OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

sensational apartment

Bedrooms 1
Space 53 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Heated Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Amarilla Golf, Tenerife - well positioned, close to airport

Modernised 1 bedroom apartment, recently updated, secure pool bar/cafe only 50 metres away. Apartment patio and poolside in full sun from late morning. Quiet location, benefiting from the hire of a car. Situated close to many cultural and sporting activities. Golf course and Marina and Bowls green, short 5 minute walk. Kite and Wind surfing 10 minute drive. Popular fishing village of Los Abrigos, with its local fish menus, only a 30 minute spectacular coastal walk. Close to airport connections, shops, cafe's and many local bars. The property is situated opposite the very popular Golf Amarilla. The apartment sleeps four. Popular beach resorts of Los Cristianos and Las Americas will take you 20 minutes by car or taxi.

Norman English
Member since: 2004
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 April, 2018

About Norman English

My wife and I are in our 50's and both work or worked in the professional sector. I own my own financial services company and she is a retired Health Visitor. We bought this apartment at the same time as two others as a family holiday home and have enjoyed many holidays with our two children and grandchildren. We rent our apartment our purely to help cover some of the expenses and to keep the property 'lived in' and aired. I have no hesitation in recommending this property as a quite family retreat close to all amenities, we want all our guests to treat this like your home whilst abroad and come to enjoy the comforts as mush as we do. We now have many returning guests which is a testimony to the homeliness of the apartment and complex.

Norman English purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Norman English chose San Miguel de Abona

Very close to Airport and the area at the time was part of a regeneration program. There was development due of a new Marina (now complete) and close to many golf facilities. Over the years the area has continued to improve and now is a very pleasant area to stay without the need of a car as long as you don't wish a late night life.

What makes this apartment unique

The privacy is the best thing about this apartment, if you stay near to your apartment you would never need to see anyone, and by walking 100 meters to the pool and Bar area, you can mix and mingle to your hearts content.

During the day, you can watch the aircraft approach the island and yet by night you never hear anything at all. This apartment, whilst we have owned since 2000, we did not stay at till 2009 and we have enjoyed this more than our other properties, in fact we have now sold our main holiday home preferring to keep this one. This apartment is idea for relaxing, walking or as a centre to explore the Island.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in San Miguel de Abona in Abona

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 53 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom with walk in shower and washing machine, very recently updated.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2/4 (1 Bedroom) + sofa bed Notes on bedrooms: 1 large bedroom with twin beds. Built in wardrobes, Vanity unit, dresser and chest of draws. Lots of space to store Golf clubs if required. Double sofa bed bed in living room. Safe in wardrobe.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • bay
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Please note child cot requires booking, however there is plenty of space for its erection. Internet is via free WiFi at pool bar, 50 meters from Apartment. Outside: Shared communal garden and pool. Spectacular views over the sea and golf course. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels changed once a week. Additional change can be organised at extra cost (prices on application). The property is always cleaned before your arrival. Iron & Iron board in apartment plus hair dryer. Other: Patio area, very quite and enjoys long periods of sun. Shared Swimming pool near by with access only via key. Lots of free car parking at rear of complex. Very nice bar in pool area open 11am till late, food available most of the day. Free WiFi at pool.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
38% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
sensational apartment
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews

A really lovely, spacious and comfortable apart

  • 4 of 5

We were really happy with the whole experience. We had sun inthe terrace from about 11 until sunset. It was in ideal location for walking and dining out. The only little negative was that the poolside beds are in need of replacing and it would be great if we had sunbed cushions. We will hopefully get back here again in November 18.

Many thanks for everything,


  • Review Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for that information, yes the bed are a few years old now, but there are covers in the wardrobe for your use, I am sorry if you did not find them, I must add that to the information pack. Norman
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Idyllic retreat

  • 4 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at "Normans' home from home. Initailly wary of a ground floor apartment on grounds of security, we grew to love it and security wasn't't an issue. After a long walk it was a great place to come home to as it was always cool and homely. Twin extremly comfortable twin beds with plenty of storage. A bathroom/washing machine room with one of those tropical rain shower heads was more than adequate. A cosy living room/kitchen area with all the essentials required for a good holiday. We even had or own BBC news station for the South West. The communal pool area was a good place to chill, only downside here was that it wasn't heated and some of the chairs had seen better days. That said, it was quiet and cleaned regularly. We would thoroughly recommend Normans retreat to anybody considering a stay in Golf Del Sur.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Martin for your kind comments, we have never had any security issues, most people don't even know we are there. Nice that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon Norman
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It's all about relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Five weeks of complete rest and relaxation. Having stayed in this area many times before, it's quiet, lovely walk along the coast. Easy use of buses if like us, leave others to take the strain! Lovely pool and a busy local bar just next door. We had fabulous weather visited Loro Park and Siam water park our Grandson loved it didn't want to go home. Says it all. Los Christianos has a great cake and coffee shop, lovely beach, boat trips to see the whales and Dolphins great time had by all.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the lovely review. I hope the apartment was as expected. Maybe see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cean and well furnished.

  • 3 of 5

Apartment ideally situated for bars and restaurants and for the marina. On site bar very reasonable and food very good. Enjoyed our stay very much indeed and will be booking again.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind response, never had 3 stars before, if you could advise us what improvements are required to increase our star rating that would be appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed the apartment, and look forward to you booking again in the future. Norman
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A week away

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this property even though the weather was rubbish! That's not Norman's fault though! The apartment is comfortable and Norman has obviously spent money in upgrading the kitchen and bathroom which is lovely. A slightly more powerful shower would finish it off but that's a minor grumble. The bedroom is massive with enough cupboard space to keep even my wife happy. The beds were supremely comfy too with real pillows and not the usual wafer thin efforts you find on holiday. A lovely big tv with some English language channels for the news in the morning. We never got the use of the pool on the complex as the weather didn't permit but we used the bar there a couple of times and that is the only real letdown. We ate breakfast there on the Sunday morning and had the Sunday roast in the evening. That night, my wife had terrible sickness and upset tummy. It was the only place we ate that day I'm afraid. Can't fault the girls working there though. Lovely bunch. All in all, a very relaxing holiday slightly let down by the weather and my wife's upset tummy. They are outwith Norman's control though. A lovely wee apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pity about the weather and upset tummy. The shower is the most powerful one the complex can have, no such thing is Tenerife as a power shower, mainly due to water pressure which is rubbish, in saying that, the shower is new and gives a good spray. We go out for 3 weeks at a time, and whilst I would prefer myself to have a bath, I find the shower more than adequate. I do agree however, if we can find someway of having a pressure shower, we would have one at an instance. Thanks for the comments Norman
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Outstanding value for money!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful spacious apartment which is in an excellent location.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the good words, we have worked hard to make this home form Home Norman
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
6 Kilometres
Tenerife South
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
On site
Nearest Ferry
15 Kilometres
Los Christianos
Nearest Golf
0.5 Kilometres
Amerilla Golf
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
On Site
Nearest Beach
0.5 Kilometres
Golf Del Sur
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

Wind and Kite surfing short drive. Marina with boat trips, PADI diving. Shops and full range of eating places. Short drive to cultural areas of Candeleria and the Pyramids of Guymar. Access to Mount Teide.

Outdoor Bowls green close by and extremley popular, Teide Bowl club meet 3 times a week and welcome new bowlers at modest cost.


A new marina is only 1km from the apartment. The Yellow submarine is based here and is a great experience and good entertainment. Amerilla Divers is a short walk. Full PADI courses available, for beginners or experienced.


Tenerife south airport is only around 10 minutes drive or short taxi drive. Motorway with full bus network is a 5 minute taxi drive. Many excursions can be booked locally with pick up within 2 minute walk. Walk to the quaint fishing village of Los Abrigos 20 minutes along coastal path. Spectacular views. Free car parking on complex.


Nearest village on doorstep. Los Christianos and Ls Americas only a short taxi ride of approx 10 euro. Bus route available in ajoining resort of Golf Del Sur 5 min walk.

Further Details:

The apartment is in a great location as it has quick access to the main road to the airport or South. Shops are nearby and there are some nice places to eat. This is a first class area to base a cultural or sporting activity holiday. Fiday Market for those who can't make it to the Sunday Market in Los Christianos.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in San Miguel de Abona, North Tenerife

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Christmas new year
21 Dec 2018 - 7 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £2 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £50

Booking Notes:
Prices are based on 2 persons. Extra laundry is priced at additional £20 PP Per week.
Booking can be via web or by telephone, we require a immediate non-returnable deposit. Full payment within six weeks of travel with your flight details. We also require a security deposit for the keys and breakages of £50 which is refunded on return of the key and apartment inspection.

Don't delay if possible, contact by phone best.

Changeover Day:
Changeover normally Friday but may flexible. Departure times can be flexible.

Notes on prices:
Additional discount available if you do own laundry (only for 2 week bookings or more)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question