OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury 4/5 Bedroom Algarve Villa With Private Pool And Rear Sea Views.

People11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 2,690 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Villa in Altura, Tavira, Eastern Algarve, Portugal - Based In The Beautiful Location Of Altura, 20 Mins Walk To Stunning Beach With Wi Fi

The villa offers great privacy with its exceptional layout and design. The spacious living/dining room are furnished to the highest standard, complimented by 4/5 luxury bedrooms, 3 with en suite and a main bathroom on the ground floor. Kitchen and utility room is furnished to the highest standard offering an extensive range of utensils and appliances. 2 luxury master bedrooms are located on the 1st floor. Both offer direct access to the rear south-facing sun terrace overlooking the pool with sea views. There is access from one of the bedrooms to the front balcony with views over the countryside. Also the ground floor is complimented with a chill out room including (Sat TV, PS2, DVD, games,football table, etc). All rooms throughout the villa are fitted with double patio doors for easy access and privacy to the gardens and pool area. Also access to the upper sun terrace can be gained from the outside staircase. There is an out side summer house with a professional pool table/table tennis.

Registration Number : Rental Licence 3969/AL

Owner
Andrew Crehan
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
11 October, 2017

About Andrew Crehan

The villa was purpose built as our holiday home and We have spent many great days around the pool with the children. The local beaches of Altura, Cabeco, Manta Rota and Tavira island are amongst some of the best beaches in Europe.

The villa has two Master Bedrooms plus two twin rooms and four Bathrooms

We arrange the bookings and our property manager Rachel looks after all of the guests. Rachel is on call 24/7 and will see to any problems that might arise.

The villa is great for all the family and there are plenty of activities to do day and night with pool table, table tennis, Etc.

Andrew Crehan purchased this villa in 2009

Why Andrew Crehan chose Altura

We bought the property in this area because in our opinion the beaches on the Eastern algarve are second to none. They stretch about 50km all the way from Faro to Villa Real on the border with Spain.

It is very accessible within easy reach of Faro or Seville if needed.

The villa is set in the village of Barrocal which is very peaceful and typical Portuguese.

If you require any more information or photographs on the area please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will be more than happy to help.

What makes this villa unique

The advantages this villa has over other similar properties are the activities that we offer and the space for everyone to have a great holiday.

It is only a ten minute stroll to the town of Altura which gives everyone the freedom to explore the area without the need for a taxi or car.

We can also help out with airport transfers through a local company.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fantastic spacious villa with lots to keep everyone occupied from small children to grandparents.

The villa is very well situated close to many beautiful beaches bars and restaurants. Tavira island is a must!!!

Hazel Barrow (St. Helens)



Great villa lots do, good fun for all the familly and very well equipped.

Neil ( Reading )
Dec 2006
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Barrocal in Vila Nova de Cacela

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2690 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • rural
  • town
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • Main bathroom ground floor with bath/shower/sink/bidet/wc. En suite bedroom 1 1st floor bath/shower/sink/bidet/wc. En suite bedroom 2 1st floor shower/sink/bidet/wc. En suite bedroom 3 ground floor shower/sink/bidet/wc.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Child Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Child Bed , 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (4/5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 1st floor: Master Bedroom 1 double bed + en-suite+ Double sofa Bed+cot. Master Bedroom 2 double bed + en-suite.+cot if required Ground floor: Bedroom 3 twin beds + en-suite. Above bedrooms have built-in wardrobes. Bedroom 4 twin beds Bedroom 5 / Games room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Air-conditioning, travel cots,single camp/fold away bed that can be placed in bed room 1 or 2 to accommodate a child. children's pool any other requests where possible will be accommodated. Welcome packs available on request . No pets allowed. We can arrange welcome food and drinks packages on request. Outside: 10m x 5m main pool and small children's pool, sun beds, patio furniture and chairs, barbecue and outside shower, summer house with professional pool table and Table tennis table. Utility Room: Washing machine, iron and ironing board, clothes maiden, storage units and access to pool area and gardens. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen included. The villa is cleaned before and after every stay. Welcome food packages can be artranged for a small fee upon request. Other: Chill out room with comfort chairs, foot stools, sofabed TV, DVD,WI FI, CD player, Playstation,foot ball table, storage units and games, films and CDs. Satelite TV also in chill out room and living room.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Luxury 4/5 Bedroom Algarve Villa With Private Pool And Rear Sea Views.
average rating of 4.3 based on 11 reviews
4

Lovely villa great location

  • 4 of 5

We stayed 2 weeks at this lovely villa and it accommodated all of our needs. Villa in a lovely area near Altura strip where the bars and restaurants are. Andy the owner was very helpful throughout our stay just a message away. Pool was perfect my 2 year old and 7month old they loved it. I do recommend a car to get out and explore as beach is a good half hour walk and bars and restaurants just before it.

Once again Andy thank you for letting us stay in your lovely Villa.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ellie Thankyou for a lovely review. I am glad you all had a great time and if you ever want to return we would love to have you back. Kind regards Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic villa, great location

  • 4 of 5

We were a party of 10 ranging from 1 years to 74 and the villa offered the space required by 3 families. The two master suites on the first floor were a fantastic size and are able to accommodate a full family of 4 if required (with small kids!). Both suites open up to the top balcony and although we rarely used them they provided some privacy if you wanted to just get away from it all.

The kitchen area was well equipped and again a really good size with a separate room for washing. Possibly the only area that was smaller than expected was the living area, although this was open plan with a large dining table and to be honest there were rarely times that we were all trying to sit in together!

The outside area was fantastic. Plenty of sunbeds and tables/chairs. The pool was a fantastic size and the baby pool a good addition. We also made use of the table tennis and pool table in the evenings, these were a bonus. At the side of the villa was a large chest which was full of useful items like goggles, floats and toys for the pool which was really helpful in the first few days before we went out and about shopping.

The location of the villa was excellent. Although a good 30 minutes (leisurely) stroll to the beach. Half way to the beach on the main road there is a shop selling ice lolly's and cakes.

We would get an ice lolly to continue our walk down to the beach, and then buy cakes on our way back to the villa, they were a big hit! The town of Altura was much larger than i had expected with plenty of bars and restaurants and the beach was spectacular with lovely white sand. We had a car and I would definately recommend hiring one for grocery shopping and getting to local villages, although you could easily arrange taxi hire.

The local area has plenty of places to visit, we went to Tavira, where we went shopping in the large shopping complex and went on the local tourist train. We also went to Monte Gordo which was a very nice and much larger resort than Altura. Again the beach here was beautiful.

All in all a fantastic holiday was had by all, the 10 nights we spent went in so quickly and I would highly recommend the villa. Other review left with very negative comments, i would assume was just bad luck, as any queries we had were answered and resolved very quickly. The only reason I haven't given five stars is that some of the fittings in the villa such as tv are not quite at a 5 star standard, however these weren't main priorities!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent villa with lots of things to do for the whole family and a great location.

  • 5 of 5

The villa is very well equiped with a lot of games, sun loungers, Ratan furniture 3 travel cots, a high chair and a baby walker.

The swimming pool is 1st class and very big. It gets cleaned weekly by professional pool cleaners. There is also a splash pool for the toddlers.

The kitchen is very well equiped and the is an outside shower and BBQ.

The is a very big upstairs terrace where you can sunbathe or dine.

The villa is in a great location and it is only a 10 minute stroll to the town. If you dont fancy the walk there is a very good local taxi guy Antonio Caires 00351963371342 who charges €4.60 from the beach.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

we had several issue , we had to chase up all repairs that were needed and the letting agent was not

  • 1 of 5

List below of issues we encountered

I feel the letting agency are letting you and your guest down. The service we experienced from them was poor and at times the manger Rachel was very patronising and rude and she never followed through on what had been agreeed

1. On arrival the standard of cleanliness of the Villa was poor , there were dead flies all over the property and the sofa was all dirty and sticky , we encountered a strong smell in the kitchen, as it was late when we arrived we left this until morning , the following morning we mopped the kitchen area where the smell was coming from several times but the smell was still there , it wasn't until when my parents arrived on Friday that my father recognised it was the smell of gas coming from the cooker , we called the letting agent asap and they sent someone round . I feel that there should be some kind of gas detector in the property and checks completed before the next guest arrive.

2. The pool was an absolute disgrace with muck and debris in it , we were unable to let the children in the pool on their first day of the holiday , as you can imagine this brought great upset to them . We called the letting agency several times that day as no one arrived as agreed, when they finally came they cleaned the pool and said a part was broken on the pump , they explained that the water hose pipe needed to be left in to fill the pool as it was too low and they would order the part and come back to repair it . We used the pool for a few days but then we noticed the pumps and filters were not working and you never heard the pumps come on , no one ever came back to repair the broken part and the pool continued to be dirty and grimy, all of the children's inflatables had green slime on the bottom and my son got a nasty ear infection which I believe was because of the unhygienic pool . All of the family had to stop using the pool for the last few days of the holiday due to it been unhygienic and unsafe, Rachel said this was not for her to sort out but you and she would discuss this with you further .

3. Locks on doors several of the door locks were not secure they had to order parts for these , the work was never completed even though I called the manager several times , I didn't feel my children were safe on a night as some of the downstairs locks were broken

I fed all this information back to the owner and he took no responsibility for repairs and blamed us for damages

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have owned this beautiful 5 star property in Portugal for over 12 years and been doing business with Owners direct and our valued returning customers throughout this period of time. We have a client base that returns to the villa with all of their families year after year. Throughout this time we have never experienced a review of this kind. Only 2 weeks prior to your stay we had an amazing review from the previous clients. We find many of the issues raised difficult to digest and in some cases potentially unfounded. In terms of the pool we use a very respected pool cleaning company who after us contacting went out to the villa to check the pool with an engineer. They confirmed the pool was absolutely safe to swim in and naturally due to the trees and and even light winds the pool will get debris on a daily basis. This is why we also provide all the needed equipment i.e. a net to clean this debris away. Myself and the family stayed at the villa with our grand children literally the day after your departure 10th June 2017. I can 100% confirm that the pool and many other issues you raise where absolutely not apparent and unfounded. However we have to accept your review and your feedback, however to be clear we are very confused. In terms of the doors not locking again we are a little confused! the house is totally secure in fact multi point locking systems are all in place on every external door including all patios and windows. Based on previous feedback from our clients we have simply removed the keys from the locks on the bedroom doors, there are a number of reasons for this, children where actually locking themselves in or losing the keys. Ourselves and Rachel who manages our villa have been together for many years and as i have already eluded to above, we have never received any bad reviews in all the time we have had the villa regarding our management team. They have always been first class again as all the reviews state. For clarity we are fully licensed with all the Portuguese authorities which is now a legal requirement, this means stringent annual safety checks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
UK Scotland
5

Fabulous villa

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this villa 20th -27th May 2017, this was a family holiday consisting of 6 adults and 4 children, we had a great holiday the villa has everything you could possibly need, we had a couple of things that we couldn't get to work properly and one phone call sorted that out, the bedrooms upstairs are very large with loads of room for clothes, the bedrooms downstairs are still of a very good size, the kitchen was fully equipped and having the barbecue was great too, the kids loved the pool they were never out of it, the pool table was used a lot by adults and kids, I would recommend having a car although we didn't it would have been good to visit surrounding areas, we were within walking distance to local supermarket about 20 mins and they very kindly called us a taxi going back with shopping, the beach is probably about 30 min walk but what a beach, one of the best beaches I have ever been on, we ate in a few restaurants near the beach all very good but the Italian was excellent great food and service, this villa exceeded my expectations would have no problem recommending this to family or friends, I hope to visit this villa again in the future

McCallum family

  • Review Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family villa with fantastic pool in a good location.

  • 4 of 5

We all had a fantastic time staying at this villa. It is really spacious and a great layout that works well with a large family. The bedrooms upstairs are very spacious with plenty of room for the children's beds. It was also lovely to have so many bathrooms.The pool is fantastic and brilliant for all ages and abilities due to its depth and the smaller children's play pool. We hired a car so that we could get to the surrounding little towns and supermarkets. The villa is well equipped in the kitchen, pool area sunbeds, children's toys and inflatables. Altura is a lovely town and so is Manta Rota. There are plenty of great places to eat and a few shops to have a wander around. The beach is fantastic you would be hard to beat it and its great when the tide goes out for the little ones to play in the shallow pools. The owner was always quick to follow up any questions we had.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Faro
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Altura
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Castro Marim
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
A22
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Altura
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Altura
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

We can also arrange Golfing or Sailing days.

Coast/Beach:

There are several stunning beaches again all within a short distance of the villa by car. The closest beach is Altura voted one of the nicest beaches in Europe, it is only a 20 minute walk from the villa. Tavira island is only a short car journey away and is also a stunning location gained by a short boat crossing to the island.

Travel:

Faro 40 mins. Seville 1 hour - 15 mins. The villa can be reached by taxi for an average cost of 45 euros from Faro or we can arrange Car hire / Airport transfers for you.

Distances:

Altura 1 km. Tavira 15 km. Monte Gordo 5 km. Vila Real 7 km. Vilamoura 55 km. Albufeira 65 km. Seville 120 km.

Further Details:

All local amenities available in Altura.

1/2 km from bars, restaurants, supermarkets, banks, pharmacy. sports facilities on beach including football, volleyball, pedaloes, fishing trips, boat trips, water sports.

The Spanish border is only 10km away and can be crossed by bridge or ferry where some great savings can be made on shopping.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Barrocal, Castro Marim region

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Autumn 2017
3 Oct 2017 - 4 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
Winter Sun
5 Nov 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
£1,500
 
 
Spring
1 Apr 2018 - 5 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,095
for 7 nights
£1,095
 
 
Early summer
6 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,595
for 7 nights
£1,595
 
 
Summer
1 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 7 nights
£1,995
 
 
Late summer sun
2 Sep 2018 - 29 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,395
for 7 nights
£1,395
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Prices per week in British Pounds. 25% deposit required upon booking.
Full payment will be required 10 weeks prior to your stay. 10% discount on 3 weeks or more.
10% discount for guests who repeat book.
Welcome packs available, Tea , Coffee Etc please ask for details.


Changeover Day:
Saturday to Saturday we could possibly be more flexible out of season (but please enquire). Strictly no pets allowed.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK Pounds.
We may consider longer term rents through the winter weeks and off Peak weeks, please enquire for prices.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable