OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Traditional Lead-Miners Cottage



Updated: 06-Mar-2016
Cottage in Muker, Gunnerside, Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales - Set in Peaceful Dales Location

A traditional, stone built, detached miners cottage set in a peaceful Dales location between the pretty villages of Muker and Gunnerside. Quietly nestling at the base of the Crackpot Moor, amongst a small cluster of houses, this light and airy accommodation boasts three large bedrooms, a completely refitted modern kitchen with Hunter Herald central heating & hot water stove, a separate dining area and a lovely sitting room with open fire, ideal for those cosy evenings in. With exposed timbers throughout, and boasting commanding views of the valley and surrounding fells from the large, enclosed garden with gate. This delightful property offers plenty of character and charm, ideal for families and friends alike. Picturesque Reeth is just 5 miles away, whilst the market town of Richmond, is also within easy driving distance and well worth a visit. A great property in a great location. Shop 2 miles and pub 1 mile. Hi-speed Wi-Fi internet. Freeview satellite TV - SORRY NO SHORT BREAKS

  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

The location of the cottage was good for walking straight from the door with peace and quiet of the surrounding area and natural beauty. Mr Reed

Great location - just where we wanted it. The property was in a quiet location amongst a small hamlet comprising a few houses. Nice pub one mile away. Lovely lounge and kitchen. Bedrooms to good standard as well.Mr Smith

'Very attractive cottage, location and nice fireplaces. Lots of space, very nice holiday had!' Mr Doughty

'Location is fantastic - view from every window. The area is wonderful and everyone we met was friendly and helpful. Bird feeders in the garden meant we were treated to wildlife throughout the day.'

Mrs Simms West Yorkshire

'The cottage location and access to local walks was excellent. It is a particularly beautiful spot.' Mrs Buntin

'Very quiet location, beautiful landscape.'

Schlegel party Germany
May 2006
  • 1 of 1

15 Reviews

based on 15 holidaymaker reviews


Comfortable and clean

  • 5 of 5

I was contacted by the owners and asked to respond to the negative review that they failed to have removed. We are repeat guests, having stayed at this property on many occasions since our first vist more than ten years ago. We have never found Underhill to be anything other than perfectly presented, perfectly clean and perfectly safe.

Unfortunately we are in the age of professional complainers and compensation seekers - I feel sorry for them - they mustn't even enjoy their holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall disappointing

  • 2 of 5

My family and I stayed in this cottage for an 8 night stay in August 2015. Unfortunately, several issues occurred during our stay, which left us feeling that we had not had value for money, in our opinion.

On arrival:

The headboard on one of the beds was broken, leaving it (in our opinion) unsafe to use. Our concern was that as it was unsecured, it could have fallen further during the night onto our child.

An 'unknown' material/debris was found in the washing machine. As we were unaware of what this material was or where it had come from, we were left unsure as to whether the functionality of the machine would be affected, if used.

Some of the light fittings in the house were not functional. Some had missing bulbs, others have bulbs hanging down from the fittings beyond the ceiling and the most serious from a safety aspect were the ones where 'bare' fittings were present.

During the stay:

The central heating system appeared not to be working. We have had some very cold nights and had ourselves purchased fuel for the kitchen stove. The instructions at the cottage suggested that the central heating would come on automatically once the kitchen stove had reached the required temperature. Although the stove was on an entire evening, the central heating did not come on.

The lock on the back door became not operational during the stay following a period of rain. Security could only be achieved using the bolts.

A water leak started above the doorway into the bedroom that has the bunk beds during periods of rain.

Containers had to be placed under this and the constant noise from this led my daughter to not being able to sleep in this room. This problem appears to have been highlighted in a review last year too.

In particular, this last issue caused a real problem for us.

As the other spare bedroom overlooking the garden, had an issue with a broken headboard, this left us with no other alternative than to have to all sleep in the one remaining usable bedroom containing a double bed. Obviously, there was insufficient space for us all in this bed. So, we ended up having to set-up a makeshift bed on the bedroom floor using duvets.

We contacted the owner during the stay and she suggested that a local tradesman may arrive during our stay in order to look at the roof. This did not happen. Although initially the owner suggested that she would be willing to pay a ‘partial’ refund as compensation, she subsequently didn’t respond to further emails sent.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We cannot believe that Owners Direct approved this review, as it was made after two clear threats that an adverse review would be posted if a refund was not forthcoming. These guests were clearly seasoned complainers, and were looking for compensation from the minute they arrived, wildly exaggerating the tiniest of issues and completely fabricating others. We declined to give them a refund as their objective from the outset was clear and we do not give in to blackmail. The issues they have raised above hardly deserve the benefit of a reply but I will do so to illustrate the exaggerations that can be made in an attempt to gain financial benefit: Headboard: The children of the previous guests had damaged this and it was awaiting a replacement "leg" - it was sloping to one side fractionally. The next guest didn't object - his grandparents slept in the same bedroom quite happily. Never heard of a dangerous headboard before! Washing machine: This had been misused by the previous guest and was quickly repaired. Heating: This was working perfectly - previous and subsequent guests have not reported a problem. If some guests expect a wood-burning stove to throw out heat minutes after being lit, then they will be disappointed. Fuel is not normally supplied during August. Light fittings: Our handyman and housekeeper have no idea what you are referring to. If a bulb goes out during your stay you may have to change it - there are plenty of spares. Door: This is solid wood and can expand slightly when it is raining, making it a little stiff. Roof leaking: Occasionally, during particularly heavy rainfall, small areas of damp can develop, as the fabric of the building is very old and of a solid construction. However to claim that someone could not sleep as a result is frankly ridiculous. Again this as a guest wildly exaggerating with the sole intention of obtaining a refund. The roof has been looked at and minor repairs were effected. Regarding not responding to further e-mails, we do not respond to blackmail. In conclusion this cottage has been with Owners Direct since 2000 and has averaged 4.5 stars - thank you for a malicious and largely fictitious attempt to damage our business!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Good location for great walks

  • 5 of 5

The whole family love Swaledale and have visited many times - and indeed we have walked the same routes time and time again. However, we keep getting drawn back, and this cottage provided an ideal base for what became a large group. There was everything you would wish for a self catering break and a large private enclosed garden that was ideal for the dog. Lots of the walks can be done straight from the door - particularly the one to the Farmers Arms in Muker.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Real character

  • 4 of 5

We know the Dales quite well, and like a lot of people find Swaledale the most beautiful, particularly further up the valley around Muker and Thwaite. This cottage provides a perfect base for exploring this area. Clean and well presented, the old half has real character going back to lead-mining days, with beamed ceilings and original hearth exposed, but fitted with a modern stove. The newer half is light and airy, overlooking the garden (perfect for the dog). No complaints at all - seemed to have everything for a larger party. Farmers Arms in Muker well worth a visit.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great base for the Dales

  • 5 of 5

We visit the Yorkshire Dales a lot and walk a great deal - with Swaledale being one of our favourites. This cottage provided everything we needed for a large party with a modern extension at the rear, but a lot of the old character retained at the front. Huge garden so the children and the dog were happy. Couldn't fault it - highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Homely and clean

  • 4 of 5

Delightful cottage with two distinct halves - the old lead-miners cottage at the front and a modern extension at the back. Very well presented and clean. We enjoyed our stay despite the rain. Highly recommended for walkers with good waterproofs!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.


Rental rates


  • Booking Notes:
    £100 or 33% non-refundable deposit secures all bookings. £50 bond requested to cover significant breakages. This is increased to £100 for large parties or Christmas and New Year bookings. Parties of more than five adults or four children are not accepted and if optimum capacity is requested this must be agreed at with the owner at the point of booking. Party numbers cannot be increased after deposit accepted without notification. By paying the deposit you are agreeing to our Terms & Conditions.

    Changeover Day:
    Usually Saturdays. Depart by 10am. Arrive after 4pm.

Enter your travel dates
Updated: 06-Mar-2016
Available arrival
This property calendar has not been updated in the last 60 days. Contact the owner for latest availability.


Property Type

  • cottage


  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine


  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Large bathroom with corner bath, separate shower cubicle, basin and WC. Heated towel-rail and extensive mirrors.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7/8 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with double bed and matching pine furniture. Beamed ceiling. Views of Crackpot Moor. Bedroom 2 with king size bed, antique pine furniture, overlooking garden. Bedroom 3 with twin beds plus one set of large bunk beds.


  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: ONE well behaved pet welcome - additional charge £30 p.w. Non smoking. Central heating uses a solid fuel Hunter Herald Stove. Hot water is supplied by the stove or independently through an immersion heater. Solid fuel not supplied during the summer months and only starter fuel for the autumn/spring period. Bookings are secured with a 33% deposit. Internet is available at an additional cost of £10.00 per week. Telephone is incoming only. The house is serviced by a natural spring and all water is filtered and sterilised. Outside: Large private garden with furniture. Secure garage, drive and off road parking. Utility Room: Utility area at bottom of stairs includes ironing board, highchair, boot-rack, vacuum cleaner and cleaning equipment. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen is included, but we do request that guests bring their own towels. If this is a problem towels can be hired at a cost of £8.00 per person. Other: Additional dining area (there is also ample dining space in the kitchen) provides more choices for eating locations with exposed original wooden ceiling throughout.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot