OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

2 Bedroom Rustic Cottage With Gated Pool, Peaceful Setting With Countryside View

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Property

Updated: 26-Feb-2017
  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Bookable online

About the property

Cottage in Peral, near Sao Bras de Alportel, Eastern Algarve - Conveniently Placed For Reaching Beaches, Golf, Markets And Restaurants

Set in a small village surrounded by unspoilt countryside the cottage has been remodelled in a traditional Portuguese style and has it's own private terraces set in a large garden area. The former stable has been brought into the 21st century and is well furnished and equipped throughout. An ideal retreat yet only 10 minutes from all amenities in Sao Bras de Alportel town.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Pauline Starkey or Edgar Lind
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
26 February, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a fantastic week, the cottage was everything and more that we wanted, it was spotlessly clean,spacious, comfortable and excellently equipped. The little extra touches like the welcome pack, toiletries, books etc were an indication of how welcoming and friendly the owners(Ed and Pauline) are.The location, gardens and swimming pool are excellent. We would recommend this cottage 100% (but don't book it for when we want to return!)

The Breckills (Essex)



Thank you so much to Pauline and Ed for making us feel so very welcome at their delightful and spacious cottage Cabana Pascoa. The location in Peral is so quiet and peaceful and with such spectacular views in all directions. We felt quite at home in such an impressively furnished and equipped property and with all the extra little touches. The cottage was clean and the beds the most comfortable of any we have come across in any Owners Direct property and we've stayed in a good few over the years. Martin & Alison Wilson (Stockport)
Jan 2007
  • 1 of 1

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a fantastic week, the cottage was everything and more that we wanted, it was spotlessly clean,spacious, comfortable and excellently equipped. The little extra touches like the welcome pack, toiletries, books etc were an indication of how welcoming and friendly the owners(Ed and Pauline) are.The location, gardens and swimming pool are excellent. We would recommend this cottage 100% (but don't book it for when we want to return!)

The Breckills (Essex)



Thank you so much to Pauline and Ed for making us feel so very welcome at their delightful and spacious cottage Cabana Pascoa. The location in Peral is so quiet and peaceful and with such spectacular views in all directions. We felt quite at home in such an impressively furnished and equipped property and with all the extra little touches. The cottage was clean and the beds the most comfortable of any we have come across in any Owners Direct property and we've stayed in a good few over the years. Martin & Alison Wilson (Stockport)
Jan 2007
  • 1 of 1

15 Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

2

Waste of time and money

  • 2 of 5

The cabin was clean and well equipped, but small, dark and hot with there being only 1 window in living area. Apart from sheets being changed weekly and bathrooms given a cursory wipe over nothing was cleaned for whole 4 weeks, unlike other villas we have stayed in. The cabin directly overlooks the neighbours property, log cabin, pool and dog kennels where are kept 3 large GermanShepherd dogs who barked and howled most nights making sleep impossible. This is not shown in any photos. The pool is situated 40 metres from cabin and has no lighting making it impossible to sit round it at night. We complained many times about the dogs and Ed offered to pay our flights home, put us up in a bed and breakfast and give us discount on next years holiday would you return Again? We asked for a rebate but were refused. The plumbing and sanitary arrangements were poor. One of the worst places we have stayed in

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is clear that this review is not born out of a bad holiday experience but more out of a fit of pique because you were refused a refund. Had I been so dissatisfied with my holiday I would not have waited 3 months to post a review. You have omitted in your review to mention that your main dissatisfaction was largely with things that were not in our control, the weather, being bitten by mosquitos and dogs barking. We provided you, free of charge, with plug-ins and skin repellents. We also spoke to our neighbours regarding their dogs. Fans are provided. Still not happy we offered you at our expense, alternative accommodation and early flights home. Both of which you declined deciding to remain for the full 30 days of your stay. That is why no refund was offered. In response to your review, I would like to clarify the points you made. The ‘cottage’ is a typical Portuguese build and because of the heat of the summer the windows are small and few. This is common sense in a hot sunny climate. Your comment regarding cleaning is unjustified, we do not provide a maid service, the cottage is self catering with linen & towels changed weekly. However as a courtesy we do clean the bathrooms on linen change day. Also you did ask us not to bother doing any cleaning and that you were also happy to change the linen yourself. We were not comfortable letting you do this as it is part of our service. As a matter of course and in the interest of clarity we always provide a plan of our land, showing the position of the cottage,house and pool. This was sent to you before you booked. We also spoke before you booked and you said you were happy with it’s position. The cottage stands in 1 acre of walled garden and we have neighbours. We have 25 photos to promote our rental business not our neighbours properties. Nowhere in the cottage description does it mention that there are pool lights, had this been important to you this could have been queried at the time of booking. The cottage has a large well lit terrace. There was no mention of any problems with the plumbing or sanitation. We always go that extra mile to provide our customers with a pleasant stay as we did with you, providing you with home baking, taking you to the nail salon and other help and advice. Our reviews and the many repeat customers show the reality of the standard of accommodation, amenities and service we provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Ein kleines Fleckchen vom Paradies!

  • 5 of 5

Ed und Pauline sind sehr freundliche, hilfsbereite und diskrete Gastgeber.

Das hübsch eingerichtete Cottage war blitzesauber und sehr schön eingerichtet, es gab ALLES für einen angenehmen Aufenthalt (genügend Handtücher, saubere Töpfe, neue Pfannen, genügend Geschirr, Luftmatratzen, Sonnenschirme und eine Kühlbox für Strandtage, eine gut ausgestattete Mappe mit Hinweisen für Restaurants/ Ausflugsziele in der näheren Umgebung,...).

Ein perfekter Ort zum Entspannen und Wiederkommen!

DANKE FÜR ALLES!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
lancashire
5

Tranquillity Heaven!!!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful idyllic place, we hadn't relaxed so much in a long time.

Ed and Pauline were so welcoming, we were made to feel right at home.

The cottage was immaculately clean and the little extra that you always need when you first arrive, was valued touch. Thanks again see you next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Just a few lines to describe 'Cabana Pascoa' .

This relaxation retreat was in a wonderful setting with panoramic views. It was very tastefully decorated and in pristine condition with attention to the finest detail. The safe, secure and peaceful location was complimented by birdsong each day. Upon arrival we were greeted by Ed and Pauline, two wonderful hosts who were on hand to attend to any need with total discretion. They both ensured our stay was perfect in every way.

The superbly equipped cottage was accompanied by a surprise 'Welcome Pack'. We shall be returning again very soon.

Thankyou so much Ed and Pauline, with love Alex and June xx

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

We spent 2 weeks here and it was beautiful. The property is incredibly well maintained, very clean and had everything you could need as a family of 5. Pauline & Ed have really given a lot of thought as to what you need on arrival and provide a welcome back tailored to their guests (ours included food that young children eat) as well as essentials like bottled water and toilet roll. They also provided pool towels and beach equipment which is a bonus when you are travelling with young children. The pool was fabulous and we spent most of out time in or around it. It was very well maintained every night by Ed. Pauline and Ed were on hand to answer all our questions but were very discreet and left us to enjoy an wonderful family holiday. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a lovely location away from the crowds. It is child friendly but would be equally enjoyable for anyone of any age. We feel very lucky to have found it and had such a relaxing break.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Real Home from Home

  • 5 of 5

Superbly equipped cottage with everything you can think of and more provided. Peacefully situated in the hills above Faro we spent alternative days relaxing around the secluded pool and visiting sites of interest all along the Algarve

Hosts Ed & Pauline were charming,flexible an helpful with local knowledge we look forward to returning

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

Coast/Beach:

Reaching a beach in 20-25 mins by car couldn't be easier and what a choice! You are spoilt for choice! Quinta do Lago unspoiled serenity, Vale do Lobo a little more up market and to the east Fuseta Island, Barril, with so many in between! Full listing of beaches and how to get to them in the house book.

Travel:

Faro airport 25 mins by car. Car hire is essential.

Distances:

Local shop 10 mins walk. Main shopping 10 mins by car. Restaurants 5 mins by car. Estoi town 10 mins by car. Loule town 20 mins by car. Faro town 25 mins by car. Tavira 25mins by car.

Further Details:

The cottage neighbours our property and we are situated inland away from the mass tourism resorts. Close by in Estoi is the Palace of Estoi and at Milrue, the Roman ruins. In Almancil visit the domed church of Sao Lourenco famous for it's stunning tiled interior. The more upmarket resorts of Quinta do Lago and Vale do Lobo are 25 mins by car and cater predominately for the golfing fraternity. Loule with its famous castle walls and Moorish influences around the town is only 20 mins away. Olhao, a short drive away, in August plays host to a fabulous fish festival which is a must see! On the Spanish border is Castro Marim and its castle which is well worth a visit as is Vila Real Santo Antonio with its impressive village square and linen shops. Don't miss Faro old town with its atmospheric walled area overlooking the Ria Formosa.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 1
1 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
1 night minimum stay
£56
for 1 night
£395
 
 
Rate 2
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
1 night minimum stay
£64
for 1 night
£450
 
 
Rate 3
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
1 night minimum stay
£85
for 1 night
£595
 
 
Rate 4
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
1 night minimum stay
£93
for 1 night
£650
 
 
Rate 5
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
1 night minimum stay
£111
for 1 night
£775
 
 
Rate 6
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
1 night minimum stay
£111
for 1 night
£775
 
 
Rate 7
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
1 night minimum stay
£89
for 1 night
£625
 
 
Rate 8
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
1 night minimum stay
£64
for 1 night
£450
 
 
Rate 9
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
1 night minimum stay
£56
for 1 night
£395
 
 
Rate 10
1 Dec 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
1 night minimum stay
£56
for 1 night
£395
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A 30% deposit secures your booking. Balance due 8 weeks before departure.

Changeover Day:
We can be flexible to allow you to take advantage of the cheaper mid week flight prices. Arrival after 4pm, departure before 10am. In case of earlier arrivals guests may leave their luggage in the cottage or our house, and go out or stay by the pool.

Notes on prices:
5% Discount for bookings of 3 weeks or more.
Additional charge of £25.00 per week for fifth person.
***Boarding passes can be printed during your stay FOC***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 26-Feb-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • cottage

General

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Entertainment

  • Satellite / Cable

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool

Suitability

  • children welcome

Location Type

  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom to bedroom 1 bath with shower over and wc. Bathroom to bedroom 2 shower enclosure and wc.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed and en suite. Bedroom 2 with twin beds, additional single and en suite. Hairdryer Fans

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Rustic beamed ceilings with Portuguese style finishing throughout. A complimentary welcome starter pack with essentials is provided. Comprehensive driving directions provided so you can find the cottage easily. Outside: Private gated pool area, secure for small children. 8m x 4m and 1.5m deep all over (for sole use of guests). Poolside terrace with covered area with comfortable seating. Sun loungers and parasols at the pool. Gas and charcoal BBQs. Private terrace with table and chairs. Set in a large garden with outside games area. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: We provide bed linen, pool and house towels. Bed linen, house and pool towels are changed at the end of each week. Beach towels are not provided.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot