OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Front Line Golf, Luxury Apartment, Full Air Con, Extra Large Balcony

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 947 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 - 152 nights
Popular Features
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Hacienda Riquelme Golf Resort, Costa Calida, Spain - Extra Large Balcony, 20 Mins To Mar Menor Beaches

Video of apartment, resort and area is in 'gallery' - (thumbnail not visible, scroll right from last photo thumbnail).

Free Wi-Fi. The apartment is 1st floor with an extra large L-shaped balcony which more than doubles the living area. Spectacular views over the lake and golf course. The resort is very spacious, quiet, and beautifully maintained. and is in a traditional Spanish style. It is just 20 minutes from the Mar Menor with miles of clean, safe beaches and traditional 'low-rise' resorts. Hacienda Riquelme centre is based on the beautifully restored historic 'El Cason' manor house which has an excellent restaurant, bars, pizzaria, large Spar supermarket, and golf pro-shop. The small town of Sucina is just a 5 minute drive away and has lots more bars, restaurants and shops. There are 20 superb swimming pools throughout the resort, the nearest is just two minute's walk away. Sports facilities include tennis courts, outdoor gym, short tennis, boule pistes (steel boule in apartment for you to use), driving range and practice greens (2 sets of clubs in apartment for you to use). Security is excellent (and Award Winning), with controlled access and 24/7 patrols. There are many other golf courses nearby and you are welcome to borrow our two sets of clubs.

Prices include: electricity, gas, water, TV, Wi-Fi

More Details

Owner
Paul Gebbett
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, German
Calendar last updated:
14 September, 2017

About Paul Gebbett

Marilyn and I are are both recently retired, Marilyn from a lifetime of teaching, and me from a long career as a car designer and a shorter career as a Design and Technology teacher.

Marilyn still keeps very busy directing plays and musicals, learning Spanish, keeping fit and working for charities. I will now have more time for playing golf, riding my bike, windsurfing, skiing, painting and, of course, coming out to Hacienda Riquelme.

Paul Gebbett purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Paul Gebbett chose Murcia - Costa Calida

We chose our apartment on Hacienda Riquelme for the spectacular view, and we never tire of sitting on the balcony and watching the golf in the day and the sun setting across the lake in the evening. We love Hacienda Riquelme and think that it is a very special place; spacious, peaceful and beautiful.

We also love the Mar Menor beaches, the fact that this part of Spain is largely unspoilt and that there is so much to do in the region.

What makes this apartment unique

EXTRA SIZE --- All the apartments on Hacienda Riquelme are virtually the same size, but the balconies are different. Our balcony is one of the few L-shaped dual aspect balconies and it doubles the living area (it is 4x the size of the smallest balconies). It makes the apartment very relaxing and spacious. VIEWS --- Probably the best views on the resort along the length of the lake. EXTRAS we provide --- loungers, parasol, lilo's, etc for the pool. Beach chairs, parasol, buckets/spades, boule, etc for the beach. In the apartment there are extra shelves, cupboards, chest of drawers, UK plug extension leads, hairdryer. INFORMATION BOOK --- we have built up a ring binder full of ideas for things to do, our favourite restaurants, beaches, walks, and maps of how to get there - one of our guests described it as the 'bible' for their holiday.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fab Fab Fab - that's what we think of your apartment at Riquelme. We had a great time with beautiful weather every day. The apartment was everything I hoped it would be - lovely position and very comfortably furnished and a totally relaxing atmosphere. We hope to visit again next year -- Janet, Aug12 PS, Eddy thought the golf clubs were great!



Can we take this opportunity to tell you what a wonderful time we have had. Everything has been just what we wanted. We will definitely be returning sooner rather than later and would like to have two weeks next year. -- Franks family, Aug12



We had a wonderful time, the apartment was very clean and tidy and we loved the decoration. We hope to return in the autumn ...We would have no reservations at all about recommending your lovely apartment. -- Kay, Jun09.



Fantastic holiday, beautiful apartment. It was great sitting on the balcony watching the golf and we thoroughly enjoyed playing the challenging course. -- Andy and Wendy, Sep09
Apr 2008
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Murcia in Region of Murcia

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 947 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • rural
  • waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Lift ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet , glass shower screen, handy extra shelf by basin
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, WC, bidet, heated towel rail and radiator, extra shelf for all your make-up etc next to basin
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , + 2 single inflatable mattresses with integral electric pump
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , double doors to balcony
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Air-conditioning in both. Bedroom 1 with 2 single beds (normally made as a double). Doors onto balcony. Fitted wardrobes/drawers. Hairdryer. Bedroom 2 with two single beds (can be double), wardrobe/drawers as 1. Lots of storage, extra cupboard, extra chest of drawers.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Meet and Greet available - our key holder will meet you at the gatehouse and familiarise you with the apartment. (15euro charge for this service). Larger groups - may be possible by renting our apartment and the adjacent apartment , please enquire. Full air-conditioning, plus central heating for the winter evenings. Info book - how everything works in the apartment, lots of things to do in the area, our favourite beaches, restaurants, bars, walks, etc, maps of how to get there, golf info, emergency contacts - everything we can think of to help you have a great holiday! Outside: Stunning open views from the balcony over the golf course and lake. Dual aspect balcony faces south and west - dining area to catch the morning sun - lounge area to enjoy the sunset over the lake from the comfort of the rattan sofa and easy chairs - plus lots of room to enjoy the loungers provided. Underground car park for secure cool parking. Over 20 swimming pools on the resort with the nearest just two minute's walk away. Loungers and parasol provided to take with you. Tennis courts nearby and outdoor gym for simple exercises. The resort is finished to a very high standard in the traditional Spanish style with tree lined avenues, paths, lawns and colourful gardens. landscaping. Utility Room: Balcony type utility room next to kitchen. Wall mounted central heating boiler, wall storage unit, washing machine, plenty of space for drying towels after your swim. Also provided; buckets/spades to take to beach, parasol and loungers to take to pool. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bath towels, towels and all bed linen are provided. Please bring your own beach towels. The apartment is cleaned and prepared just before your arrival. There is a charge of 55 Euros for cleaning and laundry (4 guests), to be paid locally. Other: Two sets of new golf clubs (large head drivers, 1 mens, 1 womens) which you are welcome to borrow. Our balcony has a comfortable sofa and chairs to relax in while watching the play on the 11th green. 4 loungers for balcony or take to pool, plus parasol.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

91% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Front Line Golf, Luxury Apartment, Full Air Con, Extra Large Balcony
average rating of 4.869565 based on 24 reviews
5

Fantastic holiday

  • 5 of 5

We loved the apartment as soon as we stepped in. You can tell it is much loved by Paul and Marilyn. All the little extras just add to the experience. Adapters, loungers, parasol and cool bag to name a few.

The position on the resort is good, near enough to walk to shop and bar etc but not too close to be disturbed by noise.

The information folder is really useful and we used it to find the best beaches in the area.

Gill the key holder and her partner Harvey were extremely friendly and helpful and if I owned a property they would be the people I would want looking after it.

Overall we had a great holiday on a peaceful resort in a lovely apartment.

We will definitely visit again and we will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Ideal holiday apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week in the apartment. The location was lovely and quiet with good views over the golf course. It had everything we needed including games and inflatables for the pool. The beds were very comfortable and I had the best sleep I have had in ages. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and I have no hesitation in recommending this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic apartment, clean and tidy, plenty of room with everything we needed for our stay. Communication with the owner, Paul, was excellent. We settled in from the minute we walked through the door. Beds were comfy, Aircon good (and very necessary at night!) WiFi was brilliant, which made our teenager very happy! TV with English channels, although apart from the odd game at Wimbledon we didn't really use. The balcony is brilliant, we spent many hours relaxing and watching the golfers, and it was shady in the morning but sunny from about 3 onwards. Parasol and loungers were available which we took to the beach and pool and we're really grateful for.

This complex is beautiful and has everything you need, you could probably stay on site and be perfectly happy, but decided a car and did some exploring and found the local area within a 30 minute drive fascinating. Great beaches on mar menor, warm sea, and some excellent restaurants ( including the one on site which was very good value and great food)

Can't wait to return, wouldn't hesitate to book this apartment again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing apartment and most relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5

Really lovely apartment with great views over the lake and golf course. The apartment is really well situated and very clean and tidy. The owner, Paul, was very helpful and the keyholder, Jill, and her husband, Harvey, could not have been any more helpful. They went out of their way to meet up with us and gave us a lot of useful advice about the golf resort. We would highly recommend booking this apartment, you will not be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have just changed key holder to Jill and Harvey.... it sounds like we did the right thing!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great position - but a mixed bag

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at this apartment for 12 days. Its on a great quiet secure resort, in a fantastic position and has been loved by its owners. The detail in the welcome pack explaining things to do/restaurants etc close by showed their efforts for those staying. Sadly however the apartment is tired and needs investment. It was unfortunate that the lift in the building was not working throughout our stay - although the key holder told us on arrival it would be out for only a couple of days. One rattan chair on the balcony was broken, and 50% of the crockery and glassware was chipped. One glass was left in the cupboard broken. The pedal bin in the kitchen was rusting and the lid decomposing. We bought a new waste bin and set of wine glasses for our use and left them for future visitors. Only one programme on the dishwasher worked on arrival and sadly on day 8 it broke down completely. We alerted the key holder by email and text as requested - but we didn't even have the courtesy of a reply, let alone any suggestion it might be fixed. We washed up by hand for the rest of our holiday. So in summary a great position, lovely spacious balcony but certainly not the 'luxury apartment' as listed. However it wouldn't need huge investment to return it to a good standard, some replacement bedding, some TLC and replacement of broken and damaged items.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have taken action and changed our key holder. We are very sorry that the apartment has not been maintained or cleaned as well as it should have been. The lack of response by our previous key holder to your text is inexcusable. Our new key holders are Jill - very professional, friendly and efficient, and her husband Harvey - a master builder who will be looking after maintenance. Jill will be cleaning the apartment herself (we have learnt that it had previously been outsourced). The lift is very rarely out of service, sorry that it happened during your stay. We have bought a new dishwasher and all other damaged items have been replaced and the bed linen renewed.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

lovely bright apartment. Has everything you need. With great views of the golf course

  • 4 of 5

We were there for 26 days, from March the fifth until 31st March. Bed was comfortable .There was a TV with British channels so we could watch our soaps!😊� The apartment had a ladies and gents golf sets, save you bringing your own!

The ladies set had no driver so I had to rent one, but had to rent a set for 25 euros which I didn't do. The golf is expensive enough! There are lots of courses not far away, a nice 9 hole one 5 minutes drive (Sierra golf where I got a driver for 7 euros!) The town of Sucina was 5 minute drive away with a big supermarket and nice cafes and restaurants, Hacienda Riquelme has its own Spar supermarket which was fine, had everything. The restaurant had good food also. All in all, we would recommend this apartment to anyone, golfers or not

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for recommending our apartment 'to anyone, golfers or not'. We are sorry that the driver was missing from our ladies golf set. We rely on our guests letting us know of breakages, and we will try in the future to make it easier for guests to do this. We replace or repair anything reported to us as soon as we can and do our very best to make sure that everything is as it should be for a great holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Murcia San Javier
Nearest Barpub
0.8 Kilometres
Resort Centre, El Cason
Nearest Golf
Hacienda Riquelme Golf Resort
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Balsicas
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
RM-1
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Kilometres
Resort Centre, El Cason
Nearest Beach
25 Kilometres
Los Narejos, Mar Menor
Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

Murcia has three different coasts - 1. MAR MENOR (20 min) with warm quiet water, miles of safe sandy beaches, great water sports facilities, lovely palm lined promenades, bike hire, lots of beach bars, tapas bars, nature parks, several different resorts, Los Narejos, Los Alcazares, La Ribera, Lo Pagan - 2. MEDITERRANEAN this east facing coast has classic, golden sand beaches (30 min) - 3. SOUTH FACING COAST, this coastline is rugged and mountainous with coves and beaches between the headlands (30-40 min)

Travel:

Cheapest flights can be booked with our flexible changeover days (eg Tuesday - Tuesday). Murcia airport is just 20 min away with direct flights from RyanAir, EasyJet, Monarch, etc. Hire cars can be picked up at the airport. Alicante airport 60 min away by easy roads and has more flights, so can be even cheaper. Detailed map will be sent to you giving clear instructions of how to get to the resort.

Distances:

Sucina, 5 min drive, is the nearest small town with bars, lots of restaurants, cafes, and several handy shops. Murcia City (30min drive) has a fine cathedral, lots of lovely plazas and a wonderful Casino with rooms in the styles of European palaces. Cartagena (30 min drive) has fine a Roman amphitheatre and museum and a wealth of history, it is a busy and attractive port and has an interesting labyrinth of ancient backstreets. At the top of the Mar Menor (20 min drive) are the popular mud baths at Lo Pagan where you can experience this health spa treatment for free.

Further Details:

Eating out - Hacienda Riquelme resort has an excellent, reasonably priced restaurant in the historic and beautifully restored 'El Cason' mansion house. There are a good variety of restaurants in nearby Sucina and many, many more in the towns along the shore of the Mar Menor. For a special occasion there is the truly excellent (but still reasonably priced) and unique 120 year old 'La Encarnacion' restaurant on the sea front in Los Alcazares. And why not eat right on the beach at a superb fish restaurants in La Ribera, an unforgettable experience. All the beach bars on the Mar Menor promenade have do superb Tapas. The book in the apartment has details of all our favourites including a choca-holics dream cafe in Cartegena, best value all-day breakfast by the beach, chill-out bar watching the kite-surfers, best Tapas bars, excellent Indian restaurants and as many authentic Spanish restaurants as we can find... we visit as often as we can to continue the research for you!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Murcia, Spain

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Late Summer
3 Sep 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£225
for 7 nights
£225
 
 
Special 5mth booking
15 Oct 2017 - 15 Mar 2018
152 night minimum stay
£1,990
 
 
Standard
29 Oct 2017 - 28 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£220
for 7 nights
£220
£545
 
 
Spring
1 Mar 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£240
for 7 nights
£240
 
 
Summer
1 Apr 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£265
for 7 nights
£265
 
 
High Season
21 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£335
for 7 nights
£335
 
 
September
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£295
for 7 nights
£295
 
 
October
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£265
for 7 nights
£265
 
 
Standard
1 Nov 2018 - 28 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
£235
for 7 nights
£235
£565
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
A deposit of 50% is required to secure your booking, with the balance being payable 2 months before your holiday arrival day. A £100 security deposit is also required with the balance. This will be returned within two weeks of your departure subject to a satisfactory check-out.
Additional Charges
- Cleaning/laundry is paid locally and is 60 euro.
- An optional Meet and Greet service is available and is15 euro paid to our key holder in the resort. (Self Check In is also available using a key safe set with a unique code for you. This is no charge)

Changeover Day:
Flexible changeover days to help you get the best value flights which are often mid-week. Check-in time from 4pm, check-out time 10am.



Notes on prices:
Prices are for the apartment per week or per night in UK pounds. Minimum stay 3 nights. Cleaning is charged separately and is 55 Euros, paid locally. Discounts are available for longer stays - please contact us for a quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable