OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Fisherman's Cottage

People3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Port Isaac, Cornwall, England - Just 30 Seconds From Harbour

NEW FOR 2017: Unlimited Wi-Fi

Our cottage, Choughs, is a very good-value, self-catering holiday home, ideal for 2 to 3 people, and located right in the heart of the old village by the harbour. Port Isaac is a 700-year-old fishing village, nestling between the cliffs on the rugged north Cornwall coast. It has been welcoming tourists for years but retains a quaint and uncommercialised charm. Recently, it has been widely admired as the beautiful setting for the film The Shell Seekers and the TV series Doc Martin. It is also an ideal base from which to visit Padstow (and Rick Stein's many eating venues!), Rock, the beaches at Polzeath and Daymer Bay, Tintagel Castle and the National Trust's Lanhydrock House and Gardens. The Eden Project, St Michael's Mount and Tate St Ives are all within easy reach by car. Port Isaac itself is also home to two Nathan Outlaw venues, including the two-Michelin-starred Restaurant Nathan Outlaw, ranked the second-best dining venue in the UK in the Good Food Guide 2017.


Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
11 June, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Lovely, quaint cottage, very well-equipped and good value. Had a wonderful week" – Lorraine & David, Sussex



"Cottage was fab. Had a fantastic time and celebrated our anniversary" – Gary & Liz, Tyne & Wear



"We've really enjoyed our stay. Choughs is a super cottage, great value – just excellent" – Mark, Basingstoke



"Great cottage. Ideal location to explore Cornwall. Felt like time slowed down for us. Thank you" – Clare & John, Bristol
Mar 2008
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Port Isaac in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • waterfront
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over bath, basin, toilet, heated towel rail and shaver socket. Immersion heater.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 3 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Main bedroom on first floor with double bed. Hairdryer. Second bedroom on second floor with 2 single beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Choughs is perfect for two to three people. It is homely and comfortably furnished, quite small, and traditional in style rather than very modern. The cottage is just 50 metres from the beach but does not have a view of the sea. There is an electric fire in the living room, as well as an oil-fired storage heater. Both bedrooms have convector heaters. An immersion heater supplies hot water to the kitchen and bathroom. Sorry, no smoking and no dogs (but we cannot guarantee that pets have not stayed in the property). Outside: Choughs has a tiny, colourful front garden, plus a back door that leads to our shed and also to an alleyway out to the adjoining street. When arriving and departing, it is possible to park, briefly, within 20 yards of the front door to unload/load your car. At other times, you must park in the main car park at the top of Port Isaac; the walk up the hill will help work off all the fresh fish and cream teas you will have enjoyed! Alternatively, give your legs a rest and jump in the new taxi-shuttle service that operates between the harbour and the top of the village. Cleaning / Towels / Linen: Bed linen and bathroom towels ARE INCLUDED.

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

London, UK
5

Lovely place for the price

  • 5 of 5

Found this to be just as described, it is quite small but we're just a couple. Had a lovely stay here in May probably quieter than later in summer. Bed was comfy, shower good and wifi good. Had a slight issue with the dustbin but these things happen, owner has a local housekeeper who helped out. Very close tot he harbour – just round the corner. And Port Isaac is so charming. Really great for the price.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Uxbridge, Middlesex
4

Had a wonderful week at Choughs cottage

  • 4 of 5

This cottage is perfect for two & and an ideal base for walking & exploring. There are some very good eating places just a few yards from Choughs so leaving the car at the top of Port Isaac was not a problem for us at all. The 10 minute coastal walk to pick up the car was a lovely way to start the day if you wanted to go exploring further from the village. Although small the cottage was very clean & cosy on the chillier evenings & was a lovely homely place to return to at the end of a day spent walking. We hope it won"t be too long before we can visit again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Liverpool
5

Great cottage

  • 5 of 5

Great place ,great cottage for two , don't complain about things like car parking etc if you have already been told about the cottage from the owners.

Recommended ,

Frank and wendy

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Maidenhead
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Very small you have to move living room chairs to sit at dining table, no handrail on second set of stairs, water pressure low water running water downstairs stops all upstairs, car parking difficult public car park is very busy due to popularity of village so you have to wait for spaces, nice and close to harbour and lots of nice places to eat. Said no pets but dog lead was on coat hooks wife is allergic to animals and was sneezing a lot of the time.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comment, Pj. As our listing says, the property is a small 19th-century fisherman's cottage, and we stress it is suitable for only two or three people. It is priced accordingly and, we would suggest, extremely competitively compared with similar cottages in Port Isaac. Your suggestion for a handrail is good and we will install one as soon as possible. We cannot explain the dog lead – it must have been left there by a previous guest (in contravention of our strict no-pet policy). Port Isaac does indeed get busy in August, but the recent addition of a second car park has increased parking facilities. We're pleased you liked our close-to-harbour location and enjoyed the several good restaurants nearby.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 7

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early summer 2017
3 Jun 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£375
for 7 nights
£375
 
 
Summer 2017
15 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£610
for 7 nights
£610
 
 
Early Sept 2017
2 Sep 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£370
for 7 nights
£370
 
 
Early autumn 2017
16 Sep 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£285
for 7 nights
£285
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
We require a £100 deposit to be paid at time of booking, with the remainder paid four weeks prior to the start of your holiday. For bookings made within four weeks, we ask for the whole sum to be paid immediately.

Changeover Day:
Weekly rental periods in summer are typically Saturday to Saturday but other options are also available – please contact us.

Notes on prices:
Prices in sterling.
To enquire about availability over Christmas and New Year, please contact the owner.

£100 deposit at time of booking.
Reminder due four weeks prior to arrival date.
Please note, for guests without UK banking facilities, payment via PayPal is possible but we will require you to pay PayPal's transaction charge and exchange rate fee; these will be included in the price sent to you as a 'money request'.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable