OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

16th Century Thatched Cottage in an Acre of Mature Gardens

People13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

thatched cottage in Littleham, Nr. Bideford, England, UK - Nestled In a Beautiful, Peaceful, Rural Valley

Hollands is a grade II listed, 16th century thatched farmhouse set in an acre of beautiful, mature gardens in a secluded North Devon valley. Located 5 miles from dramatic National Trust coastline, in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a UNESCO biosphere reserve, this really is a wonderfully unspoilt, undiscovered part of the South West. 2 miles from the historic market town of Bideford, we are close to lots of local attractions: beaches, cliff walks, fishing villages, moors, great pubs, working farms. This family home is full of character and period features. The main house dates back to the 1500s and is of traditional Devon long house construction. Oak beams, cob walls, ledge and brace doors and even horse hair plaster in some rooms are complemented by fresh Farrow and Ball colours, quality antique furniture and paintings throughout. With contemporary bathrooms, LCD TVs, broadband wifi, DVDs, board games, etc, every creature comfort has been considered.


Owner
Victoria & Tom Shard
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
10 August, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

"what a wonderful place this is. we are so sad to leave tomorrow. the children have loved it & have been so safe. the kitchen has seen many large family means & heard much laughter."
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Bideford in Torridge District

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Two contemporary bathrooms. Bathroom 1 with power shower. Bathroom 2 with spectacular views over the valley. Cloakroom with WC.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 9/13 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 4 large double & 1 single bedroom, all beautifully furnished, with Egyptian cotton bed linen and white towels. 2 sitting rooms, each with a double sofa bed plus 2 small children's bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Being so remote, it's also perfect for a group of friends for a long weekend. Outside: Hollands is very child friendly. It's been a family home for years, so it's very safe. There's loads of space inside to run or crawl about and the acre of gardens are perfect for hide and seek. Set in a sheltered valley, these mature English cottage gardens are full of secret hideaways and suntraps. They are a bird lover’s paradise. Swallows and house martins nest in the eaves, pheasants roam around the garden, while buzzards and a barn owl hunt in the adjacent field. The acre of gardens are yours to enjoy undisturbed. A very peaceful setting for a relaxed lunch. Tables, chairs and BBQ provided. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen, towels, heating, electricity and logs are all included in the price. Other: There's also a 2nd kitchen and boot room downstairs. Relax with a DVD from the library in the 2nd sitting room.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
16th Century Thatched Cottage in an Acre of Mature Gardens
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 10 reviews
1

Moldy musty tired and old "cottage" - DO NOT STAY HERE

  • 1 of 5

This is the 1st time we have ever left feedback on a vacation rental, however, we feel the need to make everyone aware of our complaints following our stay at the Hollands in Bideford. The trip which cost some several thousand pounds for 9 nights was disastrous. In the end we cut the planned 9 days short by 3 days and left after only 6 days and booked hotels nights in place of the Hollands Rental.

We did contact the owners directly to seek resolution. This process however did not work. They did reply, however, did not do anything to resolve the issues. We made a further complaint, which they ignored. We then left and stayed in a hotel, which was much cleaner than their rental.

We have to express our disappointment with the house. The house is in a great place and looks great. The issue is with the interior furnishings, fixtures and fittings. All if not all the furnishings, such as the couches, tables, chairs, lamps, all the kitchen utensils, are all pretty tired and let down the whole house as well as the whole experience.

It seems everything needs updating, there is also a muggy smell throughout the whole house, especially down stairs, everything in the kitchen is very dated, old, somewhat dirty and tired looking.

In the end despite spending many thousands on a 9 night stay we left early, with the continuing smell and state of the house, we decided it was better to stay in a hotel than spend another night in the house.

We did not feel comfortable using any of the outdoor furniture, due to age, algae and their frail condition. We booked this house much on the expectation of sitting out on an evening enjoying the setting and gardens. This issue was addressed to the owners, however, the issues were not resolved and to try and save some of the holiday, we went a bought ourselves a patio set so we could actually enjoy the garden and thus vista’s.

The furniture is described as antique, perhaps, although the couches and chairs I would describe as well used. The lamp in the lounge is all ripped, most of the couches are either ripped, no cushion and tatty. The dining room table has a plywood top. For example, I had to push the legs for some of the kitchen chairs back together, otherwise they would have fallen apart. We also did not use any of the wardrobes as the smell was overpowering and did not want all our clothes to smell. We had a bug problem, various spiders, wood lice, plus a mold problem in the little Holland bathroom.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that Hollands was not what you’d imagined. Your comments are truly upsetting and unexpected – this is in fact the only complaint we’ve had in 10 years of booking through Owners Direct. People leave the kindest comments and funny stories in our guestbook. We are sorry our décor was not to your taste. Obviously this is not something we could change during your stay, but I’m sorry the hamper of local produce we sent you didn’t help make your stay enjoyable. The house dates back to the 1500s so is quirky. We deliberately fill it with historical objects. We like old things. Some of the antiques are a little weathered, it’s true, but that’s through decades of stories. Luckily, it seems most people like this too. The farmhouse kitchen chairs are a mismatched bunch. And the warmth of the Aga shrinks the wood, loosening the joints, so we are often repairing them. It sounds as though you found a couple of loose ones. My apologies. The cookware too is eclectic: some pans are stainless steel, some Le Creuset, some original aluminium Aga pans dating back 50 years. I personally love the Aga pans, but they’re not for everyone. The silver plate cutlery has been handed down the generations so is a medley of styles. You’d be lucky to find a matching set! I’m sorry you didn’t find the dining table - it is a fine Edwardian mahogany table. The plywood top you mention is used for playing table tennis. But I must take issue with you regarding cleanliness though. This is something we take very seriously. Sandra and her team are painstaking and do a wonderful job. We are very proud of their work. And the bedlinen is beautifully pressed. Our English cottage gardens are a bit wild, certainly, but we love them. There is a beautiful RHS garden nearby where I go when I seek perfection. I must agree with you though, some of the outdoor furniture was on its last legs. It’s now mostly been replaced you’ll be pleased to hear. For the record though, it is lichen on the picnic table, particularly beautiful and common to the rocks and slate roofs of North Devon because of the pure air quality here. The house is remote and surrounded by fields. The odd creepy-crawleys do creep in I’m afraid. I know it can be a surprise - my daughter is also squeamish. We thank you for your constructive, if harsh, criticism and will be sure to attend to each and every point. We do want all our guests to enjoy themselves here as much as we, our family and our friends do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Setting, beautiful home......could not recommend more highly

  • 5 of 5

An idyllic setting, with every comfort and facility that we could have wanted. We had a fantastic stay with family members, lots of fun and laughter. Perfect location for us, gardens were lovely. We will hope to be back soon.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quirky, homely and warm spacious cottage. Beautiful gardens.

  • 4 of 5

Comfortable and spacious property for a large group. Very interesting accommodation. Particularly enjoyed Clovelly and beautiful Welcombe Mouth.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us stay in this charming cottage. It was full of character, beautifully clean, and easily accommodated us all for our family reunion for my husband's 40th birthday. We loved the gardens, the location, ample parking, the well stocked toy cupboard- everything was absolutely brilliant!

We loved exploring the area and found so much to do locally including Westward Ho! Putsborough and Appledore.

We've had a brilliant holiday and would highly recommend staying in this wonderful cottage.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A traditional home and wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We hired Hollands for two birthdays and three families with young children, we had a truly amazing time. The house was perfect for us all the men could escape to watch tennis, the children where outside playing in the beautiful gardens and we had lots of lovely places we could sit and chat watching the children. Having grown up in Australia Hollands gave me a true experience of a British home and was picture perfect!!!! Thank you to the owners for making such a lovely holiday home and also having such classic books in your library. The guest book went back to the 16th century also a magical book to read, very quirky.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!!!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect, cosy would go back 100%

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

We're in an Area of outstanding natural beauty. Beaches are a quick hop in the car. Our favourites are Instow 15 mins sandy, kids, very safe; Westward Ho & Northam Burrows 15 mins sandy, surfing, kids; Speke's Mill Mouth 20 mins rugged, unspoilt, perfect for experienced surfers; Saunton Sands 25 mins sandy, surfing, kids, Welcombe Mouth 30 mins rugged, unspoilt, rock pools and wonderful cliff walks; Saunton Sands 35 mins, sand dunes, surfing: Croyde 40 mins, sand, surfing: Sandy mouth, Cornwall 45 mins rugged, sand, surf, rock pools, beautiful cliffs.

Travel:

Being so remote, a car is essential.

Distances:

If you don't fancy a beach, there are plenty of amazing walks through Dartmoor and Exmoor National parks, along the South West coast path, Clovelly or closer to home in Littleham. Cycling enthusiasts will love the Tarka Trail, naturalists Lundy Island. Diving, sea fishing, game fishing and horse riding are all popular here. The weather isn't important in North Devon as there is so much to keep you occupied. Bideford is our nearest town 10 mins drive where you will find pubs and shops.

Further Details:

North Devon has become a haven for foodies too. Both Tom and I love good food so we've researched great pubs, restaurants and farmers' markets. Bideford has a number of lovely restaurants, Lathewells being one; great food, lovely staff in a very relaxed atmosphere. The Duke of Iddesleigh, delicious pub food in a beautiful old pub (won CAMRA best in North Devon).The Royal George , Appledore, serves great fish and has a lovely view of the water. The Coach and Horses, Buckland Brewer, good food, cider and darts. Further away, but worth it, is The Old Smithy at Welcombe, locally sourced food with a pretty beer garden (one of our favourites). In Appledore, you can buy fish straight from the boats. Bideford farmers' market has great local produce, Second and fourth Saturday of each month. Morrisons and Asda are 10 mins drive and Sainsbury's a 20 min drive. It's always worth checking out the Pannier markets in Bideford and Barnstaple for locally grown vegetables and produce.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Bideford, Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2017
15 Jul 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,250
for 7 nights
£2,250
 
 
Autumn 2017
9 Sep 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£975
for 3 nights
From
£325
£1,700
 
 
Winter 2017
4 Nov 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£825
for 3 nights
From
£275
£1,450
 
 
Christmas & NYE 2017/18
20 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,250
for 7 nights
£2,250
 
 
Winter 2018
5 Jan 2018 - 16 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£885
for 3 nights
From
£295
£1,550
 
 
Spring 2018
17 Mar 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,035
for 3 nights
From
£345
£1,950
 
 
Summer 2018
14 Jul 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,250
for 7 nights
£2,250
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
Contact Victoria by email for availability. We ask for a 25% deposit to secure the booking then the remainder 4 weeks before holiday. We send you via e-mail a Hollands Hand book and a things-to-do document so that you are well prepared for your stay.

Changeover Day:
Weekly bookings are Saturday 3pm to Saturday 10am but please ask - we're flexible when we can be. We also offer long weekends.

Notes on prices:
Long weekends are also available, based on a 4 day stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable