OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beach House in a fantastic location With Stunning Views.

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

3bedroom 2 bathroom Beach House on the traffic free island of Armona in the Ria Formosa Nature Park.

The property has been completely modernised to provide a spacious comfortable living space. Walk out of the patio or back door and a few steps will take you on to the safe sandy beaches of the Nature Reserve. There is a large private roof terrace with far reaching views over the Ria Formosa Nature Reserve , Olhao, Faro and the mountains, perfect for sunbathing, dining out and watching the wonderful Algarve sunset, the roof terrace is also fantastic for star gazing. There is a further south facing patio area with a bbq, dining table and chairs plus two large sofas for relaxing outside and taking in the sea views. All of the outside area's having lighting for sitting out in the lovely warm evenings. There are 3 bedrooms and a bathroom located of off the main hallway with a connecting privacy door to the large main living area which also has a further bathroom with a walk in shower.The property has free wifi, satelite tv and dvd player. We are 5 minutes from the ferry, shops and restaurants.


Owner
Trish harmer
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
22 November, 2017

About Trish harmer

We live on the Isle of Wight and like to spend as much time as possible on Armona.

Trish harmer purchased this house in 2003

Why Trish harmer chose Olhão

We found the Island in 2003 and fell under the Armona spell. we were lucky to find a property for sale and in the perfect location on the Island. not to far from the ferry and on the best beach on Armona.

What makes this house unique

Armona is such an amazing place. We have travelled to many other places and we have never found anywhere that is so unique. Many of our guest's come back year after year with some of them now purchasing there own properties.

Words really don't do the island justice and we are sure that you will have a fantastic holiday.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have testimonials every year from happy holidaymakers with many repeat bookings.We run a guest book and look forward to your comments. We can supply testimonials if required.

Typical comments are fantastic house in a fantastic location.
Feb 2007
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Olhão in Municipality of Olhão

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • village
  • waterfront
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Shower room 1 - Outdoor Shower , outside shower room
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    bathroom 2 -
  • Bathroom one has a walk in wet room shower area, wc, bidet and wash hand basin. Bathroom two has a wc and wash hand basin. There is also a separate private cold water outside shower (for when you come off the beach)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1, double bed. Bedroom 2, twin beds. Bedroom 3, twin beds A travel cot is available if required
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The house has a large comfortable lounge with 2 sofas overlooking the barrier islands, A modern kitchen diner equipped with everything you need leads to the outside patio area and bbq. There is a large walk in shower with wc bidet and wash basin. Through a door to the hallway we have 3 separate bedrooms and a second w.c. with wash hand basin. Outside: Outside of the kitchen door there is a large patio area with seating and a chimney style BBQ plus 2 comfortable Sofa's. Under the front balcony there are table and chairs overlooking the front garden. The private terrace upstairs has sun loungers. There is also a small patio area and outside shower by the patio doors leading to the beach. Utility Room: Ironing board, Iron, hair dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All Linen is provided and the property is completely cleaned before your arrival. Towel hire is available on request.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Beach House in a fantastic location With Stunning Views.
average rating of 4.6 based on 16 reviews
4

Lovely property and well located near the sea.

  • 4 of 5

This is our third year in Armona and the second time in this house. We have had a fantastic time and plan to be back soon and stay in this house again.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you and your family again on Armona.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxed beach holiday in lovely location.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely property with wonderful view from roof terrace.we would highly recommend this house and will be back.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous way to experience Armona

  • 5 of 5

Armona really is a magical place and this beach house is the perfect way to experience it.The location is fantastic as you are close enough to everything but far enough away for peace and quiet. The house was very clean and well looked after with lots of nice touches - the owners clearly care for the place. The outdoor shower was very useful (especially for our 2 kids) and the spacious indoor shower area was great. The bedroom with the double bed was quite small but the other 2 bedrooms were fine. We ate pretty much all our meals outside and the the BBQ was perfect for cooking the fresh fish you can buy just down the path every day. The rooftop terrace was wonderful especially in the evenings.The WiFi worked well (fast enough for streaming Netflix cartoons) but you really wont want to be spending much time online. Local support from Romina was also excellent. We had a fabulous time and cant wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Declan Thank you for your very positive review. Your comments truly reflect Armona and our house. We are really pleased you and your family enjoyed staying there. We look forward to your next visit. Trisha and Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing stay at an overpriced house

  • 2 of 5

On arrival at 11pm the beds were unmade and deficient of linen, the hospitality was poor, 1 dirty cloth, 1 dirty tea towel and 1 small towel per person. The sink was leaking and there was a gas leak under the hob. The house was not clean and the shower had sand left in it from the previous tenant. With the four of us that were staying here we had only 1 fork, 1 spoon, 1 plate and one, 1 blunt knife, each. Needless to say we will not be returning to stay at this house again.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that this guest have given the house this sort of bad review as we did not have any communication during this guests stay other than when they used the hob they smelt gas which was immediately checked and no leak was found. We always take before and after photographs to show the condition of the house and unfortunately after this guest left we had to email them to advise that the house required a deep clean due to the dirty condition that it had been left. We certainly would not recommend this guest to other property owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Armona💖

  • 5 of 5

Lovely house...clean and close to Beach.. all you need😀Most relaxing holiday ever😍 Hope to be back soon...Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 16-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stoke on Trent
5

Beautiful location, lovely house

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here. Lovely house in a great location. 5 mins walk from ferry and bars. Peaceful and quiet but was end of April. House has everything you need and next to the beach. Great communication with owners who were really helpful. Already looking when we can go back.

  • Review Submitted: 10-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
6 Kilometres
faro
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
armona
Nearest Ferry
100 Metres
armona
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
olhao
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
armona
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
armona
Car: not necessary

Coast/Beach:

You are surrounded by miles of safe sandy beaches. The shallow lagoons at the front of the house are ideal for swimming and snorkeling. The Atlantic beach at the top of the island is about 15 minutes walk and is fantastic for beach combing. We find many large and unusual shells washed up on this beach. It is possible to walk to the far end of the Island along the beach and this would take approx 2 hours.There are many types of migrating birds plus chameleons.

Travel:

The nearest airport is Faro approx 20 mins by taxi. Taxis are available 24/7 or car hire if you require. It is not essential to hire a car as everything is within easy walking distance of the ferry at Olhao.The ferry to the island takes approx 15 minutes and currently costs euro 1.85 each way.There is a water taxi service 24/7 which costs 20/25 euros.

The Island is a traffic free zone with everything within an easy level walking distance.The locals are very friendly with many speaking English.

Distances:

The mainland is only 15 minutes from the Island and is serviced by a regular ferry service.There is a bus and train service from Olhao which will take you in either direction along the Algarve coast for days out.Spain is less than an hours drive away. A short distance from Olhao and facing Armona is the Ria Formosa Environment Centre which explains the importance of the Islands to visitors. There is a working tidal mill and it is also the home of the unique water dog with webbed feet.

Further Details:

There are a number of restaurants/bars all serving local dishes, 2 mini market's with fresh bread and fish daily, Mobile phone reception is good, Banks are located on Olhao sea front as is the tourist information centre, please note there are no cash machines on Armona. Free Wi Fi Internet access is provided at the house also in Olhao on the green in front of the Police station and at the Park cafe next to Pingo Supermarket. There are several other supermarkets and the the main high street shops are within easy walking distance of the ferry.The largest fish/meat/produce market on the Algarve is held a couple of minutes walk from the ferry terminal as is open every day except Sunday. Fishing is still the main income for the town.There are dozens of bars and restaurants on Olhao seafront offering a wide variety of eating places to suit every taste and budget, Boat trips are available from the Island and Olhao to discover the Ria Formosa nature reserve. Kayak hire is available on Armona. The Island is all about chilling out and enjoying yourself. There are no high rise apartments or English breakfasts on the Island,(unless you cook it yourself).This is an unspoilt and protected region of the Algarve which the Portuguese had kept to themselves for years. We were very fortunate to find this fantastic Island and it gives us great pleasure offering others the opportunity to discover this hidden gem. Free parking is available by the side off the fish dock opposite the GNR police station and only 3 minutes walk to the ferry. Car hire is not necessary as everything is within easy walking distance around Olhao and there is also a 30 minute shuttle bus service from the ferry if you wish to travel further.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Olhão, Algarve

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 5
1 Oct 2017 - 10 Dec 2017
6 night minimum stay
£294
for 6 nights
From
£49
£340
 
 
Low
1 Mar 2018 - 31 May 2018
6 night minimum stay
£294
for 6 nights
From
£49
£343
 
 
Mid
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
6 night minimum stay
£480
for 6 nights
From
£80
£560
 
 
High
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
6 night minimum stay
£720
for 6 nights
From
£120
£810
 
 
Mid
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
6 night minimum stay
£480
for 6 nights
From
£80
£560
 
 
Low
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
6 night minimum stay
£294
for 6 nights
From
£49
£343
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £80

Changeover Day:
We have no set changeover days.The house is available from 3pm on day of arrival. We ask you to vacate by 10am on departure day. Every guest is met from the ferry and taken to the house and are given a local contact telephone number.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per night not per person in UK Pounds (Sterling).
Minimum 4 nights with no set change over days
Maximum 6 persons including children.
Refunds. We will always refund as long as we can relet the cancelled dates. We advise that you take out travel insurance to cover emergencies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable