OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Luxurious Villa In Tranquil Setting With Large Pool & Sun Decks, Panoramic Views



Updated: 29-Mar-2016
Villa Mar,Las Cumbres, Marchuquera Alta ,Nr. Gandia, Costa del Azahar - 10 Minutes Drive From Blue Flag Beach, Two Minutes Drive To Small Local Town With Quaint Chapel

Traditional Spanish villa in tranquil settings with large private gardens and large heart shaped pool with large sun deck . Many terraces overlooking orange groves and mountains with panoramic views. 10 minute drive from the blue flag beach of Gandia, with shops, restaurants and bars, 10 minutes drive from Barx, 3 minutes drive from Marchuquera town with lovely Spanish restaurants & bars all run by locals , food is delicious & very cheap. Has lovely little Church with a very friendly congregation . Mass then a beer in the cafe next door always goes down well with visitors .Mass 11.15 Sunday mornings. Car essential, parking within villa property for 4 cars. Property completely walled so very secure. Recently all new kitchen , bathrooms . in 2013 all new windows , doors & screens .New for 2014 all outdoor furniture which inc dinning table & benches, large L shaped sofas & sun loungers .New beds & bedroom furniture . All new kitchen ware .

  • Sleeps 12
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair access

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Hi, Im 50 year old,married & living in Scotland. I used to have my own marketing business which I sold and bought properties. I go to Spain & Tenerife at the beginning of each season to do a complete clean from top to bottom, I prefer to do this myself as no one tends to clean as well as I do. I am a complete clean freak. I make a list of things to be repaired or replaced, this is done at the beginning of a season. I would not rent to anyone less than I would expect myself. I have very high standards & my properties reflect this. I have never had one single complaint & I have people returning year on year (this speaks for its self. I love both places for different reasons.I love the tranquility however like the fact if you want shopping & night clubs you can also do just 15 min away.

Call Owner
Speaks English, German, Spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

Date: Saturday, 14 August, 2010, 11:17.

Hi Brigid.

We had a wonderful time at your villa, on arrival we were met by Jon and Ann, they were so helpful. The villa was lovely, the pool was great. I have used owners direct for the past 5 years, I must say your villa has been the best by far,When you go away with the family there is always something that is missing,or not enough space for everyone to sit around in the evening for lunch, things like that,which make it difficult for large numbers.You seemed to cover every angle , Your villa was faultless,a perfect holiday. 10 out of 10, we would love to come back.

Thankyou for a great time.

Aug 2005
  • 1 of 1

10 Reviews

based on 10 holidaymaker reviews


Perfect Villa with postcard setting!

  • 5 of 5

We travelled from Alicante airport in hire vehicles to the Villa, which was a good way to get there. A car is essential for your stay at this Villa.

What can i say, we pulled up into the drive and we were really happy with what we saw. Great looking Villa, great garden and awesome swimming pool. We were then greeted by the friendly Villa caretaker called John. Who ran us through the villa and explained how some of the utilities worked and closest shops etc. John told us that he will be cleaning the pool on Wednesday, he wont bother us and will just pop in and clean and then leave. He stuck to his word but we had to have a chat with him as he is a great bloke with a lot of local knowledge that we required whilst travelling around. As he left on the first day he also said that any problems even if so small to just contact him by the Villas telephone and he would be here within 20 minutes. We also tried his paella that he cooks as a hobby, it was great and worth trying.

Back to the Villa, it swallowed our large family of 12. We had everything we required for the 2 weeks stay, even down to metal skewers to make our own skewered kebabs for the BBQ. The BBQ is awesome a massive gas BBQ which we used on many occasions it suited the outdoor lifestyle and our needs whilst we were there. The kitchen is well equipped too, being typically English we had a Roast dinner one day and had all what we needed for this. The garden and swimming pool was our base for the holiday and we found this to be great, enough sun loungers, great pool to cool off and enough seating for us all when we decided to sit down to eat. The views of the mountains from the garden are idyllic, its a dream location and a dream Villa. Very clean, top quality furniture just a very nice place to stay for our holiday.

However there was one negative being English and from a cold climate, this Villa could do with Air conditioning. A few very hot nights we did find ourselves uncomfortable whilst sleeping. (Spain is hot!!)

I would highly recommend this Villa to stay you will not want for more than what is provided.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Guys Thank you so much for your kind words & great review. We always aim to please. John is a bonus to have. Please come again. Brigid
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything we wanted and more.

  • 5 of 5

The only decision we got wrong at Villa Mar was we should have stayed longer!

This is a beautiful, private, well kept, spacious and relaxing villa living up to all our expectations and more, a lovely place to spend time with the whole family.

The views of the mountains were breath taking and we were still only 15 - 20 minutes from the lovely beaches at Gandia. A car is definitely needed to allow complete flexibility as well as allowing you to enjoy and explore the region. Carrefour and Lidl are only 15 minutes away as are many other shops.

There are many good local restaurants to enjoy both in Barx and Gandia, although we spent most of our time as a family eating on the terrace of the villa.

The pool is without doubt a bonus for everybody, a nice size allowing you to enjoy a good swim if you are an early riser and want some exercise, whilst large enough to enjoy good family games, smaller children who cannot swim need to be supervised.

We were welcomed by Jon and Ann, who without doubt helped us settle in much more quickly, what a great couple, nothing is too much for them and they are always there to help or offer suggestions in order to make your holiday much more relaxing.

Jon's Paella is a must - one of the best we have ever tasted.

Being in Spain you have to put up with what Spain has to offer, so leaving food around will only attract whatever creatures want to get to it, so if you do not want any ants just ensure you use containers and shut the peddle bin tightly.

Our thanks to Brigid, Jon & Ann for an excellent family holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi all Thanks for you welcomed Review. Its great to hear that we meet expectations & continue to keep our standards high. This is due to having yearly appraisals by the owner & John (the manager) to ensure everything is Tip Top & ready for the beginning of the rental season . Standards are never let slip. The property manager & his family are a great asset & always on hand to help with any queries. Offering a delivery service for Paella has been a well received extension to the Spain experience. We always aim to please & go beyond expectations. Brigid
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful villa.Highly recommended.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this fantastic villa for 12 nights and would highly recommend it.The villa is very well equipped ,comfortable and very clean.Great kitchen.The huge terrace area has plenty of sunbeds and seats and we enjoyed many meals and relaxing evenings on the terrace.The outside area,pool and hammocks were thoroughly enjoyed.The villa is very well looked after.The mountain and forest views are stunning.Gandia beach is great-sandy and clean.Carrefour and Lidl in Gandia makes shopping easy.A car is definetly needed. We were looked after so well during our stay by Jon who was very friendly and helpful.We arrived late at night to the villa and having the welcome pack was brilliant.It is such a peaceful relaxing place to be yet the town and beach is only a 10 minute drive away. We didn't want to go home !! Thanks Brigid and Jon

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im so glad you enjoyed it we do aim to please & take all comments on board in pursuit of excellence .
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovly villa but a very rural location

  • 4 of 5

This is a beautiful and spacious villa and the interior, pool and gardens are lovely and gave our party of 8 (one child) a place to chill and call their own. The local mountains views are breath taking and all balconies in the villa have a beautiful vista.

The villa is exceptionally well kept and John and Ann could not be more helpful; especially seeing we had quite a bad ant problem during the whole of our stay (both upstairs and down - which was surprising seeing no food was ever taken upstairs during our stay).

To enjoy this villa you MUST have a car as the rough guide of how far you are away from local towns and amenities we found to be much more than quoted. We tried at least twice to 'walk' to the nearest restaurant down the hill but this was not suitable for many in our party and a large part of the route has no footpath - which could be quite dangerous. Therefore if you like to have somewhere to walk out to of an evening then this maybe a consideration.

This villa really does need air con - as the ceiling fans in two of the bedrooms provided no relief in August and the stand alone fans in the other three rooms much less. This made sleeping for everyone exceptionally difficult and really must be considered for that 5th star.

We as a family would have welcomed a safe; as we have been broken into in a villa in Portugal and whilst we appreciate this villa is very safe and has a proven track record - it is also about giving guests that peace of mind.

This is a beautiful tranquil spot in a real part of Spain but just to be aware you can't do much without a car.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tracey Thanks for that . I will consider your comments for next year . Glad you had a nice time . Regards brigid
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
United Kingdom

A* Villa absolutely stunning holiday!

  • 5 of 5

we arrived and was greeted by the lovely john, first impressions were 'WOW' the pool area an garden is just lovely. we had 2 weeks here and were very sad to go, villa itself was gorgeous, very clean, high standards.

the only thing we struggled with was heat, the fans seemed to just blow around warm air, air-con would make this villa fit for a queen! we hope to visit again, i miss it very much!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your nice comments . I will consider a/c for next year . Please come again . Regards Brigid .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South West

Simply Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We picked Villa Mar for a family celebration. With a mix of adults and children ( age ranges 7-18) there were 11 of us in total and the villa was perfect! The Villa was spotless and we were welcomed by John and Ann who were so helpful.

We spent our days swapping between the pool and Gandia beach (having travelled to many countries, Gandia and Xeraco have some of the best beaches we have ever been on) and spent our evenings on the patio, sampling the local food and beverages Spain has to offer.

The Villa has everything you could need and is beautifully presented both inside and outside. There was something for everyone. On behalf of the whole group we give the villa 5 stars and would definitely stay here again. Thanks again Brigid

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im so glad you enjoyed it as I work hard to keep it up to 5 star . When I get feedback like this it makes it worthwhile . Please come again . Regards Brigid
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

From the Owner

I had looked all over Spain & decided on this area because it was well located for many amenities. Benidorm, Terra Mittica, water parks, Valencia, beach, mountains, real Spain not just tourist. The neighbours behind the villa are Nicky & Hose. They are good friends of ours. They also hold a key to the villa. Nicky is English, Hose Spanish thus you will have no language barriers. You have the tranquillity of the Mountains with the wonderful fresh air & smells from the orange groves all around. The villa is completely secluded but not isolated as you have about 30 villas in the urbanisation, but all sit in about 1 acres of ground thus you have no one looking in. However if you want the Spanish experience or tourist you go to the villages in orange groves 5 min away or Gandia beach 10 min.

Activity and Interests

Special interest holidays:

Mountain climbing and cycling are very very popular in this area. In fact this area is famous for it.


Situated just north of Costa Blanca and at the start of Costa Del Azahar. Beside the market towns of Oliva and Gandia, which is the Real Spain. There are 18km of magnificent white sandy beaches to choose from. The beaches have many amenities & are wheelchair accessible with many bars & restaurants . Beautiful marinas are also available if you want to sail . This region is located on one of Europe's largest subterranean lakes and drinking water quality is excellent. Its a 10 minute drive to beach


Alicante airport is 1 hour 15 mins drive.

Valencia airport is 50 mins drive.


Benidorm is 40 mins drive where you can find the fun parks of Terra Mitica and Aqua-land. Marchuquera is a 4 min drive . Barx is a ten minute drive & Gandia is 10 min drive .

Further Details:

Valencia is a very cosmopolitan city with lots to do and see. You can drive to the train station in 15 minutes and take the train straight in to the centre of Valencia which has something for everyone.

Gandia is 10 minutes away with many shops, restaurants and bars. It has a beautiful tree lined avenue with lots of cafes on either side. It is a city with a rich historical heritage, which is reflected in its monumental buildings. It is fully prepared to satisfy the demands of even the most sophisticated of visitor.

Gandia is great for fashion shopping with many designer shops & great leather goods .


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 4
28 Aug 2016 - 29 Oct 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Contact below for availability and bank details.
25% deposit is due on booking.
The balance and a separate £200 deposit in the form of a cheque in case of damage ( which is destroyed if not required) plus laundry and cleaning costs of £150 are due 6 weeks before departure.

Changeover Day:
Saturday. Arrival not before 4pm. Departures by 10am. However allowances can be made when possible.

Notes on prices:
Please look for any special offers on this property . Discount of 5% discount on any 3 week booking .

25% deposit on booking final payment 6 weeks before your departure

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 29-Mar-2016
Available arrival
This property calendar has not been updated in the last 60 days. Contact the owner for latest availability.


From the Owner

I love being at the Villa as I like to dine alfresco. The views from the front terrace are breathtaking. This villa has the best spot on the Urbanisation. I love to ponder in the garden & of course all I do is clean inside & outside. I am happy for 2 weeks of complete tranquillity I enjoy going in to the orange groves which also has its own little Chapel. The 3 restaurants in the orange groves are all very good & great value for money. If you want Paella you must order the day before. The people are very friendly & don't speak much English. I think this adds to the Spanish experience. If you go to the Beach 10 min away by car you will find English speaking Spanish. I love this beach as very safe, very clean with plenty parking. You will find everything you want in Gandia at Carrefour.

Property Type

  • villa


  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Child's Highchair


  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool


  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • mountain
  • near the sea


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Large Master En-suite with walk in shower & sep bath & shower & bidet .2nd bathroom separate power shower & full bath & shower. 3rd bathroom on ground floor, which is wet bathroom. There is a 4th open air shower at pool side. All recently refurbished.


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 12 (5 Bedrooms 2 bedrooms bunk beds +single Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 Master with 6ft 6in bed and huge en-suite with full bath, double sinks, separate wet shower, bidet, toilet. Bedroom 2 bunk beds + single Bedroom 3:bunk beds + single Bedroom 4: king sized bed. Bedroom 5: twin beds that can click together .


  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: The house is fitted with window grills everywhere, thus you can leave all your windows & doors open which creates a constant through breeze. This keeps the house cool and is better for you than air-con. This is the way the Spanish do it and it works very well . There are also fans in each room to keep you cool . John & Anne who look after the villa now offer a Paella home delivery service . We sampled it this year & decided we should offer it to guests as an added service as its delicious . It serves up to ten people with 4 French sticks included & will be delivered hot at your specified time . The total price including delivery is 50 Euros . You need to order one or two days beforehand . Outside: Sun all day. Many large terraces for living al fresco, all lit for night dining . All new garden furniture for dining outside, sun loungers , sofas with cushions , swinging hanging chair & hammock . Barbecue & Large outside dinning table ( sits 10) with two cushioned bench seats Two additional buffet tables , 4 separate small stools & table for Kids to dine at . Sorry no pets. Swimming pool 10 x 9 meters approximately with large newly built sun deck with new ten very comfortable loungers , chairs & tables . Gardens are private & completely. Secure . There is a separate fenced off area where children can play ball games , the size is 6 x20 meters . This is the most beautifull setting,. My parents say this is what heven must look like. Utility Room: Separate utility room with Belfast sink. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and bed linen provided (please bring own pool/beach towels). Weekly change of bed linen and towels. There is an additional charge for cleaning and linen charge of £150. Other: Theres an upstairs hall which has been converted to a small library with chairs & table so you can read & enjoy the tranquility of your surroundings.From here you can slide open the doors to the balcony & sit & watch the sun go down with pre dinner drink.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot