calais is approximately a 7 hour drive.

A car is essential.


Bar/Restaurant - in village

Beach - 10/15 minutes drive

Lucon (local town) with shops, restaurants etc- 7km.

La Faute sur Mer - 12km.

Indian Forest Adventure Park (zip wires etc) - 15 minutes drive .

O'Gliss Waterpark - 15 minutes drive

Puy du Fou theme park - 60km.

La Tranche sur Mer - 20km.

Les Sables D'Olonne - 45km.

La Roche sur Yon - 45km.

La Rochelle - 45km.

Further Details:

Nicola runs La Tourterelle bar in the village and this has "moules frites" evening on Friday and wonderful three course lunches on a Sunday and this is just a short stroll from the house.

La Faute sur Mer has a colourful market on a Sunday morning and also on a Thursday. This is one of the largest mussel producing areas in France.

Karting is available in the nearby village of La Jonchere which is great fun for both adults and children.

The nearest supermarket is in Lucon which is only a ten minute drive. There are a selection of nice restaurants and shops here also.

The area is great for a cycling holiday as there are hundreds of kilometres of cycle tracks and bike hire is widely available.

Tennis courts are at La Tranche sur Mer which is approximately a 20 minute drive - there is also an indoor swimming pool here.

Our house is managed by an English couple who will help you if you have any problems/questions.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 5
24 Sep 2016 - 19 Nov 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Half term
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 1
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 4
1 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 5
26 Aug 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

Booking Notes:
We require a 30% deposit (Non refundable) at time of booking with the balance payable 8 weeks before the start of the holiday together with security/damage deposit

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday in July and August . Out of high season we can be more flexible with regard to duration and changeover days - please enquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 10-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

We love being so near to the coast (approx 15 minutes drive) and surrounded by beautiful countryside but with the option of just spending the day lazing round the pool and we are lucky to have a very friendly bar/restaurant recently opened in the village. The house has enough room so that we often holiday with friends and family and don't feel that we are all on top of each other! It is only a 3/4 hour drive from La Rochelle airport or approx 1 hour from Poitiers or alternatively an easy drive from St Malo.

Property Type

  • farmhouse


  • Family


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village


  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks

Leisure Activities

  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Family bathroom with bath, over bath shower and toilet. Separate toilet. Shower room with basin


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8+2 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed. Bedroom 2 with twin beds. Bedroom 3 with twin beds. Bedroom 4 with double bed. All with ceiling fans


  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: Child friendly as house has no stairs and we provide a travel cot and highchair. The heated swimming pool is totally enclosed with a security fence. Outside: Our private heated swimming pool is 30 feet long with roman steps into it for ease of access and enclosed by a security fence with plenty of sunloungers and parasols. At the front of the house is a barcecue, a table tennis table and swingball and there is a grassy area for the children to play on. Lovely secluded garden at the rear of the house has mature trees ,a large wooden table and chairs and a built in stone barbecue and plenty of outside lighting for night time dining. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: We don't charge for cleaning but ask that you leave the house in a clean and tidy condition. Bed linen is provided but guests are asked to bring their own towels please .

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot