OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Corner Apartment, Full A/C, Huge Balcony, Fab Views, Pool - see our video

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 947 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Hacienda Riquelme Golf Resort, Costa Calida, Spain - Extra Large Balcony, 20 Mins To Mar Menor Beaches

Our video of the Apartment, Resort and Region is in the gallery above, number 35/35 - (not accessible from the 'Photos' gallery).

The apartment is 1st floor with an extra large L-shaped balcony which doubles the living. There is plenty of room for the rattan sofa and easy chairs, several loungers and the breakfast area table and chairs. There are spectacular open views over the lake, 11th green and golf course. The resort has excellent security with controlled access, CCTV perimeter surveillance and 24/7 patrols. Hacienda Riquelme is spacious, quiet, and beautifully maintained and is in the traditional Spanish style. The club house and centre is based on the beautiful and historic manor house and has an excellent restaurant, bars, pizzaria, large Spar supermarket, and golf pro-shop. You are just 20 minutes from the Mar Menor which has miles of clean, very safe beaches and unspoilt traditional ('low-rise') small towns along its coast.The small, lively town of Sucina is just a 5 minute drive away and has lots more bars, restaurants cafes and shops. There are 20 superb swimming pools throughout the resort, the nearest is just a two minute's walk away. Sports facilities include tennis courts, outdoor gym, short tennis, boule pistes (steel boule in apartment for you to use), driving range and practice greens (2 sets of clubs in apartment for you to use). There are many other golf courses nearby including five more in the GNK group, where you can get discounted green fees.

More Details

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Murcia in Campo de Cartagena

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 947 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • rural
  • waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Lift ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
  • Heated towel rail, extra shelf for make-up etc next to basin.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , + 2 single inflatable mattresses with integral electric pump
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , double doors to balcony
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Air-conditioning in both bedrooms. Master Bedroom with 2 single beds (normally made as a double). Doors onto balcony. Fitted wardrobes/drawers. Hairdryer. Guest Bedroom with two single beds, extra cupboard, and extra chest of drawers.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Meet and Greet available - our key holder will meet you at the gatehouse and familiarise you with the apartment (15euro charge for this service). Self Check In also available - collect key from key safe on the apartment building entry door. Chairs, parasol and loungers to take to the pool. Chairs, parasol and loungers to take to the beach. There is a charge of 60 Euros for cleaning and laundry to be paid locally.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Corner Apartment, Full A/C, Huge Balcony, Fab Views, Pool - see our video
average rating of 4.88 based on 26 reviews
5

Perfect family location

  • 5 of 5

Imaculately presented apartment. Well furnished with great views.

All facilities in appartment were good - washing machine, dishwasher, loads of bits (seats, buckets and spades) to take to the beach.

Very close to local village which has good places to eat.

Friendly point of contact made us feel safe.

The balcony is massive. We ate all our breakfasts sat out there and watched alot of people fail to hit the green on the 11th :-)

We rented this appartment not for the golf but because it had so many good things going for it including the price. The golf was a happy extra. The parking facilities under the appartment were great. The car was kept cool and safe at all times.

The complex had an outer road which makes for a good running track (Strava segments included).

The complex has security on site 24 hours a day.

Supermarket onsite DID have most all we needed at a reasonable price. Onsite resturant served good food.

Had really good interaction with the owners who were full of information about the place and what we could do. We hired a travel cot from them which was very good quality and other things were available too. Overall a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely be paying another visit!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that you had a wonderful holiday and that you want to book with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Fantastic holiday

  • 5 of 5

We loved the apartment as soon as we stepped in. You can tell it is much loved by Paul and Marilyn. All the little extras just add to the experience. Adapters, loungers, parasol and cool bag to name a few.

The position on the resort is good, near enough to walk to shop and bar etc but not too close to be disturbed by noise.

The information folder is really useful and we used it to find the best beaches in the area.

Gill the key holder and her partner Harvey were extremely friendly and helpful and if I owned a property they would be the people I would want looking after it.

Overall we had a great holiday on a peaceful resort in a lovely apartment.

We will definitely visit again and we will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Maidstone, England
5

Ideal holiday apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week in the apartment. The location was lovely and quiet with good views over the golf course. It had everything we needed including games and inflatables for the pool. The beds were very comfortable and I had the best sleep I have had in ages. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and I have no hesitation in recommending this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic apartment, clean and tidy, plenty of room with everything we needed for our stay. Communication with the owner, Paul, was excellent. We settled in from the minute we walked through the door. Beds were comfy, Aircon good (and very necessary at night!) WiFi was brilliant, which made our teenager very happy! TV with English channels, although apart from the odd game at Wimbledon we didn't really use. The balcony is brilliant, we spent many hours relaxing and watching the golfers, and it was shady in the morning but sunny from about 3 onwards. Parasol and loungers were available which we took to the beach and pool and we're really grateful for.

This complex is beautiful and has everything you need, you could probably stay on site and be perfectly happy, but decided a car and did some exploring and found the local area within a 30 minute drive fascinating. Great beaches on mar menor, warm sea, and some excellent restaurants ( including the one on site which was very good value and great food)

Can't wait to return, wouldn't hesitate to book this apartment again.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing apartment and most relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5

Really lovely apartment with great views over the lake and golf course. The apartment is really well situated and very clean and tidy. The owner, Paul, was very helpful and the keyholder, Jill, and her husband, Harvey, could not have been any more helpful. They went out of their way to meet up with us and gave us a lot of useful advice about the golf resort. We would highly recommend booking this apartment, you will not be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have just changed key holder to Jill and Harvey.... it sounds like we did the right thing!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great position - but a mixed bag

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at this apartment for 12 days. Its on a great quiet secure resort, in a fantastic position and has been loved by its owners. The detail in the welcome pack explaining things to do/restaurants etc close by showed their efforts for those staying. Sadly however the apartment is tired and needs investment. It was unfortunate that the lift in the building was not working throughout our stay - although the key holder told us on arrival it would be out for only a couple of days. One rattan chair on the balcony was broken, and 50% of the crockery and glassware was chipped. One glass was left in the cupboard broken. The pedal bin in the kitchen was rusting and the lid decomposing. We bought a new waste bin and set of wine glasses for our use and left them for future visitors. Only one programme on the dishwasher worked on arrival and sadly on day 8 it broke down completely. We alerted the key holder by email and text as requested - but we didn't even have the courtesy of a reply, let alone any suggestion it might be fixed. We washed up by hand for the rest of our holiday. So in summary a great position, lovely spacious balcony but certainly not the 'luxury apartment' as listed. However it wouldn't need huge investment to return it to a good standard, some replacement bedding, some TLC and replacement of broken and damaged items.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have taken action and changed our key holder. We are very sorry that the apartment has not been maintained or cleaned as well as it should have been. The lack of response by our previous key holder to your text is inexcusable. Our new key holders are Jill - very professional, friendly and efficient, and her husband Harvey - a master builder who will be looking after maintenance. Jill will be cleaning the apartment herself (we have learnt that it had previously been outsourced). The lift is very rarely out of service, sorry that it happened during your stay. We have bought a new dishwasher and all other damaged items have been replaced and the bed linen renewed.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Owner

Paul Gebbett
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, German
Calendar last updated:
28 January, 2018

About Paul Gebbett

Marilyn and I are are both recently retired, Marilyn from a lifetime of teaching, and me from a long career as a car designer and a shorter career as a Design and Technology teacher.

Marilyn still keeps very busy directing plays and musicals, learning Spanish, keeping fit and working for charities. I will now have more time for playing golf, riding my bike, windsurfing, skiing, painting and, of course, coming out to Hacienda Riquelme.

Paul Gebbett purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Paul Gebbett chose Murcia

We chose our apartment on Hacienda Riquelme for the spectacular view, and we never tire of sitting on the balcony and watching the golf in the day and the sun setting across the lake in the evening. We love Hacienda Riquelme and think that it is a very special place; spacious, peaceful and beautiful.

We also love the Mar Menor beaches, and the fact that this part of Spain is largely unspoilt and that there is so much to do in the region.

What makes this apartment unique

EXTRA SIZE --- All the apartments on Hacienda Riquelme are virtually the same size, but the balconies are different. Our balcony is one of the few L-shaped dual aspect balconies and it doubles the living area (it is 4x the size of the smallest balconies). It makes the apartment very relaxing and spacious.

VIEWS --- Stunning views over the lake and open views of the golf course and a 'gallery' view over the 11th green where there is always something to watch.

EXTRAS we provide --- Loungers, parasol, lilo's, etc for the pool. Beach chairs, parasol, buckets/spades, boule, etc for the beach. In the apartment there are extra shelves, cupboards, chest of drawers, hairdryer, extension lead with UK sockets... everything we can think of to make your holiday as good as possible.

INFO BOOKS - 'Apartment Information' shows how everything in the apartment works, plus TV channels, WiFi login, emergency phone numbers, and information about the resort. 'Things To Do & Maps' -- shows our recommendations for the best restaurants, bars, beaches, walks, and interesting places to go, plus maps of how to get to them - our guests have found this very useful and helpful in discovering this lovely region.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fab Fab Fab - that's what we think of your apartment at Riquelme. We had a great time with beautiful weather every day. The apartment was everything I hoped it would be - lovely position and very comfortably furnished and a totally relaxing atmosphere. We hope to visit again next year -- Janet, Aug12 PS, Eddy thought the golf clubs were great!



Can we take this opportunity to tell you what a wonderful time we have had. Everything has been just what we wanted. We will definitely be returning sooner rather than later and would like to have two weeks next year. -- Franks family, Aug12



We had a wonderful time, the apartment was very clean and tidy and we loved the decoration. We hope to return in the autumn ...We would have no reservations at all about recommending your lovely apartment. -- Kay, Jun09.



Fantastic holiday, beautiful apartment. It was great sitting on the balcony watching the golf and we thoroughly enjoyed playing the challenging course. -- Andy and Wendy, Sep09
Apr 2008
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Murcia San Javier
Nearest Barpub
0.8 Kilometres
Resort Centre, El Cason
Nearest Golf
Hacienda Riquelme Golf Resort
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Balsicas
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
RM-1
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Kilometres
Resort Centre, El Cason
Nearest Beach
25 Kilometres
Los Narejos, Mar Menor
Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

Murcia has three different coasts - 1. MAR MENOR (20 min) with warm quiet water, miles of safe sandy beaches, great water sports facilities, lovely palm lined promenades, bike hire, lots of beach bars, tapas bars, nature parks, several different resorts, Los Narejos, Los Alcazares, La Ribera, Lo Pagan - 2. MEDITERRANEAN this east facing coast has classic, golden sand beaches (30 min) - 3. SOUTH FACING COAST, this coastline is rugged and mountainous with coves and beaches between the headlands (30-40 min)

Travel:

Cheapest flights can be booked with our flexible changeover days (eg Tuesday - Tuesday). Murcia airport is just 20 min away with direct flights from RyanAir, EasyJet, etc. Hire car picked up at the airport. Alicante airport 60 min away by easy Motorway-type roads and has more flights, so can be even cheaper. Detailed map will be sent to you giving clear instructions of how to get to the resort.

Distances:

Sucina, 5 min drive, is the nearest small town with lively bars, lots of restaurants, cafes, and several handy shops. Murcia City (30min drive) has a fine cathedral, lots of lovely plazas and the wonderful 'Casino' a palace with rooms in the styles of European palaces and cheap entry price. Cartagena (30 min drive) has fine a Roman amphitheatre and museum and a wealth of history, it has an attractive port (cruise stop-over) and has an interesting labyrinth of ancient backstreets. At the top of the Mar Menor (20 min drive) are the popular mud baths at Lo Pagan where you can experience this health spa treatment for free and rinse off in the Mar Menor.

Further Details:

Eating out - Hacienda Riquelme resort has an excellent, reasonably priced restaurant in the historic and beautifully restored 'El Cason' mansion house. There are a good variety of restaurants in nearby Sucina and many, many more in the towns along the shore of the Mar Menor. For a special occasion there is the truly excellent (but still reasonably priced) and unique 120 year old 'La Encarnacion' restaurant on the sea front in Los Alcazares. And why not eat right on the beach at a superb fish restaurants in La Ribera, an unforgettable experience. All the beach bars on the Mar Menor promenade have do superb Tapas. The book in the apartment has details of all our favourites including a choca-holics dream cafe in Cartegena, best value all-day breakfast by the beach, chill-out bar watching the kite-surfers, best Tapas bars, excellent Indian restaurants and as many authentic Spanish restaurants as we can find... we visit as often as we can to continue the research for you!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Murcia, Spain

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
March 2018
1 Mar 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£230
for 7 nights
£230
 
 
April, May, 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 31 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£245
for 7 nights
£245
 
 
June to 20July, 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£265
for 7 nights
£265
 
 
21July - August 2018
21 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£335
for 7 nights
£335
 
 
September 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£265
for 7 nights
£265
 
 
October 2018
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£245
for 7 nights
£245
 
 
1Nov18 - 28Feb2019
1 Nov 2018 - 28 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
£235
for 7 nights
£235
£595
 
 
March 2019
1 Mar 2019 - 31 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
£250
for 7 nights
£250
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
A deposit of 50% is required to secure your booking, with the balance being payable 2 months before your holiday arrival day. A £100 security deposit is also required with the balance. This will be returned within two weeks of your departure subject to a satisfactory check-out.
Additional Charges
- Cleaning/laundry is paid locally and is 60 euro.
- An optional Meet and Greet service is available and is15 euro paid to our key holder in the resort. (Self Check In is also available using a key safe set with a unique code for you. This is no charge)

Changeover Day:
Flexible changeover days to help you get the best value flights which are often mid-week. Check-in time from 4pm, check-out time 10am.



Notes on prices:
Prices are for the apartment per week in UK pounds. Minimum stay is 7 nights. Cleaning is charged separately and is 60 euro, paid locally. Discounts are available for longer stays - please contact us for a quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable