OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Villa with garden private pool rural setting free wifi plus uk tv

Bedrooms 2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

La Casita at Masdache, Nr. Tias/Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote - Rural Location, Good For Walking And Cycling

The bungalow is set in the grounds of Villa Malvasia and has exclusive use of the heated pool, BBQ and kitchen also outside lounge area, sunbathing terrace, summer house and gardens. The property is one of oldest on the island but has been fully restored four years ago so has all modern amenities. Situated in the wine growing area, and very popular with walkers and cyclists, but is in easy reach by car to all resorts. The village of Tias is 5 minutes by car for all groceries, for the early birds you can call into Antonios for croissants as they open at 6 in the morning. Puerto del Carman which is 10 minutes by car has all the beaches and is one of the main tourist places. But if you are into surfing, no worries, the property is near the beautiful beach of Famara, again 10 minutes in the other direction. Just past that is the old capital of the island, Tequise, which has a market every Sunday, not to be missed for that bargain.

debbie smithson
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, Spanish
Calendar last updated:
19 February, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks again we had a great holiday and we are looking forward to coming back!


Loved the bungalow, and the white linen was a beautiful touch, hate it when you get accomodation with the usual "brown bedspreads" etc and you can't tell if they're clean.

If we ever make it make it back to Lanzarote you'll see us again.

Thanks again for your hospitality.

Susan Tommy Georgia & Ethan

Again, thanx a lot for wonderful time at your place. Each time we were

on Corralejo dunes Malwina pointed Lanzarote and asked where your house

was :-)Agnieszka, Marcin and Malwina
Feb 2008
  • 1 of 1


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)


Fantastic. . Everything you could possibly need

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay . . We had a really chilled time during the 2 weeks. Ate in the house, bbq'd by the pool some evenings . Enjoyed the pool. We used it every day plenty big enough to swim in not just chill down . . Some days the water was cooler than others depending on amount of sun! Great situation easy to get to anywhere but so peaceful once you get back at the end of a hectic day. Great lidl nearby for any food needs with fresh bread mmmmm! It is a few mins in a car but you couldn't stay here really without one as it is in the middle of nowhere which is part if its charm

We booked to go back on October as it was just what we needed. . Debbie is a font of all knowledge ask her anything and she really will know!! 😀

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous family retreat

  • 5 of 5

La Casita is a fantastic property, especially if you're looking for a retreat away from the crowds. Inland from Peurto del Carmen, the location of La Casita is ideal if you want to explore the island - nothing is far away. But it's the property itself, and its gardens that are the real draw: two gardens, one directly outside the villa, and another a few steps up from the first garden complete with pool and outdoor kitchen. With a nearly two-year-old, the private pool could have resulted in a less than relaxing holiday, but the simple fact you could shut the door between the two gardens and make sure he couldn't get there without us meant we could fully relax and enjoy our family holiday as much as our toddler did. He was in his element, and therefore so were we.

Debbie was not only a fantastic host, but was really friendly and looked after us really well. She was great with the little one, who has been talking about her ever since! Thank-you Debbie for your kind hospitality.

La Casita is a real find, and we would definitely stay again if we're ever heading back to Lanzarote!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely house, best in the summer

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of March. The location is perfect - you need a car, but everywhere is in easy reach. Everything the other reviewers say about the property and Debbie's helpfulness is true - you get a lot of property for your money, with a lovely garden and pool. That all deserves 5 stars - the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars concerns the heating and electricity. There is no heating built in to the bungalow, but Debbie provided two very effective plug in heaters which at least kept the main room warm on the coldest days (we had 50% cloudy days and 50% sunny days), but there was no residual warmth to start with, so they had a tough job.The electricity in the bungalow often tripped out when the hairdryer was in use, which may have been because the heaters were in use. We tried a fan heater but that very quickly tripped the fuse, so abandoned that. The pool is lovely, but it's slightly misleading to say it's heated. We chose the heated pool because we knew the weather in March was likely to be mixed, but the pool is solar heated - so no sun, no heat to the pool. That should really be made clear in the description. We swam in the pool on three days, but it was still cold. In the summer, this house would be a fabulous choice and we would go back there like a shot, but it is not a good winter / spring choice.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hope your wife is better now as she wasn't very well on her stay here. Sorry that you had issues with heating and electricity but I did ask you on several occasions if everything was OK in the villa even when you came to ask me to print your tickets for james del Aqua all was okay. Therefore I was rather surprised at your review as this was the first time I knew of any problems. The two heaters I gave you on the second and third days are great they kept the room at a constant temperature 23 degrees you should have ask if this was not sufficient I had another if needed. When I came in to do the mid stay clean the temperature of The rooms seemed nice and warm. Yes you are quite right the electric does trip with two heaters, a fan heater and a hairdryer plus other electrical appliances. I am disappointed you could not approach me so I could have resolved this problem as with the fan heater if you had come to me first I would have given you the heaters and you would not have had to buy the fan heater on the first day. Unfortunately the weather did change on your arrival. The clients that left the day before hadn't needed heating or any of the clients this year as I always ask if everything is okay and if anything is needed. As you know from previous visits the weather here can change in the early part of the year. Sorry that you were just unfortunate the clients staying at the moment are warm enough without heating I have asked. The swimming was not as warm due to the fact the weather changed and as it is solar heated which is stated in my villa details. On saying that my previous guests have been swimming this year like yourselves. The weather was quite mixed but as you said in your email you had 5 really sunny days by the pool and the rest were a mix of sun and cloud. I would like to say all my guest are very important to me and I make every effort that there stay in perfect. All you have to do is ask and I will try my best to resolve any problems
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful country retreat

  • 5 of 5

La Casita is set in the heart of Lanzarote's wine growing region. It is totally peaceful and relaxing, with stunning views of the countryside.

Debbie's directions were spot on and despite arriving in Lanzarote in the dark, it took only 20 minutes to get to the house from the airport. The house was tastefully decorated, well maintained and spotlessly clean. Debbie kindly organised a welcome pack for us and, so when we arrived, we were able to settle in and have dinner on the first night.

When we got up in the morning, we were able to see the garden properly for the first time. The garden and pool are totally private with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. There are many seating areas ensuring you can always find somewhere in the sun or shade, or away from the famous Lanzarote wind! The outdoor kitchen meant that we could have meals by the pool and cold drinks and snacks were always to hand during the day.

You will need a car to stay here but we found driving in Lanzarote really easy. The roads are well maintained and very quiet. As the house is in the middle of the island it meant that nowhere was very far away. We could drive to Playa Blanca in the far south in about 20 minutes or Mirador del Rio, in the far north, in around 30.

We really, really, loved our holiday at la Casita and our only wish was that it was longer. We hope to come back again soon.

PS For a great short walk, climb the volcano you can see from the pool. The views from the top are fantastic!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic holiday

  • 5 of 5

"We arrived at the villa with some concept of how it would be from the

> website. However, we were not prepared for the size of the

> recreational space that became ours for a fantastic months holiday.

> Everything seems to have been thought of, from the toilet and shower

> near the pool and sunbathing area, to the massive gas bbq in the

> kitchen area, where there was a sink-kettle-refrigerator and loads of

> cutlery and crockery for eating at the table close by that offered

> shade as well. Then on top of that there is a comfortable recreational area where you can sit to watch the sun go down.

> Brilliant.


> The villa itself was spacious, very clean and came with a supply of

> dvd's that kept us entertained on many a night.


> Best of all, though, was Debbie, who, although we arrived at an odd

> time was there to greet us with the permanent smile she has.

> Throughout the rest of our stay she offered advice on a range of

> topics that helped us enormously, from places to eat, things to see

> and even walks we could do. We can highly recommend it and will be going back ourselves."

  • Review Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic holiday and location

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The bungalow was beautiful inside and out and the outside space with humongous barbecue was fantastic. We took our road bikes with us and Debbie very kindly let us keep them in the laundry room. We have cycled on Lanzarote on several occasions but we have always stayed in Puerto del Carmen. This was a much better location as you don't have to cycle up the hill out of PdC every day! I can highly recommend this as a location for a relaxing, get-away-from-it-all holiday or as a base for exploring the island by bike as nowhere is really that far away. We will definitely be back as it was one of the best holidays we have had.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
5 Jan 2017 - 5 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
6 Apr 2017 - 3 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
4 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
17 Jun 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
15 Jul 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Prices shown are for 2 people
A charge of £10 per day for the 3 and 4 person

Changeover Day:
Preferred changeover day is Thursday, but we are flexible so check with us first.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK Pounds. Above prices are based on 2 sharing for each additional person £10 per day maximum of 4 sharing.

Payments are discussed with clients as to how and what method would be more convenient for them

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow on San Bartolomé, Canary Islands

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom/shower room with wc with modern fittings.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedrooms Master bedroom king size bed, second bedroom has twin beds.
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: The property is suitable for children but there are steps. Outside: There are two gardens. Upper garden has the private heated swimming pool (salt water). American BBQ with kitchen, table for 12 people with a lounge area, sun deck with sun loungers, summer house for reading and taking the view of the vineyards. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included which are changed once a week but if required can be changed on request. The property is cleaned once a week,

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot