OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Unrivalled Harbour Front Location and Views; Cosy Cottage; Wi-Fi

People5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Three Bedrooms, Two Bathrooms; Perfect for Couples or Smaller Families

Unrivalled location on harbour front with extensive sea views. Harbour View is a quirky and charming Grade II listed cottage set right on the Staithes harbour. The ground floor is set up for open plan living with well equipped kitchen/dining and lounge areas. The separate shower/utility room is located to the rear of the ground floor. There is underfloor heating and open fire on the ground floor, so Harbour View is a cosy seaside retreat throughout the year. To the front of the cottage is a yard area with seating – the perfect spot from which to enjoy a cup of tea or an evening glass of wine whilst watching the world go by. Harbour View can sleep up to 5 people, though we would recommend a maximum of 4 adults to allow you to enjoy the facilities in comfort.


Property Manager
Amanda Ing
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
9 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We just wanted to send you a quick note to say how pleased we were with the cottage. We had a smashing weekend, with the children. York family - March 09

Beautiful cottage in a fantastic location. We enjoyed exploring the area - birds at Bempton Cliffs were astounding! We will miss waking up to the sound of the waves!

Lovely cottage in excellent location. Really appreciated the peace and quiet. Our first visit to Staithes but will definitely be back, hopefully to Harbour View. Mr & Mrs Steel - October 09.

We absolutely loved our break. We didn't expect the cottage to be so modern and cosy at all. Its very nice to wake up and look out at the view in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back!
May 2009
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Staithes in Hinderwell

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • House bathroom with feature bath and heated towel rail. Ground floor shower/utility room with underfloor heating, walk in shower, toilet and sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (3 Bedrooms) Two double bedrooms and one single. A travel cot is available for use in the single bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
Notes:
Changeover days - Fridays for full weeks and Friday/Monday for short breaks. WE may be able to consider other arrival days outside of school holiday periods - please ask for details.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Unrivalled Harbour Front Location and Views; Cosy Cottage; Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.3 based on 11 reviews
1

very disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Not the leather sofa. Fabric one and was filthy. Rug was matted and filthy. old photos. We had to clean the property on arrival. It smelt. Cobwebs on fire. Took photos. Pubic hairs on toilet. Hairs on pillow. Floor and outside filthy. Swept and mopped. Views spoilt by permit cars in front of cottage and ice ream van. Communication was terrible. Could do with payphone for emergencies as no phone signal. Had to prop window in bedroom with books to stay open. Left a day early. Nosy neighbours round back and child sat on cottage wall eating pizza when we were sat outside. Had to move outside seating. Not homely at all as other cottages have been in staithes. TV placed at side of sofa so had crooked neck watching it. Alcoves on fire filthy with stone bits and dust. Had to sweep. Cottage needs updating. Not worth the money. No nice cottage/seaside decorations apart from a stupid sign on fireplace saying no shell phone. Very disappointed. You don't go on holiday for a week to have to start cleaning. Freezer needs defrosting, had trouble getting 2 lollies in. Bed placed badly as banged head on wall to walk round. No wardrobes in double bedroom. Glad there were only 2 of us.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I was also very disappointed in the fact that you chose to post this review having never reported your concerns directly to us until over 2 weeks after your departure. We work very hard on all our properties in the village and I have to say I have never received such a negative review. If you had raised your concerns directly at the time of your stay we would have worked hard to remedy any issues that you raised. I understand that you are a regular visitor to a Staithes so I am a bit confused as to your comments about location of the cottage and issues with mobile reception. For the record the sofa was less than six months old at the time of your stay. The cottage is a three hundred year old property and undergoes annual maintenance, decoration and refurbishing.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

This is a fantastic cottage and with amazing views

  • 5 of 5

I took my Family for new years and it was amazing.

The cottage is very warm and cosy with the under floor heating.

We loved it so much I've booked to go again.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Cernusco Lombardone Italy
3

Character cottage in a beautiful position

  • 3 of 5

The cottage is small but cosy and in an idyllic position right on Staithes Harbour front. However I'd say this is much more of an advantage in summer than winter as in November you get the full force of North Sea winds and the windows of the cottage leave a lot to be desired. We had to block all the windows upstairs and in the lounge with towels to stop the piercing draughts coming in, and the bedroom windows rattled so much it was difficult to sleep. You couldn't sit on the sofa near the lounge window without a biting wind cutting across your neck. So for a cottage in this position I'd say that double glazing is a must, also in terms of heating bills as we had to have all the bedroom heaters going full blast the entire time and the two front bedrooms never got warm. It would have been nice to have some extra blankets available but there were none in the house. And some kind of insulation across the bottom of the inner door in the lounge/kitchen would also help as an icy wind comes under that too.

However, this apart, the cottage is lovely and we all fell completely in love with the roll-top bath. The sofa is very comfy for lazing about in front of the open fire, and the kitchen is nicely decorated and well-equipped. In terms of size I'd say it's too small for 6 people as there were 3 of us and it felt just right. I think any more than 4 and you'd be pushed to be able to seat everyone in the lounge and kitchen comfortably.

The winning aspect of the cottage is obviously its location as to walk straight out of the front door onto the harbour front is wonderful. And Staithes is a beautiful village, full of character. Dotty's tearoom is not to be missed and the owner is a delight, but we weren't impressed with the food in the Cod and Lobster. It certainly didn't live up to expectations.

Some more leaflets about local attractions and things to do in the area would be useful to have in the cottage. The few that were there seemed rather out of date.

Good information from the owner prior to arrival, with directions, instructions about parking and the key etc.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To avoid any confusion for potential guests thinking about booking the property we state quite clearly that the property sleeps up to 5 people with a maximum of 4 adults recommended, so not sure why the reference to the cottage sleeping 6? You stayed in the cottage during a terrible spell of weather and, as a sea front property by the North Sea, biting winds are an occupational hazard that can't be avoided. The details quite clearly that the property is grade 2 listed so I'm afraid double glazing and sealed unit windows are not negotiable with the planning authorities!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Charming harbour front cottage

  • 5 of 5

Despite not being able to use the fireplace, the cottage was warm and cosy. The location and views are lovely and it is a great place to relax and unwind. We had a fabulous time and hope to be back next year.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cosy cottage.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely quirky cottage.Great views of harbour.Nicely furnished,comfy.We thoroughly enjoyed having open fire every night,although when turned up the underfloor heating worked well. Very clean and everything very satisfactory.You do need to be fairly fit to keep climbing up the hill to the car park though!!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for writing a great view. All the team work hard to maintain the standards at the cottage so I am really pleased that you found everything exactly as you would want it and enjoyed your stay at Harbour View. Hope to welcome to you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and very clean cottage

  • 5 of 5

Chose what turned out to be the coldest weekend of the winter so far! We need not have worried the cottage was cosy with the underfloor heating and we made full use of the open fire. Found that the Cod and Lobster did food take outs which was great for our first night and then on the last day found the cakes at the cafe about five doors down have to recommend the toasted teacakes with honey and cinnamon and fresh coffee. We hope to return to the cottage this year. Thanks to Amanda for the esae of booking and to Les for his fantastic cleaning.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. I was a little worried you wouldn't make it last weekend with all the snow, so it is great that you were cosy and warm in the cottage! High cleaning standards are vital for our cottages, but rarely mentioned, so thank you so much for your positive feedback which I will pass on to Les. Hope to welcome you back very soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
85 Miles
Newcastle
Nearest Ferry
90 Miles
Hull
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Whitby
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Saltburn by the Sea
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Runswick Bay
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Picturesque Staithes is famous for its’ fishing and crabbing. The view across the harbour is idyllic and is often the subject of many artistic endeavours. Staithes is set right on the Cleveland Way and is the perfect start for many cliff top walks around the area.

Coast/Beach:

Staithes has a small harbour beach 200 yards from the properties, Runswick Bay 5 miles - long sandy beach renowned as the best beach combing beach in Britain, Sandsend 7 miles - beautiful long sandy beach with stunning views towards Whitby and very popular with surfers.

Travel:

Staithes is on the main bus route from Middlesbrough to Whitby with hourly services. Stations - Saltburn by the Sea 9 miles, Whitby 9 miles. Airports - Durham Tees Valley 25 miles, Leeds Bradford 75 miles, Newcastle 75 miles. Use of a car is not essential, but recommended.

Distances:

Whitby 9 miles, Saltburn by the Sea 9 miles, North York Moors Railway at Grosmont 11 miles, Scarborough 28 miles, York 45 miles.

Further Details:

Two local pubs The George and Cod & Lobster in the village plus The Cleveland Corner bistro, an intimate dining experience. In Dalehouse there is the Fox & Hounds and in Hinderwell the Badger Hounds offering good pub food. All are within 10 minute drive or 30 minute walk if you are feeling energetic! Further afield there are many award winning restaurants in Goldsborough, Sandsend and Whitby.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Staithes, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas/New Year 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£560
for 4 nights
From
£140
£745
 
 
Feb Half Term
7 Feb 2018 - 25 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£375
for 3 nights
From
£125
£575
 
 
Easter
21 Mar 2018 - 12 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£650
 
 
May Day
2 May 2018 - 7 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£650
 
 
Spring Bank
23 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£745
for 7 nights
£745
 
 
June
1 Jun 2018 - 10 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£650
 
 
Peak Season
11 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£745
for 7 nights
£745
 
 
High Season
1 Sep 2018 - 9 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£650
 
 
Late Sept
10 Sep 2018 - 27 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£375
for 3 nights
From
£125
£575
 
 
Oct Half Term
10 Oct 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£375
for 3 nights
From
£125
£575
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
£475
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £100
Pet Fee £35

Booking Notes:
Changeover Day: Friday for full week arrivals. Fridays or Mondays for short breaks, but other arrival days may be considered. Arrival is time is 4pm and departure time 10am.

Our minimum stay is 2/3 nights most times of the year unless otherwise shown on the pricing table. If you can only stay for 2 nights this will entitle you to a later departure time- please ask for more details.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable