OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Holiday cottage with lake. Free pool table

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage with fishing lake near The Mont St Michel - Quiet And Relaxing, Short Drive To American Cemetery And Market Towns

Fishing or just a family relaxing holiday

Your English hosts are waiting to welcome you.

This 3 bed-roomed holiday cottage is set in the heart of the rural farming community of Normandy, but on the borders of Brittany so you can explore both regions.

The cottage, set in 2.2 acres of land, has been sympathetically converted and has a modern extension. You can choose a very quiet and peaceful holiday just relaxing in the grounds or fishing in the well stocked lake.

The lake (¾ acre) is stocked with carp, tench and goldfish. Perfect for the not so serious fisherman and young ones out to learn.


Fully equipped kitchen.

Stairs leading to double bedroom and attic with twin beds, family bathroom.

Lounge with pool table. TV with free to air English channels.

Separate stairs leading to double bedroom with en-suite bathroom.

Outside BBQ seating area (charcoal supplied.)

Free use of washing machine.


If you just want to come for a relaxing non-fishing holiday there is plenty of garden to relax in, either soak up the sun or curl up in the shade with a glass of wine and a good book. Also plenty of places for retail therapy.

Games room: Pool table, darts board, air hockey, bar billiards, exercise bike and rowing machine (floor)

More Details

Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French
Calendar last updated:
7 January, 2018

About Linda

Dave and I are both Londoners. Before moving here Dave was a builder and I worked as an administrator for BT.

in 1995 we found a lovely farmhouse and fell in love with it. After spending many years to-ing and fro-ing we decided to move here. Arrived in time for the 2000 tempete (storm!) At the time we were living in a caravan but from that moment we moved into the not so finished house! Dave being a builder we spent many months repairing other people's roofs damaged by the tempete. We eventually got to finish our cottage part of the house and whilst we had guests we lived in the caravan.

We now have the main house done in which I do bed and breakfast. We love it here, although Dave misses his fast growing family in the UK.

Linda purchased this cottage in 1995

Why Linda chose Villiers-le-Pré

Very quiet here with lovely views over the fields. We are close to neighbours if we need them but far enough away if we don't. Less than 10 minutes drive to two towns. Plenty of places to visit. Easy drive to airports and ports.

What makes this cottage unique

This is a very quiet place. Lovely countryside views.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Definitely would have loved to stay longer. We were all made to feel very at home. Very relaxing! Hope to come again.'

'This has been a very mixed weather holiday but very enjoyable. The towns roundabout are exciting and historic. St Malo and the beaches were a joy, golden sands and clear blue sea. Restaurants were fun and authentic. We had a wonderful holiday. Hope your stay is as good as ours.'

What a place! Lovely and peaceful, swallows everywhere. Really enjoyed our stay, super area, lots to do hope to return. A great gite - the best we've ever stayed.

Thanks Linda and Dave for your hospitality. The cottage was perfect for our needs we all felt really at home here. Will certainly recommend the cottage to family and friends. We hope to return. Overall a really lovely holiday.
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Villiers-le-Pré in Manche

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • lake
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • En-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 with bath/shower, sink and wc. Separate family bathroom with bath/shower, sink and wc.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , Cot available
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Cot if required
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , In the attic
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1: double bed Bedroom 2: double bed (Attic) Bedroom 3: two single beds. A cot is available.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • tennis
Notes on accommodation: Property suitable for children. Stair gate. Cot and highchair available. Sorry no pets. Outside: There is a patio area with garden furniture and a barbecue. All standing in grounds of 2½ acres including a 1000sq.m lake stocked with carp and tench. Utility Room: Use of washing machine. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Cottage is cleaned before arrival. Linen, towels, tea towels, dish cloths, cleaning liquids, washing powder and dishwasher tablets are included. Please bring your own beach towels.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
16% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Holiday cottage with lake. Free pool table
average rating of 4.611111 based on 19 reviews


  • 5 of 5

If you can make a teenage daughter smile then you must be doing something right! What a fabulous place to stay. The photo is a little deceiving because it looks as though the gite is just the white section when in fact it includes the 'main house' to the left as well. Two separate staircases on either side of the gite lead to bedrooms each with en suite bathrooms, giving each side privacy; ideal for two couples. One side also has an attic bedroom which kids would love! The gite is spacious, clean and very comfortable. The lake and surrounding grounds are idyllic for a bit of fun fishing, badminton, a barb b que or in my case sat in the swing chair with my book, wine and olives! Pontorson is local and great for a meal out and the surrounding area has lots to offer. We loved Mont St Michel, St Malo (great aquarium) and Dinan is a must. Linda and Dave made us very welcome and we would not hesitate to recommend their beautiful home. What more could you ask!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow what a wonderful review, so I guessed you liked it here??? It was so good meeting you all and we hope to see you again one day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely owners but Gite sadly in need of investment

  • 3 of 5

I am struggling with writing this review as I so wanted it to be great. The owners are really lovely the cost for a week is good and reflective of what is there. However after being at the Gite it quickly becomes apparent that investment is required to bring it up to a comfortable standard. The first problem we encountered were the bed pillows, the most thin and lacklustre pillows we have encountered made sleep very difficult indeed. The second most annoying problem was the water pressure, my 2 boys described them as comedy taps, we videoed it, turn on the hot tap... fine, turn on the cold tap and the hot stops running. Having a shower if another tap was turned on elsewhere or a toilet flushed the shower literally stopped working! 2 x bathrooms but only one can be used at any one time.

There were other things, the cooker randomly turned itself off, the coffee maker that was old and unpleasant enough for me to not use it. The fridge with a larger freezer section than fridge section, for renters who need the fridge.

The pool table that is very very old and un-level with balls that get stuck inside it constantly, a rug in the sitting room that was a serious injury waiting to happen because it was so slippery. Floor boards in the second bedroom that creak so much it can wake everyone else in the house up... really.

The pond is lovely and the small carp that live in it are feisty fighters on light tackle, the largest we had was 6lb although to be fair it looked larger than that. The problem however are the goldfish in there, constantly harassing your bait and getting hooked, the lake needs netting and the goldfish and smaller carp removed to allow other carp to grow.

The grounds and garden are lovely and pretty but the grass is not mown which I find incredulous!! It means you do not really get to use the lawns!!


The Gite has wonderful character and is larger than appears on the photo's

Pool tables being available, even though old we had great fun using them

The owners are truly lovely

Location is nice


No light pollution.


Pillows and bedding

Taps/water pressure


Grass not mown


Coffee maker



Lack of investment.

In short, for £450 I did not complain as we did not want to create an atmosphere with the owners in such close proximity (their house is attached to the Gite) but sadly will not be returning.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had so many problems. It would have been better and much nicer if you had told us directly as a lot of these problems could have been resolved straight away. Whenever I saw you I asked if everything was okay and you always replied yes. If had had a bad nights sleep the first night, no water and problem with the cooker I would have bought this to the owners attention straight away. You said you did not because it would have caused an atmosphere?? I want my guests to be happy so we would have done what we could. Nobody else has brought these to our attention so unless people do we cannot sort things. We will certainly put right what we can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Has potential but needs updating v

  • 3 of 5

Our boys loved the pool table. The lake and ducks were nice but no mown lawn area to play garden games. Great access for mont st michel. Beds not comfy and everything needs updating re equipment etc. Owner was friendly and helpful. Nice welcome pack.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry this was not to your liking.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home base to explore Mont St. Michel and Normandy

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed the quiet rural environment. Linda and Dave were wonderful hosts.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely feedback. It was so nice meeting you both.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

comfortable stay-a large house and very quit to relax

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay, comfortable and very clean. Great fishing for our kids. The house owner were very friendly.Everything was available in the house. We would certainly recommand this house. Perfect stay to visit :Le Mont Saint Michel and St Malo and.....Thanks so much. Family Streng from Luxembourg

  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. It was great meeting you all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A warm welcome and relaxing cottage

  • 5 of 5

Finding the cottage was no problem and we were immediately made welcome and shown around. The only surprises were good ones!

Milk in the fridge, biscuits and wine on the table. Starter pack for the barbecue, powder for the washer, tablets for the dishwasher, foil, matches, clingfilm, tea, coffee, etc everything we needed on day one was there when we arrived.

The kitchen has everything we needed. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms spotless. The boys enormously enjoyed the TV and pool table. We all appreciated the WiFi for so much: planning trips, checking spellings, weather reports and calling family (via Viber). Everything was clean and everything worked. If you need them, everything has instructions. Linda and Dave were there with advice and answers, or just a wave as we made our way to the lake.

We had our own little garden and dining area, which has cover from the direct sun. The lake is pretty and full of fish. The larger ones eluded us..until the last day! We saw dragonflies, buzzard, sparrowhawk, snipe and Kingfisher whilst fishing, which all adds to the experience.

The cottage allowed us to relax in comfort after a day out and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family or friends.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Alligator Bay
"Just outside Pontorson and on the way to the Mont St Michel. This is a great place for adult..."
L'Ermitage Mont Saint Michel
"The second most visited landmark in France. Beautifully lit up at night. Lots of shops to ..."
Nearest Airport
58 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
9 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
55 Kilometres
St Malo
Nearest Golf
37 Kilometres
Les Ormes, Dol de Bretagne
Nearest Train
9 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
7 Kilometres
A 84
Nearest Restaurant
9 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
28 Kilometres
Car: necessary


The nearest beach is 28km. But if you drive the along the coast road there are some lovely beaches and the views are great.

We are 10 minutes drive away from two main towns both with shops, restaurants, banks and weekly markets.

15 mins drive to the Beautiful Mont St. Michel and 15 mins drive to the American Cemetery.

You can choose a very quiet and peaceful holiday just relaxing in the grounds or fishing in the well stocked lake.

Or you can explore Normandy and Brittany, with lots of tourist attractions only a short drive away. Or just stay home enjoy a game of pool!

The breathtaking tourist attractions of Mont St. Michel, the quiet sandy beaches of Carolles plage and the beautiful fishing town of Cancale (seafood lovers paradise), are well worth a visit.

Walk through the lovely old cobbled streets of Dinan down to the river, where you can hire a boat.

For a full day excursion why not try the Normandy D-Day beaches or the Bayeaux Tapestry.

Lots of Theme parks and Zoos


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Villiers-le-Pré, Lower Normandy

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Jan 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
July and August 2018
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
August -2019
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Jun 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question