OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Peaceful countryside villa with panoramic ocean views in a lovely walled garden

Overview

Property

Updated: 16-Nov-2016
Villa in Lagos, Western Algarve, Portugal, 4401/AL - Main House Sleeps 6 In 3 Bedrooms, Option Of Extra Bedroom In Annex Sleeping 2 More People

There cannot be many villas in or around Lagos that combine all the following features. Peaceful countryside location for utter relaxation,you literally could hear a pin drop! Panoramic views over the Bay of Lagos at the front; Monchique hills at the side and the village of Portelas at the back. Easy access to the splendid old town of Lagos with its multitude of restaurants and bars - just 1 mile to the very centre, less to the Marina, plus a private full sized pool (10m x 5m) with spacious terraces, set in a lovely secure walled garden with large grassed area for ball games. Pool heating is available at a cost of £100pw. Daily maid to deal with all the chores, so Mum can have a holiday too. Very baby friendly, we provide all the kit to lighten your load - cot / play pen, high chair, digital baby monitor, steriliser and bottle warmer, even a few toys and a potty! Our villa has been inspected and awarded it's tourist licence 4401/AL.

WiFi. The new motor racing track is just 1 stop down the motorway, but thankfully out of earshot!

All channels of BBC,ITV,4,5 and many more besides, via broadband. There is also a catch-up facility.

All bedrooms on ground floor, plus 2 bathrooms, 1 ensuite, and downstairs kitchenette for poolside drinks and BBQ crockery. Marble stairs lead to upstairs sitting room with dining area and main kitchen. Also a. large terrace with outdoor eating area with fantastic views.

Outdoors is a large pool surrounded by spacious terraces, a built in BBQ, a pergola providing a shady area and a large lawn suitable for ball games. At the back of the house is a car park and a citrus fruit orchard, los of lemons for your G & T's!

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I have lived with my husband in Weybridge for over 30 years. Our daughter and husband live nearby with their young son and baby daughter. I was a Brown Owl for 19 years (!) and also a Governor of a special school. I now run a beginners bridge group for U3A, and very occasionally walk dogs for the Cinnamon Trust. We have recently acquired a middle aged Norfolk terrier called Peggy, who is a little gem

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a marvellous holiday! So relaxing, the villa was great and the views remarkable. We couldn't get used to the peace and quiet - just the sound of birds. We weren't pestered or bitten by mosquitos either. We both said this was the best villa we have ever stayed in and as we love Lagos & the area so much we would like to book the villa again next year. Mr & Mrs W. Thornton-Cleveleys.



We had a great holiday and loved the house,pool, garden and Lagos. Your recommendations all proved to be very reliable - almost to the point of not trying anywhere not on the list!

Mr. & Mrs S. Henfield



Our first visit to Miradouro, situated in a great position which allows an easy walk downhill into the town at night with a taxi back. Local notes very helpful and the pool and gardens very relaxing. Mr. & Mrs. W. Nottingham



What a wonderful time yet again, villa as good as ever and so many beautiful beaches. Antonia is an absolute star doing lots of baby sitting. Mr & Mrs M Winchester.
Dec 2001
  • 1 of 1

8 Reviews

4.4
based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

3

Stunning views great outdoor space but villa tired

  • 3 of 5

I loved the views and peaceful location and the pool is great however it is in need of a deep clean and updating.

The curtains in my bedroom we so old they were stained darker at the position of opening from years of never being washed. The top of the head boards were caked in thick dust that had been there years. The bath mat looked like it had not been changed since the 80's and my sons bedding had holes in it. Some of the lamps didn't work in the lounge and the wires were all frayed. I'm by no means a clean freak I would have just expected a higher standard for the price.

Wifi did not work and the management company told us to buy a dongle even though villa is advertised as having wifi, then we discovered by chance that the password in the visitors info is incorrect!

If you want a quiet out of the way villa with fantastic outdoor space it's for you but don't expect luxury on the inside.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautifully located villa

  • 3 of 5

The villa was in a wonderful location, close to Lagos with amazing views. The high points were definitely the gardens and the pool. The villa was extremely quiet at night and only birdsong during the day. Plenty of space for our two teenage boys. Lagos is very picturesque and the Portuguese are extremely friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Very pleased to know you had a good holiday. It is great when our guests love the villa as much as we do! Best wishes, Doreen
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Home from home....but with the sun!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here for a long weekend. I have been to lagos many times. The old town is beautiful, steeped in history with cobble streets. The seafood here is second to none. There is a fish market if you can get up early enough! Back at the villa we bbq'd our fish, it was delicious. The rooms are clean and tidy. But best of all is the maid service...you don't even have to make your beds or unpack the dishwasher! The views from the upstairs lounge and balcony are spectacular. And you can pick your own oranges and lemons from the orchard. Would thoroughly recommend 👍

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great villa

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed everything about the villa, it was within walking distance of both Lagos and Portelas village (about 1.5km from both). We drove down from Lisbon airport using the fantastic motorways which are extremely quiet as the locals won't pay the tolls to use them. We got on the motorway just outside of Lisbon and left it on the outskirts of Lagos. The villa was very clean and well equipped with everything we needed for our holiday. The maid who came in was absolutely brilliant and nothing was to much trouble for her(she even helped when we were doing the washing up). There are a couple of small bars in Portelas and the Mendes is a bar/restaurant which was excellent. There is also a good tapas restaurant O Marafado which is very close to the villa. We were unsure as to wether we would need the annexe as there were two couples in our party, Doreen the owner allowed us to pay for the annexe but said that if we didn't use it she would refund our money, we decided not to use the annexe and informed Doreen who sent us a refund (it was waiting for me when I got home). All in all would definitely recommend this villa to either couples or for a family holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This does demonstrate how flexible our bookings can be. You can add or deduct from your original booking at any time if your party expands or reduces. So pleased to know it all works and these visitors enjoyed their holiday. Doreen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glasgow
5

Wonderful! We can't wait to return!

  • 5 of 5

Having been to Lagos previously we knew the area reasonably well and knew what we were looking for in terms of a Villa so when we found Casa Miradoura we researched it extensively, and having spoken to the very helpful and charming Mrs Purefoy and I am delighted to say despite having very high expectations, we were not disappointed ! This villa delivers all it promises and more! The pool and outside area along with the beautiful gardens are spacious and very well kept, we are a large family party consisting of 8 adults and we all had sufficient space and privacy. The views from the balcony upstairs are simply beautiful, the villa is set within very peaceful, quiet and secluded countryside yet only a short walk (10/15) minutes from Lagos town, or a short taxi journey (6 euro). Antonia the maid is a lovely lady who works diligently and discretely and was a very, very welcome addition. In our 20 odd years or renting apartments and villas in Europe, this is our favourite! We have already booked to return next year! Enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Yorkshire
4

Excellent property

  • 4 of 5

We felt the property was accurately described on the website and was clean and well maintained. We loved the pool area and the layout of the villa - great views from the upstairs terracing. The Manager was excellent and available when required. The garden area is beautiful and very well maintained. We loved the bougainvillea area. There was no footpath for a goodly part of the stretch of the main road into Lagos from the villa and it was not well lit at night but, in the main it was not a bad walk down but better to get a taxi home! A few times we took the car down into Lagos in an evening, parked up and came home in a taxi. Then went back the following morning to pick up the car! Loved Lagos - the Marina and old town and all the restaurants - particularly Reis and Adega da Marina. Would return anytime.

d.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

From the Owner

We first visited the Algarve in 1979 and instantly fell in love with the area and the people. We first stayed in Carvoeira and considered buying there but sadly realised that this charming little fishing village was about to be swamped by development. We then explored further west and after several visits to the area decided that Lagos was sufficiently large and predominantly Portuguese to avoid being swallowed up by developments. Then began the search for a villa nearby rather than in the town itself which can be noisy with barking dogs and late night bars etc.! We were extremely lucky in that the first villa sent to us was in just the right location, just 1 mile from the very centre of town with fantastic panoramic views of the ocean and mountains and yet in the peaceful countryside.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Faro at 78 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : portelas at 0.5 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Boa Vista at 3 Kilometres Nearest Train : Lagos at 1.5 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : A22 at 3 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : marafado at 0.5 Kilometres Nearest Beach : meia praia at 1.5 Kilometres Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

The nearest beach is 1.5km away. The famous Meia Praia beach can be reached by ferry boat from the promenade or from one of the many car parks dotted along the length of the beach. On the other side of town is the most photographed beach on the Algarve - Praia Dona Anna with its incredible rock formations. There are numerous beaches along the coast of every shape and size. The wonderful west coast beaches are within easy reach, the secret cove of Ingrina, the vast Castelejo and Amado for surfers

Travel:

Faro airport is 78km (approx. 45 mins drive) via Motorway A22 to Lagos.

Car hire is strongly recommended for convenience, but not absolutely essential.

Distances:

Lagos town: 1.5km. Portelas village: 0.5km. Praia da Luz: 7km. Burgau: 12km. Sagres: 28km.

Further Details:

Miradouro is very well furnished and equipped with telephone, Wi FI, digital English TV,including BBC, ITV etc. CD/cassette player, DVD player, personal safe, hairdryer and a small library of paperback books. There are ceiling fans for the summer months. It has a distinctly Portuguese flavour as we have furnished and decorated with the works of local craftsmen wherever possible whilst still providing all 'mod cons', personal safe, dishwasher, microwave AND a daily maid to deal with all household chores so Mum can have a holiday too!

Lagos (pronounced Lah-Gosh!) is quite different to most other Algarve resorts. This is no purpose built resort nor over-developed fishing village, but an ancient Portuguese town, its heritage well preserved by the local council. Tourism now plays an important part in its prosperity but by no means overwhelms it. The old men still gather to set the world to rights and you need only stroll a short way from the centre to find rambling cobbled streets or the old city walls surrounding the town. The town centre is just 1.5km away.

Visit the new marina to admire the yachts, stroll along the palm fringed promenade overlooking the fishing harbour and the old Fort jutting out into the sea, the old slave market (now an art gallery) and the Church of Santo Antonio with its regional museum. It is the favourite holiday town for the Portuguese themselves, which ensures good value for money and Portugal itself is one of the cheapest countries in Europe. In short, it is a spacious Portuguese town with something for everyone. There are numerous restaurants to suit all pockets and tastes, various supermarkets and all varieties of shops.

In and around Lagos are facilities for sailing, windsurfing, surf boarding, waterskiing, scuba-diving, deep sea fishing, boat trips, tennis, squash, riding , dolphin watching and, for the really adventurous, microlight flying! A comprehensive guide to local facilities is sent to all booking the villa.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 10
30 Oct 2016 - 30 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£345
for 7 nights
£345
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 11
1 Apr 2017 - 14 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£895
for 7 nights
£895
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 12
15 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 13
27 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,095
for 7 nights
£1,095
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £31 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 14
1 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,295
for 7 nights
£1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £37 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 15
15 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,495
for 7 nights
£1,495
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £43 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 16
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,295
for 7 nights
£1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £37 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 17
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,095
for 7 nights
£1,095
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £31 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 18
30 Sep 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest
 
Rate 19
28 Oct 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£345
for 7 nights
£345
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
A deposit of £100pw will secure the booking with the balance to be paid not later than 8 weeks before departure. A refundable security deposit of £100 is taken on arrival to cover keys and breakages. This can be paid by cheque with a guarantee card.

Changeover Day:
Saturday preferred during the summer. Variable during the winter. The villa is available from 2.00pm on the day of arrival to 10.00am on day of departure to enable the maid to do a really good clean between lets.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK Pounds.
Summer prices (Easter-October) are for up to 6 people. Supplement for extra bedroom is 20% of appropriate rental. Pool heating is available at a cost of £100pw.
Winter prices (November-March) the price shown is for long lets of 6 weeks or more. 3-5 weeks is £395pw; 1-2 weeks is £455. Single week lets including Christmas or New Year, add £150pw, this does not apply to longer lets. Winter lets include winter sitting room with log fire.

Rate 11 and Rate 19.
- The rate of £345.00 is for long let of 6 weeks or more.
- For 3-4 weeks the rental is £395.00 pounds.
- For 1-2 weeks is £455.00.

Additional Charge:
- The main house sleeps 6 people, for larger parties the annex which sleeps an additional 2 people is available for 20% more.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 16-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

I doubt there are many villas in or around Lagos that combine convenience of access to the many shops, bars and restaurants the town has to offer, with such blissful peace and quiet. We sit gazing at the views for hours both day and night and never tire of returning to Miradouro. The children love the pool,which can be heated in early and late season at extra charge when the water temperature is a mite too chilly except for the most hardy. Antonia, the maid, takes care of all the household chores, and comes in every morning. Very few villas have a daily maid anymore but Antonia has been with us right from the start and will baby sit at extra charge. The villa is very baby friendly as we provide cot, high chair, monitor, bottle warmer, steriliser, even a few toys and a potty!

Property Type

  • villa

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • rural

Attractions

  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, ensuite to bedroom4
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, recently renovated
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, ensuite to master bedroom, recently renovated
  • En-suite bathroom to master bedroom. 2nd bathroom. Cloakroom. Additional en suite bathroom to 4th bedroom when booked.

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed, 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6/8 (3/4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with twin beds and sliding patio doors to pool terrace. Bedroom 2 with twin beds, sliding patio doors to pool terrace. Bedroom 3 with twin beds. All bedrooms have large fitted wardrobes and are furnished with hand painted furniture. Bedroom 4 in the annex with twin beds which may be booked for 20% surcharge for larger parties.

Outside

  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: The bedrooms are all on the ground floor. The main kitchen and sitting room are on the 1st floor. All bedrooms have large fitted wardrobes and hand-painted furniture from the Alentejo region of Portugal. Winter lets include use of winter sitting room with slow burning log fire. The villa is equipped with fan heaters,underfloor heating in bathrooms and electric blankets. It has a current gas safety certificate. If you wish to use the baby kit, please take your own bottles and teats. . Tourist licence. It is now the law that all rented properties must have a tourist licence and all health and safety requirements must be installed. Some if these may seem a little silly i.e. a large sign proclaiming 'that a life guard is not on duty' - profoundly disappointing those expecting a bay watch babe!- however it is most important that this licence be obtained otherwise the property can be closed down. Our villa has been awarded it's licence alojamento local. Outside: Walled front garden very secure for children, with private kidney shaped pool (10m x 5m) surrounded by large terraces with sunbeds, table, chairs and built-in barbecue. Pool heating is available at a cost of £100pw. Large lawned area ideal for throwing frisbees around and pergola providing shady area. Car park at rear with citrus orchard in back garden - lots of lemons for your gin and tonics! There are 8 sunbeds and mattresses, a large outdoor table and 8 chairs. Utility Room: The utility room has a washing machine, iron and ironing board. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Own maid, 5 mornings a week, who will babysit at extra cost. There is a management service to deal with all formalities and any local difficulties. All bed linen and bathroom towels are provided - please take your own beach towels for use by the pool etc. Other: Winter sitting room/bedroom 4 with en-suite bathroom. This is a very large room with sitting area and fantastic view to the Monchique hills. This room closed in the summer months unless booked as an extra bedroom. It is never let separately.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot