OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Portillo Pines, Beach passes, Lake Rights!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,750 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, 10 Sleeps

This three level beautiful cabin, home has been completely renovated. The cabin (1750sq.ft.) has large vaulted, exposed wooden ceilings. Kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms, floors and even furniture are new. Upstair is a bedroom with a queen size bed and in the loft is a bunk bed with two singles and a twin size bed. There is also room for an off the ground blow up high end, king size bed made by Front Gate. The upstairs bathroom can be accessed from the bedroom and/or loft. On the middle level is a beautiful kitchen with all new appliances, a large living and dinning room area with a large wood burning fireplace, 55 inch T.V. and stereo . The master bedroom is also on this level and is connected to a full bathroom. The master also has California King size bed. The lower level is a game/bedroom that is also connected to a bathroom/shower. This room also has a 55 inch television. This level also has a king size bed and room for a blow up mattress if you chose. The lower level acts as a game room/ third bedroom. New washer/dryer. All levels provide privacy.

rick pembrook
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 January, 2018

About rick pembrook

We are a family of four.

rick pembrook purchased this house in 2012

Why rick pembrook chose Lake Arrowhead

This is a unique property as it sits below the street line for for added seclusion. It also has three different levels with a bathroom on each level for added privacy.

What makes this house unique

Can easily walk to the lake and sits below the street line for privacy.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Lake Arrowhead in San Bernardino County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellation fees will only be charged if a replacement renter is not found.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Large Double Bed
    Loft - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Bunk bed in loft--Blow up bed King off ground available.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • swimming
The game room is complete with an electronic dart board, pool table, small bar, Wii, various board games and 55 inch T.V. Located on the deck is a new BBQ and comfortable furniture and umbrellas. The cabin/home is located on a culdesac that has a basketball hoop and plenty of room for children to play.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Portillo Pines, Beach passes, Lake Rights!
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Such a beautiful cabin. We had a great time. The kids really enjoyed the game room and we all just enjoyed hanging out in this very cozy cabin! The owner, Rick, was very quick to respond to any questions or needs that we had. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. You are always welcome to return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quality Rental

  • 5 of 5

We recently rented on New Year’s weekend in December 2017. This cabin was impressive. You could tell they put a lot of work into it. It had plenty of space for a larger group with three private sleeping areas with a dedicated restroom. The downstairs room also is a game room, but we found it perfectly fine as a bedroom overnight and game room during the day. The main level patio was very nice and relaxing with nice outdoor furniture. The washer and dryer in the lower level were very nice….I recommend washing so you don’t have to return home with dirty laundry! The kitchen was fully equipped with anything you might need. An added bonus my kids loved was the jumper up in the drive way. The owner was very responsive to the questions I had during our stay. It was our first time in Lake Arrowhead and we were very impressed with the Village. There were many stores and entertainment. We will definitely be back!

Here are a few tips: The WIFI password – the first letter is lower case, not upper case. The cabin has DVD players so if you want to play Blue-ray bring a player with you. The house is hard to find if you arrive at night! We figured it out but it’s tucked down a hill a bit so in the dark it was challenging.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, we hope you return again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rialto, CA

Not as clean as I hoped it would be.

  • 3 of 5

The cabin overall was not bad. The problem however was in terms of cleanliness. There were spider webs behind the bed in the game room. In the game room the windows were dirty and they did not have shades or curtains. We killed a cockroach in the kitchen. Not to mention the bbq grill which looked as if it had never been cleaned. Also the the blow up bed in the downstairs game room has a leak. Lastly on our last day there we were interrupted by the clean up crew that showed up at 11am. Check out was not until 12pm. They said they wanted to get a start on the laundry. I was not happy at all with that. We really should have gotten some sort of refund for that. Wouldn't really recommend this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our cabin is very clean but occasionally a spider web can appear in a cabin in the mountains and windows may not be perfect after a rain. I can promise you their are no cockroaches in our cabin. There is not a single renter that has voiced this concern over the past five years we have rented the cabin. Our reviews consistently state our cabin is very clean. All bedrooms windows have shades. We did not put shades on every window as this was not part of our $90,000 renovations. The BBQ is new. Please look closely at the other reviews for an accurate depiction of our cabin. The downstairs blow up has been replaced with a permanent King size bed. See photos on the website.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, spacious and great location!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our family of 10 gathering! Beds and linens were comfortable and plentiful! The kitchen is updated and modern and full of whatever pots and pans you need. The location is tucked away in a part of Arrowhead and surrounded by trees. Neighbors are nearby, but aren't too visible and I believe they're also rentals. For Christmas, the tree was up and the fireplace was decorated with lights and a garland which helped with festive feel. We also appreciated the stereo where we plugged in some music and the pool table and Dart board downstairs! The BBQ grill came in clutch.

Rick was easy to contact and responded timely.

I recommend Rick replenish the darts because we are trying to work with just 1.

I highly recommend this rental!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. You are always welcome. We just bought new darts a few weeks ago, must have disappeared—oh well-We will replace them ASAP. Happy Holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Corona, California

Confortable and beautiful.

  • 4 of 5

The view was beautiful, the place was comfy. Only issue was that there weren't enough towels, but since it was all family we made do. Rick is very responsive and polite! It was the perfect place for our thanksgiving getaway!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input. Towels do dissapear. Towels are on the way. Thank you for selecting us. I hope you return again! BTW-I went to the cabin today to follow up on the towel situation and there were stacks of towels in the master bedroom closet as well as the small closet downstairs. I will be sure to inform future renters. Again, thank you for staying with us. After taking inventory, there are towels for a full house of visitors. I now make these storage locations known to our renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House was nice n clean but you have to climb 15 steps up and down. not for old and handicapped.

  • 3 of 5

we were told that the house sleeps 12 but not that we have to use air mattresses.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Correct, we have a blow up off the ground inflatable bed that was in our description. However, due to our dialogue we will be adding a queen size regular bed. We appreciate your input and value your business. this bed has been replaced with a permanent king size bed!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Tavern Bay Beach Club
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Lake Accessibility.

* Fishing.

* Swimming.

* Snow skiing.

* Hiking/Bicycling.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* barbeque.

* Horseshoes.

* Trampoline.

* Free summer Concerts.

* Free festivals, car/boat shows.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Swim in the lake.

* Go Snow Skiing (25 min. away)..

* Enjoy a free concert.

* Go on a boat ride.

* Go hiking/bike riding.

You will have access to the lake and trials through the Arrowhead Lake Association Beach Club. Two cards will be made available that will accommodate up to a total of 12 people. The lake an easy walkable distance of less than one mile from the cabin and the town of Blue Jay is approximately 3 miles. The home sits at the end of a street that allows for kids to play, ride bikes, skateboard , play basketball and more. The town has restaurants, Jensen's grocery store, a movie theater and more. Additionally Lake Arrowhead Village is also approximately 3 miles and hosts a number of restaurants, children rides, ski boat rentals and free concerts in the summer. Please check the Lake Arrowhead website as there are activities in both Blue Jay and Arrowhead Village throughout the year.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £108.29

Nightly Rate: $200 - $350

Weekly Rate: $1450 - $2850

Monthly Rate: $4200 - $6000

Fall Mid-Week 200 Fall Weekend 225
Spring Midweek 200 Spring Weekend 225
Summer Midweek 200 Summer Weekend 225
Winter Midweek 200 Winter Weekend 225
MLK Weekend 250, Presidents Day 250, Memorial Day 250, Fourth of July 350, Labor Day 250, Thanksgiving 350, Christmas 350, New Years 350

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.