OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Ideal Holiday Retreat Offering Sea And Mountain Views

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa in Plaka, Nr. Almyrida, Crete, Greece - Peaceful Location, 5 Minutes To Plaka Square, 10 Mins To Almyrida Beach

Annie’s Villa - authorised by the Greek Tourist Board for rental - EOT Ref no: 10 42 K 12 3K 03656 0 0 WIFI ADDED '13 This 2 bedroom bungalow villa stands on a wonderful hillside location, a short walk from the historic village of Plaka (see further details). The property boasts amazing views of both Souda Bay & the White Mountains. Due to what this lovely area has to offer, this is an ideal holiday retreat for both couples and families alike. The Villa is also surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens, befitting the local area. The roof of the villa, accessed by a side stairway, is an ideal 'suntrap' terrace. Sun loungers etc. are provided. All balconies offer a view of either Souda Bay, the White Mountains, or both! If you are driving, there is private parking outside the villa, which is gated. The outside areas of the house have external lighting, although it is advisable to take a torch as the local roads can be uneven. You can look forward to a fun, relaxing holiday in the sun!


Owner
Annie Robb
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, Spanish
Calendar last updated:
21 March, 2017

About Annie Robb

We love Crete and in 2003 took the plunge to buy this property. The build was completed in June '04 and we went out with our 7 wk old son to take ownership of it. We have been coming out at least once every year since then. We didn't rent it out for a number of years as we wanted to get EOT. We take any feedback given seriously, and have updated the villa as guests have suggested. This year we are particularly pleased with how it looks and the facilities it offers. The town square (well triangle) of Plaka is a few minutes walk away and the centre was used for filming part of Fiddlers on the Roof, it is a wonderful blend of old and new and still retains traditional Cretan character. Almerida and Kalyves are also close by for the beach, and cool tavernas and bars. Heaven!

Annie Robb purchased this villa in 2003

Why Annie Robb chose Chania area

The views from this property are amazing, from the front balcony you look over the beautiful blue sea, and to the left of the property are the wonderful white mountains, snow capped, depending on the time of year. So whichever preference you can have both sea and mountain views. We fell in love with the location too, close enough to walk to the wonderful Plaka "square", and its bars and restaurants, but also far enough away to have some privacy.

What makes this villa unique

Although the property is a bungalow, the whole of the roof is tiled - accessed via some stairs to the right of the property, and it is a perfect sun trap. We put a pergola and furniture up there too, and solar lights to enjoy in the evening. The pool area is just beautiful too, as are the landscaped gardens. Even in the hot sun, as it is in Pano Plaka (upper) there is generally a lovely breeze to cool you down (alhough the Villa itself does have air con).

Guestbook comments from the owner

2014

July '14 "wonderful 2 weeks in this lovely Villa. Early morning and even late night swims such a treat, and breakfast on the balcony with such a view was delightful. We also enjoyed star-gazing on the roof." Sue, Richard, James & Vicky

Aug '14 "Great villa, great location, great pool. So easy to walk into Plaka and Almyrida of an evening, so don't have to take the car." Tracy, Peter, Tyler & Curtis.

Aug '14 "Wow! What can we say, perfect Villa with amazing views. Have had the best week. It had everything we needed. Pool fab, loved Almyrida beach and Takis bar in Plaka Sq our fav." Ben, Tracy & baby Ralph.

Sept '14 "Great Villa, well equipped, fabulous views, pristine pool." Symes family

Oct '14 "Wonderful stay with good walks to Village for lovely food. Welcomed everywhere, amazing views, loved the Villa." Patrick Coll

2013

May '13 "Villa stunning, lovely balcony for breakfast, roof for evening meals. Well fitted out kitchen, all we needed." Nicholls family.

Jul' 13 "The facilities are excellent, the pool is beautiful, location breathtaking." Penfolds.

Aug '13 "A lovely holiday, very relaxing and hot! The Villa is really excellent and matched the description on the website very well." Harrison family.

Aug '13 "Pool and roof terrace amazing. Plaka - a wonderful away from it all Village." Gunsen family.

Aug '13 "What a wonderful Villa, in a perfectly peaceful location. Again, we had the pool to ourselves." Whitemore family.

2012

May '12 "We are leaving today and WE DON'T WANT TO! What a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Crete is absolutely gorgeous and the people are warm and welcoming." Rees/Jones Family.
Oct 2007
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Plaka in Crete

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • rural
  • town
  • village
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom with shower, wc, basin and washing machine (traditional to Greece)!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , space for cot if necessary (provided on request)
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: All bedrooms have air-conditioning. Bedroom 1 with double bed and balcony leading out to a pool. Bedroom 2 with twin beds and balcony overlooking the front garden, with views of Souda Bay. There is a safe available in Bedroom1 (see booking notes).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: All rooms are air-conditioned. Owner has an 11 year old and a 7 year old (Nov 07). The 10 year old has been out to the villa regularly from 7 weeks old, 15 times so far - so can guarantee suitable for little ones! Cots and highchairs available - new ones bought 2012 (immaculate on checking in 2014). Outside: There are balconies leading off the lounge/diner and each of the two bedrooms. If this isn't enough outside space you can always walk up to the roof where there is a 67m2 suntrap. For alfresco dining there is a table and six chairs. Ideal for those warm Cretan evenings. The beautiful pool is approximately 25 feet long with a depth of 6 -8 feet. There is stone seating surrounding it, in front of the beautiful landscaped gardens.......As the pool has no lifeguard it is to be used at own risk. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels, linen, tea towels etc provided. Linen change once per week. Welcome pack available upon request. Beach towels are not provided. Other: WiFi unit for up to 5 devices Pergola built on the roof offering even more spectacular, comfortable 'sea-viewing' on the outdoor furniture. Satellite tv installed. New for 2014 Slow Cooker, a Lemon Tree and a Fig Tree. Help yourself!

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

4

Fabulous holiday! Annie is the best owner

  • 4 of 5

Fabulous sceneryfrom villa, local beach really beautiful A truly lovely holiday. The owner, Annie was outstanding with quick communication and so helpful.

Thanks Annie's!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic villa! Perfect for our family

  • 5 of 5

This is a great villa. It was just as the description said. It was well presented, adequately supplied with equipment, had a great pool and was clean and well maintained. The location was great being close to nearby beaches and within a short but hilly walk to the local village Tabernas. I would have no problem in recommending this villa to any of my friends or family and would be very happy to return again. Overall we had probably the best family holiday ever. A big thank you to Annie from us all!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are all very welcome, very pleased to hear you had a great holiday, love sharing the Villa :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous, relaxing break!

  • 5 of 5

We had a very chilled out stay for a week. The weather was fantastic, the villa spot on and the best bit was the glorious pool!!!! I was in it a lot!

We were really comfortable with everything in the villa. The air conditioning was a godsend! We enjoyed gin and tonics sitting on the roof area and made great use of the restaurants and bars in the evening, especially Elpis!

Loved it!!!!! :-)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Annies Villa, Plaka - Crete

  • 4 of 5

Finding the property was quite difficult, getting to the village following the directions was ok it was from there on. I wouldn't have like to try and find it at night!

The villa was everything we hoped it would be, great for a family with young children. Walking into the village at night was easy and quick (though steep) as was the walk further down to the Town. Lots of great places to eat and socialise, the local residents were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed exploring the areas villages and Towns then returning to the villa early afternoon to make the mst of the pool. The pool was immaculate as was the surrounding area. The family next door were friendly and accommodating. we loved sitting on the roof terrace early on in the evening to watch the sun setting. the views are quite amazing, having a full view of the mountains and coast. The only negative was, it was a shame the table wasnt usable for a meal due to the missing glass top or better lighting as we would have liked to eat a meal or two up there in the evenings. We would reccommend this property, we had a great time there.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for an amazing review. So sorry about the table, my own son broke it last year and we were under the impression the glass had been replaced. It won't help you this year, but we are out this week and I will ensure that it is sorted. I will also review the lighting, and plan to put some lights on the pergola. Whilst out, I also plan to add the Villa to google maps, which will help people with that facility. I will also review directions and add pictures if necessary to help. Once again, many thanks. All feedback is gratefully received. Annie x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Holiday in Crete

  • 5 of 5

Annie's Villa provided us with everything we needed for a lovely holiday. The pool and the area around it were ideal, we could easily relax on the sunbeds whilst keeping an eye on the children in the pool. The privacy of the area was excellent and I particularly liked the fact we could close the gate to prevent the children from leaving the Villa Garden. The Villa was very clean and provided everything we needed although we didn't use the kitchen very much as the Tavernas in Plaka were excellent! The Roof Terrace on the Villa was such a suntrap and gave us a lovely view of the Bay. We spent a great deal of time on the beach in Almerida but also visited the surrounding areas by hiring a car locally for a couple of days, we found getting to new places very quick and easy, we particularly liked Georgopolis for the beach and the public Lido. All in all a fantastic break and we will return.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

Spent 2 weeks at the villa and it was lovely. Very clean and plenty of cooking utensils etc. The roof terrace is beautiful and is where we spent most of our time. It is a nice walk down into Almerida but we didn't attempt to walk back up those hills! Plaka is a small village but you can get most of what you need there. The hill from Plaka back to the villa is a daunting prospect. Even the taxi driver crossed himself before attempting it. We climbed it most days but it does seem to get steeper every time :) it is worth it for the views though. A big bonus for me was not getting any mosquito bites at all here. First time that has happened in 17 years of holidaying in Greece!

We didn't get any days where there wasn't somebody round the pool so we didn't use it.

All in all, nice villa in a lovely little village with enough shops and tavernas in walking distance and a pleasant walk down to Almerida for the beach, shopping or to get the bus to Chania. Oh, and Annie is lovely, sorting out getting something we forgot to bring back and arranging for it to be collected.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Rate 1
1 Apr 2017 - 24 May 2017
4 night minimum stay
£320
for 4 nights
From
£80
£550
 
 
Rate 2
25 May 2017 - 21 Jun 2017
4 night minimum stay
£360
for 4 nights
From
£90
£600
 
 
Rate 3
22 Jun 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£700
 
 
Rate 4
22 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
4 night minimum stay
£460
for 4 nights
From
£115
£750
£3,000
 
 
Rate 5
1 Sep 2017 - 20 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£700
 
 
Rate 6
21 Sep 2017 - 11 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
£343
for 4 nights
£600
 
 
Rate 7
12 Oct 2017 - 1 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£314
for 4 nights
£550
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £140

Booking Notes:
A booking deposit of £100 per week is required. All final payments must be paid 8 weeks before departure in the form of cheque or bank transfer. The booking deposit will be deducted from the final payment. Credit cards are not accepted as a form of payment. A £100 security deposit is also required which will be returned at the end of your stay. If you would like to make use of the safe then a further £40 deposit is required, to be returned as long as keys aren't lost!

Changeover Day:
Easyjet and Ryanair fly to both airports daily, so check my calendar to see dates available.
This year (2015) we are going out in August and spending a further week in Santorini too, which is easy to get to by boat or plane - will update further.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals