OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Renovated barn in beautiful countryside, close to beaches and attractions.

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Gîte in Plouër, near Dinan, Dinard and St Malo, Brittany, France - 15 mins. from the Emerald Coast, ideal base to discover north Brittany

**** For the best rental rates and to avoid booking fees contact the owner direct by clicking 'enquire now' rather than 'request to book' or visit our own plouer.com website ****

***The village of Plouër has decided to charge a stay tax from 1st January 2017 and we, as owners, have been requested to collect it. All our guests over the age of 18 will be required to pay 0.50€ per night per person before leaving the property***

The village of Plouër, with its local shops, supermarket and post office, is within a short walking distance and the sandy beaches of the Emerald Coast are just 15 minutes away by car. The property is an ideal base to discover Brittany; the coastal resorts of Dinard and St Malo are just a short drive away as is the medieval town of Dinan. Within a 30 minute drive you can reach Mont St Michel 'the wonder of the western world' and the resort of Cancale famous for its oysters and restaurants. 35 minutes drive away is Rennes, the capital of Brittany, with its many shops and historic buildings. Dinard, the chic and elegant coastal resort with its thrice weekly market, beaches, casino, restaurants and boutique shops is a must. St Malo, the walled town and port is frequently the scene for 'nautical' events and is easily accessible from the property by car. Numerous activities in the area include cycling, walking, golf, swimming, sailing, windsurfing, horse riding and tennis.

***20% off Brittany Ferries when traveling to Ar Karregenn***

More Details

Brigitte Kenworthy
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French
Calendar last updated:
24 June, 2017

About Brigitte Kenworthy

I was born and brought up in Dinard, went to school in Dinan and our property is situated mid-way between these two famous Breton towns, close to the river Rance. This is an area I know well and love. I have now lived in England for 30 years and although I love Sussex, I can never stay away from Brittany for very long. Luckily my husband fell in love with the Emerald Coast the first time I took him there and our two children have been lucky enough to spend many wonderful holidays playing on the beach at Dinard.

Brigitte Kenworthy purchased this house in 2004

Why Brigitte Kenworthy chose Dinan area

Ar Karregenn was originally a windowless Breton barn and we converted it into a 3-bedroom holiday home in 2004. See pictures of our transformation from barn to holiday home at facebook.com/ArKarregenn.

The property retains some original features such as the oak beams and the deep stone walls but inside it is a property with features typical of any modern built home including gas fired central heating and hot water. The downstairs area is primarily open plan with a separate utility room and shower room. Upstairs are 3 bedrooms, a large landing area and a family bathroom.

What makes this house unique

Ar Karregenn is well appointed to be your family home from home and our guests frequently compliment us on the facilities provided.

The property is secluded in a small hamlet but at the same time is within walking distance to the local village with its shops, restaurants and well stocked Super U supermarket. The river Rance is also a short walk away and the famous beach resorts of the Brittany Emerald Coast are just a short drive away.

Ar Karregenn is just 10 minutes away from Dinard Airport with year-round daily flights via Guernsey with Aurigny from Gatwick London City & Manchester and year-round non-stop Ryanair flights from Stansted & East Midlands. It's a 20-minute drive from the port of St-Malo with year-round ferry services from Portsmouth, Poole and the Channel Islands. Caen, Cherbourg and Roscoff are under a two hour drive from Ar Karregenn.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'Had a really great week and loved the house which was a real home from home with everything we could need. Could have done with longer in this beautiful setting' - Mr & Mrs T, from Aylesbury.

'A great holiday home in a fantastic location, with everything we could want' - Mr & Mrs B from Lewes, East Sussex.

'We have enjoyed relaxing in the lovely garden - sunshine and wine certainly encouraged relaxation! Local walks and trips to neighbouring towns have been great. This has been a most memorable holiday' - Mr & Mrs T from Newcastle.

'Delightful house in idyllic setting' - Mr & Mrs W from Surrey.

'What a beautiful place this is, excellent food and wine, wonderful setting' - Mr & Mrs G from Surrey.

'Beautiful house, equipped with everything you could need... very convenient location for visiting such lovely places' - Mr & Mrs G from West Yorkshire

'We have had a great week in this lovely comfortable and exceptionally well-equipped house' - Mr & Mrs P from Surrey
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Plouër-sur-Rance in Cotes d'Armor

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Ground floor shower room with wash basin and toilet. First floor bathroom with bath/shower, wash basin and toilet.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size bed. Bedroom 2 with king size bed. Bedroom 3 with twin beds.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Central heating included. Prices includes bed linen, welcome pack and end of stay clean. Towel pack (1 hand + 1 bath) £5 per pack. Cot & high chair are available on request at no additional charge. Outside: Ar Karregenn has a fully enclosed south-facing garden mainly laid to lawn. BBQ, sun loungers, garden table and chairs provided. Table tennis / ping png table. Off-street parking for up to 3 cars. Utility Room: With washing machine, ironing board and iron. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bed linen, welcome pack (including wine) and end of stay clean are provided. We supply 2 each of hand towels, tea-towels and bath mats; additional towel sets are available for hire. Other: Wide selection of board games, toys and table tennis / ping pong table


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)


Perfect Property

  • 5 of 5

This a fantastic property, with everything that we wanted. The welcome pack and well stocked cupboards (replace what you use) were a godsend. The garden is great as is the location, 2 mins from the 'motorway' junction yet in a quiet rural location. We expected Ar Karregenn to be good because of the other reviews and it never failed to meet our expectations. We couldn't recommend it highly enough. (Two adults and two children 10 and 7)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that Ar Karregenn met all your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic property a real home from home

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic winter break for New Year in this superb home in lovely Brittany.This property is very well equipped and was lovely and warm a real home from home.Superb location very quite and relaxing with lovely places to visit very close by.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic short break

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from a 3 night break at Ar Karregenn. The property was spotless and warm, it had everything we needed and more. Location was perfect, just 20 minutes from the port of Saint Malo and we loved visiting Dinard with its great beaches and the city of Rennes. The excellent supermarket and wonderful bakery in the village meant that we did not have to drive miles to find great food. The owner was very helpful in giving us tips to make the most of our short stay and we really appreciated the lovely welcome pack. We liked the wine so much that we brought some back! We will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted that you enjoyed your short break at Ar Karregenn and that you were able to use our recommendations to make the most of your few days on the Emerald Coast. We would love to welcome you again for a longer stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Splendid house in a pleasant location.

  • 5 of 5

A well prepared house and very "English" guest friendly. Very quiet, peaceful, well located and surrounded by lovely places to walk and visit by car. The welcome pack sets the tone of the stay! We very much appreciated the wifi speed and the size of the TV.! Many thanks to Brigitte & Peter.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Left a sour taste in our mouth

  • 1 of 5

The owner unfairly retained the majority of our deposit. Even though the final clean was included in the price of the stay, we cleaned the house before we left and respected the house like our own home. However the owner accepted the cleaner's account which was completely inaccurate, even though she did not see the condition of the house herself, and without any photographic evidence she retained our deposit. She refused to speak to us on the phone when we challenged her and only responded by email. She even accused us of breaking a light in the drive which was broken when we arrived. This whole episode has left us feeling really sad and hurt as we enjoyed our stay and have never had this experience in any house we have stayed in. This is a damage deposit and nothing was damaged and the house was left in a clean state. Due to our experience we ask you to be wary of booking this accomodation.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mrs Q. had originally posted a 5* rating for her stay at Ar Karregenn. Regrettably this is the first time in over 7 years that we have had to withhold any part of a security deposit (not damage deposit) and this led her to replace her original review with this 1* review. The money retained was to cover the additional costs of cleaning and no charge was made for the broken light and its repairs. Many of our guests return year after year and we are extremely proud of our excellent record as owners. In fact, over 70% of our 2017 booked weeks are returning guests. It is disappointing to have received this review but we believe that all the other reviews we have received so far and since (all 5*) speak for themselves.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Superb Property - We can highly recommend it

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely, well maintained and very well stocked property in a very pretty quiet rural setting but within easy reach of all the local towns and beaches.

In our week we visited Dinan (twice), St Malo, Dinard, Mont St Michel as well as finding a tree climbing place for our 2 teenage kids on the D155 near Bazouges. All are within a 1/2 hour's drive. We also had a very nice walk down to the estuary.

The Super U is conveniently only a 5 minute drive away, although a word of warning it is not open on Sundays. The next nearest supermarket (that is open Sunday mornings) is on the way into Dinan and only 10 minutes drive. But if you plan to eat out Dinard and St Malo are blessed with many excellent restaurants.

Brigitte, the owner, if very efficient, extremely helpful and was kind enough to check we had not suffered any delays due to the Dover/Calais travel issues the weekend we arrived. The welcome pack is a great touch. Thank you.

If you are looking to stay in this region I would highly recommend staying at Ar Karregen.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful comments. As a local, I am always keen for people to discover and enjoy my area and I am glad that you had such a great stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
27 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
30 Sep 2017 - 27 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150
Stay tax £0.50 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 18 years.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday during school holidays and we would appreciate arrival after 3pm. On day of departure we request departure by 10am. Outside school holidays between October and May we can be flexible with changeover day and short breaks are available (3 nights min).

Notes on prices:
Rental prices for the property include central heating, bed linen, welcome pack (including wine) and end of stay clean.
We supply 2 each of hand towels, tea-towels and bath mats, additional towel sets are available for hire.
A discount of £50 per week applies to 2nd and subsequent consecutive weeks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals