OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Large Villa With Private Courtyard, Large Pool, and Panoramic Sea Views



Updated: 17-Oct-2016
Villa in Estreito Da Calheta, South West, South West, Madeira - Peaceful Location Beach and Lavada Walks Nearby

Vivenda Das Vinhas has excellent road access with its own driveway and locking gates. It provides very spacious and elegant accommodation. Furniture is new and of a very high standard. It has extensive terracing, and large 10x4m pool with a private courtyard which includes a large barbecue, second kitchen and a glassed in area for lounging. The patio and colourful garden allow secluded sunbathing. From the terraces you may spot whales, dolphins and birds of prey. Within walking distance there are mini markets, a cafe, pharmacy, restaurant and health centre. Within minutes driving there are beaches (one sandy) a marina and numerous fine restaurants. The area offers some of the finest lavada walking on Madeira with spectacular scenery. The villa has an extensive recreation room on the lower floor with a full size snooker table, gym and library. English is understood fairly readily in the area, people are helpful. This sunny corner of Madeira is a fine all year holiday destination.free wifi is available at this villa

  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We are people who enjoy a quiet comfortable holiday setting, we enjoy our privacy and our villa reflects this. We like comfort and tasteful surroundings and have very good relationships with our Madeiran neighbours who are helpful and considerate as we are towards them.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Shona and Irvine Flett, Rosshire, July 2008, said the villa was very comfortable and tasteful. They found the secluded garden very relaxing. They used the barbecue extensively.

Mairi and Dave Parker, Skye, New Year 2011, said the stay was amazing, enjoyed the log fire on cooler nights and were amazed by the firework display in Funchal. They thought the local restaurants were friendly and had some excellent affordable meals.

Hugh Andrews and Keith Whyte, London, Jan 2009 found the villa quiet well furnished and relaxing. They loved the snooker table, log fire and hired a car to explore Madeira and walk the lavadas.

Grant Kerr and party of 4 friends, Edinburgh, had great time in May 2012, spent much time in the night club at Calheta beach

got invited to lots of local parties and lay on the beach recovering the next day!

Karen and David Diamond from Lincolnshire sent us fantastic feedback and made lots of friends during their stay in Sept 11. Our guest feedback is always excellent.
Mar 2009
  • 1 of 1

9 Reviews

based on 9 holidaymaker reviews


Our favourite place

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year in a row to this fantastic villa. It was equally as impressive on our second visit. The accommodation is very well kept and caters for everything we look for. The outdoor space is outstanding and is great for a family vacation. We have got to know Albino who looks after the villa while you are there and he is invaluable. Always willing to help and a really friendly guy. On departure from the villa our flights were cancelled due to high winds and it was very reassuring to have Albino's number. He arranged taxi's to pick us up and helped to find accommodation. We have already booked to go back again to this beautiful island and villa.

Thanks Ishbel for all your help too.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Slightly disappointed

  • 3 of 5

Although the villa is in a beautiful setting, we felt that the interior was a bit tired looking. Unfortunately, we missed out on our first night's stay as our plane had to be diverted to Faro and we weren't offered any form of compensation from the owner. Also, the week we were there, Calheta was in the midst of a raging forest fire - very close to the property. During this time, there was no contact from the owner, nor, from any other persons who managed the property. The pool and outside area was covered with ash from the fires. We had to clean the pool and patio areas as best we could to enable us to use them.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can only express disappointment that your visit was spoiled and shortened by this unique situation, caused by a very dry winter and spring followed by a exceptionally hot summer. At the time my husband and I were sailing on the west coast of Scotland outwith wifi range and did not receive your email for a few days. Nor in fact did we know about the fires until we returned.I contacted our pool maintenance man who assured me he would go round and check out the pool. We do not compensate guests for air flight delays nor do any other owners we know . Very surprised that you say the villa is tired, this is contrary to the feed back received from the guests who followed you, who emailed me to book the same 2 weeks next year. I can only apologise if you had to clean the pool, the pool mans telephone number is in the villa notes, if you had contacted him I'm sure he would have come down immediately. Our agent Albino is just along the road and Has not indicated to me that you are unhappy about the ash, he is always very helpful with guests and any problems are immediately felt with. I always get very positive feedback fro guests about his support.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We once again had a wonderful holiday at Vivenda das Vinhas. The villa is beautiful and the setting glorious. many thanks again to Albie for looking after us and for the relaxing evenings spent at his bar. We love Madeira and will return as soon as we can.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your wonderful review, we really appreciate your return visit and enjoyment of our lovely Madeira home and the value you place on the wonderful service of our Madeiran agent Albino , he is an absolute saint, hope to see you again. Kind regards Ishbel and Bob McClung
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing villa

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the villa for two weeks in August and on arrival we were extremely impressed by the high standard of the accommodation and the size of the place. The villa has everything you need for a great holiday. The village itself is very peaceful but has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. There are plenty of restaurants and bars only a short ride away and the taxis are reasonably priced and very reliable. We had a few drinks each night at Albino's snack bar with some nights staying longer than expected. Albino looks after you during your stay at the villa and was very helpful and informative. We had a fantastically relaxing two weeks and have already made a booking for next year.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Man thanks for this very positive and detailed review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Vivenda Das Vinhas and have immediately booked for next year, very encouraging for future guests. Yes our agent Albino is wonderful, so helpful and attentive, we leave our lovely Madeiran home in safe hands each year, he is a saint and greatly appreciated. Kind regards Ishbel and Bob McClung, Fernilea Skye.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice Villa!

  • 4 of 5

We booked the villa for a 19 night stay. The Owners Direct site clearly stated there was free internet at the villa. There was no internet and we had to pay 55 Euro for a sim card to get online. The details of the villa on this site are still showing free internet(27th May) We would not have booked the villa had we known there was no internet available.

  • Review Submitted: May 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

fantastic relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this villa for a week in late September, the property was lovely, pool area was very well maintained and the indoor facilities were the best we've experienced in a holiday villa. The local bar owner who looks after the keys was a lovely man who was very helpful, we had a few drinks at his place most evenings. The villa is in a very quiet area but only a short drive or taxi ride from Calheta where we found nice bar/restaurants. The 2 beaches there are very clean & the sea very warm. Would highly recommend a whale/dolphin watching trip, around £30 for 3 hours, we got very close to dolphins and pilot whales.

All in all a very relaxing, restful holiday, not the sort of place for anyone who wants to go clubbing, etc, but perfect for a week away from it all chilling out with lovely weather & surroundings.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0


From the Owner

We love this quiet unspoiled area of Madeira, it is cheap to eat out and we love the lavada walks. Our property has extensive terraces and a very large pool. We would be willing to do a villa exchange with other owners at our convenience. Bookings can only be made directly with the Owners through e mail or phone 07889513361

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : at 40 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : at 0.25 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : at 1 Kilometres Nearest Beach : at 2 Kilometres

Special interest holidays:

Surfing, swimming, walking, fishing, paragliding, diving and painting.


Calheta Beach (sandy) 5 mins drive. Jardin Do Mar (surfing and swimming) 5 mins drive. Calheta Marina (fishing) 5 mins drive.


Motorway access- 1 min drive. Funchal Airport 40km.


Funchal is only 30 minutes away.

Further Details:

Sunny south Madeira has only recently been opened up to tourism. Madeira's famous lavada system offers a tranquil walking experience through breathtaking scenery with a spectacular mountain backdrop. The Calheta area gives a taste of the real Madeira and its friendly people. Eating out is very affordable with quality food and local wines, there is a huge selection of superb local restaurants. A short drive takes you up onto the Paul De Serra where there are more lavada walks and climbs with amazing vistas. Funchal is quickly accessed by car and is one of the most attractive cultured cities in the world. Its shopping centres are first class with extensive parking available. James villas (luxury class letting) wanted to advertise our villa at great cost but we prefer to stick with Owners Direct and have total control of letting at a cheaper rate for our guests.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
19 Sep 2016 - 31 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A non returnable deposit of 20% is required on booking. Remittance to be paid 2 weeks before arrival.

Changeover Day:

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK pounds for 2 persons. Additional members of a party are charged £70 per week or £10 per night.The pool is only heated Nov-end March this can not be altered.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 17-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Shops, restaurants amenities nearby, many locals speak English and are very helpful. Our property is well equipped as we live here all winter, we have internet,wifi, gym library and a self contained studio for larger parties, or to accommodate teenagers in the family. We always get excellent feedback from our guests re. The villa, our agent and cleaning/pool staff.

Property Type

  • villa


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool


  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed

Location Type

  • beach
  • rural

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Main bathroom with shower, WC and bidet. Shower room with WC and wash basin. Shower room also in poolhouse.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (3 Bedrooms)+king size bed in recreation Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size bed. Bedroom 2 with double bed. Bedroom 3 with 2 single beds. Games room has an area with double bed offering additional sleeping space Studio upstairs has a double bedroom and lounge


  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: Children welcome, as most of the accommodation is on ground floor and level it is suitable for elderly or infirm. All furniture is new and the rooms are all colour co-ordinated. Plants make the rooms lively. All bedrooms have new beds and lots of wardrobe space. There is an abundance of outdoor furniture with pool and sun-loungers. Double patio doors lead out to the pool (heated in winter time at an additional cost of £20 31Oct-1April) this is non negotiable with our agents Outside: Front and back gardens are colourful. Balcony from top floor lounge. Terraces for shade are available both in the courtyard and at the pool, 2 sets of outdoor tables and chairs. 7 sunloungers, 4 comfortable outdoor chairs. Large barbecue with appropriate equipment, extensive outdoor lighting. All terraces have stunning views and patio doors leading into the house. Utility Room: Washing machine, ironing board. This area is very spacious and stores sunloungers. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen provided, the property is cleaned and serviced before and after each booking. Other: An extensive recreation room, 150sqm is in the lower floor. It houses a full size snooker table, bar, dartboard, gym and library. 2 sets of patio doors lead onto the patio. All snooker, gym and dart equipment is available free of charge. Free use internet at agents

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot