OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cottage In A Peaceful Location

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage near Thury Harcourt, Calvados, Swiss Normandy

La Vannetiere is a stone built cottage, the kitchen, lounge, wc and shower room are on the ground floor with stairs leading to one bedroom on the first floor. Outside there is a well established pretty garden set on two levels, the top cottage garden having shade from the fruit trees, the lower, a Japanese style garden with ponds and a small patio area. The village of St Martin De Sallen is about 4k away. Caen, Falase and the landing beaches are all within easy reach.

Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French, Dutch
Calendar last updated:
18 November, 2017

About Lynda

I have been living in France since 1990 and I adore this area, the countryside is stunning and the pace of life slow. The walks in the area are just lovely as we have the choice of woodland, cliff walks or beach walks.

I am married to a dairy farmer and besides cows we have also have sheep, chickens, ducks and geese and our farm is about 3 km from the cottage. So don't worry you won't be woken up by the cows being milked :)

Besides working on the farm I have a small business making handmade accessories for dogs ie collars leads beds etc I also make Handbags and shoulder bags.

Lynda purchased this cottage in 1989

Why Lynda chose Saint-Martin-de-Sallen

I fell in love with this little cottage the moment I saw it, it has a welcome feel about it and it is comfortable and cozy and as I mentioned before the area is lovely.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Saint-Martin-de-Sallen in Calvados

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for children
Location Type:
  • river
  • rural
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Large shower room with wc and washing machine.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 Adults (One Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 double bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes on accommodation: The property is not suitable for children. Outside: The gardens are secluded and peaceful, the ponds in the Japanese garden attract wildlife. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bedding is not supplied but all linen can be rented at a small charge.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
Cottage In A Peaceful Location
average rating of 3.9545455 based on 22 reviews

Lovely stay

  • 4 of 5

Lovely cottage in a rural part of France. Linda was there to meet us and the cottage was as described. She went out of her way to supply us with linen ad towels (I ticked the wrong box on booking form) and was there to answer any queries you had. Relaxing stay, lovely garden and Thury Harvourt has everything you need. She also took us to and translated at the vets!! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Stuart , Im so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and I know that Frankie had a good time :) Maybe see the 3 of you again some time :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Poor...very poor indeed....this property really shouldn't be available to let !!

  • 1 of 5

Poor...very poor indeed....this property really shouldn't be available to let !!

In the first positive instance I really do wish Lynda and her partner Jan all the best in their letting venture.....but, they do need to sharpen up their act if they are going to get customers. In the first instance we had NO water in the kitchen as the waste pipes were blocked 'somewhere' down the line but within the property. When we arrived at the house we found Lynda and Jan covered in 'mud' as they were trying to sort the problem out. I think a phone call to us would have been in order to warn us. We gave them the benefit of the doubt and stayed the night as they said the problem would be sorted the following day. It wasn't ! We arrived back on day two at 6pm to find the situation had not been resolved, although our washing up on the first night had been taken away to be done elsewhere. We told our hosts that we would be leaving the following morning which we did after leaving €80 euros instead of €100 as rent. Lynda said that €50 would be fine, but we thought a little extra may help them sort their problem out. Apart from the water problem the whole place needed a DEEP clean...there was a greasy film over shelving and exposed crockery. The house was grubby, sticky and dirty. There was NO second banister on the stairs, very dangerous. The curtain rails had no finial stop ends and when you pulled the curtains the poles fell on your head. The towel rail in the bathroom also collapsed for the same reason. The shower door didn't hang properly, even though Lynda knew about this, it hadn't been fixed. In our opinion, as very experienced travelers, this property should NOT be rented out in its current state, there should be some money invested in the house to bring it into the 21st century. The whole place looked and felt a real gimcrack affair, all second hand bad furnishings ( apart from the table and dresser)....in 2017 travelers demand more, this place was stuck in a 1950's time warp. Lynda and Jan, start again and get some professional help in to get you sorted...the location is lovely, the garden a delight but please take note of our comments. IMHO Owners Direct should reimburse our fee....not to mention the food we had to waste as we ended up in a nice house B&B but without a kitchen to cook in. Our holiday costed about 30% more thanks to this property not coming up to scratch. Brian and Nikki 2017.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to leave such a detailed review. However, I feel I should respond to your many points. On the day you arrived we’d found an issue with the water in the kitchen - we’d hoped to have fixed this issue ourselves before you arrived, we weren’t able to and subsequently needed to call workmen in to carry out repairs. Being August it’s hard to get work done as many tradesmen take their holidays, this is rural France and life works at a slower pace! In fact we were able to fix the issue ourselves the very next day. We were covered in mud as we’d been outside in the damp trying to fix the issue we could’ve called you that morning whilst you were en route and cancelled your booking but felt that wouldn’t be the right thing to do. The wastewater issue was only in the kitchen, the bathroom was fully functioning. We informed you of this on your arrival and said that we’d take any washing up away and do it for you - which, as you noted, was done. I take on board your comments regarding the curtain poles and the towel rail, but refute your claim that the house was not clean. I personally spent the day before cleaning the house, making sure it was ready to rent - I should point out that the property is a 17th century cottage, we do not want to offer stark and modern decor with no character. It’s clear from the photos and description on the website that this is a traditional, rustic French cottage. All properties on the owners direct site have pictures so you would’ve clearly been able to see the comparison - in both decor and price. Properties with new furnishings and a higher spec come at a cost, our property is priced for the category in which it’s presented. Yes the furniture is older but it is fit for purpose - again the photos on the website include images of all the rooms and the furniture in them With regards to the payment of rent when you advised me that you were not going to be staying I very clearly stated that as you hadn’t been happy you shouldn’t pay anything the fact that you chose to leave 80 Euros when it was neither asked for or wanted was your decision. We have had many guests stay with us over the years the vast majority of whom have appreciated the rustic charm of our cottage, many have been back several times. Where there are problems we always go out of our way to fix them, it’s a shame that we weren’t able to fix the water issue for your stay, but even if it had been fixed I don’t believe it would have been enough..
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable cottage in beautiful rural location.

  • 5 of 5

Very spacious accommodation for two people. A lovely, traditional stone cottage surrounded by beautiful countryside, very well equipped and a nice sitting area in the garden. The owner Lynda was welcoming and helpful in providing information re traffic problems, weather, suggesting walks etc. Would definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review, I am so glad that you really enjoyed your stay, despite the french farmers :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quite cottage retreat beautiful area

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous rustic cottage quiet surroundings so much to see and do and lovely village a stones throw away. Great to take dogs and the owner offers do walking facilities if requested, being in the countryside so many places to walk the dogs, but if you fancy time out in the city dog walking can be a bonus

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2015
  • Date of Stay: April 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful respite place peaceful great!

  • 5 of 5

Went for a quite time that's what I got but there is so much around to do lovely country walks and the cottage is rustic and tranquile love it

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Delightful country retreat

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed my time at the cottage peaceful surroundings great walks and rides so much to see and do. River Orne is spectacular would definitely recommend this to friends and family

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
39 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
3.5 Kilometres
Thury Harcourt
Nearest Ferry
50 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
10.7 Kilometres
Golf De Clécy Cantelou
Nearest Train
31 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
40 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
3.5 Kilometres
Thury harcourt
Nearest Beach
50 Kilometres
Car: recommended


The nearest beaches are about 1 hours drive away.


Caen/Ouisterham ferry port is about 45 mins drive.

Le Havre is approximately 2 hours drive.

It is recommended that you have transport, car, motorbike etc as there is no public transport within 3.5km.


The nearest town is Thury Harcourt, which is 3.5km this has shops and two supermarkets, it also has an indoor swimming pool.

Caen is approximately 30 mins drive away it is a large town with good shopping and many places of interest.

The landing beaches are 1.30 to 2hours drive from the cottage.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Saint-Martin-de-Sallen, Lower Normandy

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please phone or email for a booking form. €100 deposit is required on booking.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is usualy Saturday but can be flexible.
Arrival at the property is 4pm on the first day and departure is 10am on the final day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question