OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Front Line Apartment With Superb Panoramic Views Over This Fantastic Bay

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Cala en Porter, Menorca - Unique Location Ensures Your Enjoyment And Privacy

Set in a unique location on the cliffs overlooking Cala en Porter's spectacular cove with its shallow, crystal clear, turquoise water and fine white sands. This is a view and sun lovers delight. Enjoy full sun and make yourself comfortable on the sun loungers, recliners.. Take a siesta or dine under the shade of the sun terrace's roofed area. This terrace will quickly become the centre piece of your stay. Located in the popular resort of Cala en Porter, the unique location means you can have privacy yet enjoy the local facilities as you wish. Local swimming pools are just 10m walk away and bars and restaurants are just far enough away to walk to but not to disturb you. This a superb 'chill out' location away from the ‘ordinary’. Availability, details and more pictures and videos on request.

The council provide a free WiFi service from the beach which is accessible form the terrace and the resort has 10+ bars proving free WiFi- we can advise how to best meet your needs.

More Details

Owner
Robert
Member since: 2004
Speaks English, German
Calendar last updated:
21 September, 2017

About Robert

We have known this Island for over 25 years and still discover something new each year. We know the best places to visit,eat at, what to avoid and how to enjoy ourselves on Menorca. In short we know the island very well :-)

We stay regularly in our property so take care of it, decorate and improve it annually.

Robert purchased this apartment in 1980

Why Robert chose Minorca (Menorca)

Cala en Porter beach remains one of the top beaches on the island. Its so natural ( and protected ). There is nothing to describe the beauty of the view. If you have walking issues please ask about the access steps.

What makes this apartment unique

The Apartment has uninterrupted front-line views over the bay and beach.

There are lovely walks via cliffs and valleys of immediate countryside to places of hidden beauty.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Frau Schiller : The view is priceless and the apartment is just right. Romantic, loved and charming. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.
Jun 2004
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Alaior in Àrea Metropolitana de Maó

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • beach
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Modern bathroom with corner shower and wc. Please note if you are 'Rotund' you will not fit into our shower. Sorry,but realistic.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with Double bed. Ceiling fan and builtin mosquito net. Built-in wardrobe. Window looks out onto terrace and cove views. Bedroom 2 small with 2 bunk beds for children/adults. Drawers and hanging space - Can be used as dressing room when only two occupy.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • caves
  • forests
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: We have the worlds largest wide screen from the terrace - Menorca TV. The second bedroom is set against the cliff face and benefits from natural air flows from cliff walls as does the whole place when rear windows and terrace doors are open. There are ceiling fans in the lounge and main bedroom for July/August months but the cliffs are generally cooler so air-conditioning is not needed. There is a small DVD collection ( adults and childrens titles english/german ), and book (english/german ) library. As music lovers we have a small but wide selection of CDs ( pop,rock,classical and lounge) to enjoy or connect up your mp3 player to our stereo or wireless headphones. TV and Hi-Fi also has USB stick inputs. Outside: There a just a handful of places at Cala en Porter with such amazing views. We have installed sun blocking curtains on the terrace so you can make an additional shaded relaxation area. There is a safety guard available that parents can place across the width of the terrace if they are worried about smaller children. Ask for details. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bed linen and hand towels are provided and changed weekly. Please bring your own beach towels or cheap ones can be bought in the island supermarkets/markets. Other: There are Spanish and English language TV with Children's programmes (we cannot guarantee signal strength). DVD and Book library for guests use. Note UK sat is impossible to receive in Menorca.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Front Line Apartment With Superb Panoramic Views Over This Fantastic Bay
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 7 reviews
5

Fabulous- Fantastic Views

  • 5 of 5

Stayed in this lovely apartment at the end of August with hubby and 2 teenage sons. Very clean and compact, but had all the essentials you need, 2 ring cooker, toaster, but no kettle, all utensils needed for self catering.Hairdryer and even a washing machine , iron and board. TV in lounge with several DVD's to watch. Only 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels, so washing machine came in handy with there being four of us. The shower room is small but very clean . There is a ceiling fan in main bedroom and lounge, which provided some cool air, but it was very warm in apartment , but we did arrive in the middle of a heatwave , approx 35C!! But the main attraction of this apartment is the huge fantastic terrace over looking the main beach ( beautiful , lovely sand with fantastic clear turquoise waters )and panoramic view of the med. What a view to wake up to every morning. There are quite a few steps to get down to the apartment (53), but not a problem for us and well worth it to see those fantastic views. We had a lovely week here and a great base to explore Menorca which is a beautiful Island. We would definatley return and communication with the owner Jon was great. Look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you and your Family enjoyed the stay and look forward to your return. A quick email/call would have sorted out the (missing) kettle and towels. There should have been 1 bath ,1 handtowel PER person (apologies). The kitchen is being re-worked in Winter. Tip keep the rear windows open as there is a natural cooling air flow ( especially in a heatwave ) which lowers the interior temp. 3-5 Degrees. AC is very unhealthy so I will not install it :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It's all about the outside space

  • 5 of 5

nice tidy apartment, maybe not ideal for older people or young families just because of the steps down to it...but if you can make the effort the views alone are worth it

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I always check with older and younger family enquirers re the steps and advise against as appropriate...but somethings in life are worth it :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wow! 5 Star views and very relaxing - Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5

Something different. Brilliant apartment with fabulous big terrace and relaxing seating. Time to think.

Very clean and nicely furnished to keep it cool and airy ( one of my hang ups with some places ) . Romantic Bedroom :-)

May weather was beautiful . Cala en Porter is thankfully not a Hotel Bunker

Great value, will be back again !

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wow! Great apartment,great location

  • 5 of 5

Lovely apartment and terrific location , totally relaxing and everything we needed for stay. Nice touches inside/outside and great Info from the owner for our walks and sightseeing.

The location hits the spot , private but still close to what you need. Terrace is super relaxing with bags of space and the bay view and the stars at night are just wow!

Very clean, well looked after. This was our second stay.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
2

Excellent View ..........

  • 2 of 5

The view and terrace are amazing but that's it. Apartment wasn't cleaned until 5pm. Steps up and down to apartment are awful and definitely not suitable for children. Is no complimentary WiFi as stated twice on sight! Shower good if slim and 4' tall as hose was way too low, shower broken first day so contacted housekeeper, didn't arrive at time stated the next day (got up early) though when fixed, water pressure excellent, but hardly any ventilation. Toilet flush button kept coming off. Bunk beds in 2nd bedroom very compact and claustrophobic as set in cliff wall. Clothes dryer on balcony fell to bits when tried to put it up. Have to get on hands and knees to access safe in bedroom wardrobe. Bed linen and towels not good as nothing matched and smelly. Ants...to be expected ...all over. Electric tripped several times every day at about 8am. Cupboard hanging off wall. Is a small tool kit in kitchen for you to do any minor diy jobs!! So sorry but is outside that makes it but then you need a good standard of indoor living too. A very tired apartment and don't expect to do own diy jobs. Was very disappointed. The terrace and view are exceptional hence the 2 stars.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Apologies that your holiday was affected. I would like to address points individually but reiterate that in a private home it is essential that concerns and problems are raised while resident when things can be put right so guests can enjoy their holiday. Cleaning times: We accommodate arr/dep times as much as possible. Per rental contract , presented at booking, we advise that unless otherwise possible the apartment is available to enter fully cleaned only at 16:30 which accommodates staying later on departure day. I also corresponded with you that my housekeeper had some family issues that meant she would not be able to clean any earlier but had full access prior to cleaning completion - your reply indicated that this was okay. Steps and suitability for children: The unique location view necessitates steps. I always query enquirers who have young children,are older or with walking difficulties and advise them responsibly. Full photos are available to view for people to make their own decision Wifi: My apologies but OD determine how information is presented. I have now removed this as my explanatory note was not being displayed. Shower: As the water pressure 100m down the cliff face can be very high and variable the shower head had been deliberately made so that you have to hold it not 'stand' under a fixed point to prevent excess water pressure causing cubicle leaks and surprises - we will review the system Shower ventilation - We shall review all though there is a window which can be opened in addition to the fan. Clothes dryer Now replaced-previous guest? had broken this and not informed anyone - Apologies, it would have been immediately replaced had you informed us. Safe location: This had been deliberately positioned so it is not obvious to thieves,but take onboard your comments Bed linen and towels My apologies this was not acceptable as we source good quality - Have taken up with Housekeeper. Electric - should NOT be happening. Again speak to us promptly - I will investigate if Electric company at fault hanging 'Cupboard' - I think you are referring to a wall piece that came adrift to hold an aesthetic door in-front of washing machine? ie not a cupboard ( as I have now seen a photo ) again had you reported it this would have been attended too swiftly. Sorry but I find the comment 'interior very tired ' to be somewhat 'emotionalised' , neither factual and at odds with feedback from many past guests
Did you find this review helpful?
1 5
Brackley, Northants
4

Nice apartment with breath taking views

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely holiday in this apartment. The veiws from the terrace really do the trick in making you switch off and relax. The terrace has the sun from around midday until the sun goes down. A real private, quiet sun trap. The apartment had everything we needed and was very well equipped.

The only disappointment was that the apartment was not cleaned at all well on our arrival. The downside was that there are 53 steps to the apartment and this felt a little bit like boot camp in the heat. But we still agreed that the terrace & the views out weighed the steps.

Would definately consider returning to this lovely apartment. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Wendy. re cleaning I do stress that if any problems occur to contact me/housekeeper so they can be put right straight away. Not aware what the issue was but apologies for this one off.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Kilometres
Mahon
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Kilometres
All in Village
Nearest Ferry
15 Kilometres
Mahon
Nearest Golf
20 Kilometres
Son Parc
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Kilometres
All in Village
Nearest Beach
0.5 Kilometres
Cala en Porter
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

Menorca in general is a delight for those who love sun, sea and landscapes with a style of life to be enjoyed, rather than rushed. Spring is a fabulous time to visit with vivid colours, warm sunny skies and lower flight, accommodation and restaurant prices!

Coast/Beach:

Cala D'en Porter is in our opinion one of the most scenic beaches and absolutely the best children's beach on the island. It's never full and it is very deep, backing onto a beautiful nature reserve - which gives you a wonderful nightly "frog chorus" against the audio background of the water in the bay. The water is very calm due to it being in a deep cove and the water quality is stunningly clear and extremely shallow making it warm with superb sandy bottom and superb snorkeling along the cove.

Travel:

Mahon airport is a 15 min drive away. Hire car is not essential and there are regularly bus services to the capital Mahon 1.70 Euro one way (2017), but the island has so much to offer I recommend a hire car which we can also arrange on your behalf from people you can trust. Taxi fare to/from airport one way is around 22 Euro (2017).

Distances:

The charming historical town of Alaior is just a few kilometers away. Much better food shopping than in resort and some good restaurants with great lunch time menus.

Further Details:

WiFi 2018- Please ask. Swimming pools, are very expensive due to the local water charges. There is a good alternative. There is a lovely swimming pool is just 10m walk away and several others within walking distance which you can use for the price of a coffee i.e. 1 Euro. Ask us for details.

Cala en Porter is set in stunning countryside with signed walks in lush valleys, along cliffs to coves and idyllic country lanes to explore on foot or bicycle

Calan Porter has 4 supermarkets (3 with free delivery), several souvenir ,summer clothes shops, a summer weekly market, a bank, Chemist, Good selection of restaurants and bars (some have swimming pools adjacent that you can use), car & MTB hire, soft play,bouncy castles etc for small children) and 2 communal play areas for older children.

Cala en Porter is an activity centre for Kayaking, Snorkeling,cycling and with a frequent bus service connects with arguably the best areas of Menorca making it a brilliant base.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Alaior, Balearic Islands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
September
29 Aug 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£455
for 7 nights
£455
 
 
October
1 Oct 2017 - 12 Nov 2017
5 night minimum stay
£246
for 5 nights
£345
 
 
Springtime
1 Mar 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£211
for 5 nights
£295
 
 
Early Summer Sun
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£232
for 5 nights
£325
 
 
May
1 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
5 night minimum stay
£261
for 5 nights
£365
 
 
June
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£495
for 7 nights
£495
 
 
High Season
1 Jul 2018 - 8 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£565
for 7 nights
£565
 
 
Peak Season
9 Jul 2018 - 26 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
Mid Season
27 Aug 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
End of Season
1 Oct 2018 - 18 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£365
for 7 nights
£365
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£196
for 5 nights
£275
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Check availability with us or at our website. I will then hold the place - I can help with flights and hire car advice if required. You will receive full payment receipts and a confirmation invoice.

Changeover Day:
Sundays, Thursdays or Fridays usually but we can be flexible. Please ask. If your dates leave a gap of less than 7 days please don't be offended if we decline. Sorry, no Tuesday flights in main season.

Notes on prices:
Couples: we offer a reduced rate for just two guests (not in July and August ) - deduct £30/week from the prices. Prices shown are for stays of 10 days or more. For stays of less than 10 days we request a supplement of £45 per stay.

Enjoy springtime 2016 for a wonderful experience with early sunshine and stunning nature.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable