OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Lake View House and Cottage with Pool and Tennis Court

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Iznajar, Cordoba, Andalucia

Casa de la Vista is a large renovated Spanish finca consisting of a 4 bedroom house with an attached private self contained 2 bedroom cottage. In theory both are available to rent, but never both at the same time. The finca is set at the end of a private road just 1km from the main road but a life time away in terms of peace and tranquility. It is blessed with some of the most breathtaking views of the Lake of Iznajar you will find in the area. Built on the eastern side of a valley, the property has full sun throughout the day but cools down in the evening as the sun goes behind the hill. It also benefits from cool breezes from off the lake. The Cottage has been built and decorated to a very high standard in order to provide our guests with the space and conveniences expected from a quality home. It is an ideal central location from which to explore cities such as Cordoba, Granada, Seville and Malaga or the historic villages and towns of the Subbeticca and The Washington Irvine route.


Owner
tim
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English, French, German, Spanish
Calendar last updated:
3 December, 2017

About tim

Born in the UK rather a long time ago. I am still living in the UK but in Spain as much as is possible. I am retired now but before I used to work in the theatre - a career that took me all over the world.

tim purchased this cottage in 2006

Why tim chose Iznájar

The area round the lake at Iznajar stands out as one of the most beautiful of inland Andalucia. The dramatic backdrop of the mountains, the sparkling water of the lake, the ever-changing light as the sun moves across the landscape are things of which I could never tire.

The peace and quiet up here are remarkable, one feels miles from the hectic pace of the coast but at the same time it is close enough to the airports of Malaga and Granada, the shops of Antequera and sits snugly almost in the centre of all the tourist sites of Andalucia.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"A very warm welcome and a wonderful stay in this magical spot". E.H Melbourne, Aus

"A hidden and unexpected gem in the mountains with stunning views. Hope we will be back soon!" R. C. Norfolk. UK
Jan 2004
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
Malaga
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Los Caminos
Nearest Golf
30 Kilometres
Antequera
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
Antequera
Nearest Motorway
14 Kilometres
A92
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Casa Juani
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Iznajar
Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

Walking, biking, fishing, painting.

Coast/Beach:

45 minutes from the coast and 5 minutes from the lakeside beach and bar.

Travel:

50 minutes from Malaga airport, slightly less from the smaller airport of Granada.

Distances:

Malaga 50 mins - large commercial city with historical centre.

Granada 50 mins - One of the most beautiful cities in Spain, a tour of the Alhambra is a must.

Cordoba 90 mins - a wonderful historical centrel worth visiting for the mezquita alone.

Sevilla (120 minutes) the largest cathedral in Europe.

Antequera, (30 minutes) a charming Baroque town with mush to visit including the Museum and the prehistoric Dolmens.

Priego de Cordoba (40 minutes) another remarkable Baroque town

Further Details:

Nestled in the hills of Andalucian countryside lies the sleepy town of Iznajar on its rock in the middle of the lake. Iznajar could not be better placed on the point where the Provinces of Malaga, Granada and Cordoba meet. Just 50 minutes from the bustling coast of the Costa del Sol and within an hour of Malaga airport, Iznajar is attracting an ever increasing number of people looking for a tranquil and stress free way of life and with excellent motorway links all within easy reach of the bright city lights.

The area is surrounded by an abundance of interesting and historical villages and towns and Iznajar itself sports one of the oldest Moorish castles in the region as well as an ancient church and historic library. To eat out in the area you are spoiled for choice as Iznajar and the surrounding area has a wealth of traditional tapas bars and restaurants. Whether you would like to dine at the world famous La Bobidilla Hotel (favourite stay for the likes of King Juan Carlos, Tom Cruise and honeymoon hotel for Brad Pitt and wife) or you would like to mix with some of the locals in a local bar the choice is endless.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Iznájar in Subbética

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 17:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • lake
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom with shower, basin and WC.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , I also have a cot for infants as well as a high chair
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with double bed, chest of drawers, wardrobe etc. Juliette balcony with breathtaking view of lake and mountains. 2nd bedroom has twin beds as well as wardrobe, chest of drawers etc. All beds with Eqyptian cotton and goose feather pillows
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Air-conditioning, (but be aware of the vagaries of Spanish electricity in the countryside) amazing lake views, tennis court, large private terrace, wood burning stove, sun loungers, swing chair and full patio set, BBQ, luxury pool, 3 acres of mountainside to explore, brand new and modern conveniences, quiet location where the silence is deafening, minutes from the historic town of Iznajar, minutes from the lake beach with water sports and bar and a warm and friendly greeting. Outside: Outside: The cottage has its own private terrace and access. The terraces along with the grounds are dotted with a range of hardy plants, fruit trees and of course the mandatory olive trees. Natural shaded areas can be found by taking a careful walk around the land or just by sitting on your own terrace. Why not relax on one of the sun beds. Alternatively take a dip in the private swimming pool (10x4m) (owners do not use when we have guests) with underwater lighting, shower and Roman steps at one end for easy access. Guests have free use of the TENNIS COURT. The large terrace area in which the pool is situated is decorated in traditional tiles (non slip) and edged in traditional black ironwork railings. The terrace area, which is 20m x 10m (inclusive of pool) looks out over the lake. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included, the property is cleaned weekly and linen is changed once a week, towels are changed twice a week. Further changes need only be requested. We a have a cot for babies complete with linen and also a high chair. Other: Air conditioning and wood burning stove.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Lake View House and Cottage with Pool and Tennis Court
average rating of 4.611111 based on 19 reviews
4

Great location for visiting historical cities.

  • 4 of 5

Peaceful and beautiful location. Tim was an attentive host, chilled cava and home grown olive oil greatly appreciated. Air con in the bedroom would make the property even better.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This has been the hottest summer on record. Air con all round would have made it more tolerable, but unfortunately the local electricity would not support it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5

The place was fab, weather was good. Very clean cottage. The location is rural far from shops but thats ideal for families who want privacy, peace and quiet. Tim was very hospitable and helpful. Beautiful view from the cottage and nearest shop was 3 km away. Overall, lovely holiday ☀️❤️.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having these guests here
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Misleading Ad

  • 1 of 5

We have just had an unforgettable holiday-for all the wrong reasons. We visited this property in August 2017. The area was suffering a heat wave (late 30-early 40's day and night) and due to property design it was hotter inside. Whilst the ad does mention that there is a/c which can be at the mercy of local electricity supply it doesn't mention that the host and his guide book instruct that it cannot to be used for more than forty minutes as it will trip his electricity circuit. The a/c unit was undersized and in fact did not work anyway. We arrived on Sunday and it was fixed on Thursday. We needed to leave doors and windows open as recommended by host to help with the heat which then led to a rat infestation. The rats in the flat were dealt with promptly by the host and his large Alsatian dogs who were friendly but unexpected. However there were still rats outside who would visit the bbq and patio and meant leaving doors and windows open was not an option. Wi-fi is for emails only-not an issue for us but may be for some. The flat only a small larder fridge which is not large enough for a family or one that would like ice-cream on their hols. We were instructed by host not to jump in pool as it splashes and the water evaporates and is costly to replace-not great as we had children. The pool was also a little murky due to the previous guests using the wrong suntan lotion. You cannot use the pool after dusk as there are no working lights and the host rules say, 'no' which in such heat and no a/c would have been such a help.The pool is accessible via a path with steep stairs around the back of the property and not near the flat so again not ideal for children. The tennis court is not full size and in need of repair and has a definite tilt to it, being built on a hillside. The courtyard garden in the advert is private and not included in the rental. We left and booked into a hotel for a few nights to allow our hosts time to rectify the a/c and rat problems. With only intermittent communication from them we learnt late on Thursday night we could return to the flat. When we requested some compensation for hotel costs we had incurred we had our rental cost returned in full and were evicted! It was also difficult to arrange to collect our belongings from the apartment as the owners were busy with appointments.

Our family has used owners direct for many years and have never had cause to write a poor review but are now reluctant to book again with them.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The malicious lies in this review do not deserve a response, but I would just like to point out how easy it is to arrange rats in the middle of the countryside. Just leave the BBQ open and full of food. Then video the result and demand a full refund. However, I take on board her remarks about the refrigerator and will upgrade it for next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Encinitas, CA
5

Relaxing Views

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week at this cottage. The views from the outside table are wonderful as well as the pool area. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen allowed us to make some incredible meals which we enjoyed outside. Tim was incredibly helpful with where to go and what to do. The wifi is weak but Tim is working on improving it and I think the area in general doesn't offer the best reception. Overall it was a great week at the cottage and the visiting the surrounding area. Scott

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have indeed upgraded the WiFi to a more expensive packet. This is still only suitable for emails, Internet researches and looking at newspapers (providing that the advert blocker is used), but I believe this to be normal for small establishments such as mine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathtakingly beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the cottage to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The holiday was very relaxing, the cottage had everything we needed, the private terrace was delightful and the views from the pool are simply stunning. Tim and Frances are lovely people who truly appreciate their little bit of heaven.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Rural delight

  • 5 of 5

Tim has a property with views to die for. An evening sitting on one of his terraces listening to the local wildlife is a wonderful holiday moment.

You need a car. But then you can access Granada, Cordoba and multiple villages with history and charm.

An entertaining and helpful host, who made us feel welcome and yet provided privacy.

I'd certainly return, everything you need is available.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delightful guests
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Iznájar, Cordoba Province

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Spring
25 Mar 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£150
for 3 nights
£350
 
 
Early Summer
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£165
for 3 nights
£385
 
 
Early High season
1 Jul 2018 - 15 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£199
for 3 nights
£465
 
 
High Season
16 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£545
for 7 nights
£545
 
 
Early Autumn
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£165
for 3 nights
£385
 
 
Late Autumn
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£150
for 3 nights
£350
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
My prices are quoted in pounds. With the present fluidity of the Euro/Pound relationship, I am happy to quote prices in Euros if preferred.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is normally Saturday, but I am happy to accommodate both other days and also stays of more than one week and less than two.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable