OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Elegant Contemporary apartment with Roof Terrace.

Overview

Property

Updated: 06-Jun-2017
  • Sleeps 2
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Holiday Apartment in Ostuni, Puglia

In a quiet and traditional residential street a short walk from the piazza and Centro Historico, lies the perfect gem for a romantic holiday stay.

This elegant and historic townhouse apartment has been sensitively restored to enhance the original features but with an eye to modern convenience.The old stonework has been carefully revealed, lending a neutral and restful atmosphere to the uncluttered yet comfortable accommodation which extends over two floors.

The first floor is spacious and airy with double doors to a small balcony overlooking the street below. The living room here features a delightful star vaulted ceiling and traditional alcove sleeping area for two The bathroom has been carefully designed and includes reliable solar enhanced hot water to the basin and modern shower.

Walk up the old stone stairs to the top floor and you will find the charming and fully equipped kitchen which has ample space for cooking and dining should you so wish. The adjacent roof terrace has gorgeous views over the roof tops and a glimpse of the sea adds to the lovely aspect. Sun loungers, table and chairs allow for relaxing and if the sun is a little too much then the contemporary shade canopy provides a lovely shaded area.

Please note that this is an old property and some of the doorways are low and the stairs to the kitchen are steep. The property would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Barbara
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
6 June, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks again for the use of your lovely apartment.
May 2016
  • 1 of 5

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks again for the use of your lovely apartment.
May 2016
  • 1 of 5

16 Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

5

Wonderful stay in the White City

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is the perfect lodging to explore Ostuni and the surrounding Puglia. It is a beautiful, clean and well-kept apartment and it matches the pictures presented on the website. We loved the multiple balconies/terraces and took advantage of the gorgeous rooftop terrace, enjoying aperitifs and grilled dinners up there. In the morning we took breakfast on the little balcony in the front of the house watching our neighbors go by. The apartment is close to all the shops and restaurants in the center of Ostuni and if you have a car, there is plenty of free parking nearby.

The only con was that the air-conditioning is not included and must be paid extra for. Since we were in Ostuni in early - mid June we could get by without it, albeit some nights felt quite warm, however if you plan on travelling there in July and August, you would probably need to purchase this option.

Overall, my partner and I enjoyed a fabulous 5-night stay and if we ever find ourselves in Ostuni again, we would stay at this apartment again in a heartbeat.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom
5

A delight, everything we wished for

  • 5 of 5

The property looked wonderful, contemporary, bright and airy.

Loved the roof terrace

  • Review Submitted: May 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful apartment, sympathetically restored

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Barbara and Roxana's apartment for four nights in the lead up to our wedding in Ostuni. It is centrally located, with numerous shops, cafes, bars and restaurants in easy walking distance yet tucked away on a quiet residential street.

The apartment has been beautifully and sympathetically restored throughout retaining many of the original features that you find in these types of traditional houses in Puglia. It is very comfortable and well equipped.

Unfortunately torrential rain throughout our trip meant that we didn't get to use the gorgeous terrace but we could imagine how lovely it would have been to sit up their for breakfast or an evening drink as the sun went down.

A great place to stay - we would recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are so sorry to hear that you had bad weather, so unusual at this time of year. We really hope you come back to stay again sometime and experience breakfast on the roof terrace. Sending our very best wishes to you both.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Small, but perfectly formed and ideally placed.

  • 5 of 5

Having stayed in this apartment four years previously and found it the perfect mix of relaxing retreat (a glass of prosecco on the roof terrace after spending the day exploring the towns and villages around Ostuni, or enjoying the nearby coast) and town house (nestled among locals and close enough to gently stroll into the centre of Ostuni with its vibrant local nightlife) we decided to return In late June. Our second stay at this beautiful apartment did not disappoint and was just as good - if not better than the first time around. For couples who have fallen in love with Puglia this is the ideal place to make you feel you are living 'la dolce vita'!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. We were very pleased to have you stay for a second time in Via Rudia. We look forward to welcoming you again should you venture to Puglia for another trip in the future. Very best wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful, Modern and well equipped

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Roxanna and Barbara's apt for 4 days in Ostuni. On arrival we were blown away with the interior of the property and the amount of outdoor space, so much so, that one night we decided to stay in and eat dinner on the rood terrace. The apt had everything you could need, down to little things like a sewing box.

It's location is absolutely perfect for walking to centro storico and we took great advtange of that. One day we visited the beach, it was fairly easy to do, as we were using public transport, it would definetely be easier to find a more quiet beach with a car though!

We hope one day to return to our apartment and would reccomend highly to anyone looking for a place to stay in Ostuni.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely positive review. We love sharing our property and hearing that others have enjoyed it too. We try to up-date and make improvements every year to keep a home from home appeal as well as enhancing the lovely original features of the building. We would be delighted welcome you back again on your next trip to Puglia.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Gorgeous, homely and full of character!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved our stay in ostuni. The apartment was so charming and full of character. Would definitely stay here again, as so close to the main centre, it was very accessible.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are going to install a wood stove in the kitchen so that we can extend our letting period. Ostuni out of season is great too. We would be very happy to have you stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Brindisi (Salento) or Bari international 100.5km at 37.2 Kilometres Nearest Train : Ostuni station. Served by local bus into town at 2 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Local bus in the summer season at 6 Kilometres Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

Wonderful blue flag beaches are a short drive away, choose from sandy beaches, rocky coves and lively beach bars. Most can be reached by public transport from the town in summer.

The wild and beautiful Torre Guaceto nature reserve features beaches and opportunities for walking and cycling.

Travel:

Brindisi Airport is 40 minutes drive away and is served by local bus and train. Bari Airport is 1hrs drive away and is served by train.

Bicycles are available for hire in the town, but for exploring more out of the way places a car is essential.

Distances:

Exquisite, Baroque, Martina Franca is a 45min bus ride, 20 mins by car

The baroque town of Lecce with its Roman ruins, 1hr by train, 1hr by car

Kasbah like Bari is 1hr 10mins by train, 1hr by car.

Alberobello a Unesco site, is a town full of trulli, 40 mins by car.

Further Details:

Food shopping is a wonderful way to spend a morning or afternoon. There is a vast Saturday food market and a multitude of local shops selling home made cheeses, cured meats etc. All within a few minutes walk from the apartment. You can take a look around the town olive press and sample different local olive oils. There is an antiques market in the region every Sunday which comes to Ostuni once a month. There are a range of ATMs by the 'Villa' Park, 5 minutes walk away.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High Summer
24 Jun 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£263
for 4 nights
£460
 
 
Lovely September
2 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£257
for 4 nights
£450
 
 
Cooler October
1 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
£251
for 4 nights
£440
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£263
for 4 nights
£460
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

Booking Notes:
To secure your booking we ask for a non-refundable deposit of 20% of the total price of your holiday. 40 days before your arrival date we ask for the outstanding balance, plus £150 refundable breakages deposit. We charge a nominal fee of E10 for the wifi-dongle and E10 for the aircon remote both given on request. This is ensure that they are returned at the end of your stay.

Changeover Day:
We would prefer Saturday to Saturday but will try to be flexible as we know that mid week flights are generally cheaper.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Avg/night
Enquire Now
Updated: 06-Jun-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • Stereo

Suitability

  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • town

Attractions

  • bay
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom with shower, bidet, hand basin, WC, heated towel rail, full length mirrors and hair dryer. Shelves for storage.

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (Studio) Notes on bedrooms: Open plan with an exposed stone ceilings, double bed, bedside storage, reading lamps, pure cotton sheets and bedding.

Outside

  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: This apartment is not suitable for children or people with any mobility problems. The stairs are very steep in all the old houses in Ostuni. Please note that as in all houses of this kind, doorways to some of the rooms are low. The thick stone walls keep the house cool in the summer and warm in the winter, aircon/heating available on request. The water is heated by a solar panel on the roof and is plentiful and piping hot all through the summer. An immersion heater provides back up in the cooler months. Outside: The kitchen is ideally situated on the roof terrace level for alfresco eating. Sun loungers, shade canopy, table, chairs and barbecue are provided on the roof terrace. Views across the roof tops to the sea. Lighting for night time use. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The property is professionally cleaned before your arrival. Quality towels, beach towels and linen provided; changed weekly. Additional cleaning/shopping service at extra cost on request. Other: All windows and doors are fitted with mosquito nets. The water is heated by solar panel. This is a NO SMOKING house. Washing line for drying on the roof terrace.