OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Apartment In Calanova Sea Golf With Pool And Panoramic Sea Views

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more



Updated: 02-Oct-2016
  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Apartment in Calanova Sea Golf, La Cala, Mijas Costa, Spain - Peaceful Location For Families And Golfers

Luxury 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment with magnificent views over Calanova golf course and the beautiful Mijas coastline. Secure underground parking with dedicated parking space and lifts. Tastefully furnished to a high standard throughout with fully fitted kitchen and two dining areas. Set in a peaceful location, far enough away from the hustle and noise of the coastal strip. Only 20 mins from Malaga airport and 10 minutes from Marbella. A 5 minute drive down the hill takes you to the delightful village of La Cala and beach.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Simon Shipley
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
2 October, 2016

3 Reviews

4.3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)


nice apartment

  • 3 of 5

The complex is quite difficult to find on arrival, so make sure you have full information/directions printed out on how to get there, and on how to access the car park.

This is a beautiful apartment complex approx 4 miles uphill from the resort of La Cala. The grounds and pool areas are extremely well maintained, set among lovely tropical gardens.

The apartment was very clean and a good size with a large lounge with leather suite, dining area and fully equipped kitchen (no dishwasher). There are 2 bedrooms with plenty storage, and 2 bathrooms with excellent showers. There is a lift from the car park up to the apartment, great for arriving with luggage or shopping..

The car parking is underground which is great for keeping the car cool. A car is essential as there is nowhere to walk to in the area.

There is no wifi in this apartment and the TV has no UK channels. There is a SKY box with no card provided for use by guests.

The complex is built on a steep hill, this apartment is facing out towards the golf course but there is a road in-between (not shown in the pic taken from the balcony) which is at the same height as the apartment due to the hill. The cars whizz up and down past the balcony constantly and because it’s a steep hill they need to go quite fast!

Air conditioning – is on an eco timer which is not stated in the advert, this means if you want to sleep with the air-con on you need to get up every 2 hours to re-set the programmer as it switches off, extremely annoying!

The balcony is huge but it does not get any sun due to the apartment above (the advert states large sunny terrace in the Facilities/notes section – not true!) We were very disappointed as we like to sit in the sun to eat/read and this was never possible, we had to go to the pool area and hope to get a lounger, there are only 11 loungers for the 2 pools closest to the apartment!

The mattresses, bedding and towels are very old/dated. The pillows are foam and make you too hot, not suitable for Spain. There are no mattress protectors provided!

There is no safe in the apartment for storing valuables, passports etc.

The apartment is very reasonably priced but we would personally prefer to pay more for a few essentials/luxuries like wifi , better quality bedding and fully functioning air-con. The owner Simon was very efficient during the booking process and answered all questions by return email. Unfortunately when we emailed during and after our holiday, we never got a reply!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our apartment and we appreciate all the positives you have mentioned within it. We also agree that it is a nice apartment in a beautiful community, both well appointed for the reasonable price we charge. We don’t hide the fact there is no UK TV or free Wifi in the apartment. The facilities we do provide are clearly listed on the advert. The Sky Box is not connected to the TV and is from a bygone era, before Sky moved to a new satellite which no longer covers southern Spain. We’re sorry if you feel we miss led you with regards to the sunny terrace, we as a family tend to spend time out there only at the end of October beginning of November when the sun is clearly much lower in the sky.. but point taken I will moderate my description in future. With reference to the eco timer on the AC, this is mealy in place to prevent excess and unreasonable use of the AC while the apartment is empty throughout the day. In all the years we have been renting this is the first time anyone has even mentioned it, again sorry you found it such an inconvenience. Thank you again. Kind regards Simon
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

The property was immaculate and very well furnished. The apartment, gardens and pools are superb.

  • 5 of 5

This property is such incredible value I am already planning my next trip over. From arrival to departure it was a fantastic place to use as a base to explore this beautiful area. The apartment was very clean, came complete with every appliance you would need including a washing machine which was invaluable with three young kids.

The pool areas are excellent. Beautifully maintained, lovely gardens and a choice of two large pools and a baby pool. As an added bonus there was also a pool bar serving very reasonably priced drinks and food.

The apartment overlooks a golf course and has views to the sea. It makes a fantastic place to unwind and sit and relax with a glass of wine in the evening.

You will need to hire a car as it is a drive away from the main resort of Calle De Mijas, which is just so picturesque and not at all like some of the other resorts of the Costa Del Sol. This is very quaint and has a real Spanish feel to it. I ran on the boardwalk every morning and it is a fantastic way to start the day.

Simon the owner could not have been more helpful from the moment I contacted about availability through to my constant demands for information and questions. He was always quick to respond and very helpful.

Thank you for a fantastic break and I will most certainly be back.

Kenny Toal


  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kenny, I'm really pleased you had a great time and the apartment exceeded your expectations. We feel it's a lovely place to unwind and in a great location. Unfortunately photo's just don't do it justice, it's not until you visit you realise how beautiful the area is and how comfortable the apartment is as well. Thank you again for choosing our apartment for you holiday and I hope to hear from you in the near future. Kind regards Simon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Excellent accommodation

  • 5 of 5

Spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortably furnished apartment with lift access and underground carpark. Lovely view from the large balcony. Swimming pool adjacent which was never too crowded (we quite often had it to ourselves). Quiet, safe location in the hills above La Cala de Mijas. Getting around was not a problem as we always hire a car anyway.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very positive comments about our apartment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would be very happy to accommodate you again in the future. Kind regards Simon Shipley
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Malaga at 36 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : La Cala at 4.6 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Calanova Golf Club at 0.3 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : A-7 at 4.6 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : La Cala at 4.6 Kilometres Nearest Ski : Sierra Nevada at 200 Kilometres Nearest Beach : La Cala at 4.6 Kilometres Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Abundance of good water sports and recreational facilities in and around La Cala.


Many blue flag sandy beaches nearby: La Cala - sandy, nice promenade with plenty of bars and restaurants. Cabopino 10 mins attractive sheltered sandy beach with charming harbour and good restaurants. Fuergirola 10 mins with 5 miles of sandy beaches, open air zoo and Aqua Park, a variety of nightlife activities and restaurants. Benalmadena 20 mins has 9km of beaches and 2km promenade, the fabulous marina has been voted the best in the world, diving and Sea Life Centre located here.


We recommend a car for transfer from Malaga airport which is 20 mins away. Good taxis also available.


Driving distances approx: local supermarkets, bank etc 5 mins. Cabopino 10 mins. Marbella 12 mins. Puerto Banus 15 mins.

Further Details:

Please don’t hesitate to contact for any further information.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
9 Jan 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
22 Jul 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
9 Sep 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
For reservations made within 8 weeks of arrival, full payment is required at time of booking.
An additional £100 inventory and breakage deposit is payable at booking, refunded via bank transfer upon successful inspection by our local agent.
Cancellation fees:
6-8 weeks 50% refund.
3-5 weeks 25% refund
3 weeks no refund.

Changeover Day:
Flexible, Access available from 4pm departure by 10am.

Notes on prices:
Prices are shown for the property per week in UK pounds. Discounts available for bookings over three weeks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 02-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • apartment


  • Air Conditioning
  • Lift
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • near the sea
  • rural


  • marina
  • naturist beach
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Both en-suite and main bathrooms have power showers, hand basin and WC. En-suite bathroom also has a bath.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with double bed, built-in wardrobe and en-suite. Sliding doors to large terrace with spectacular views. Bedroom 2 with twin beds and built-in wardrobes.


  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: 5th Bed is a quality fold away Z Bed. Unfortunately no smokers or pets allowed. Outside: Secure gated community with underground car parking. Lovely pools set in pretty Mediterranean style setting. Large sunny terrace overlooking 9th green. For alfresco dining, another table and chairs are provided for your enjoyment. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen and bath towels are included. Please bring your own beach towels.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot