Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Bron Meirion 4 Star Stone Built Cottage

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage in Nantmor, Beddgelert, Gwynedd, Snowdonia Hills, Wales - Peaceful Location in Snowdonia Hills.

Bron Meiron features a large kitchen beamed dinner with Rayburn (as well as conventional cooker), beamed lounge with wood burner with study through arch. Upstairs there is a large double bedroom with French doors to balcony, a spacious twin bedroom and a further double room. The bathroom has bath and shower above. Parking for several cars in large area opposite cottage with rockery, trellaced area and picnic bench. WiFi is now available.

Tony Hirst
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 June, 2018

About Tony Hirst

Gina and I live in Anglesey with our much loved springer spaniel Basil. Close by we have our daughter, partner and three grandchildren whilst our other grandchild and mum and dad live in Cardiff. We bought Bron Meirion in 1999 and moved in for three months to renovate it when I became semi retired and we and our family love to use it ourselves when we get the chance.

Why Tony Hirst chose Beddgelert

We chose the Nantmor/Beddgelert area because we have always loved walking and it is just as beautiful as the lake district but much nearer. Nantmor has so many beautiful trees and of so many varieties that it is almost like a parkland in the hills and the beautiful Glaslyn pass is minutes walk away. It has its own mini climate, warmer and drier than the hills round about but within walking distance of some of the higher peaks such as Knicht and Moel Hebog. Add to this the proximity of the newly opened Welsh Highland Railway and its like heaven for me!

If you are a beach person there are very pretty coves only 6 miles away at Borth y Guest and if you don't want to cook there are places to eat out in Beddgelert.

The ideal place for a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!

What makes this cottage unique

Bron Meirion was an old blacksmiths forge and has thick stone built walls which make it cool in the summer but warm in the winter with the Rayburn and wood burning stove as well as radiators. Ideal for drying cloths if you get caught in the rain.

The walking is spectacular whether its in valleys, on hills or mountains you can walk from the door in minutes. In summer the balcony affords picturesque views over Nantmor and there is a sheltered picnic table just beyond the parking area where up to three cars can be parked off road.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Beddgelert in Gwynedd

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Family bathroom with bath/shower over, WC and sink. Shaver point, radiator and wall heater.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 is a spacious room with double bed and French doors to balcony with table and chairs. Views over hamlet to hills beyond. Bedroom 2 is a spacious twin room with views to the Snowdonia Hills. Bedroom 3 is a smaller double with similar views.
  • Books
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Quiet and peacful location on single track road. Outside: Large parking area across single track road with trellises, rockery and picnic table. Welsh highland railway is 150 yards down the road. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included. Other: Beamed study with music system and CD player. Settee and easy chair.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Bron Meirion 4 Star Stone Built Cottage
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews

Superb well equipped cottage in an ideal location for exploring North Wales

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place so much that we will undoubtedly be returning on a

regular basis, ideally sited for exploring the whole of North Wales and Snowdonia. Everything you need is here, the only downside for us was the Welsh Highland Railway (there's a stop literally a stones throw away) wasn't operational during our stay, but that's our fault. You could walk up Snowdon and back in a day from this base if you're able, Anglesey is a short drive away too. So glad we found this little gem, I would like to be negative to put people off coming here but I can't fault it. Thanks for a great stay

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review. Thank you so much. Our aim is to try to ensure that everyone has a good holiday and that everything works as it should. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony & Gina.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

It's bigger than it looks

  • 4 of 5

A nicely-presented, well-equipped, surprisingly roomy cottage, in a superb location, and very peaceful. Many great walks straight from the door. I was initially a bit concerned about the chargeable electricity meter - it was on £2.89 when I arrived, and I had no idea how long that would last before I could get to the shop and re-charge it (it was sufficient for a couple of days - £10 is more than ample for a week). A most enjoyable week.

  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Magnificent Area

  • 5 of 5

Excellent cottage, home from home. This is the second stay here it never disappoints. The area is stunning, so this cottage ticks ALL the boxes for us.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

Regarding our stay at this cottage we felt that you should know that we are not happy.

On paying the balance for the holiday we were sent information which we did not have previously and found that electricity was not included in the rental and we had to visit Beddgelert to boost the meter. There was also the question of buying logs and kindling for the fire in the sitting room which had to be lit most evenings due to the chill in the room. The only other form of heating in that room was electrical heaters which would have been expensive to run several hours.

Having stayed at several cottages around England, Scotland and Wales, some of which were through Owners Direct with electricity always included and a courtesy sample of logs and kindling where appropriate. We did not expect the additional expense.

There was also rain coming in through the lintel above the kitchen window which needed us to leave a roasting tin and cloth to soak it up on a daily basis.

The fact that we were not told about the electricity and heating until after paying the balance and did not receive our returnable damage deposit until we contacted you more than 2 weeks after vacating the property has left us angry and disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, I am really sorry that you were disappointed by you stay in my cottage as it is always our intention to have satisfied guests. To answer your points individually: We have always used a charging system for electricity as it allows us to keep the rent lower and guests are charged in proportion to what they use. The cost is fixed by the Electricity Company (we take no cut) and is usually reasonable depending on use. It has not lead to previous complaints from guests. Back ground heat and hot water are provided by the Rayburn and there are bags of anthracite which provide more heat than logs with an honesty box. The leak above the window sounds like a re occurrence of an old problem which was repaired some time ago. Unfortunately I had not been made aware of this as I always encourage guests to contact me if they have any problems. I am sorry you did not let me know. The repair will cause some disruption so will have to be done out of season. Regarding the damage deposit, it was returned via Owners Direct with apologies after two weeks as I was away on a narrow boat with limited wifi availability. Sorry again for your disappointment. I wish you luck with future lettings Tony Hirst.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very well appointed and in a very favourable tranquil setting

  • 5 of 5

The property met every need and expectation we wanted. It is very close to all the walking and leisure activities a visitor to this area would want, plus being situated on a very quiet road. The cottage is very well equipped, but like many cottages of this nature, some of the rooms are quite dark. The kitchen dining room is an excellent family space. We would very happily return and certainly recommend this cottage as a place to stay and as a base for a holiday in North Wales

  • Review Submitted: 27-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate your unsolicited comments. It is so nice when our guests enjoy their holidays and the facilities we provide. Come back again soon. Tony & Gina Hirst
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

good cottage in beautiful surroundings, fabulous holiday

  • 4 of 5

Kitchen / dining room excellent communal area with warmth of AGA cooker. Owner very helpful and friendly, would definitely come again, Thank you

  • Review Submitted: 23-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to have satisfied guests. Glad you found the Rayburn cosy in the cooler Spring weeks. Look forward to welcoming you back. Tony & Gina.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
70 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Morfa Bychan


Coast and beaches 6 miles away at Borth y Guest.


Nearest stations at Porthmadog (main line) and Beddgelert (Welsh Highland railway). Bus stop nearby. Use of car recommended.


Beddgelert 1.5 miles. Porthmadog 6 miles. Caernarfon 12 miles.

Further Details:

Local shop and post office, hotels, cafes and pubs at Beddgelert.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
Booking via email, telephone or post. Please contact owner(s) for booking form on website.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday in season. Arrival at 3pm. Departure by 10am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.