OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Light, spacious ground floor apartment with front garden, rear patio, and pools.

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Addaia, Menorca, Balearic Islands - Suitable for all age groups.

The light, spacious apartment is situated above the pretty marina of Porto Addaia on the north side of the island. Only 20 minutes from the airport and the capital Mahon, Addaia is about 5 minutes by car from one of the best beaches on the island. Diving and RYA courses can be arranged locally as well as fishing trips and painting courses. At near by Son Parc golf and horse riding are available, while the local tennis courts are next door but one. The apartment is located in the village which is home to a few bars and restaurants, a postbox and supermarket.. There is a local bus service to Mahon and the surrounding areas, and Wi-fi is available at the restaurant next door for the price of a coffee.


Owner
Carol Dutton
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
16 September, 2017

About Carol Dutton

Every time I come here I think I've 'seen it all' and I'm always wrong.This year I saw my first cicada ( it landed on my shoulder as I pruned the shrubs in the rear patio) discovered the path under the pines leading to the beach of Mitjana and stumbled on the children's fiesta in Alaior. What a treat! It was frightening to watch the children as they tried to touch the horses (which were prancing and rearing on their hind legs) but such was the horsemanship we needn't have worried, no one was hurt and the band played on. As a community event it was 'locals only' and we were pushed to the front to take photographs. Everyone was happy and we were so glad to have seen it. Afterwards, we drank to the horsemen and reveled in our luck. What magical memories! I hope you make some too.

Carol Dutton purchased this apartment in 2011

Why Carol Dutton chose Minorca (Menorca)

I wanted somewhere in the sun and had fallen in love with Menorca the year before. I loved it's manageable size, old fashioned feel and the fact that you were never far from the sea. I didn't want to be isolated, I wanted a few shops and restaurants nearby and neighbours both English and Spanish, but on the other hand I didn't want to be stuck in a concrete jungle. I wanted the use of a pool, to swim in the sea but also to be near Mahon which never fails to fascinate me. Addaia fits the bill. Small enough to be friendly with good access to the main routes of the island and it's own port/marina. Sitting at the harbour restaurant watching the moon come up above all those masts is heaven, just slightly better than enjoying the fabulous, family friendly beach at Arenal.

What makes this apartment unique

The fact that this is a ground floor apartment means we have a front garden and rear patio which gives a feeling of light and space. Jeanne, the previous owner has opened up the living room (we have a breakfast bar between the kitchen and lounge areas) which enforces this and our position, in the middle of the complex means that we have a view the length of the pool and are not directly overlooked.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I Just wanted to let you know we had a fantastic time staying in your apartment. Our boys really enjoyed the pool and we met a lovely family staying in one of the other apartments. We were reeally lucky to be staying on the island at the same time as the Fornells fiesta, the finale is a big firework display over the marina.

Adele- July 2013



I just wanted to say a huge thank you for allowing us to have such an amazing time in your lovely apartment for the past two weeks.

The apartment was amazing and the pool was well used.

Jose - July 2013
Mar 2008
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Es Mercadal in Àrea Metropolitana de Maó

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • If there are any problems please notify me by phone.
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The en-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 has a full size bath with overhead shower a modern half moon wash basin, and a low level toilet. There is 2nd shower with toilet and modern square wall mounted sink in bathroom 2.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , There are two single beds, large wardrobe and patio doors.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot , There is a large double bed, double wardrobes and safe.
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/ (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: The Master bedroom has a double bed, an en-suite bathroom, a large 4 door closet and a lockable safe for security. The second bedroom (with a child's high chair in the closet) has twin beds and French doors leading onto the patio.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: As a ground floor apartment this property has it's own front garden and rear patio giving it a feeling of spaciousnes. It's position in the centre of the complex gives a view of the length of the pool rather than another apartment, and young children can be seen by their parents from the covered terrace, whether they are playing in the garden or around the pool. The whole complex has been designed to offer a choice between privacy and sociability. The pool is a great place to mix and make friends, the rear patio private and cool, with the covered terrace and front garden mid-way between the two. Outside: A front garden with gate, path, hedge and lemon tree in the middle of a small lawn, leads onto the front patio with a lounger and bougainvilea. The covered terrace has an outdoor dining table and four chairs that can be moved onto the patio if desired. The rear patio has an outdoor dining table and four chairs, plus a small BBQ, more bougainvilea and hibiscus. The large, shared swimming pool has both a shallow and a deep end. There is also a shared, round paddling pool. The apartment has its own designated parking space to the side of the complex. Utility Room: The utility room houses a freezer, washing machine, iron and ironing board, large sink, clothes airer and folding cot. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen is included in the rental with a mid clean and change of linen for visitors booking for 2 weeks. Other: On the rear patio is a 2nd informal dining area and a small BBQ.

Reviews

4/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Light, spacious ground floor apartment with front garden, rear patio, and pools.
average rating of 4.0 based on 3 reviews
4

Addaia

  • 4 of 5

On arrival we could not get into our apartment as it was still being cleaned even although we arrived after mid day and were told the apartment would be ready by noon for us. The utility room had not been cleaned also there was a lack of toilet rolls supplied. Any other apartments we have stayed at always had a toilet roll in the holder/s and two spares also. There are two cracked mugs in the apartment that should be replaced. Also a conventional oven would be a great asset to the apartment. On the whole though we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sandra for taking the trouble to write this review. Feedback is always useful and the points you've raised can be easily rectified apart from the installation of a conventional oven which may be a problem at this stage. I'm pleased you've raised the point however, as although I've only ticked 'hob' and 'microwave' on the site listing some people may expect a conventional oven and it's best that they know the score before booking. I'm pleased that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay and thank you again for writing. Carol.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom
4

Fantastic location and apartment, ideally situated to access all areas of the island.

  • 4 of 5

The apartment is a great size with everything you need and the pool is fantastic! There are a number of restaurants and a supermarket within 5 minutes walk, yet the apartment complex itself was quiet and peaceful. The island has something for everyone from larger holiday resorts to small coves. The cities are interesting and the food across the island was excellent.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Mahon
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Addaia
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Mahon
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Son Parc
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Me-1
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Addaia
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Arenal d'en Castell
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Painting, diving and RYA courses are available locally. Further details can be obtained through the Menorcan tourist office.

Fornells, just up the coast has sailing classes and a variety of water sports.

Coast/Beach:

One of Menorca's best beaches is 5 minutes drive away. Arenal has loads of silver/white sand, is safe to swim and snorkel, has pedalos in summer and a reasonably priced restaurant overlooking the sea. It's best at the quiet end where there's free parking.

There's a money exchange in the local gift shop along with daily press from Europe. A minimarket close by with wi-fi at the restaurant next door. There's a cashpoint 5 minutes drive away at Coves Noves, along with a large supamarket.

Travel:

Flights are from most regional airports, during the season (May to October). From November onwards Monarch operate weekly flights (Fridays) from Gatwick. The airport of Mahon is a 20 minute taxi drive away.

Car hire is not essential but recommended as the island is so small it's easily explored, and even in Aug. there's not much on the road. Trips to the beach (Arenal is literally 10 mins. away) are easier with a boot and most of the time there's FREE PARKING! Book hire cars EARLY July/Aug.

Further Details:

Our local Indian restaurant (within easy walking distance) is good and serves English food during the off season when the excellent El Castillo next door but one is shut. When out and about,tapas make a great and inexpensive light lunch. Perhaps we've been unlucky but I would avoid the set, Spanish menu at all costs. The restaurant overlooking the beach at Arenal is basic but reliable and not over priced. If you like prawns it's worth getting to the fish market at Mahon (on the left at the top of the steps climbing up from the harbour) before it shuts at 1pm., buying them fresh and frying in hot olive oil and garlic for 5 mins. max. Scrumptious! The fish market is open Tues. to Sat. If you're first time visitors you may enjoy a trip down Mahon harbour on one of the glass bottomed boats. Not so much for the view of underwater wildlife, but the potted history of the town by way of the commentary as you sail. Fornells, just up the road is pretty but I much prefer Es Mercadel, a little further and inland, especially on Thursday evenings when the whole town turns out for the outdoor market. You can reach Mount Torres from here which is much more exciting on top than it looks from the ground and the view well worth it. Ciutadella is just, plain beautiful. Best in the early evening (the shops open at 5pm.) when the light turns the stone to gold. Mahon has more edge, but Ciutadella more romance.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Es Mercadal, Balearic Islands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
September 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£420
for 7 nights
£420
 
 
October 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£350
for 7 nights
£350
 
 
November 2017- March 2018
1 Nov 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£315
for 7 nights
£315
 
 
April 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£350
for 7 nights
£350
 
 
May 2018
1 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£385
for 7 nights
£385
 
 
June 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£455
for 7 nights
£455
 
 
July 2018
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
August
1 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
September 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£455
for 7 nights
£455
 
 
October 2018
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£385
for 7 nights
£385
 
 
November 2018
1 Nov 2018 - 31 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
£315
for 7 nights
£315
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
25% deposit is preferred on booking. Full payment must be made before departure.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible as long as there's time to clean etc.
If visitors are leaving/arriving on the same day then please leave by 10.00am. and arrive after 1.00pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable