OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Hilltop Country Cottage, A Stones Throw From Florence

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms4
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Apartments in San Martino alla Palma, Florentine Hills, Tuscany, Italy - The Property Is Set In Beautiful Countryside, Surrounded By Olive, Groves And Outstanding View

The farmhouse retains all the original Tuscan 13th cent characteristics, and it's set in an enchanting position. Perched up on a hill, with excellent exposure, therefore plenty of breeze in hot summers. Private parking (40 yds). Close to Florence city centre (8 miles), 10 mins from motorways (coast, Pisa, Arezzo, Siena, etc). These cannot be seen or heard. Shop and bakery within 5 mins drive. Typical country 'trattorias' also very close (5 mins). At the bottom of the hill there is a tramway which goes right into the centre of Florence (rail/station > Stazione di S.Maria Novella - last stop) in 15-20 mins. You can park your car next to the tramway, free of charge (4 miles away from the property, in Scandicci). The ticket machine is next to the tram (€1.20pp freq. ev. 5 mins). To avoid fines, don't forget to validate yr ticket once you are on the tram !

Owners organic extra virgin olive oil, organic jams, preserves, chutneys, organic fruit and wines, can be purchased.

More Details

Owner
Julian & Anna
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, German, Italian
Calendar last updated:
12 December, 2016

About Julian & Anna

My wife(Anna) and I (Julian) are British citizens, but both have some Italian blood and have lived on this property since we got married.

I am essentially an extra virgin olive oil producer, but I also enjoy organizing wine tours. My wife is an English teacher in Italian schools, but her presence is fundamental for running this business. Anna is also an excellent cook and therefore has decided, if anyone wishes, to give a few cooking lessons (on the premises).

Anna and I love living in the country and enjoy having guests who appreciate this beautiful Tuscan hamlet on top of a hill, but at the same time we are literally a stone's throw from we wish to enrich our cultural and social needs !

Julian & Anna purchased this apartment in 1958

Why Julian & Anna chose Florence Area

This property is part of a hamlet which was bought by my parents in the late 50's. We decided to come away from Milan and live here, permanently, in 1971. We produced some of the best Chianti wine and an excellent oil, which was exported all around Europe, the US and Canada. I feel very attached to the place, for its approaches, the exclusive, magnificent views, the peace and quiet which makes it quite special and unique, right in the middle of the typical Tuscan countryside, but also very close to civilization!

What makes this apartment unique

The property is quite unique for its logistical position. Close to all the main roads leading to all the main Tuscan towns, close to the town centre, close to all the main supermarkets, small village shops and restaurants. A 800m private track road (1/2 mile) leading up to the property on a hill (belonging to the hamlet), avoids any potential traffic passing by thus adding a big plus note to this small paradise! Excellent for walks and birdwatching.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Apt. 1 ' La Stalla': Dear Anna and Julian, Just a note to thank you for the most relaxing holiday, where I felt totally at home. We shall certainly plan another holiday with you! Hants, UK.

Apt.2 'La Vista': 'Dear Anna and Julian, Derek and I are settled back in our daily lives in E. We would just like to thank you for a great stay in 'La Vista'! We had a fantastic honeymoon. It was lovely to meet you.' Julia and Derek (Scotland).

Apt. 3 'L'Acetaia': 'A wonderful, beautiful setting in the hills of Florence, at the end of a gravel country road. A comfortable, clean living space in a very authentic series of rolling hills. Excellent location for access to Florence and surrounding countryside. Our hosts were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We would be glad to return at any time.' Marc S. USA.

George and I would like you both to know how much we enjoyed staying with you. J and G.
Apr 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

5

Breathtaking views

  • 5 of 5

Julian and Anna were gracious hosts. Fantastic directions to their place as well as getting to the tram. Tha view from the apt was absolutely breathtaking! Would definitely stay here again

  • Review Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Laurie, Thank you for your kind words. We really felt at ease with you ! We so enjoy people who understand and appreciate the natural beauty of this place. Anna and I are really looking forward to your stay again ! J&A
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raanana
5

Typical Tuscany

  • 5 of 5

We flew into Rome and took a rental car for 11 days to relax and tour Tuscany and see Florence and get a feel of an area of Italy we had never visited. Directions were perfect and we got great advise from Julian asnd Anna. The accommodation was as described with a fully equipped kitchen for self-catering. The apartment is situated on the ground floor and the high ceilings and direction made the apartment cool and shaded even though the weather was hot for most of our stay. We ate outside overlooking the fields and hills surrounding the house. The location was ideal for us. Both in the middle of nowhere, quiet and peaceful, but also 10 minutes by car from the Florence tram line and Ring Road for easy access to everywhere. We recommend days in San Gimignano and Volterra to the south and Lucca and Cinque Terre to the north. We visited Florence twice. The tram line is convenient and?

great and costs near to nothing. If you want somewhere quiet and off the beaten track, beautiful and good value for money, this is typical Tuscany.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sydney
4

Peace and Quiet

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I stayed Podere Vigliano Vecchio for 7 days during our honeymoon as a base to explore the region. After being flummoxed by the crowds in Florence itself Julian and Anna recommended some smaller towns and local restaurants to visit which retained much more of the Italian charm we were after. Anna kindly even organised tickets for us to see the main galleries during our stay. Florence was only a short trip by car (10min) and then tram (20min) and yet you arrive back at the farmhouse in quiet and idyllic surroundings and I found myself stranded in the hammock for many an hour during the heat of the day enjoying the rolling olive groves stretching from the terrace. Loved it. Only tip would be to bring some mosquito spray!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nick, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I too love relaxing in the hammock after a busy day especially on a summer's evening, admiring the stars and listening to the different animals. I have bought some extra strong repellent for the mosquitoes so if you come back I hope you'll find it effective. Enjoy your second summer, of course I'm a bit envious, and regards to both of you, Anna and Julian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Authentic Tuscany

  • 5 of 5

We had the recent pleasure of spending just over a month at L?Acetaia. We visit Florence at least a couple of times each year, generally staying in the centre of town for shorter visits. Visiting Italy for longer gave us the opportunity instead to try a different approach: and we weren?t disappointed.

L?Acetaia is a welcome antidote to the hot, busy and often stifling centre, and a far more authentic way of experiencing what it is to be in Tuscany. Swap crowds of tourists for the beautiful views of the Florentine hills, with their tranquility and birdsong. And yet here you?re not isolated: head back down the hill to the new tram stop in Scandicci (free parking) and 20 minutes later you?re in the centre of Florence. It was lovely to nip into town for lunch and a little light shopping, knowing that (not without some relief) the peace of L?Acetaia awaited our return.

Alternatively, instead of an over-priced tourist pizza, head for the local bar (and deli) in San Martino alla Palma, deceptively sleepy, until you go inside and find the Gucci crowd from their local headquarters down the road.

L?Acetaia is a charming cottage, authentically restored from the old vinegar barn which abuts the owners? farmhouse, and is comfortable and well-equipped. Of particular note is the large private terrace, with lovely Tuscan views of Cyprus trees, olives groves and vineyards across the adjacent valley. Julian and Anna, the owners, are so welcoming: nothing is too much trouble. On a number of occasions we returned from our travels to find a jar of homemade marmalade or chutney, a bowl of plums (picked that morning from one of their fruit trees) or some fresh courgettes from the vegetable patch next to the terrace. It is little touches like this that make a stay here so special, and so different from an otherwise anonymous B&B.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Patrick and John, It was a real pleasure to receive such a detailed and appreciative review of your stay at our farmhouse ! We try and make sure that our customers are satisfied and enjoy their holiday... It is important to us that our guests feel at home.... Thanks again. Julian and Anna
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in L'Aceteia. L'Aceteia is furnished to a very basic standard. The living room photo shows a TV and the inventory mentions DVD's etc, but none of these were in evidence. We didn't care about this particularly, but it is an example of a small measure of mis-representation in the details.

It was cool and wet when we were there so we asked for some heating. The owner turned this on and it did take the damp chill off. We used it for a couple of days, but while we were out the owners turned it off, exclaiming how expensive it was to use. Nowhere in the details we looked at did it mention a charge for heating, but we were presented with a quite hefty bill for gas as we left. So please please ensure you get this clear when you book, especially if going in spring or autumn.

It is a long way from any cafe or restaurant. The drive is very rough indeed. We used the trams to get into Florence and these were brilliant.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Carol, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. The unusually cold and rainy weather didn't help, but we will definitely go through our property details so that there will be no further misunderstandings in the future. I am sorry that you did not take my wife up on her offer of dropping the heating expenses, as you were obviously dissatisfied with the arrangement. As explained on the OD website's property details, we can no longer offer a TV connection. We mistakenly forgot to remove an old photo which shows a TV. DVD's are offered on request I'm sorry we overlooked this detail and thanks for your useful suggestions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Fife Scotland
5

'Tuscan Dream'

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in La vista was beyond all expectations...the location made Florence exceptionally accessible thanks to the proximity of the new tram system. Again the central location of the podere is ideal for further excursions eg. Sienna, Barga, Lucca, Piza etc. The owners , Julian and Anna could not have been more welcoming and helpful...ideal hosts. The directions given were excellent especially the GPS coordinates. We would highly recommend this well appointed appartment for those who wish to visit Firenze and surrounding area without the high costs and stress of living in the city its self. We will certainly return.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Andrew and Margaret, Thanks for you very kind comments and remarks ! We are here awaiting for your next visit and hope to be even more present and helpful next time. Our best wishes to you both, Julian & Anna
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£481
£1,320
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Minimum stays: 2 nights. The mentioned prices are for the "L'Acetaia" apt.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible. Arrival time: after 2pm. Departure: preferably before 10:30am.In other cases please advise. Thank you.

Notes on prices:
For 3d and 4th guests in the 'L'Acetaia' and 'La Vista' apartments there is an added € 6.00 charge per person per night.

Heating is not included in the price.

We apply a 5% discount for 2 week stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Lastra a Signa in Tuscany

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 55 m²
Location Type:
  • resort
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • The apt."L'Acetaia" has a small bathr. on gr. floor (WC+basin+shower), an ensuite bathr. with bedr on 1st fl. (2 basins, bidet, shower, wc). The apt. " La Vista" 1 bathroom (basin, bidet, wc and shower) The apt. " La Stalla" has a basin, wc, shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: 1 Bedroom Apartment Notes on bedrooms: The apt. "L'Acetaia" has 1 double bedroom on 1st floor + double sofabed on ground floor. There is also another (n° 2) apt. " La Vista" (on 1st floor) has 1 double bedroom + 2 single sofabeds (ask for details). Thanks. See photos. There is also (n°3) apt. " La Stalla" (on ground floor) has 1 double bedroom (ask for details). Thanks. See photos.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: There is heating in all the apartments. Each apartment is provided with radiators which are heated with a GPL Gas system. We also have the latest models of kerosene stoves, which are quite practical. They can be programmed so that you don't have to heat the apartment all day. The heating is extra and metered on arrival. A weekly clean and bed and bath linen is included in the price as is the final clean. You are expected to take away your rubbish and leave the flat tidy. If you are arriving late or on a Sunday when some shops may be shut, we are willing to do the shopping for you. Please let us know in good time. Please don't hesitate, just call or send an email. We have WI-FI in all the apartments. Outside: There are gardens and walks all around the property. Each flat has the possibility of using a barbecue. The 3 apartments are all provided with garden furniture (including umbrellas) to rest or sit in the sun. The dog belonging to the owners loves children to play with her. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included and are changed once a week, so as for the cleaning. Extra cleaning will be charged € 35.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Other holiday rentals