OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Apartment In the grounds of our secluded villa with private pool.

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Holiday Villa Cartama Estacion, Malaga Area, Costa Del Sol - Peaceful, Rural Location, 20 Mins Drive From The Coast, Sat Nav Location 36.74026n, 4.6342

The secluded garden with several palm trees, and olive trees is very private, ideal for sunbathing in complete privacy. There are lawned areas ideal for boules, volleyball etc, and there is a wooden games box, full of garden games. We have a gas barbecue and a charcoal one, situated on a side terrace by the pool, which is 8 x 4m. The 2 bed flat which is the one for rental has patio doors leading onto a private, gated and secluded patio, which has sun loungers, mats and table and chairs. There are also tables/chairs and loungers on the side and front patios of the flat and in various other locations round the gardens. The pool is completely private and is used by our guests and us solely, although we rarely use when guests are here.

Outside the main villa where we live, on the side is a lovely seating area, to relax or eat meals cooked on either of the bbqs.

The main terrace at the front of the our villa, overlooking the pool, there are eating and relaxing areas, with music and games and Xbox when we are home.

More Details
Carol Pownall
53 Highfield Road South, Chorley
PR7 9HS Chorley Lancs United Kingdom
VAT Reg No

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
21 April, 2017

Why The Owner chose Guadalhorce (Costa del Sol)

We chose this property in 2000, because of its ideal location for everything. It is within 25 mins walking distance from the village, where you have access to good train and bus services, should you prefer not to drive. The village has all the necessary facilities of banks restaurants and shops and a lively Sunday market. For people who have not visited inland villages, you will find drinking and eating out is very cheap. Menu del dia, a 3 course lunch is approx 7e in most places and the village Chinese does a 3 course meal, Tuesday to Friday including a drink, currently at a price of 6.95 e. Of course most bars are famous for their selection of tapas and fish.

What makes this bungalow unique

A quiet break in a secluded area, where guests can relax on their own or join in with any of the games we have. Complete privacy was a must when we purchased the property.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Just what we were looking for, it was quiet and restful with all that we were requiring. Whilst there we both had a very nice relaxing back massage, which we would really recommend..Paul and Jackie... Had a brilliant 2 weeks at Casa Del Sun. We were made very welcome as always. Weather very hot. Thank goodness for the pool, the boys really had a fantastic time. They enjoyed playing with the dogs, who tired the children out nicely in the evening. The local village has everything we needed to make our holiday so peaceful and relaxing, whilst being close enough for a nice meal or a pleasant drink with the locals..... Scott, Liz and family... Thanks for everything, really loved the peace and quiet of the gardens and pool. Ideal location. Yet again a wonderful relaxing holiday...Eric and Sue. Enjoyed our cards and dominoes games evenings, good conversation and the odd drink! Don't want to go home. Hope to be back soon.
Sep 2008
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in Cártama in Malaga Province (Costa del Sol)

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • rural
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • The bathroom has a walk in shower, and the usual amenities.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot , 1 single and 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - King size bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: First bedroom contains a king size bed. Second bedroom contains a bunk bed and one single bed. Another single bed can be exchanged for the bunk if necessary. Child's cot, high chair, baby bath, car seat and a car bolster seat are available on request.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation. General Electric is included, but charged per usage for the air conditioning or heating in the winter. Iron and ironing board and washing machine are available on request. B&B is also available within the main villa at a price of 25E pppn. We have WIFI internet, which can be accessed by guests with their own lap top etc. A full English breakfast is available at a price of 5e per adult 3e for children. Outside: There are several sun loungers, tables and chairs located around the property and a double swinging hammock in the garden. We have a large collection of indoor and outdoor games available for guests, including, pub darts, card table for cards, dominoes or board games, boules, outdoor Jenga, croquet, volley ball, outdoor large dominoes, and many, many others. However, if all you want is a quiet relaxing vacation, then the gardens are ideal for a wonderful peaceful vacation. The back terrace of the main house by the pool, which is floodlit in the evening, now has a lovely seating area with hi fi. Also when we are home Xbox360, with Kinect and a full Karaoke System is available for guests. Utility Room: Washer available for guests use. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and bath towels are provided and are changed weekly

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

5

Everything we needed and more

  • 5 of 5

A great relaxing stay with Richard and Carol who were so kind and helpful. Everything was as we expected and we would definitely return. A great location for exploring the Costa del Sol.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your very prompt review, it was a pleasure having you here and am glad that everything was as expected, even to playing the darts and the Xbox. Have a lovely New Year xx
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Brilliant holiday!

  • 5 of 5

Carol and Richard made us feel really welcome from the start. We had a great holiday with great people! We loved the dogs and the bungalow was great. We hope to book again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your kind comments, we do our best to ensure our guests have a good holiday, hope to see you again Carol Richard and fluffs xx
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Fantastic Holiday

  • 5 of 5

I'm very surprised by the previous review. We found Carol and Richard to be fantastic hosts, they literally would do anything to make your holiday a fantastic experience. All you have to do is ask and they will do anything they can to help. Richard even hung our washing out to dry, when we were out one day. They provided us with all sorts from beer and wine to detergent and butter etc. The villa was exactly as per the description and pictures. On our arrival, they took us to the local bar for drinks and tapas, and introduced us to locals, we felt like old friends rather than holiday makers. Carol and Richard asked what we wanted to do during our holiday, and then made suggestions for us and rang people to try and arrange horse riding for my daughter. We spent most of the week out and about , the local village has loads of great places to eat. A great relaxing holiday... thank you both very much.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou so much for your comments, it is nice for us to have honest comments, we just wish you could all have stayed longer, and hope to see you in the future. Lots of love from Carol , Richard and the fluffs that miss as well xx
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
3

Invasion by ants :(

  • 3 of 5

Overall, we had a lovely 9 days soaking up the sun. Carol and Richard were very welcoming. Although from photos it was misleading as to were we where staying in regards to the pool and outside areas, we were slightly disappointed that the flat we stayed in wasn't outside the pool but in fact you had to walk across to their villa and then to the pool, which was located in their back garden, when we did mention to Carol that it was not what we expected, we were told that we wouldn't pay what we did for a villa with a pool and in fact what we paid was "cheap" what for we had, this made us feel abit awkward. When we first entered the flat, we were greeted with a ton of ants which had invaded the kitchen. They were on the work surfaces, in the sink and on the floor, we had tried to clean them but if I'm being honest this wasn't our job. Carol offered to spend half an hour making sure there were no more, but sprayed some bleach and left. When we arrived back to the flat after being out at the pool, the ants were back and in force they came. We had spent a good hour trying to remove them, frightened to prepare or eat any food. When we told Carol and Richard this, they told us to use the bleach provided which we did but it became intoxicating and we had to spend the evening outside so we didn't inhale the fumes. In the morning, we told Richard again about the ants, he came and sorted the problem once and for all which we really appreciated, but I personally don't feel we should have walked into somewhere we were staying regardless of price and be confronted with this. I was upset that when we kept mentioning they were still ants, both carol and Richard waited until the morning to sort this out, leaving us to spend our first night scrubbing away. They mentioned that the whole area had a problem with ants at the time, but still I wouldn't have allowed guests to sort the problem. Regardless of this, we have enjoyed our stay just a disappointing start. We were offered our money back, but obviously we didn't want to leave. Personally, I would feel it be appropriate for Carol or Richard to have said one of the taxi services to the airport was on them for the inconvenience and upset but nothing but had apology was given. The drainage in the shower is poor and you end up standing in dirty water, the hot water doesn't last long either. The pool had not been cleaned during our 9 day stay, on two occasions I had to use the pool net to get dead animals out myself. Part 1 of2

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well,well,well!!! How the. Tide has turned,I cannot believe the vitriolic comments you have made. yes! we did have an ant problem,(the first time ever) it seems everybody we asked did as well,we did what we could overnight,then bought proper ant remover,hence no ants since day two,regards to the shower,which is cleaned after every guest leaves, nothing was mentioned to us about it,I did find when you left,that it was full of hair your problem not ours !,, You are the 1st ever to think the villa was for your use,!!Try reading the advert properly next time you book anywhere, The pool WAS cleaned every day,we live in the countryside you are bound to get flies and wasps during the day,I do not know where the dead ANIMALS came.from, your total cleaning regime you have in England went out of the window here,I've never seen so many full ashtrays around the place,and certainly should have not been left by the pool. You insisted on your total privacy by the pool,no one else has bothered before ,otherwise carol would gave been out clearing the pool at least twice a day, we like to intrigate with our guests,Carol stayed inside for the duration of your holiday,she was made to feel like a prisoner in her own home, So much for telling us you would love to come back here again ,We did not feel the need to offer you a free taxi,we did your shopping for you. Gratis ,We both feel that you have gone to town on nitpicking,We never have had a response like this from anyone,we PRIDE ourselves on what we offer and do here for the guests. We feel you have let your "theatrical"emotions run away with you ,we were looking forward to welcoming you back,but with comments like this,I don't think we will be expecting you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Short but very sweet stay.

  • 5 of 5

Staying with Carol and Richard was like staying with family we were made so welcome. Richard greeted us with a cold beer and couldn't have been more helpful. Loved meeting Richards daughter Laura and her son.

The kids loved playing in their pool and with the dogs. Nice local town with lots of bars and restaurants. Lovely beaches within driving distance.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your very nice comments, hope to see you all again, very rare we get adverse comments, because we do our best to please everyone. If we have to completely empty our freezer because someone put fizzy pop in which exploded everywhere, we don't say anything, these things happen. But not everyone works that way, all the best for your mum Will . Love from us and all the fluffs xx
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

unwind and relax

  • 5 of 5

stayed 7 - 21 July and has a great time. we wanted a chilled no fuss holiday after a year of my sons exams and all the running around it now seems to entail. communication and meeting on the first day was easy, left the airport no problems and went around the back of it heading to cartama. meet Richard in an easy to locate pub where he got us a much needed refreshment (nice touch). he then took us the final leg so there was no chance to get lost, to be honest with you a straight road so once done easy remembered. the bungalow are in the grounds of the villa but dont let this put you off the inside information which can be gained ensures you dont get ripped off or make wrong turns to new places. during our stay we were left alone in fact it was like having the place to ourselves. peace and quiet is what you get it is a little off the beaten track in what l would call real spain for us just the tweeting of the birds and the spashing of the water. also easy to get anywhere we went to Gibraltar a couple of times as l was stationed out there once petrol 77p a litre and great for fags £20 for 200 whiskey teachers £6.50@litre and perfumes which my wife partook in. travel time 1hour 30 mins, tip parl this side at the marina and walk across dont forget to take your passports. local village great supermarkets and resturants you must try the local chinese brill. l would say 30 mins from the airport so nice. also in village was a train station 4 stops into malaga E4.50 with free parking at station much easier than navigating malaga and nice trains also. drove to the coast also but you then hit the tourists culture shock.

all in all a really nice break which we were wanting no fuss no towels on sun beds just get up when we want and do what we want. great hosts with 3 loverly little dogs. a covered fence and gated area with your own keyfor privacy and safty a nice point. many thanks to all we will hopefully come again soon.

andy

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Rate 3
1 Mar 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
£179
for 5 nights
£250
£1,000
 
 
Rate 4
1 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£350
for 7 nights
£350
£1,400
 
 
Rate 5
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
£1,800
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible.

Notes on prices:
Full Breakfast is available at 5e per person. Special prices available for longer winter lets.all towels shower and poolside provided

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot