Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Stunning Villa With Private Pool

Bedrooms 4
Separate WCs1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Villa in Bargemon, Var, Provence, France - Peaceful Location, Short Walk To The Village

The villa nestles into the surrounding hillside by the 11th century medieval village of Bargemon, affording guests complete privacy and security. The wide gravel drive sweeps up to the house, flanked by stunning gardens. There is a large covered terrace outside the lounge with a summer kitchen, additional shade is provided by a large fig tree. The pool terrace adjoining the house is south facing and has a pergola covered by jasmine, vines and the Rose de Provence. The pool measures 9.50x4.30m and is heated from April to late October. The pool terrace has a selection of layout chairs, dining table, occasional tables, chairs and deck chairs. Several large parasols provide shade when needed. The pool area is completely enclosed with wrought iron fences and gates with child proof locks to ensure that small children are safe at all times. The house has undergone a major refurbishment and is decorated in a range of neutral tones to provide light and airy accommodation.

Joyce Hibell
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 June, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Bargemon in Var

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • Rentals are Saturday - Saturday unless agreed with the owner
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , main bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , en-suite to bed 4
    Bathroom 3 - Shower Enclosure , en-suite to bedroom 3
  • En-suite bathroom to bed 4 - roll top bath/shower attachment, wc, separate shower. Bathroom with bath/shower attachment,separate shower, WC. Shower bed 3 W.C. in hall
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sofa bed is a day bed with single mattress
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot , Cot is a cot bed suitable for a child up to the age of 4 yrs
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with twin beds. Bedroom 2 with 5ft bed and day bed. Bedroom 3 with 5ft bed, plus cot Bedroom 4 with double bed, cot bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes on accommodation: The property has electric central heating throughout for those cooler months coupled with a large log burning fireplace and a log burning stove in the lounge/dining area. The main house has an air conditioning system. The terraces surrounding the house are flat and the entire pool area is enclosed with wrought iron fences with child-proof lockable gates. Outside: The private pool measures 9.50 x 4.30m and is heated from April to late October.The gardens surrounding the house are extensively planted with mediterranean plants and outside terraces can be assessed from all bedrooms. The immediate terraces surrounding the house and pool are all on one level and are therefore particularly safe for children or for people with poor mobility. There is a full range of outside tables and chairs, layout chairs with mattresses, deckchairs and swimming aids. There is a Webber Gas BBQ and a summer kitchen with additional fridge on the lounge terrace. Utility Room: Washer, tumble dryer, iron, ironing board. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All towels, including pool towels and linen are included. Property is cleaned weekly and linens/towels are changed weekly.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Villa With Private Pool
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

We felt the villa needed a bit of care and attention

  • 3 of 5

The villa is nice enough with nice furniture but is let down by old items such as fridge ( the fridge door doesn't work properly . ) we waisted a lot of money on frozen items in the supermarket that melted in the freezer.

The tumble dryer never worked in our time there

The taps all need replacing .water sprays from the top of some .

We also felt we should have been warned about the donkey in next door house which woke us up several times a night. This was a nightmare with young children.

The trees surrounding outside kitchen are all in need of attention.

The manager was as helpful as could be when the water was switched off for two days. We understand this is a regular problem in the area but on a summer holiday it is a huge inconvenience to have no water for two days.

The swimming pool was cloudy by the end of the week , my grandson has an ear infection which we suspect could have come from the pool.

Having been told on details that the master bedroom had a king size bed it was not . This is a trade description. My husband has a bad back and I have a bad shoulder making it impossible to sleep in small bed. We would never have booked the property if we had known this

The outside table and chairs were not clean and a full dirty ashtray was left by the pool. This could have bad consequences with little children.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is our policy to always replace broken/faulty goods as soon as possible. However unfortunately there is no next day delivery in rural France. We instructed the manager to replace these items as soon as we were made aware of the problem. I was not aware of a problem with the taps - neither was the house manager. I have a plumber on-call who would have repaired/replaced any faulty taps if we had been notified. I have asked the house manager to check immediately. There are 2 trees by the outside kitchen, a fig and a palm. These are there for shade as it is impossible to sit on this outside terrace in the morning sun. I did ask the gardener to reduce the size of the fig slightly in May,as it was growing on to the roof but he told me that it was not the right time, but confirmed he would do it in autumn. They have both obviously grown considerably during the summer months. I have asked the house manager to ask the gardener to remove any overhanging branches for now. I have never known the donkey cause a problem during the night, and am sorry if this proved to be an issue. Guests have not complained before. A leak in the main water supply to this part of the village caused the water to be cut off whilst repairs were made. Despite the repair, the leak continued and the water supply was disrupted again for further repair, leaving some houses without water for 5 days. Unfortunately I had no control over this, but am sorry that it affected people's holidays.I asked my manager to take some bottled water to guests to try help where I could. I have owned houses in this village for 10 years and have never had an issue with the supply until this leak. Outdoor swimming pools can be affected by extreme heat. My pool technician is available to rectify any problems with the pool. Guests should always contact the house manager immediately if there is a problem so that we can rectify it. I have checked my details on Owners Direct with regard to the bedrooms. I do not say that there is a master bedroom. The upstairs bedroom with the en-suite clearly states that the bed in there is a double (4ft. 6ins). There are however 5ft beds in 2 other bedrooms and a twin bedded room. I am surprised that the outside table and chairs were not clean or that there was a dirty ashtray by the pool. This is of course unacceptable and I have asked the house manager to talk to the cleaning team about this. Joyce Hibell Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonder house

  • 5 of 5

Stunning house with everything we needed. Perfect for families and a very safe and considerate environment provided for small children. The pool was amazing, the beds were very comfortable as was the sitting room. A wonderful week.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have tried to furnish and equip the house as a family home and not just a holiday rental. We have stayed at the house ourselves with young grandchildren so safety, particularly around the pool was paramount. Joyce Hibell Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location for families

  • 5 of 5

We visited this villa with two families of four and our trip was incredible. There was ample room in the house for our busy group, the kitchen was well equipped and there were more than enough pool towels! All of the children were under the age of 4 and we really appreciated the children's cutlery, toys, high chairs, infant beds and of course the security of the pool area. Joanna - the property manager - was very helpful and happily answered a number of questions throughout the week.

The village of Bargemon was very close by and we enjoyed trips there at 7:00 am for the first batch of croissants at the boulangerie. We also visited during the day to wander the picturesque village.

I would highly recommend this property to any family or group looking for a sun- and pool-filled getaway in the Var. Note that travelling to Bargemon from Nice and Marseille was relatively pain free.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good to hear that the house provided ample room and facilities for a family group.We have spent many happy holidays there with our own family and grandchildren when they were small and therefore have catered for small children as well as adults. Joyce Hibell Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely villa and pool great views well equipped ,good for chilled out hol

  • 4 of 5

Overall holiday was good and would recommend it ::-only downsides are the town is only 1km but up v steep hill no good for buggy or young children to walk (no pavement ) or hot weather

in v hot weather room at top of house beautiful but gets very hot needs another air con unit ,would have liked some cleaning equipment left to clean tables outside , toilets etc

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bargemon is one of the perched villages of the Var and therefore the area is very hilly in parts. Pavements are few and far between in the countryside. Many guests walk into the village,but it is a steep walk in parts and guests are warned if they ask about this. Fans are provided for the top bedroom in hot weather, but it has been particularly hot this June. I will look to provide an air-con unit in this room, if possible. Unfortunately this is a self-catering property and cleaning materials are not provided.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rural sanctuary

  • 4 of 5

This was our third visit to this wonderful rural retreat in Bargemon. The house is comfortable with everything you need but it is the pool area that brings us back. The kids can play all day and the views are stunning. The village is a slice of rural French life. Collect you fresh bread at the patisserie and buy quality meat at the boucherie. There is a Proxi store selling everything else you will need! And if you can't face cooking there are three excellent restaurants in the village.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic Stay

  • 5 of 5

This villa is absolutely beautiful and the views are completely breathtaking.

It was the perfect place for a family holiday, we throughly enjoyed Bargemon and the surrounding areas, we really got to know the area well and would absolutely love to return.

Joanna (who looks after the villa) is an absolute star, so friendly and kind – she gave us lots of help and advice on places to visit.

We went away with 1 baby and 1 toddler - its totally geared up for kids - a great feature is the pool being gated. they also have great facilities like high chairs, cot beds, childrens cutlery and even a few books and DVDs.

The Villa is beautifully decorated, you can tell the owners have put a lot of time and effort into it. Very spacious and plently of room for parking.

Bargemon is only a couple of minutes drive away, more breath taking views. there is bakery, little supermarket, butchers etc and a few shops and restaurants. very quaint and the people were all really lovely, we were felt very welcomed.

all in all a fantastic stay! would absolutely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
100 Kilometres
St Raphael
Nearest Golf
20 Kilometres
Four Seasons - Fayence
Nearest Motorway
20 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Nearest Ski
55 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
40 Kilometres
St Tropez
Car: necessary


A car journey of 30 minutes takes you to Lac St Cassien, ideal for young children with it's beaches, restaurants and pedalos. This lake is renowned for it's carp fishing and daily permits can be obtained on the lakeside. Lac St Croix and the stunning Gorge du Verdon are a 45 minute drive away. There you can go rafting, sailing, climbing or for wonderful walks. It is 30 miles to St Raphael and St Maxime on the coast. 35 miles to St Tropez.


Nice airport is approx 45 miles (75 mins), Toulon 45 miles (75 mins) Marseille 90 mins. By car: Via Chanel Port to Aix-en-Provence and A8 to Le Muy. Approx 780 miles from Calais.

Nearest railway station: Les Arcs, 15 miles. London to Paris/Paris to Les Arcs.


The house is 2km from the village of Bargemon. A short-cut will take you approx 15 mins on foot.

Further Details:

Bargemon is arguably the prettiest village in the Var. It retains it's original 11th century gates and fortifications. It abounds in fountains, shaded squares and restaurants where you can sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere. It has a small weekly market and boasts two boulangeries, a small supermarket, a butcher, tabac, pharmacy, a greengrocers, a gift shop and several art galleries.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A 25% deposit is required to secure any booking. The balance becomes payable 8 weeks prior to your arrival.

Changeover Day:
In season changeover day is Saturday. Out of season, we can be flexible. Guests are required to depart by 10a.m. in order that the property can be prepared for incoming guests. Incoming guests can have access to the house after 4p.m.

Notes on prices:
A 25% non-returnable deposit is required on booking, with the balance due 8 weeks before the start of the holiday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.