OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Traditional Townhouse with Fantastic Views Over the Old Harbour of Skiathos Town - Apartment 2 (2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4)

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Description

Apartment 2 (2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1 with double bed.

Bedroom 2 with double bed.

Shower room and separate toilet.

Fully equipped kitchen with small baby belling style cooker, fridge/freezer, electric kettle and toaster. Iron and hairdryer also provided.

Open plan living/dining room with comfortable sofa and chairs and marble-topped dining table and chairs. Air-conditioning unit.

Views out to sea.


About the property

GR107

Villa Panos is divided into three spacious apartments (available as a whole or separately). Apt 1 (the top apartment with the balcony) sleeps 6 persons in three separate bedrooms. Apt 2 (at the front downstairs with views out to sea) sleeps 4 persons in two separate bedrooms. Apt 3 (at the rear and side of the property downstairs) sleeps 2 persons comfortably with an additional two single beds in the living-room area. Each apartment enjoys an open plan living/dining area with fully equipped kitchen and air conditioning. Excellent restaurants and tavernas nearby. Airport, 5 minutes by car. Nearest beach, 10 minutes on foot.


Owner
Rachel McGurk
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
26 April, 2017

About Rachel McGurk

Being a Property lawyer for many years practising in the UK in Norwich, one might have thought that I would be wary of navigating the Greek legal system. It turned out however to be an interesting and educational experience and one well worth embarking upon - as I muse each time I sit on my balcony enjoying the fabulous views. The adventure started in May 2004 when we arrived on the island and our first port of call (as always) was Syraino Taverna - affectionately known as the "orange comfy chairs" - for the first Amstel of the holiday! There, we met a friend who was working for the Real Estate Office of Wibis (now Skiathos Estates). John was that afternoon viewing a house in the Plakes. Suffice to say, the property never made the open market and the rest, as they say, is history.

Rachel McGurk purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Rachel McGurk chose Thessaly

Many years ago on my first visit to Skiathos, I fell in love with the island. I had holidayed on many other Greek islands but none had the all-round appeal afforded by Skiathos. Skiathos Town, with its white-washed property and charm and glamour, is to me the St Tropez of the Greek islands. Over the years, I settled on staying in Skiathos Town itself which has the attraction of all the night-life on the doorstep but the beaches are easily accessible during the day. Then, one particular holiday, I discovered the tranquil old town area known as the Plakes and decided that if ever I were able to acquire a property on the island, this would be the perfect location. Unfortunately, properties in the Plakes very rarely come onto the market since it is where the local Greeks like to live and stay.

What makes this apartment unique

Villa Panos enjoys a prime position in the heart of the Plakes area of Skiathos Old Town amongst the locals and away from the maddening crowds - yet it is only a minutes walk down-hill to the old harbour with its traditional Greek fish tavernas, restaurants and bars. Nestled in the cobbled streets, the area is virtually traffic-free and ideal for a relaxing holiday. Since there are no buildings in front of the property (and never will be), Villa Panos benefits from one of the best views in Skiathos Town - looking out over the Aegean Sea and to the neighbouring islands one way and across Skiathos Town and down into the old harbour the other way. We particularly enjoy the fact that from the old harbour we can take a water-taxi to the beach - a fun and relaxing way to start the day.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Booking Notes:
Deposit of 50% payable in advance to secure booking. Remainder to be paid at least eight weeks before departure.

Changeover Day:
Friday changeover days. Other days may be available by arrangement. Most UK direct flights (about 3 hours 30 minutes) arrive mid-day or late afternoon and depart mid-late afternoon.

Notes on prices:
Prices in UK Pounds per apartment per week. Friday changeover days preferred. Substantially reduced rates for long winter lets.


Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for Apartment 2 (2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4)in Skiathos in Greece Mainland

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • town
  • waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Skiathos Old Town is virtually traffic free. Villa Panos at the top of the old town occupies a prime position with unspoiled views over the old theatre of Bourtzi and across the picturesque port of Skiathos to the lush forested headland of the Pounta. Owing to its location however, it might be unsuitable for people with walking difficulties since the local taxi will drop you off at the square of Panaghia I Limnia church which is a few minutes walk down cobbled streets to the Villa. Please note that when staying at the property, you may experience intermittent reception from the televisions owing to the property's location - hopefully, the actual views from the property will more than compensate!

Reviews

1/5 -
(1 traveller reviews)

1

A let down

  • 1 of 5

Difficult to find when we arrived. Only suitable for the young and energetic due to the location, many steep steps to town and very difficult to access with suitcases.

The villa itself is poorly equipped, and needs updating. We were a party of two, but for more people there would not be enough space, crockery (plastic) etc.

My comments to the owner were never answered.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you did not receive my response to your email which I actually wrote when we arrived in Skiathos at the end of September, having advised earlier that we were travelling en route. I am also sorry that you found the villa difficult to find from the photo sheet supplied and although this has not proved a problem before, I shall now provide written instructions also. With regard to the property's position above the old harbour, we accept that the location is not suitable for those with walking difficulties and the Notes on the Owners Direct website specifically advise that "Owing to the location it might be unsuitable for people with walking difficulties since the taxi will drop you off at the square of Panaghia I Limnia which is a few minutes walk down cobbled streets". If prospective guests have informed us in the past that they have walking difficulties, I have always advised against booking our accommodation. The beauty of the property is its unique location above the town but that does come with the inherent problem of having to use the mule steps to get up to it which I would regard as deep rather than steep steps. I regret also that you did not enjoy the space and furnishings in Apt 2. Certainly, the apartment is enjoyed by families, some of whom return regularly. I must admit however that on checking the apartment on our arrival, a lot of the kitchen items and crockery belonging to Apt 2 were located in Apt 1. Prior to your arrival, Apts 1 and 2 had been occupied by one family and it would appear that the items had "walked" between the two apartments. To prevent this in future, I shall ask the managing agent to check that all items have been returned to the correct apartment prior to each set of guests arriving. I would also mention that whilst over in September, we organised the decorating internally and externally of the property together with the replacement and repair of the shutters which had been storm-damaged. We are also going over pre-season to ensure that all is as we would want it to be in preparation for the season ahead. We do however appreciate your taking time to detail your comments and we can confirm that these have been taken on board and the points (other than the location of the property!) are being attended to.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals