OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

3 charming stone houses with large heated pool in 6 ac of beautiful grounds - Bergerie - charming, little house with stunning views over the valley

Bedrooms 1
Space 538 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights



Bergerie - charming, little house with stunning views over the valley

The Bergerie was built of local stone about 120 years ago and has been lovingly transformed into a romantic holiday home. From the main house, the Bergerie is situated about 30m further up the hill, separated by some trees - not suitable for people with walking difficulties!

Sleeping 2 to 3 people the house comprises of one bedroom and an open-plan, split-level lounge and kitchen, shower room and private terrace.

The bedroom consists of a large double bed (1,80m x 2m), two side tables and a wardrobe. The window overlooks the valley below.

The living room is furnished with a comfy sofa bed, chairs, coffee table, reading lamps, TV and CD Player.

The kitchen is fully equipped with gas cooker, fridge, dishwasher, sink, microwave, kettle, toaster, Senseo coffee machine etc.

The shower room contains 2 basins, shower and separate toilet.

From the kitchen a large patio door opens onto the private terrace which enjoys stunning views of the medieval village of Roquetaillade.

More Details

About the property

FR483 Domaine du Moulin

The Owners, David and Ariane, invite you to enjoy the charm of our Domaine du Moulin, which dates back to around 1800. The Domaine, its four Gîtes and the large heated swimming pool are located close to Limoux in a picturesque valley. Set in over two hectares (6 acres) of secluded grounds the Domaine enjoys splendid views of the medieval hill-top village of Roquetaillade and surrounding hills. Only 30 minutes from Carcassonne and its airport and about an hour from Toulouse, it is ideally placed to explore the Cathare castles, the Pyrenees, the Mediterranean Sea and the most productive wine region in the world - or just relax by the swimming pool and take in the views.

Please visit our WEBSITE for more photos of the property, region and activities. Click on the FACILITIES tab and scroll down. The address is below NOTES.

More Details

Ariane Summa-Duncan
Member since: 2005
Speaks English, French, German
Calendar last updated:
28 April, 2017

About Ariane Summa-Duncan

In 2003 my husband (English) and I (German) decided that it was time to become a bit adventurous and also find a sunnier place to live. For our daughter it was good timing too because she was 4 years old and about to start primary school.

David, a former electronic engineer/project manager, is now a self-employed builder and I, a former marketing manager, run the gites and offer relocation services including home search, administrative help and project management.

Ariane Summa-Duncan purchased this house in 2003

Why Ariane Summa-Duncan chose Limoux area

Why France?

For various reasons we came to the conclusion that leaving Europe was not for us and amongst all other European countries France seemed to tick most of our boxes.

In England we had an average house with a 100 foot garden and a huge mortgage. Here we have a beautiful house with 6 acres of wild and romantic land and no mortgage.

As many others we first looked at Provence but found it too expensive and crowded. Instead we found the "Provence for the poor people". Here in the Languedoc we also have skiable mountains, the sea, attractive cities and beautiful countryside. Our property is centrally located one hour to mountains, to the sea or to Toulouse.

What makes this house unique

All year round there is something else beautiful to see or do like poppies and wild orchids in spring, 7 months of the year swimming in the pool, the changing colours of the vines in autumn, skiing in the winter, good restaurants, many sporting activities are on offer such as hiking, cycling, golf, horse riding, canoeing... We are centrally placed for all the tourist sites of our region including 2 world heritage sites i.e. the fortress of Carcassonne and the Canal du Midi.

Guestbook comments from the owner

A great place to explore the magnificent surroundings or just to relax with a BBQ. Thanks very much.

Justine & Simone, UK

The Bergerie was exactly as it looked when we saw it on the internet. It has all the comforts of home and it is located in one of the most beautiful areas of France. Thank you for the great restaurant selection....we had an unbelievable dinner!!!

Andy & Cathy, Canada

Comfortable and well equipped, with everything you need to enjoy home cooking and such a lovely pool location.

Antony & Mary, New Zealand

Thank you for a totally restful stay in your beautiful part of France. So much to do within an hour or two but just as rewarding to relax by your wonderful pool.

Len & Pat - UK

Our first time in France, so not sure what to expect. What a fantastic welcome from Ariane and David, the Studio is just perfect with plenty of cutlery and crockery and comfortable beds. The pool is the icing on the cake!!

Debbie & Rick, Surrey, UK
Mar 2005
  • 1 of 1

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Booking Notes:
50% deposit to secure a reservation, the balance 6 weeks prior to arrival. No refund possible after the final payment.
A damage deposit of 200 euros is required on arrival and will be reimbursed at the end of your stay - we will accept sterling for this deposit.

Changeover Day:
Arrival Saturday after 4 pm, departure Saturday by 10 am in July and August. Outside the main season arr/dep days are flexible.

Notes on prices:
Outside the main season of July and August prices for the Grange and Maison du Cypres are based on 2 people renting. For 3-4 people the rent increases by 100E per week.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Roquetaillade in Aude

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 538 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • 2 basins, big shower, toilet, hairdryer, heating
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • 1 king size bed, wardrobe, bedside tables, chair, electric radiator
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • caving
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes on accommodation: Bed linen and towels are supplied and changed weekly. Baby equipment available ie. cot. Please advise at booking. Internet access is provided via a wireless network. Please see our website for further details, pictures and directions. Outside: The swimming pool with a set of Roman steps measures 11 x 6m. Each gite has its own terrace and gas fired BBQ. There is a children's play area in sight of the pool.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)


Ruined our holiday

  • 1 of 5

If I could give this property a minus rating I would. We booked to stay in Maison Cypres from 30 May - 11 June 2016 & from the moment we arrived we realised that the pictures and description are not accurate. We were travelling with our 6 year old and 5 mth old & when we booked I contacted Arianne through the website to ask if the property was child friendly, which she said it was. I can tell you that it is not and I took endless photos of why, which sadly I cannot upload to my review but I will outline the worst of it.

1. The Patio extends round the property and part of it had a 10 foot drop down onto a busy road. There were railings for safety but between these & the road the edges of the patio were crumbling and the tiles missing opening up a gap big enough for a child to potentially fall through. Other areas also had broken and sharp tiles, not good for children running around in bare feet .

2. Patio was filthy & covered with building materials, garden equipment, old pallets, chopped wood and old bits of cementitious board that could contain asbestos. The rubbish/recycling dumping area for all the gites is also right on the corner of this patio.

3. The swimming pool is not fenced, doesn't have a security cover or alarm so is completely illegal.

4. There is a 6 foot tall stone garden statue stood half on a plinth & half on two bricks & not secured in any way to stop it from falling, potentially on a child.

5. we had 3 power cuts due to a problem with the electrics within the property.

6. inside house, the balustrades of the stairs were broken in two places leaving holes big enough for a child to fall through.

7. In the lounge area there are two flights of tiled stairs down to a locked door with no stair gate to stop a curious child falling down.

8. The whole place could do with a thorough clean, we found a bookcase with dust so thick it looked like fur. Similar thick fur under the furniture & sofas which were also stained. It stank of dog, the seats of the stools in the kitchen looked like they'd been shredded by a cat. The pillows on the beds are stained.

Having paid in full before we got there we couldn't stay as it wasn't safe for our children unfortunately we could only find an alternative for the second week so asked for a refund for this. Adrianne agreed to a partial refund to our faces then refused on the email later and kept our money, over £500! so please beware, if you want a nice, relaxing holiday, don't book here!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests booked in a normal way as most others and asked for a cot and high chair, no other requests or explanations. On arrival they then confronted me with all sorts of safety demands because it turned out that their eldest child has Down Syndrome and has special needs as Mr Sedman said in his second phrase he addressed to me. On Owners Direct I clearly ticked the box that our property is not suitable for disabled people. Had I known this I would not have taken the booking and therefore they were not entitled to a refund because they hid the disability from me. It was their decision to leave early. Normally I do not comment in a strong way to criticism of our gites but here I must make an exception. First of all, all photos on OD and our website are 100% how it looks here. Before their departure I actually reported them to OD and was on the brink of calling the police because they vandalised inside and outside of our house and on departure day they opened the valve of the hot water tank in one of the other gites and the bathroom got flooded. They broke out two uprights in the staircase, they were a bit loose, but it required violence to break them out. They threw rocks on the road at night, thankfully no accidents because my husband tidied them up on his way home from a friend. In order to find dirt they lifted the super heavy sofa elements and could not put them back together properly and went up towards the attic where the dusty book shelf is. Furthermore they broke into cupboards closed with a padlock which we don't want guests to open. The other issues in this review are mainly born out of hatred, I will not comment any further.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Lovely countryside stay

  • 5 of 5

The Bergerie is perfect for one person or cosy for two. Comfortable, with everything you need. Wild orchids in the lawn and lots of quiet. it would be a bit too cold any earlier in the year, but lovely over Spring and Summer. Ariana and Duncan are great hosts, friendly but private. It's a hike up the hill, so you don't want to be lugging up heavy baggage, but it just makes it more private.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. Only one little addition, one can drive up to the Bergerie for (un)loading the luggage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

A hidden gem!

  • 4 of 5

A really cosy and well-equipped gite in a superb rural location yet just 10 minutes drive from the centre of Limoux. The gite was spotless and occupies an elevated position about 60 meters uphill from the main house with fantastic views up the valley to the village of Roquetaillade. David and Ariane were ideal hosts, friendly and helpful yet unobtrusive. This gite would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues but, as a couple in our late sixties, we had no problem at all and would certainly book again!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Lovely, relaxing, sunny holiday

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely holiday in the Bergerie. It suited us a couple. it is in a peaceful location and we often had the pool to ourselves. We were greeted by the owners,shown around and able to drive our car up to the property to unload on arrival and load before leaving. The owners were easy to contact and quick to resolve any queries or problems.

The gas BBQ was a great and we often used this if we did not fancy the drive to a nearby village or to the nearest town of Limoux. (NB no shop or restaurant in walking distance) sitting on the patio at night the views are stunning and the night sky so clear we could star spot.

The Bergerie has everything you need, the only things I would change is add a washing machine (instead of dishwasher) and have a larger Fridge. the bed was very comfortable, the shower powerful and the bathroom a good size with two sinks!

The Town of Limoux is about 10-15 minutes away and has 3 or 4 supermarkets, shops, regular markets and places to eat. It is also famous for 'Blanquette' which is fizzy white wine, which is very easy to drink!. Lots of lovely wine to be tried and lots of different places to visit within an hour of the property eg Carcassone, Canal du Midi, Cathar Castles, walks, the coast, rivers, Beautiful villages, markets etc. There is plenty of information at the Bergerie and a good tourist information office in Limoux.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the comprehensive review covering all aspects of our property and the region. There is only one little point I would like to clarify. Domaine du Moulin is 8 km away from Limoux which, for us, takes 8 minutes. For the unfamiliar it is comfortably drivable in 10 min.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


  • 1 of 5

Of all the places I've stayed with Owners Direct this is the only 1 that hasn't matched the reviews. Ariane did not respond to our phone call/message when we got lost. She didn't meet us like she did in other reviews and didn't apologise for it, nor apologise for not responding to our phone call. Guests in the main house were given instructions to show us where to go-thank goodness for them and helping us up to the Bergerie in the dark. I know it said there's a short walk to get to the house and not suitable for anyone with mobility problems - what it should say is - there is a hike up to this house and not suitable for anyone with medical problems especially heart or breathing difficulties. Ariane eventually visited the next morning. Health and safety isn't a priority as the land wasn't fenched off from the quarry next door, children beware it's a vast drop, the steps via the shorter route down to the pool or car are also not secure as Ariane informed me while going down them-so why not fix them or at least have a handrail. There was no telephone signal at all and the internet was intermittent. Something positive :-) the pool & area was lovely-but you had to clean the pool if down first as Ariane was not about(she did say she would call every day). Inside wasn't too bad, in the bedroom & bathroom there were little ants and/or woodworm but whatever it was it made a mess, I had to dust my bed down everyday as something was falling from the beams above, the same applied over the sink in the bathroom. There was rubbish under the wardrobe in the living room. Ariane has promised to wash the curtains and get new bed linen. Unfortunately I have run out of space to continue.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3

Limoux / Carcassonne area touring base.

  • 5 of 5

A very nice little gite, one of 3 completely separate facilities on site in addition to the Duncan family home, and with a well-maintained shared swimming pool. Located in the hills to the west of Limoux (some 10 minutes drive) and ideally situated for exploring the wider Carcassonne / eastern foothills of the Pyrenees area - the Med is not too far away, either, via the autoroute. A car is required - the gite is well out into the country with no local shops within walking distance, so supplies were collected when returning from day trips. The Bergerie is as shown on the website - a delightful little haven for 2 with all necessary facilities and with a good standard of decoration (fitting the rural ambiance of the property). It is surrounded by hills and with a nice glimpse down the vally of mountains (snow-covered summits in mid-June) visible from the patio/veranda (whilst enjoying an evening bbq!). There are also nice walks, both in the grounds of the property and slightly further afield. Be warned that the property is 30-50m uphill from the car parking area: repeated carrying of luggage and food supplies up to the gite on arrival after a long hot drive was tiring - and I consider myself fit for mid-60s- and slightly less so on departure. But all-in-all a very nice base for a relaxing week's stay in mid-June spent, spent in a beautiful area with always lots to do and see.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this comprehensive review. There is one little addition I would like to make. The Bergerie is accessible by car on arrival and departure day for (un)loading the car. We also help with the luggage, if needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1



Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals