OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Totally Secluded, Spacious Villa With Private Heated Pool And Stunning Views

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Villa for Perfect Retreat in a Quiet, Rural Location, Yet Near To Beaches, Shops And Restaurant

La Finca is a spacious, secluded rural rustic property with its own private pool and gardens which can comfortably accommodate up to 8 people. Ideal for families or groups of friends, the beautifully renovated and quirky property provides the ideal peaceful, private retreat combining tranquillity and modern living with rustic charm. If outdoor living is what you desire, it doesn't get much better than this, with well maintained gardens, spectacular uninterrupted views over the volcanic Timanfaya National Park and natural coastline and incredible sunsets to enjoy. The very large garden offers a deep blue pool surrounded by sunny terraces with daybed, hammock and dining area, and is your own completely private oasis. While offering a unique location and unrivalled views, La Finca remains conveniently situated being just outside the charming village of Yaiza with its sprinkling of shops, restaurants and bars, and only 15 minutes to the prestigious resorts of Playa Blanca & Puerto Calero.


Owner
Sonia & Mark Bodilly
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
14 December, 2017

About Sonia & Mark Bodilly

Welcome. We fell in love with Lanzarote some years ago and we love spending time there when we can. We are lucky enough to have 3 properties on the island, one (La Finca) we bought and furnished as our home and now holiday let it. They all offer a range of different styles of accommodation and we are very proud of them.

We take holiday letting seriously and are constantly improving our properties. We love to hear from our guests about how they enjoyed their holidays, and should you have a suggestion to make as to how we can improve things, we value all the feedback we receive.

Sonia & Mark Bodilly purchased this villa in 2006

Why Sonia & Mark Bodilly chose Yaiza

Originally we bought (and furnished) the house to live in ourselves. After living there for a while, my husband received a not to be refused job offer elsewhere. We waited a while before deciding to holiday let the property. Since then, it has been been a great success.

We chose it because it offers a truly quiet retreat with complete privacy, while being very accessible to the beaches and towns around, including Playa Blanca.

Being at La Finca for a week feels like forever, it is that relaxing and soothing to be there. As a restored Finca it has loads of quirky features, as well as thick walls to keep it cool in the summer, and cosy in the winter. The fireplaces certainly help with that as well.

What makes this villa unique

It is hard to think what to add as the reasons why we bought it are the benefits I would normally tell you about here.

What I would add is that La Finca is truly unique. It is beautifully furnished in keeping with the rustic style (hence the teak and leather), but still has the mod cons of a washing machine, huge range cooker (I wish I had one like this at home) and two full size freezers.

Truly, it is the combination of complete privacy, peace and quiet, combined with the convenience and accessibility to the beaches and resorts that makes La Finca unequalled in holiday destinations.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'Thank you for a lovely holiday at 'La Finca'. The villa is really lovely, and furnished beautifully. We loved the welcome pack, its was practical and made us feel really welcome. It was an ideal place to relax. many thanks for a wonderful stay, we look forward to another holiday there; hopefully this time with the family.' Mr & Mrs H, York.



'Thanks Sonia we had a lovely time! We particularly liked the ambiance and quality of stuff like linen etc.' - Ms J, London



'For us it was perfect. We loved this charming place.' Mr & Ms S, Switzerland



'La Finca was wonderful thank you, a lovely place in a great location. I would say it exceeded expectations. The villa was far better equipped than other rentals I have experienced, especially the kitchen. All I can say is that we would love to revisit and would highly recommend La Finca to anyone who wanted a peaceful and very beautiful location in the Canaries.' Mr M, London
Jul 2007
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
22 Kilometres
Arrecife
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Yaiza
Nearest Ferry
13 Kilometres
Playa Blanca
Nearest Golf
17 Kilometres
Tias
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Yaiza
Nearest Beach
13 Kilometres
Playa Blanca
Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

Naturists will find the privacy they are looking for at La Finca. Please feel comfortable to pre-arrange pool and other cleans at the start of your visit.

Cyclists will find the villa very well situated for access to the island.

Golf can be found at the Tias Golf course, only 20 mins away.

Artists will find La Finca very suited to there needs. It offers spectacular views in every direction and benefits from the unique light of Lanzarote.

Wind and kite-surfers can take advantage of the conditions at Famara which are well suited to these sports - 25 minute drive.

Paragliders can often be seen off the nearby mountain behind Macher - 15 minute drive.

The peace and tranquility of La Finca is very conducive to yoga and meditation.

Coast/Beach:

Playa Blanca's family friendly beaches - 15 minute drive.

The stunning Papagayo beaches - 20 minute drive.

Travel:

Arrecife airport is a 25 minute drive away. Car hire is recommended and can be arranged for you. Please enquire regarding prices.

Distances:

Yaiza - 1 minute.

Papagayo beaches - 20 minutes.

Famara beaches and surfing - 25 minutes.

Puerto Callero marina and restaurants - 15 minutes.

Playa Blanca beaches, restaurants and marina - 15 minutes.

Further Details:

Additional services available (ask for prices).

Car hire can be arranged and is advised.

Cot and high chair hire available.

Naturists will find the privacy they are looking for at La Finca. Please feel comfortable to pre-arrange pool and other cleans at the start of your visit.

Artists will find La Finca very suited to their needs. It offers spectacular views in every direction and benefits from the unique light of Lanzarote.

Wind and kite-surfers can take advantage of the conditions at Famara which are well suited to these sports - 25 minute drive.

Paragliders can often be seen off the nearby mountain behind Macher - 15 minute drive.

The peace and tranquillity of La Finca is very conducive to yoga and meditation.

Other Notes -

We ask that you please smoke outside.

The management company will meet you at the property either on the day of your arrival, or the next day, to ensure everything is satisfactory. Please feel comfortable to arrange specific times for pool and other cleans to suit your stay.

The pool is solar heated.

The couple who manage the property live in a studio on the grounds - set well away and below the other accommodation.

The property runs on solar, wind and generator.

There might be some differences from the photos as things wear out and need to be replaced.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Yaiza in Lanzarote

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite to master bedroom, bath, walk-in slate-lined double shower, twin basins. 1 bathroom large slate-lined shower, loo. 1 bathroom shower, loo.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , En-suite bathroom and dressing room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Master bedroom with kingsize (180 x 200) teak four poster bed, large mirror, dressing room, en-suite bathroom. 3 twin bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Children are welcome and there are books, toys, games and a children's play table. Cots and highchairs can be provided. The pool is great for the young child as it has a very child friendly shallow area of about 1.4x1.4m. Wood burning stoves and fireplace add atmosphere and warmth on a cool winter's evening. In addition, there is a hairdryer and lockable safe. Outside: There are a number of patios (both at the back and front of the house) take advantage of the spectacular views. They offer a private space to swim, sun bathe, BBQ, eat and relax. The pool is solar heated and has a shallow area ideal for small children (supervision required). The outside furniture is as follows - BBQ, table & chairs, numerous loungers, teak daybed, metal table and chairs (front patio), drier for hanging out clothes. Utility Room: Washing machine, ironing board, iron. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The following are included - weekly clean, linen and bath towel change, beach towels, twice weekly pool clean. Other: DVDs, games, books. The house is powered by solar with a back up generator

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Totally Secluded, Spacious Villa With Private Heated Pool And Stunning Views
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 4 reviews
5

Private, Peaceful, Perfect.

  • 5 of 5

We have been visiting La Finca for several years, and have fallen in love with its privacy oand comfort. It's a typical Finca, and some people may find the pool small; but it's equipped with many modern conveniences. Air conditioning is opening the windows on either side of the house, but we have never had a problem with this.

Paul and Emmanuel, who manage the property for the owners greeted us, (despite our late arrival), and made sure that during our stay, that nothing was too much trouble for them to,ensure we had a good holiday. The welcome pack was great including the prosecco, marmalade, milk, bread, and the many other items they provided.

On previous visits the Finca was becoming tired, however this has been reversed, and there were many touches, like the WiFi, vegetable garden, the updated solar panels, the pool light, new bedding and towels; and many others,that showed that the Finca and the guests were being cared for to a higher standard.

The views were excellent as always, as was the privacy. The Finca next door is visible, but has never intruded on our privacy. A car is essential for this Finca.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Great location - Villa a bit too quirky!

  • 1 of 5

Sadly I am having to post this review as I have not had a response from the Owners. As you will have heard we had terrible problems with the water supply and pressure at the property which I understand was an ongoing issue which we should have been notified about. From the outset there were problems throughout the villa with the system and we were without water for a day and a half when the tank ran out of water and we had to buy water to enable us to wash & flush. In addition to this a particular problem was the intermittent supply of water to the showers – which when you have long hair and are covered in sunscreen I am sure you can appreciate was extremely difficult. As you described in your literature the water and fittings/pipes can get very hot – this was to a dangerous temperature at times when the water pressure dropped without warning – I burnt myself on two occasions so this would have been very hazardous if we had had children with us. Fortunately only two of our friends were able to join us on the holiday, as the inadequate water system would have been under more pressure and actually also because it was extremely tedious and embarrassing. After being at the villa for a few days we discovered that if you turn the sink tap on or flush the toilet the increased demand seemed to unblock the system and powered the pump to provide enough power to enable an adequate shower. On occasions though we still had to have one of us stand by the pump whilst the other one tried to shower to keep switching it back on. These are all things which you do not expect to have to deal with on holiday when you are trying to relax! In addition to this, on arrival at the property the pool was dirty, the toilet serving the bedrooms to the right of the property had a broken flush mechanism and some bulbs in the property needed replacing. Also, we could not access Wi-Fi – we could link with it but not use it which again was embarrassing as our guests had business deadlines to meet. The weather was unseasonably cold so we tried to use the fire but it appears that the chimney needs sweeping as there was no draw to it and it smoked the room out. I look forward to hearing your comments on this and receiving compensation for our inconvenience.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are truly sorry that you had such a bad time of it. You mention that we were aware of problems with the water. However, while there had been some issues, we believed they had been resolved before you stay (and had paid for repairs). We have replaced the property managers due to their lack of communication with us and their poor management. Our new property managers are outstanding and have helped us identify all the core underlying issues to enable us to resolve them. Everything has now been addressed. We have - replaced pipes - replaced taps and fittings - replaced the water pump - replaced a boiler In addition we have replaced the WiFi system to an improved one. As you can see, we do take holiday letting seriously and do step in and resolve issues as and when we know about them. It was extremely unlucky for you that you had the experience you did. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the responses you received from us. We did do our best.
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0
London
5

Fabulous Villa

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for a wonderful holiday! What a truly beautiful villa – so quiet, spacious and clean and we were really able to relax. We were a big group and all the space was much appreciated – not many places can cater for 12 people all in their own beds and not on sofa beds in the lounge.

The views were like nothing we have had before. Such a wide open vista and the colours of the national park were quite surreal. There can’t be many places on the island that can rival it.

All that space and still so private. Anyone wishing to skinny dip or get an all over tan would be spoilt for choice.

The style of the place was completely in keeping with the property – lots of wood and natural materials – so comfortable we felt completely at home. We took turns to cook and found both the villa and the apartment well equipped, and we enjoyed many a BBQ on the back patio.

I can recommend the property for either a big or a small group, and I look forward to returning next time for a romantic getaway with my husband.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Shaz, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do strive to provide the best experience for our guest and are glad that you could have such a great trip. Thank you, Sonia and Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Yaiza, Lanzarote

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Bargain Season
1 Dec 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Festive Season
18 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,150
for 7 nights
£1,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Low Season
8 Jan 2018 - 9 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£880
for 7 nights
£880
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Half Term
10 Feb 2018 - 18 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,150
for 7 nights
£1,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season
19 Feb 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter Holidays
30 Mar 2018 - 15 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,150
for 7 nights
£1,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season
16 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Half Term
26 May 2018 - 3 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Bargain Season
4 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
1 Jul 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
14 Jul 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,150
for 7 nights
£1,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season
5 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Half Term
20 Oct 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,150
for 7 nights
£1,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season
29 Oct 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Bargain Season
1 Dec 2018 - 18 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
Festive Season
19 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£1,250
for 7 nights
£1,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please email us or call us (details below) to enquire regarding booking. A non-refundable deposit of 25% is required to confirm all bookings. The balance is payable 45 days before the start of the booking. If your booking is within 8 weeks of the start of the holiday, payment in full is required to confirm the booking. Always check availability before sending any money.

We do not accept date changes within 3 months of the start of the holiday. For holidays starting after that, we charge £250.

Changeover Day:
Flexible.

Babies in cots are free. We do charge for cot and high chair hire

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable