OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

For a relaxing holiday in the magic country of Tuscany - Casa Vecchia

Overview

Property

Updated: 09-Aug-2016
Swimming pool, 3 bedrooms & sofa bed, sleeps 5

'La Ripa' is found in Tuscany within an hour's drive from Florence, Volterra, San Gimignano, Siena, the sea side town of Follonica , the Chianti area,the green Sienese hills , the abbey of S.Galgano.

The main house is exposed to the south, between the forest and the valley of the cultivated fields surrounded by tranquillity and nature. The farm is from the medieval town of Belforte 800 meters by car and 300 meters walk to the old road.

Summer holiday rental, self-catering, romantic view, city of art, Siena, Florence, Pisa, San Gimignano, Volterra, Monteriggioni, Certaldo,Radicondoli, Belforte,San Galgano, Massa Marittima, Populonia.

Details for holiday apartment Casa Vecchia, 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, 1 Bathroom

The main house 'Casa Vecchia' is a very old farm, dated around 1200, on the road which goes from Belforte to the sea. Casa Vecchia is exposed to the south, between the forest and the valley of the cultivated fields surrounded by tranquillity and nature. We are not far from Belforte, only 300 meters on foot, along the panoramic and characteristic old footpath. The other way to reach the village is the dirt road (800 meters) by car. The farm is located along the route of migratory birds; wild animals, common to the area, can frequently be seen. Our family lives in this agricultural farm and practices traditional agriculture according to biological criteria. We produce cereals, corn, sunflowers and olive oil.

  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Speaks English, French, Italian

7 Reviews

4.4
based on 7 holidaymaker reviews

5

Beautiful house and pool with great views !

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house and pool with great views in Tuscany . We have been here several times, in different houses that Graziano (the owner) has in agriturismo La Ripa. We have been in both the home that is fixed to his own house and the detached villas below and slightly further away ( la Madonna ). First time in 2006, the last time in 2013 and several times in between !

What makes that we have been multiple times? The great kindness and hospitality of Graziano, several beautiful houses , in terms of decor fine (including dishwasher, washing machine , very nice especially with children ), the fantastic views from the houses, but also from the pools ( at the house a little further down the lawn and at la Madonna these are private pools, wonderful, all of which are held perfectly clean).

On the site there is one small friendly dog and a few cats around, if you do not like cats , it is fine to send them away, but our kids loved it to pet them!

Graziano already been appointed by me as very welcoming; a drink , even a dinner at his home, that all makes you feel very welcome ! And our son got a ride with Graziano in the motor mower and a combine harvesting corn, fantastic for a 5/6/7 year old boy !

Graziano can recommend some nice or beautiful lesser known places to visit , such as a monastery with very well-preserved frescoes and Radicondoli Beach , a bend in the local river where you can swim.

Belforte , which in terms of distance is to walk , there's a nice restaurant (incl delicious wood-fired pizzas) , Radicondoli , 5 to 10 minutes by car , has several wonderful restaurants and two supermarkets, a butcher , a cafe , etc.

Belforte is quite central in Tuscany , which make the most important places like Siena , San Gimignano , Volterra and Florence all easily accessible by car (about an hour ) .

We have been here more often, but definitely come back another year to La Ripa !

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
2

Home not ready upon arrival

  • 2 of 5

This is a tough review for me to write. I will start off with the positives. Mr. Graziano or Graziano as he will tell you, his mother’s sister Francesca and his help are wonderful people. It is an operating farm/agri property and there is a bit of off road driving to get to the property. The views are fantastic and the property has wifi, LCD TVs, a DVD player, microwave (find in Italy believe it or not), dishwasher, decent sized refrigerator, two family rooms, two bathrooms, two bedrooms and a washer. The unit is tiled and sound travels very easily including when you use the upstairs restroom. So, it’s perfect for families, a couple or people very comfortable with each other. Light sleepers will be challenged with the acoustics and the early morning meowing by cats. The unit also has a number of screens so you can leave windows open. The pool is clean and is really all yours to use! It is a great place to relax and a good value for what it has to offer.

The figs were ripe on the tree and were a treat!

The challenges:

1. There are a number of cats you need to wade through and while cats usually aren’t a problem, I think people feed them and so they come around begging incessantly. This can be annoying. They also will try to get in the place so be careful!

2. I worked through Vacasol who works with a local broker who is supposed to work with the local owner. See problems below.

3. It turned out that Graziano had the wrong dates for our arrival and departure. He had no idea we were showing up and the negotiated time. We arrived and the place was not ready for us to take possession and we arrived 3 days after the original start date and this was communicated months in advance (our booking dates were 28 Sep – 5 Oct and we planned to arrive 1 Oct). We had to go running into Rosia (which has a nice coop you cannot miss) for a few hours. That was fine as we needed groceries but missing a booking can be a disaster. This is primarily the reason for my rating. I have to write this and suggest others if it happened to write as well. Graziano felt horrible (mortified were his words) and I hope this is only a one time occurrence but I cannot tell if this was his issue or a communication gap between Vacasol and the local company and himself. Bottom line: Nothing is worse when you have paid and drive in later to find they don’t expect you and you are in a rural area with limited to no options.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gentlemen , We were informed from the agency about arrival of guests from 28 September to 05 October and we did not received a notification of a change in the date of your arrival to October 1st (3 days later). Also, you never run the risk of an overbooking issue because the agency has the exclusive, so I'm not allowed to rent the house. When you arrived, I just thought of a new booking from the agency, not knowing anything about your new arrival date. Upon your arrival, the apartment needed only a quick check because it was ready since three days. I proposed you and your family to have a coffee or a drink at my house, while we were checking in, for the time needed to check the house (about 40 minutes) but you choose to go shopping in the village. So we did the formal check-in the following day. I do not understand why you wrote your review on the “Casa Vecchia”. You were renting a villa with a private pool about 100 yards from Casa Vecchia. As it can be seen from your description, your where not renting “Casa Vecchia” nor the “Ciliegio” apartment. I'm sorry and I understand the problem of silence in the countryside. It happened to me to wake up at night because the water tap, which is in the garden, just out of the door, is dripping . Every five seconds, I heard the sound of pounding on the bricks and this drop noise getting into into my brain. I had to get up and put an inclined board under the tap to reduce the noise. When I go to see my relatives, every morning very early, I am also awakened by the crowing of the cock. In the country, when there is silence, when there are no other sounds, any little sound can be heard. I'm sorry that you did not tell us about your problem with our 5 cats during your stay at the Ripa. We would have tried to solve the problem. We do not have pets in our house and we usually recommend our guests not to feed cats nor to get them into the house. Cats are useful in the countryside because they help in reducing the number of country mice . In 14 years of activity we never had any problem and I'm sorry it happened to you. I hope I helped in clarifying the issue. Best regards Graziano Cheri
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
5

Tuscany hideaway

  • 5 of 5

Graziano made us very welcome with coffee and cake on arrival. The apartment was very clean, and spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids sharing good sized bedrooms, with a fully equipped kitchen and comfortable dining and lounge area. Lovely views from the garden and surrounds and although I didn't get to see any wild boar, there were plenty of cats and a friendly dog wandering around.

Short steep walk to nearby village of Belforte although we didn't try the pizza restaurant here or in Radicondoli as they were bit deserted in the off season. Well located for days out in Sienna, Florence and the very many scenic medieval hill towns and sites of interest nearby.

We very much enjoyed our stay and even though it was a bit unseasonably chilly for much of the week we still managed a couple of days sunbathing. The pool wasn't available till May but I can imagine they would be very nice sun traps in warmer weather.

All in all, a very nice place to stay, run by friendly people at a reasonable price in a lovely area - would definitely recommend if you're looking for bit of peace and quiet in the countryside.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
5

A relaxing holiday in a beatiful spot near Sienna

  • 5 of 5

We rented Casa Vecchia for 2 weeks in July -- When we arrived we found the house is better than it looks in the photos and it is everything that was described. Graziano was a wonderful host and received us with an espresso. The house is nice, very cool with a well equipped kitchen. The pool is not very big but big enough with amazing views!! The area to relax by the pool is a very pleasant place to sit at. The main terrace is in the sun at the end of the day but there is a possibility of using another terrace or moving your chair underneath the trees.

The steep walk to Belforte is do-able, even with a three year old and the espresso at the local bar, La Mura is excellent and very cheap. it is a brilliant location to get to know the Sienna area, including San Gimignano and the "Fumoles" (thermal activity), Volterra and Massa Maritima (all within max. 1 hour drive). A larger supermarket is a 30 minute drive away. All villages and towns close to Belforte are beautiful and worth a visit including Radicondoli.

The luxury of having a dishwasher and washing machine is wonderful.

For us a wonderful holiday, to a place to come back to. It is hot in the region in July but since the house is at 500 mtr high you can still sleep well and find a cool spot during the hot afternoon.

Well worth staying at Casa Vecchia, we would come back, maybe in during a different time of the year -- hopefully we will see the wild bore then!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Varese, Italy
5

Already stayed here twice!

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed here 2 years running & will definatley be returning.

The description is very accurate & alot of the amenities are new. We found the apartment very clean & well maintained.

The village is a short but steep walk away but I definatley think a car is required unless you plan to spend all your time at the pool. The village has a restaurant, pizzeria, cafe & a small shop with basic groceries - but you need to go in the morning if you want fresh bread.

The place itself is magical. The view is spectacular & there is no visible road & only a handful of houses in the distance. If you can get out of bed between 5am & 6am you will be sure to see wild boar & deer rumaging in the field infront of the swimming pool!

The owner is very nice, friendly & very helpful.

Definatley a place where you will want to return again & again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
münchen
5

Nice tuscany holidays in a super atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

We spend fine relaxing holidays days in a typical tuscany area ,- nice app. with 2 large bedrooms,- " private" pool,- very kind +friendly like a private personal athmoshere,- for the next trip we would like to reservate this object with our best friends in a fantastic scenery,-

  • Review Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

For the atmosphere, the landscape and the tranquility. For the relative distance to all the main historical and artistic attractions of Tuscany

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Florence at 90 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Belforte at 800 Metres Nearest Ferry : Piombino to reach Isola d'Elba at 80 Kilometres Nearest Train : Poggibonsi at 35 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : ColleVal d'Elsa at 25 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Belforte at 800 Metres Nearest Ski : Monte Amiata at 110 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Follonica at 60 Kilometres Car: recommended

La Ripa is a farm in the peaceful and relaxing country of Tuscany, near a typical village called Belforte (300 mt), originated around the year 1000 as a fortified castle. It is a ideal place for a relaxing holiday in the heart of Tuscany, nearby the main towns of art.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
low season
2 Nov 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£203
for 3 nights
From
£68
£338
£1,183
 
 
high season
24 Dec 2016 - 8 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£254
for 3 nights
From
£85
£549
£1,183
 
 
low season
9 Jan 2017 - 13 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£203
for 3 nights
From
£68
£338
£1,183
 
 
high season
14 Apr 2017 - 20 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£254
for 3 nights
From
£85
£549
£1,690
 
 
mid season
21 Apr 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£203
for 3 nights
From
£68
£380
£1,268
 
 
mid season
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
5 night minimum stay
£338
for 5 nights
From
£68
£423
£1,521
 
 
high season
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
6 night minimum stay
£456
for 6 nights
From
£76
£507
£1,859
 
 
highest season
8 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
6 night minimum stay
£456
for 6 nights
From
£76
£549
£2,028
 
 
high season
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
6 night minimum stay
£456
for 6 nights
From
£76
£507
£1,859
 
 
mid season
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£270
for 4 nights
From
£68
£423
£1,521
 
 
mid season
30 Sep 2017 - 4 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£270
for 4 nights
From
£68
£380
£1,183
 
 
low season
5 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£203
for 3 nights
From
£68
£338
£1,183
 
 
high season
22 Dec 2017 - 8 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£338
for 4 nights
From
£85
£549
£2,028
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

To confirm your reservation we require a deposit of 30% by bank transfer

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: 09-Aug-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic

General

  • Dialup Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Sunbed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool

Onsite Services

  • Car Available
  • Massage

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Floor Area

  • 80 m²

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure, Bidet

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Single Bed, 1 Cot

Outside

  • Child's Swing
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs

Meals

  • Self-catering

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot