OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

A Lovely Apartment

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 161 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Lido, Funchal, Madeira - Exclusive Location 50m From Promenade And Lido Pools

Lido View is a new small development in the heart of the exclusive Lido area in Funchal. The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious with its own veranda and large terrace on the first floor. Lido pools and promenade are 50 metres away and all other facilities are walking distance.


Property Manager
Joe
Member since: 2005
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2017

About Joe

I was born here in Portugal and I was bought up in the UK from the age of 10... I worked in Social Housing before in the UK before moving back to Portugal. I have been in working in the tourism industry for the past 12 years mainly in Portugal.

Joe purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Joe chose São Martinho

The main reason why i bought the apartment in this area was due to it's location as it is one the sort out locations in Madeira.

Where the apartment is situated there are not many apartments and as you know Madeira is hilly this apartment location is mainly on the flat and close to the Promenade and all facilities at your door step.

Another reason is the quality of the finish of the apartment which is of the highest quality and it's large Terrace.

What makes this apartment unique

All facilities are at your door step.

High quality apartment.

Spacious apartment.

Location, no hills to climb.

Promenade 50 metres away and Lido pools.

No need for car.

Guestbook comments from the manager

So glad we found you on the internet we have thoroughly enjoyed being in this lovely apartment, You are lovely people and we look forward to coming back at Xmas. Carol & Wilfred.



Thanks for a perfect week of rest and relaxation. The apartment is so well equipped quite the best we have ever stayed in perfect location. Liz + Ian



We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay at Lido View, the apartment was very nicely furnished and everything on hand you could wish for. Kind regards, Dave & Evelyn



Description of it in the Owners Direct website is very good. One thing in particular was the fantastic terrace.We often say that we would like to go back to a holiday destination

again, and very rarely do, but I feel that Madeira is well worth

another visit, and when we do go there again we will certainly try you first for accomodation. Thanks again for a great Holiday. Daphne and Peter
Nov 2005
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in São Martinho in Funchal

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 161 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 with bath, wc and bidet. Separate bathroom with shower, wc and basin.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/5 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed. Bedroom 2 with twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Internet access Broadband included. Outside: A large terrace with chairs, table and sun loungers to relax .A large veranda and a 40m2 terrace with sun loungers, umbrellas and wooden table and chairs for al fresco dining. The terrace is slightly raised. Utility Room: Washing machine, iron, ironing board. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and bed linen are changed once a week. Also beach towels are provided. Cleaning is once a week. Other: A large hall adjoining both bedrooms.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
28% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
A Lovely Apartment
average rating of 4.285714 based on 22 reviews
Portsmouth
5

Great apartment

  • 5 of 5

We found this apartment to be very comfortable with all the amenities from home.

Close to some of the best trip adviser restaurants and good supermarket close by dolce pingo

I would recommend this apartment to friends and family if I visited again.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely and honest review and I am pleased you had a lovely stay and we look forward in having you and your family back in funchal.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyed our Stay

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this apt for the week end of June. Location is fabulous and if you love walking and promenade, there are three excellent lido pools well on your doorstep, we used the newly built Lido pools. As for the apartment itself, we were extremely pleased. Very bright and airy. Well maintained and up to date. Fully stocked with pots, pans, cutlery and dishes. One minor issue we had with the washing machine was dealt with efficiently by the property manager. I would Highly recommend this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Joan and I am pleased that we sorted out the washing machine to your satisfaction
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Perfecto

  • 4 of 5

Fantastic apartment.

Clean.

Everything you needed for a home from home.

No problems but any questions we had the owner was quick and positive with his reply and answers, never a hassle or trouble.

Actually another booking has been made on our return and family members have also planned there vacation there too.

Well done Joe, cheers for great vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Lido apartment apartment and look forward having you and your family back . Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent apartment. Well equiped

  • 5 of 5

A very impressive apartment. very close to all aminaties. The people were very understanding when it came to the language barrier.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not cleaned for our arrival!!

  • 2 of 5

The property is dated and tired and sits above an Indian Restaurant so I hope you like the smell of curry. When we arrived the only things that were clean were the bedding and the towels, nothing else had been touched - dirty bathrooms, old food in the fridge, dust and dirt everywhere and an infestation of ants. We did not expect to be mopping floors on the first day of our holiday! The shower cubicle in the 2nd bathroom is so small you can't turn around in it. We won't be back!!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I do regret that the apartment was not to your expectations, unfortunately you contact me a few days later informing me of the apartment toilet was not clean on arrival. When the apartment was handanded over to you it was clean and you commented how clean it was. You expected that a maid came daily for you but cleaning is only done once a week as it states on the website and any extra cleaning is payable which you were not happy with and I explained this was not a hotel service. The Maids left items of food for you from previous guests and in the cupboard and many guests do appreciate this, but in future we will remove all items from previous guests apologies for this. The shower cubicle is for a normal size person but we will look at making larger. The apartment is not above a curry house even though there is an Indian restaunt in the apartment block is set back from all this and it is private. Further more I have been renting for many years and from previous positive reviews and I do get many guests returning year after year to this lovely apartment. We do not take any breakage deposit so we rely on our guests if they brake anything to replace or to report it, unfortunately Fiona you broke 2 sunloungers and decided to take items from the apartment when you left which we had to replace it quickly as it would spoiled other guests enjoyment.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Had a fantastic time on funchal great place and great people the apartment was spot on .

  • 4 of 5

The property was a decent size and rooms were tastefully decorated kitchen had all the usual washing was a godsend only problem was out at the main security door there was a strong smell of urine which was very unpleasant and when it was wet it really stunk but that's the only negative I would recommend this flat Joe was a great host

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I have managed to speak to the complex condominium who have cleaned the outside area. Thank you for pointing that out and we look forward to seeing you back in Funchal
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
23 Kilometres
Funchal
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Bella ilha
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Funchal Port
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Palheiro
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Via Rapida
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Solar de Ajuda
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Lido Facilities,
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

Madeira has fantastic walk-in Levadas which are the irrigation channels built back in the 16th century to bring water from the north to the south. Whale and dolphin spotting and Marlin fishing. Festivals. 1. Flower Festival from in April 20 , 21- 2016, Famous Carnival February 2016. 3. Wine Festival In September. 4. Xmas for the amazing lights and New Year for the famous fireworks.

Coast/Beach:

The apartment is within 2 minutes walking distance from the Lido pools and facilities and about 100 metres from Ponta Gorda Pools facilities. The beach nearest to the apartment is Praia Formosa a short walk away.

Travel:

Funchal Airport is about 23km away, a 35 minutes taxi ride. There are various car hire companies around the lido area.

Distances:

Lido is 5 minutes away from Funchal Centre or 25 minutes walk. Camara De Lobos is also about 15 minutes drive and Ribeira Brava is 25 minutes away.

Further Details:

All facilities are walking distance. Madeira has the most fascinating Levadas walks and other places of interest are Monte by Cable car and experience Monte Palace Oriental Gardens, Funchal has various museums of interest.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in São Martinho, Madeira

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
27 Oct 2017 - 20 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£320
for 7 nights
£320
 
 
Winter
21 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£320
for 7 nights
£320
 
 
Winter
7 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£300
for 7 nights
£300
 
 
Summer
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£300
for 7 nights
£300
 
 
Summer
1 Jul 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£335
for 7 nights
£335
 
 
Winter
1 Oct 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£300
for 7 nights
£300
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
40% deposit non refundable to secure the booking, and the remainder 60% is to be paid on arrival at the apartment.

Changeover Day:
Flexible.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable