OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Peaceful detached villa with large private pool and gardens with sea views

Overview

Property

Updated: 27-May-2017
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Detached south facing villa with all day sun with superb sea and mountain views

Lagarto is situated in a select and quiet residential area of Moraira in an elevated position with beautiful views over the valley and sea. Our villa gets the sun all day, but there are many options for shade.The property is positioned on a large flat plot with a beautiful well-maintained Mediterranean garden with many palm trees, cacti and fruit trees, including lemon and orange.

Lagarto has a comfortable lounge, diner with Wi-fi, U.K. TV and full air conditioning through out, all included in the price. A modern fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with en-suite bathroom, second double bedroom, a third bedroom with twin beds and a family bathroom compliments our villa.

The large pool has colour changing LED lighting where you can enjoy swimming under the stars at night, an outside shower a large patio area with garden furniture, parasols, sun loungers and a BBQ terrace with two naya's for dining al fresco.

El-Portet is a small cove with a sandy beach and crystal clear waters. It has very good restaurants catering for all tastes with a lovely sea front promenade.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Susan & Peter Avenell
Member since: 2004
Speaks English, Spanish
Calendar last updated:
27 May, 2017

About Susan & Peter Avenell

We currently live in the UK, but try to visit our villa in Moraira as often as we can with our family and friends. It is our idea of a perfect holiday! If you would like any more information on our villa Lagarto or the local area please just ask when booking, we will be more than happy to assist you.

Susan & Peter Avenell purchased this villa in 2005

Why Susan & Peter Avenell chose Moraira

We bought our villa in Moraira in 2005 and have since done many improvements. We love the Costa Blanca coast for it's ease of access, the fantastic climate, scenery, mountain and coastal views. Our villa is situated in the el Portet valley, where the sea and mountain views, especially at sunset, sometimes make it feel like paradise on earth!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed in Moraira many times and this is far and way the nicest villa we have stayed in. We all felt safe at the villa which is a good thing. The pool and garden are fabulous and kept really clean and tidy. Would recommend this villa to anyone. John, Linda and Maria.....June 2014



Well, what can we say a fortnight of complete bliss and relaxation! We thought we were being a might extravagant going for casa Lagarto with 3 beds and private pool - oh but so worth it! This has been our best holiday ever, not a negative point at all to note. Maralyn and Bryan....June 2014



Thank you for the rental of Lagarto, we had a lovely time here and especially enjoyed the pool and balcony, it was really nice to have breakfast whilst looking out to sea. Anna and family... August 2014



We have visited Moraira the 'gem of the Med' many times and have stayed in other villas, but villa Lagarto is by far the best ticking all the boxes! Jan and Will Edwards.... September 2014
Jan 2006
  • 1 of 1

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed in Moraira many times and this is far and way the nicest villa we have stayed in. We all felt safe at the villa which is a good thing. The pool and garden are fabulous and kept really clean and tidy. Would recommend this villa to anyone. John, Linda and Maria.....June 2014



Well, what can we say a fortnight of complete bliss and relaxation! We thought we were being a might extravagant going for casa Lagarto with 3 beds and private pool - oh but so worth it! This has been our best holiday ever, not a negative point at all to note. Maralyn and Bryan....June 2014



Thank you for the rental of Lagarto, we had a lovely time here and especially enjoyed the pool and balcony, it was really nice to have breakfast whilst looking out to sea. Anna and family... August 2014



We have visited Moraira the 'gem of the Med' many times and have stayed in other villas, but villa Lagarto is by far the best ticking all the boxes! Jan and Will Edwards.... September 2014
Jan 2006
  • 1 of 1

11 Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

5

Casa Lagarto

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful two weeks holiday at Casa Lagarto. The views from the villa are stunning. We all enjoyed the pool which is large, clean and well looked after. The area around the villa is vast with areas where everyone could sunbath or read a book in the shade. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone visiting Moraira. The villa is clean and spacious having all the comforts of home. A car is essential but well worth it for the villas location and to visit nearby towns and beaches. Thanks to Adam & Jo for their Assistance and help in finding a great restaurant for my wife's birthday. Hope to return sometime in the near future. Tim & Kerry Sheffield

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

A comfortable villa in a good location

  • 4 of 5

We had a pleasant 2 weeks at the villa, which is set in very quiet surroundings. The swimming pool was definitely one of the highlights on a great sun terrace. Dining area on upper terrace outside kitchen also had nice views out to sea even though the villa is set 2km inland. The inside of the villa was very clean, comfortable and reasonably well equipped. We were looking forward to enjoying BBQ's in the evenings, but we were told on arrival that we were not allowed to use the coal BBQ due to fire risks on surrounding land. Although a gas BBQ was provided it was old and not adequate. Other minor complaints included temperamental hot water supply, but wasn't a big deal given it was August.

We preferred the beach in El Portet, which had shallow warm sea. Perfect for all the family. A couple of good restaurants close by for lunch or dinner. We only had one cloudy day, so decided to head inland to the Algar Waterfalls which were good fun.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. Due to this summer being very dry in Spain, the local authority have banned all charcoal burning BBQ's due to the danger of setting the countryside alight, endangering property and life. The gas BBQ was only meant as back up, although only being two years old we will replace it for next year after having more use than intended. Regarding the hot water, we have since had the boiler serviced and you have constant hot water on demand now. As you say the sea and mountain views from the upper terrace are really quite spectacular.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable villa for a very relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5

The villa was very spacious, very clean and well equipped. We felt very secure with lots of lockable gates. The location is lovely, very quiet, all we heard sometimes were the birds singing. The views from the Naya upstairs are fantastic, sea one way and mountains the other, a perfect place for breakfast or evening drinks. The pool is great, lovely size and lots of space around it for sunbathing or playing bat & ball.

A car is essential for trips to supermarkets (Plenty of supermarkets to chose from) and to go to town/beaches. Its a 30 minute pleasant walk downhill to El Portet and another 15 minutes to Moraira town but its uphill coming back!

We felt at home straight away after meeting Jo at the villa and relaxed immediately and didn't want to leave. A perfect relaxing holiday which lived up to our expectations.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean, well equipped.

  • 4 of 5

Fab property, very quiet location.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very nice

  • 5 of 5

the villa was very nice the only complaint it was rather cold due to the weather could have done with a heater

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased our villa met your expectations. We have central heating through out our villa for those colder months but unfortunately the weather was not so good in May this year and the digital central heating thermostat probably need altering. Wish we had known whilst you were there and we could have got it looked at. Kind regards Peter and Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Villa

  • 4 of 5

This is a really lovely Villa, with fantastic view over the hills of Moraira down to the sea. The Beach that it is closest to, El Portet, is really lovely and perfect for kids. You need to get down there early in high summer though as the car park is small. The pool was fantastic and our kids loved it (as did we). The villa is well placed for Moraira, and for the local supermarkets, all within a very easy 5-10 minute drive. Caz is the local person on hand, and she was hugely helpful. I would recommend the villa very highly.

The only reason it is not five stars is that there is no air con in the bedrooms. We did have fans and that was great, but air con would have made it perfect.

Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your time in submitting your review. You will be pleased to know that since your stay we have installed air conditioning through out to make your stay more pleasant.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

We bought our villa in Moraira in 2005 and have since done many improvements. We love the Costa Blanca coast for it's ease of access, the fantastic climate, scenery, mountain and coastal views. Our villa is situated in the el Portet valley, where the sea and mountain views, especially at sunset, sometimes make it feel like paradise on earth!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Alicante or Valencia at 105 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : El Portet at 2 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Denia at 16 Kilometres Nearest Train : Teulada at 5 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : AP7 at 10 Kilometres Nearest Beach : El Portet at 2 Kilometres Car: recommended

El-Portet is a small cove with a sandy beach and crystal clear waters. It has very good restaurants catering for all tastes with a lovely sea front promenade. Moraira once a small fishing village, now a sophisticated holiday resort with a modern marina and relaxing palm tree-lined boulevards. There are a good selection of shops, numerous restaurants, boutiques, pavement cafes, and not a fast food chain in sight. Friday mornings Moraira has a very popular market selling all manner of things. The larger towns of Javea, Denia, Calpe and Altea are all within a short drive, with many secluded coves and sandy beaches between. The interesting old town of Denia with its castle, lively port area, and home to some stylish shops are worth a visit. A trip to the beautiful Jalon valley makes for a wonderful day out with some stunning mountain drives and spectacular scenery. Font Algar is a series of waterfalls and rock pools, an ideal place for a leisurely day to swim and picnic. There are some lovely old towns and villages to explore with Altea and Guadalest being two of the most popular. There are many small beaches and coves to discover along the coast, such as Granadella and Moraig beach where you can enjoy a beach-side drink and snack at various bars.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
May
29 Apr 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
June
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
July first weeks
1 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£895
for 7 nights
£895
 
 
July
15 Jul 2017 - 4 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,295
for 7 nights
£1,295
 
 
August
5 Aug 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,295
for 7 nights
£1,295
 
 
August last weeks
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£895
for 7 nights
£895
 
 
September
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
October
30 Sep 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
April 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 27 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
May
28 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
June
26 May 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
July first weeks
30 Jun 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£895
for 7 nights
£895
 
 
July
14 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,295
for 7 nights
£1,295
 
 
August
4 Aug 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,295
for 7 nights
£1,295
 
 
August last week
25 Aug 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£895
for 7 nights
£895
 
 
September
8 Sep 2018 - 28 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
October
29 Sep 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

We accept HomeAway's online bookings and payments, so if it's convenient for you to use the HomeAway system to book and pay for your stay byVISA then by all means do so. Please note that if you choose to use HomeAway's online bookings and payments, HomeAway will charge you a 'Traveller Service Fee'. This fee is added to our rental rate when you request a quote/book, and is payable to HomeAway (to cover their marketing, service, and 'Book With Confidence Guarantee'). This additional fee will be between 6% and 8% of the total rental. Alternatively feel free to contact us using the 'Enquire Now' blue hyperlink to the right under 'Request to Book' link.

Change over days are flexible, depending on availability. Arrival from 1600 hrs and check out by 1000 hrs, this again may be flexible subject to existing bookings taken.
Included in the price, the pool is maintained weekly and our villa is cleaned for your arrival, together with fresh bed linen and house towels with no additional costs for wi-fi or air-conditioning.
A discount of 5% will apply off advertised rates for a party of 2 persons.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 27-May-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • villa

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool ...

Suitability

  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • resort
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • bay
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom is fully tiled with a heated towel rail, bath, shower, bidet, toilet, wash hand basin with vanity unit. Master bedroom with shower, toilet with vanity unit and wash hand basin.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 1 with double bed, built-in wardrobes, en-suite with walk in shower. Bedroom 2 with double bed and built-in wardrobes. Bedroom 3 with two single beds, cot and built-in wardrobes.

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Notes:

  • We have a helpful English couple living nearby who look after our villa, with their local knowledge of best places to go, to help you enjoy your holiday. The pool is maintained weekly and our villa is cleaned for your arrival. Fresh bed linen and house towels are changed on a weekly basis.

Special Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot