OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Villa With Double Doors To Veranda And Balconies, Spectacular Lake Views



Updated: 21-Jul-2016
Villa in Pianello Del Lario, Lake Como, Lombardy,Italy-Located 50m From The Lake-front With Beach & Marina & One Of The Best Views On This Spectacular Lake

Cool, newly built contemporary villa with private garden, veranda and balconies and free wi-fi. Stunning panoramic views, with the Alps rising from the sparkling blue waters of Lake Como. Positioned in the beautiful village of Pianello Del Lario, 50m from the lakefront and Laguna Beach which has two lovely restaurants and is a mecca for lovers of all water sports. There is a large marina on the lake front and a beautiful long lake-front walk north to the village of Musso and south towards Cremia . Just 10 minutes from the beautiful ferry port of Menaggio. Pianello del Lario is also serviced by ferries on a daily basis so it is a perfect base to explore the spectacular towns and villages scattered around the lake. Furnished with designer indoor/outdoor furniture with genuine Italian travertine tiles in the living area and kitchen and cool modern art adorning the walls. This property is a dream location for all those budding photographers or artists and ideal for a large group.

  • Sleeps 12
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We are an Irish family with two girls aged 4 and 6 and one boy aged 3. We holiday in Como twice a year and plan to use the property as as a base from which to ski in the Winter as our kids get older, with Madesimo being a really good resort a little over one hour away.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you very much for providing the base for such a wonderful holiday. We could have stayed forever - Caroline Hannigan, UK

'The perfect location for a chill-out holiday. The view will stay in my head for a long time' - Siobhan & Anne Quill, Ireland.

'This place is breathtakingly beautiful. I've had 4 magnificent days of relaxing, touring, eating and drinking. This is a very special location. I would recommend it to anybody' - Ryan family, Galway, Ireland.

'Simply wonderful, recommend the mountain walks, beautiful environment, saw deer and hawks. Marianna the Italian neighbour made our stay very special and supplied us with fresh salads and veg.' - Caseys, UK.

'Absolutely fantastic stay. Like dying and going to heaven.' - Quinns, Ireland.

'Superlatives inadequate to describe this view. Had a gorgeous week, total relaxation, chill out in wonderful villa, a piece of heaven.' - Newells, Dublin Ireland.

Derek, we had a fab time thank you, loved the location. It really felt like a holiday when we were mixing with the locals. Bakery was a real treat. My Uncle had a little banter with M's son, who kindly gave him rosemary from the garden. The house was great - spent lots of time outside watching water sports. View was breath-taking' we really enjoyed it, will recommend it to friends for sure so hopefully some will come your way. Thanks Gallagher family ,Galway, Ireland
Dec 2007
  • 1 of 1

2 Reviews

2 holidaymaker reviews


lovely views- issues with maintenance of the villa

  • 1 of 5

At time of booking we had specifically asked regarding wifi connectivity in the villa and the owner confirmed it was available. However on arrival this did not prove to be the case therefore causing us significant inconvenience. Two of our party wished to work from the villa rather than having to access wifi externally. We were offered another location to work from but not ideal as we had particularly wanted to work from our base.

On arrival we were unable to open the freezer compartment of the fridge as it was completely frozen over. This resulted in having to spend time removing ice each day to enable access the freezer. In addition because the freezer was ‘over' frozen this resulted in regular thawing of ice onto the kitchen floor making this very slippy and a safety risk.

Although the property was generally clean, in all the bedrooms there were cobwebs and spiders. The property smelled ‘musty’ and required airing.

On our first morning there was a significant leak of water into the kitchen, from what we can only presume was the shower in the master bedroom. Despite calls and texts and promises of a plumber this did not materialise with significant inconvenience to us including:

Not being able to use that shower at all

Having to turn the water on and off to prevent risk of further damage to your property

The electricity regularly fusing, presumably as a result of water having got into the electrics in the kitchen

The property manager promised an update at 2pm on the first day and we heard nothing further!

As you can imagine we were very very disappointed in this level of service. We do not believe the service and standard of maintenance of the property reflects what is expected by customers from a property in the price range the owner charges. The owner did contact us several times during the issue of the 'water leakage' but was unable to resolve anything.

On a positive note the area is beautiful and the villa does indeed have beautiful views.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Internet access We offer complimentary unlimited internet access to our guests. On day of arrival, we were notified by our guests that there was an issue with the WiFi Access. We immediately undertook to have this resolved. In the meantime we offered another beautiful apartment with stunning views, as a base locally to use as required, as the WiFi was working perfectly there. We also suggested some establishments in Pianello with free WiFi solutions, as a short-term solution. Unfortunately for the guests, while trying everything to find a solution over the week-end period, we could not resolve this matter until earliest 2nd which was the clients date of departure. Freezer Standard cleaning procedures and house preparation would include checking and cleaning of the fridge/freezer - while it had obviously been cleaned, for some technical reason the over-freezing had occurred. Again we apologize for any inconvenience caused to our guests due to this matter. While I have to accept the comments from the guests re the cleanliness , I can assure you that the property undergoes a thorough clean after each guests departure and before new arrivals. We genuinely have never had this comment previously as guest are normally very complimentary across the board. I am particularly puzzled at the 'musty' comment, as the property genuinely always feels very airy with loads of natural light etc. which is aided also by the gentle breeze coming up from the Lake. In the summer there occasionally, cobwebs can indeed build up quickly, even over the course of a day. This genuinely does not reflect the level of preparation and cleaning of the property in advance of their stay. Leak Unfortunately this could not have been foreseen in any way or planned for. As it turned out, this was not just a plumbing issue - it actually needed remedial/repair work which would have further seriously inconvenienced the guests. Therefore the agreed solution was to continue to use the showers in the two main bathrooms and then undertake the required work following the guests departure. In summary, I do totally take on board the guest comments and I can understand their level of frustration, for which we were deeply sorry. We can however offer assurances that these were exceptional events, with the technical aspects initially outside our control. We always strive to resolve any such issues immediately remotely or locally if required.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing haven in real Italy

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this superbly appointed villa.with breathtaking views to greet you each morning and the yummy bakery only a stones throw away ,what a great way to start each day of the hols.tastefully decorated house with spacious bedrooms.great restaurants within walking/short driving distance.kids had a ball at lakefront/local outdoor pools.our family members young and old had a brilliant stay.great value for money.would highly recommend..

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


From the Owner

We bought our villa in 2004 and spent quite a bit of time fitting out the interior with high quality furniture pieces, Italian designed kitchen and high standard Kohler bathroom fittings. We have a private garden so it's suitable for kids. We loved Lake Como from the moment we arrived. Pianello in particular is great because it is so peaceful. There are also so many outdoor activities for all age-groups and Pianello is a real mecca for all water-sport enthusiasts. The reasonably priced food/coffee/ice-cream is wonderful with great restaurants at Laguna Beach and also in the neighbouring villages of Cremia and Dongo. There are also newly built stunning lake-front walks (lit at night-time) from Laguna Beach in Pianello and also in Cremia

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Malpensa, Milan / Linate, Milan / Bergamo at 50 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Pianello Del Lario at 0.2 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Pianello Del Lario at 0.3 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Menaggio at 7 Kilometres Nearest Train : Como at 35 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : Como at 35 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Pianello Del Lario at 0.2 Kilometres Nearest Ski : Madesimo at 45 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Laguna Beach, Pianello Del Lario at 0.2 Kilometres Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

The NW side of the lake is the mecca for water sport enthusiasts featuring wind surfing, kite surfing and sailing. This area is also ideal for cycling on the lake-front or on the many hills overlooking the lake. There are newly built stunning long lake-side walks at Cremia and Pianello which are both within 5 minutes drive.


100m walk from the lake and Laguna Beach, a mecca for lovers of wind-sports. The marina at Pianello is host to the watersports school. There is a beautiful new waterfront walkway starting at Pianello and going all the way to the top of the lake. An ideal starting point for bike rides, strolls or boat trips passing by the lovely marinas along the way.

Lorenzo's Pizzeria serves amazing pizzas and pastas with the Bistro/bar offering a contemporary setting to unwind and watch the day go by.


The nearby Airports are:

Milan Orio al Serio in Bergamo - 1 hour 30 mins

Milan Linate - 1 hour 15 mins

Milan Malpensa - 1 hour 15 min

The airports all have bus & rail links to Milan from which trains run frequently to Como City. There are regular bus and ferry services from Como to Pianello. We would recommend car-hire as there is so much to see around the lake and the Lombardy region and inland towards Switzerland.


Menaggio - 10 minutes. Dongo - 5 minutes. Gravedona - 10 minutes. Como City - 30km. Lugano (Switzerland) -30km, (bring your passport). Milan - 90km. Lecco - 40km. Bergamo - 90km. Bellagio/Varenna - best to reach by Ferry -15 minutes.

Further Details:

Numerous lake front restaurants allow you to dine alfresco and taste delicious homemade Italian food while enjoying amazing views of the surrounding landscape across the lake. There are many local supermarkets, tobacco shop, bars and a bakery (make sure you go early for the most beautiful fresh breads). There is a bank and post office and hair and beauty. Marina for boating, ferry pick-up for touring the lake, bus stop, taxi service. Tennis court and enclosed football pitch, while, minutes away, there is an indoor swimming pool. The Lake Region of Italy is best known for Lake Como. Como the deep blue waters and steep embankments with visible if distant peaks of snow capped Alps make Como a picturesque place without doubt. The Lake is shaped rather like an inverted 'Y', with two 'legs' starting at Como in the South-West and Lecco in the South-East, which join together half way up and the lake continues up to Colico in the North. The first few kilometres of the 'legs' at the southern end of the lake are relatively flat, but Lake Como becomes more mountainous as you head northwards into the Alps. It is long and narrow - 50 km (30 miles) long, and no more than 2 km (1 mile) wide - backed by the snow-capped peaks of the pre-Alps. The area's diversity stretches from the windsurfers and alpine vistas in the north to the busy towns capping the southern arms, such as Como, a Roman town with a glorious cathedral and silk industry, and Lecco, full of literary associations. For centuries Lake Como has drawn in the wealthy and celebrities to claim a piece of its history with gracious villas and verdant gardens. It has inspired composers (Liszt, Verdi, Bellini), film makers (Steven Soderbergh, George Lucas, John Irvin) and writers (Byron, Shelley and Wordsworth). Of course it has inspired many travelers who seek a different side to Italy.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
2 Oct 2016 - 29 Oct 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
30 Oct 2016 - 25 Feb 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0

Changeover Day:
Saturday is the required changeover day in peak season. Flexibility is offered outside of this time. Check-in - 4.30pm or earlier by arrangement . Check-out - 10.00am or later by arrangement.

Notes on prices:
A charge of 150 Euros applies to all reservations to cover local charges/utilities & cleaning
Wi-Fi is provided free of charge with unlimited usage
Linens and towels are also provided free of charge.
We do not request a security deposit on arrival as we operate at all times on a trust basis.
A heating surcharge applies for winter bookings.

20% deposit to secure booking. Balance 8 weeks prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 21-Jul-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

The main things we like:- 1. The amazing panoramic views of the village, lake and mountains from the villa and garden/terrace/balcony 2. Being 100m from the lake-front and the lovely restaurants on Laguna beach and lake-side walks. 3. Being able to view the daily water-sport activities from the villa 4. Proximity to Milan,Lugano, Bergamo, Como, Lecco - for great day trips. 5. Transport links - Close proximity to 4 airports and bus and rail services as well as the local ferry terminal 6. Italians tolerance of kids 7. Proximity to ski resorts in winter 8. Large size of the villa with 5 double bedrooms and large garage-ideal for 2 families. 9. Hiring a boat locally to visit the lovely towns and villages along the lake-front or grab an ice-cream in Dongo. 10. Authentic culture

Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library


  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • lake
  • village
  • waterfront


  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 300 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite bathroom to bedroom 2 with shower, sink, wc. Main bathroom with bath/shower, sink, wc, bidet, furniture pieces and racks. Downstairs bathroom with shower, sink, bidet.


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 1-double bed and private balcony with double doors - stunning lake view 2-double bed and en-suite bathroom- stunning lake view 3-double bed and wooden ceiling - stunning view of mountain and village 4-double bed wooden ceiling - velux 5-double bed wooden ceiling - velux


  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis


  • Self-catering


  • Outside: There is a large patio area to the front and side and a large private garden to the side with natural stone steps up to an elevated area which has even more spectacular views. The garden gets sunlight from early morning for most of the day. Relax in this beautiful space and soak up the views and the beautiful scents from the many plants. There is an old pear tree which bears fruit in the summer and provides shelter from the sun if it gets too hot. There is beautiful outdoor furniture and loungers for relaxing and dining. Utility Room: Washing machine, clothes horse, iron, ironing board. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels/ bed linens are included. Property is cleaned after each stay. Laundry and cleaning services are available at your request during your stay at your own cost. Beach towels are not provided - guests are advised to bring their own or purchase locally Other: Garage for general storage of surf and biking equipment and any other children's equipment. There are prams available and a baby hiking carrier and some toys for kids

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot