OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Elegant Contemporary apartment with Roof Terrace.

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Holiday Apartment in Ostuni, Puglia

In a quiet and traditional residential street a short walk from the piazza and Centro Historico, lies the perfect gem for a romantic holiday stay.

This elegant and historic townhouse apartment has been sensitively restored to enhance the original features but with an eye to modern convenience.The old stonework has been carefully revealed, lending a neutral and restful atmosphere to the uncluttered yet comfortable accommodation which extends over two floors.

The first floor is spacious and airy with double doors to a small balcony overlooking the street below. The living room here features a delightful star vaulted ceiling and traditional alcove sleeping area for two The bathroom has been carefully designed and includes reliable solar enhanced hot water to the basin and modern shower.

Walk up the old stone stairs to the top floor and you will find the charming and fully equipped kitchen which has ample space for cooking and dining should you so wish. The adjacent roof terrace has gorgeous views over the roof tops and a glimpse of the sea adds to the lovely aspect. Sun loungers, table and chairs allow for relaxing and if the sun is a little too much then the contemporary shade canopy provides a lovely shaded area.

Please note that this is an old property and some of the doorways are low and the stairs to the kitchen are steep. The property would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

More Details

Owner
Barbara
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
10 December, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks again for the use of your lovely apartment.
May 2016
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Ostuni in Province of Brindisi

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • This is a no smoking house.
Location Type:
  • town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • Bathroom with shower, bidet, hand basin, WC, heated towel rail, full length mirrors and hair dryer. Shelves for storage.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (Studio) Notes on bedrooms: Open plan with an exposed stone ceilings, double bed, bedside storage, reading lamps, pure cotton sheets and bedding.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: This apartment is not suitable for children or people with any mobility problems. The stairs are very steep in all the old houses in Ostuni. Please note that as in all houses of this kind, doorways to some of the rooms are low. The thick stone walls keep the house cool in the summer and warm in the winter, aircon/heating available on request. The water is heated by a solar panel on the roof and is plentiful and piping hot all through the summer. An immersion heater provides back up in the cooler months. Outside: The kitchen is ideally situated on the roof terrace level for alfresco eating. Sun loungers, shade canopy, table, chairs and barbecue are provided on the roof terrace. Views across the roof tops to the sea. Lighting for night time use. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The property is professionally cleaned before your arrival. Quality towels, beach towels and linen provided; changed weekly. Additional cleaning/shopping service at extra cost on request. Other: All windows and doors are fitted with mosquito nets. The water is heated by solar panel. This is a NO SMOKING house. Washing line for drying on the roof terrace.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Elegant Contemporary apartment with Roof Terrace.
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 24 reviews
5

Wonderful stay in the White City

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is the perfect lodging to explore Ostuni and the surrounding Puglia. It is a beautiful, clean and well-kept apartment and it matches the pictures presented on the website. We loved the multiple balconies/terraces and took advantage of the gorgeous rooftop terrace, enjoying aperitifs and grilled dinners up there. In the morning we took breakfast on the little balcony in the front of the house watching our neighbors go by. The apartment is close to all the shops and restaurants in the center of Ostuni and if you have a car, there is plenty of free parking nearby.

The only con was that the air-conditioning is not included and must be paid extra for. Since we were in Ostuni in early - mid June we could get by without it, albeit some nights felt quite warm, however if you plan on travelling there in July and August, you would probably need to purchase this option.

Overall, my partner and I enjoyed a fabulous 5-night stay and if we ever find ourselves in Ostuni again, we would stay at this apartment again in a heartbeat.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very helpful review of our property. We love to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay. We would like to say that the air-con charge does not in anyway cover the cost of running the air-con system and we would never want to con anyone. The charge was put in place to ensure that the remote remains in the property when guests leave, as this has been a problem in the past. In future we will ask for a cash deposit for the remote and return it at end of stay. with best wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Cave house with steep stairs

  • 3 of 5

The home has 3 sets of very narrow steep stairs, not recommended if you have any trouble climbing. The sitting area and bed area are all in the same room with minimal space for clothes or luggage. It is clean however the floors were swept not mopped. My feet/socks were dirty when I didn't wear shoes. Bring your own shampoo, laundry detergent. Only 1 small roll of toilet paper was provided. You must buy your own after that. The furniture is IKEA, functional but not comfortable. The bed is low and on a platform. Wifi only worked 1 1/2 days out of 5.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry you didn’t have the experience you were hoping for while staying in our tradition 1800’s house. It is always useful to receive feedback from our guests. We have tried to cover the points you raise in our house description and specifications so that potential guests can assess if it is the type of accommodation they would enjoy. The steep stairs and low doorways are typical of houses of this period in Southern Italy. Our information on line and the additional information sent to guests state this clearly. We also point out that the bed is in the traditional alcove, and that the living area and sleeping area are open plan/ studio, with separate bathroom. The kitchen is fully equipped, self-contained on the floor above, with close access to the roof terrace. The décor and furnishings were inspired by this traditional building with the aim of complimenting the unique space. Items have been sourced from various places, some have been custom made by local craftsmen to fit the irregular quirky spaces, some come from local suppliers (kitchen and Bathroom) Soft furnishings and linen mainly from the Uk and yes, there are a few items from Ikea too. The apartment is self-catering and supplies are provided by those staying as is standard practice. We provide hand soap, condiments, kitchen roll, washing detergent, toilet rolls, house towels, beach towels and bedlinen. We have invited guests to get in touch with our very helpful house keeper if they need any assistance with anything during their stay. Wi-Fi is provided via a dongle, therefore the data is limited and not powerful enough to download films etc. Most cafes and restaurants in the town have free Wi-Fi. We really want our guests to enjoy the house as much as we do. We are disappointed that on this occasion we did not achieve this. We have passed your comments on to our housekeeper.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property in Ostuni

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful apartment in Ostuni is a home away from home. This was my fifth stay at the apartment and each time I return I am reminded of the wonderfully relaxing and calming atmosphere that has been created by Barbara. There is a much more substantial roof terrace sun screen than on my previous visits. The kitchen is well kitted out, which you might expect, but is too often not the case in rental accommodation. As there is so much excellent local produce around it's nice to be able to buy and cook it. I would highly recommend this apartment and Ostuni

  • Review Submitted: 07-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So lovely to have you both back again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We had the metal frame made for a fabric covering on the roof last year, so that there is more space and guests don't have to drag a sun shade around as the sun moves, much more relaxing. This also avoids the problem of the umbrella falling if it is windy. We try to make improvements to the apartment every year so that our guests have the best time possible. We hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom
5

A delight, everything we wished for

  • 5 of 5

The property looked wonderful, contemporary, bright and airy.

Loved the roof terrace

  • Review Submitted: 06-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful apartment, sympathetically restored

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Barbara and Roxana's apartment for four nights in the lead up to our wedding in Ostuni. It is centrally located, with numerous shops, cafes, bars and restaurants in easy walking distance yet tucked away on a quiet residential street.

The apartment has been beautifully and sympathetically restored throughout retaining many of the original features that you find in these types of traditional houses in Puglia. It is very comfortable and well equipped.

Unfortunately torrential rain throughout our trip meant that we didn't get to use the gorgeous terrace but we could imagine how lovely it would have been to sit up their for breakfast or an evening drink as the sun went down.

A great place to stay - we would recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are so sorry to hear that you had bad weather, so unusual at this time of year. We really hope you come back to stay again sometime and experience breakfast on the roof terrace. Sending our very best wishes to you both.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Small, but perfectly formed and ideally placed.

  • 5 of 5

Having stayed in this apartment four years previously and found it the perfect mix of relaxing retreat (a glass of prosecco on the roof terrace after spending the day exploring the towns and villages around Ostuni, or enjoying the nearby coast) and town house (nestled among locals and close enough to gently stroll into the centre of Ostuni with its vibrant local nightlife) we decided to return In late June. Our second stay at this beautiful apartment did not disappoint and was just as good - if not better than the first time around. For couples who have fallen in love with Puglia this is the ideal place to make you feel you are living 'la dolce vita'!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. We were very pleased to have you stay for a second time in Via Rudia. We look forward to welcoming you again should you venture to Puglia for another trip in the future. Very best wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
37.2 Kilometres
Brindisi (Salento) or Bari international 100.5km
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Ostuni station. Served by local bus into town
Nearest Beach
6 Kilometres
Local bus in the summer season
Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

Wonderful blue flag beaches are a short drive away, choose from sandy beaches, rocky coves and lively beach bars. Most can be reached by public transport from the town in summer.

The wild and beautiful Torre Guaceto nature reserve features beaches and opportunities for walking and cycling.

Travel:

Brindisi Airport is 40 minutes drive away and is served by local bus and train. Bari Airport is 1hrs drive away and is served by train.

Bicycles are available for hire in the town, but for exploring more out of the way places a car is essential.

Distances:

Exquisite, Baroque, Martina Franca is a 45min bus ride, 20 mins by car

The baroque town of Lecce with its Roman ruins, 1hr by train, 1hr by car

Kasbah like Bari is 1hr 10mins by train, 1hr by car.

Alberobello a Unesco site, is a town full of trulli, 40 mins by car.

Further Details:

Food shopping is a wonderful way to spend a morning or afternoon. There is a vast Saturday food market and a multitude of local shops selling home made cheeses, cured meats etc. All within a few minutes walk from the apartment. You can take a look around the town olive press and sample different local olive oils. There is an antiques market in the region every Sunday which comes to Ostuni once a month. There are a range of ATMs by the 'Villa' Park, 5 minutes walk away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Ostuni, Puglia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring-Easter
24 Mar 2018 - 5 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£240
for 4 nights
£420
 
 
Early Summer
6 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
4 night minimum stay
£240
for 4 nights
£420
 
 
High Summer
1 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
4 night minimum stay
£251
for 4 nights
£440
 
 
Lovely September
2 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
4 night minimum stay
£251
for 4 nights
£440
 
 
Cooler October
1 Oct 2018 - 30 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
£240
for 4 nights
£420
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£251
for 4 nights
£440
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

Booking Notes:
To secure your booking we ask for a non-refundable deposit of 20% of the total price of your holiday. 40 days before your arrival date we ask for the outstanding balance, plus £150 refundable breakages deposit. We charge a nominal fee of E10 for the wifi-dongle and E10 for the aircon remote both given on request. This is ensure that they are returned at the end of your stay.

Changeover Day:
We would prefer Saturday to Saturday but will try to be flexible as we know that mid week flights are generally cheaper.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable