Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

By the sea, large terrace enjoying fantastic views of Etna, shared pool

Bedrooms 1
Space 538 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

One bedroom apartment , large terrace , peaceful location in the countryside

Cosy apartment in a gated community composed of one floor villas with shared pool. Quiet, peaceful, set on the eastern flank of Mount Etna, it enjoys spectacular views of the volcano. It is surrounded by the countryside with citrus groves. The position is ideal for people who want to visit Sicily, enjoy the closeness of the sea and love mountains as well. There are two balconies in the living room and in the bedroom and a terrace of 25 sq.m. where you can have relaxing dinners enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the place. There's a lot of space for kids to run around safely. Facilities: Free Internet wifi , shower, electric oven, dishwasher, fridge, washing machine, iron, toaster, TV set (satellite TV), towels and linen included, CD player and CDs, reserved parking place. The location is ideal in any period of the year for exploring the coast of Sicily and enjoying spectacular excursions on Mount Etna.

cinzia petucco
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French, Italian
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018

About cinzia petucco

We are a family of four, my husband is a farmer and I look after the properties we let . We have been living in this area for 20 years and are pleased to share the peace and beauty of our countryside with other people.

We try to do everything we can to make people feel at home and help them in case of need, so we are really happy when our guests say they had a great time here with us .

cinzia petucco purchased this apartment in 2007

Why cinzia petucco chose Mascali

We bought this apartment in 2007 because we love the peaceful location in the countryside, the amazing view of MtEtna and at the same time the proximity to the beautiful beach and the easy access.

We furnished it carefully and tried to make it as comfortable and cosy as it were our family house. We have accommodated a lot of people till now and had the pleasure to see some of them coming back for the third time.

What makes this apartment unique

The air conditioning and the pool are very welcome facilities in the summertime ; no trafficated roads nearby or noisy bars and restaurants, the flat is located in a secure gated community.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'A clean, secure (gated community), strategically located, well furnished apartment. An excellent location from which we explored both the coast and interior of Sicily. One can walk to the beaches or enjoy Mt Etna with a glass of wine. We will recommend this location to our fellow travellers' (Louis and Maxine S. - Canada).

"All outstanding.Apartment was excellent and equipped with everything we could need.Minutes from a great beach and right at the foot of MtEtna.The owner Cinzia could not have been more helpful and went beyond what was expected.Highly recommended."(Nick D.-Glasgow )

'We spent a considerable amount of time comparing properties and prices, and this property is an excellent value for the space and amenities provided.The apartment is well equipped, clean and very quiet.The owners are kind, trustworthy, very helpful and generous and are always available and willing to help.' (Timothy and Verena B.-USA
Jan 2007
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mascali in Province of Catania

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 538 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • Bathroom with shower enclosure , wc, bidet, washbasin, hairdryer.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2/5 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: There is one bedroom with a large double bed, a chest of drawers, two bedside tables, a spacious wardrobe. In the spacious living a double sofa bed. Two baby cots, a highchair and a folding bed are available on request as well as a fan .
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes on accommodation: The air-conditioning is very important in the summer in this area and this makes our apartment more comfortable at no extra costs. Free Internet wifi. The pool is open in the summer months, usually from mid June to the first weekend of September Outside: Outdoor furniture on the terrace, barbecue, sunshade parasol. Reserved parking place within a few metres from the apartment. A 12 mt shared pool is available in the summer.


4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
By the sea, large terrace enjoying fantastic views of Etna, shared pool
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
Ilkley, UK

Great base for exploring Mt Etna, Syracuse and Taormina

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying in this smart apartment located within a gated community with a shared pool (bathing hats required!). It had all that we needed for our stay. Being outside Catania meant that it was easy to explore the eastern half of Sicily by hire car without battling with the city traffic! The apartment was clean and comfortable for our week away and the owners met us and helpfully showed us to the complex and explained the necessary practicalities.

Highlights of our holiday included the wonderful mosaics at Villa Romana del Casale, the amphitheatre and theatre at Syracuse, Taormeana (including the Grak / Roman theatre), swimming in the sea nearby and climbing Etna (beware the fumes and the strong winds at 3,300m!!). Our hosts were very helpful and the written advice on where to eat and what to sea proved a great help. Our meals out were very affordable and of excellent quality with seafood and pizza the favourites.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive comments , I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our apartment met your needs . I hope your next stay is just around the corner and I 'm looking forward to welcoming you back again soon .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I cannot recommend staying here.

When we arrived, we could not boil a kettle as the gas lighter was broken. We could not use the coffee maker as the plug had collapsed into the cavity wall behind.Two other plugs in the flat were in a similar state. The washing machine flooded the floor, because the drain pipe had been loosely pushed into the wall behind and had shaken itself loose. Despite reading the manual, we could not make the television work.

On the plus side, the flat has a good patio with excellent views of Etna. We loved the food and the Sicilians we met, many of whom had a very good command of English. However, we would have had a much better holiday if the house had been properly maintained. We were not expecting high-end accomodation. It was the owners' carelessness about our basic, obvious requirements that left me feeling that I had been cheated.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that you rated our apartment as " disappointing" but honestly we are disappointed by your capacity of judgement . The changeover day we have only a few hours to clean the apartment and we clean it thoroughly , taking always a lot of care in doing this , so that we can say it' s spotlessly clean and we are sure that none could deny this : isn't cleaning an important part of the maintenance of a house ? We forgot to check if the gas lighter was working , we are sorry but we did show our concern for such a ( let us say minor ) issue as my husband came to bring you a lighter and a box of matches as soon as he finished work ( me being away from home ) , an appreciable effort considering that the apartment is at 15 km from our house. The TV decoder had been upset by the previous guests by using incorrectly the remote control but the TV was working , nothing was wrong about it .Again my husband came promptly to help you.The washing machine has always been working perfectly , but it can happen that washing machines shake themselves loose , we are sorry you had to dry the floor but we don't have always the time to move the washing machine and check the pipe. Finally we had noticed that two plugs had collapsed into the wall and were planning to replace all the plugs in the apartment . We meant to do that only after your departure because we did not want to bother you . In our opinion it wasn't an urgent issue because the plug of the bedside lamp was working properly even if it was collapsed and the coffee maker ( that only a few guests of ours actually use ) could be plugged into another plug , e.g. the one on the washing machine. Anyway my husband came to fix the plug . The apartment has just been redecorated , all the furniture is in perfect conditions . Considering the care and promptness you were assisted with , the minor issues you had to face and the rental fee you paid let us say that thinking you have been cheated is , to put it mildly , a bit exaggerated .
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Clean, comfortable & convenient

  • 5 of 5

We have just stayed in this apartment for 10 days during September and found it to be clean, comfortable and a convenient base to explore the surrounding area including Mount Etna which is just an hours drive to the cable car. The apartment has good facilities (wi-fi, washing machine, dishwasher & air-con) and as a couple we found it to be spacious & relaxing. There is also alot of information within the apartment for tips & ideas of where to visit. The owners, Cinzia & Nunzio met us at the motorway exit at Giarre and led us to the apartment and were very helpful throughout our stay. I would recommend a car as the area can seem remote but is in fact close to facilities including two very good restaurants within 5-10 minutes drive, Santi e Briganti & Agriturismo Il Pozzo Antico (it's an interesting drive at night but stick with it!) and only 2 minutes from the beach. The property is secure as it is within a gated community & was quiet and peaceful during our stay. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: September 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Be aware before booking

  • 4 of 5

We have recently returned from a two week holiday at this apartment. Well what can I say, its in the middle of know where the nearest village with any sort of bar, restaurant or shop is a 20 minute walk away along a dark road. There was rubbish all over everywhere, you can not walk safetly along the road as you really don't know what you are treading on. The apartment is very nice with fab view of Mt Etna & is in a safe gated community but we did find the Italian people very loud, dogs barking all the time & we were the only speaking English people there. The swimming pool doesn't have any sun beds & closes in the afternoon so hopless if you want to go for a swim or sit by the pool during the day time. The beach is a 7 minute walk along a private gated lane across two roads. There is a public section of the beach but has no facilities if you want toilets, sunbeds etc you need to pay 5 Euros each per day. If you go here you must have a car & be prepared to use it all the time but be aware the Italians are mad on the roads. We never felt safe driving any where, be aware of mopeds & cars from every direction. If you decided to go to Sicily stay in Taormina its a lovely palce with lots of things to see & great restaurants to eat at. You don't need a car in Taormina in fact I would suggest not having one at all as parking was very expensive & roads very narrow. The bus service is very good & lots of tours that can be taken from here all over the island.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: August 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that you find the location of our apartment so unconvenient but in the advert we said exactly the distance of the nearest shops and restaurant and that the use of a car was recommended ( the nearest villages, Riposto and Fondachello are both at 2 km anyway and there is a restaurant at walking distance).Also we are sorry that the road was dirty due to a strike.The swimming pool closes in the early afternoon but it opens again at 4 pm, in order to give a break to the bathing attendant as the law provides. Of course Taormina is a better place for a holiday if you are prepared to spend a lot of money.We think that our apartment offers a very good value for money considering the location, the easy access , the nice terrace and the pool.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely and well equipped

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a week and a half at this lovely apartment close to Riposto and Giarre and just an hour from the airport at Catania. The apartment is comfortable, clean and very well equipped with fantastic views of Mount Etna from the spacious terrace. It's a great base for exploring Sicily and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2014
  • Date of Stay: June 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

We`ll be glad to provide you with all the information you need about the surrounding area (restaurants, supermarkets, places to visit, things to do etc...). The owner speaks English.

The east coast of Sicily offers a lot of things to do every time of the year, since the climate is one of the most agreeable of Europe and every season has its own particular attraction. You can get an insight into history by visiting the sites of Sicily's unparalleled historical legacy. If you love walking this is an ideal place to go: you can walk up Europe's highest active volcano, discover the wonderful landscapes and paths of MtEtna Natural Park. For food and wine lovers the east coast of Sicily offers delicious restaurants , the "Road of Etna wine" that winds around the flanks of the volcano for winetasting and fresh genuine local products. For those who love bicyling, there's a beautiful cycle-touring itinerary on the coast right in front of the apartment. Nightlife in Giardini Naxos and Taormina


There's a long beautiful pebbly beach (very small pebbles) 400m far from the apartment. On the beach in the summer there are facilities, such as beach umbrellas and sunloungers to rent, showers, snack bars, canoes to rent.

The nearest sandy beach in Giardini Naxos (15km). Natural sea reserve of Isola Bella at 17km.


Catania airport: 35km. Palermo airport at 2 and a half hours drive, Trapani airport at 3 and a half hours drive.

Nearest motorway exit Giarre 7km.

Main National Road N°114 at 1km.

Etna's marina in Riposto 2km.

The use of car is recommended.


Taormina: 15Km (renowned for its Greek Theatre enjoying one of the most famous Sicilian views).

Catania: 30Km (with beautiful baroque architecture).

Acireale: 15Km (nice baroque churches and thermal resort).

Fondachello: 1Km (miles -long pebbly beach).

Siracusa: 100Km (world-famous archaeological site and beautiful medieval town Ortigia).

Milazzo : 90 min drive ( ferry to the Eolian Islands).

Further Details:

There is plenty of shops, restaurant, supermarkets 1.5km from the apartment in the village of Fondachello and in the towns of Giarre, Mascali and Riposto, where you can have a walk at the new Etna's Marina, enjoy a delicious meal at the typical restaurants nearby, do your shopping at the fish market, where you can find locally produced vegetables, fruit, meat as well . Acireale, between Catania and Taormina, has the reputation as having the most beautiful Carnival in Sicily: the colourful Carnival procession proceed along the streets of the old baroque centre featuring amazing carts made in papier-maché by local craftsmen.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please ask the owner about booking procedure.

Changeover Day:
Preferred changeover day is Saturday or Sunday but it can be flexible in some periods, please ask the owner.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in euros.
Electricity , gas and water included. 50€ for the final cleaning. Bed linen and towels included. Discounts on long term rentals in low season.
Preferred changeover day : Saturday or Sunday but we can be flexible , please ask.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.