OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Maria Castelo - City Center - Historical Zone - 1 Bedroom

Bedrooms 1
Space 645 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet


About the property

House in the historical center of Lisbon within the walls of the Castle of São Jorge

A house in the heart of the historical center of Lisbon, within the walls of the Castle of St. George. Where you can feel the pulse of the city but at the same time the contrast of the quiet and quiet of the neighborhood of the Castle. Here neighbors know each other and have so many stories to tell. Meta talks with them, they are always willing to tell a bit about the history of the neighborhood.

It is a neighborhood that will never forget its streets, its people and its traditions.

Registration Number : 33134/AL

Magda Lima
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Castelo in Alfama

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 645 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • town
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Maria Castelo - City Center - Historical Zone - 1 Bedroom
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews

Perfect little apartment with all you could possibly need in the kitchen.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for three weeks.It was great to be in the historical area of castle. Lisbon is easy to get around and we got fitter from having to walk up hill! We just loved it.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect hideaway!!

  • 5 of 5

We were scheduled to stay at Maria Castelo for 3 nights but loved it so much that we added an additional night and could have stayed forever. It is set in the middle of the town center but down a small street making it quiet and serene. It is beautifully decorated. Well appointed with everything you could possibly need. We arrived much later than expected and Magda and Diego were so supportive meeting us and introducing us to the home and area. They even sent numerous text messages throughout our stay with hints and advise on what to see and do. Wonderful! Cyndee and Doug

  • Review Submitted: 01-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Westminster, BC, Canada

Perfect place to start our Portuguese adventure!

  • 5 of 5

Great location for our small family of three, and nicely decorated. The suite is well appointed and feels tucked away but still close to everything with a small market and restaurants within a few minutes walk. Magda and Diogo are wonderful hosts with tonnes of info and tips to share which came in handy! We are looking forward to returning. We recommend this place to everyone but especially for a small family

  • Review Submitted: 12-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

From the moment of our arrival we felt comfortable because Diogo greeted us as our taxi arrived.

  • 5 of 5

Charming apartment in the castle village with great amenities

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Underwhelming Experience

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this property for 4 nights in August, but encountered many problems.

Please find below a summary of some of the issues we encountered at this property:

1. The washing machine, which was advertised as one of 2 popular features, wasn't working! "It broke down yesterday" according to the owners on our arrival

2. The flat is very small and cramped, much smaller than envisaged from the "clever" photography on the web site. For example:

- only around 1' either side of bed - had to breathe in to squeeze between wall and bed on either side

- the bathroom door only half opens (it would hit the sink otherwise)

3. Noisy neighbours - loud music/TV playing until around 02:30am on 3 out of 4 evenings

4. Had to keep window shutters closed all day to prevent every passer-by on the busy pedestrianised street from peering directly into the apartment (at least some had the courtesy to wave as they did so)

After 2 days of emails/texts (the owners live 40km away), we finally received a (filthy & old) replacement washing machine. The dark brown scum on the interior door seals refused to budge even after 3 complete wash cycles. The kitchen floor was also left slippery and damp when we returned to the apartment 4 hours later as the owner had forgotten to turn off the water supply before disconnecting the old machine.

To compound matters, the owners charged us a significant penalty as we arrived after 8pm. Apparently, if you press every button on the web site, this additional charge is detailed...so please beware! The owner said, as he stood in the kitchen puddles, that he would consider recompensing us for the days without use of the advertised washing machine. Unfortunately, we never heard any more about this and the compensation remains outstanding.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Untrue Guest Its sad when you have guests that think that they can make the rules of your business, and try to ruin it only because they don´t agree with the rules and policies, and are inflexible and dishonest. The review you read was made because we charge the guest a fee of late check in, which was due to us, and the guest didn´t want to pay. The guest arrived at midnight. Our check in its 3pm till 8pm after we always welcome all our guests through the payment of late check in fee. This info its mention in the rate fee´s (where its has to be according to Homeaway), and we care of recall our guests before arrival. Other mention points: 1 - Washing machine - yes our previous guest inform us at check out that it wasn´t working. We recall for technician, new part was needed. We inform the guest at arrive about it. Answer "no problem, just let us know when its fixed". 24h later we replace the existent machine for our home machine, so the guest have a machine to use. We received a message from his wife saying "thank you so much, we already washed our clothes!" curious isn´t it?! We never mention a compensation, the guest tried to extort us money because of 24h without machine, threaten with bad review, we don´t give in to extortion. 2-Small & Cramped - It´s a small house, we mention in our listing that has 50 square meters. No photo tricks, all taken by me with cellphone. 3- Noise from the neighbors - yes, its normal, its a building that have living people with kids, that go to work early in the morning, and yes old lady lives in front (94 years old it´s a bit deaf), she goes to bed at 9pm. One important thing, when you choose a short rental instead of hotel its because you want to live has a local, isn´t that the spirit?! So living like a local has good things and bad things. During their stay they never complained about noise, curious... 4- The street is busy till 6pm after its country side, silent. Every body want to see how the houses inside, who doesn´t? The house have curtains. Curious, the guest didn´t complained about the wine, fruit, olive oil, vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic, spices, sugar, coffee capsules, coffee, soap for washing machine, soap for dishwasher, soap for hands, shampoo, shower gel, toilet paper, napkins, bath towels, face towels, all those things that we always have in house for the guests, and they use it. And no complain that we were there at midnight with a smile waiting for them with our kids!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
New York, USA

It was good start to learn about Portugal

  • 5 of 5

We felt like we came to our relatives house in Lisbon. The couple Magda and her husband are so friendly and welcoming! The apartment is charming, beautifully equipped and comfortable. The atmosphere of the castle makes this stay unusual. The only problem I had (it is my personal problem!) with noise from neighbors upstairs. The old building was converted to the residential house, and the sound isolation and the acoustic prevention were not good. But the charm of the place has compensated the inconvenience. Another great plus to this property was their partner, Joao. The guy is the real treasure; very reliable and helpful. I am happy that we met these people on our trip to Portugal; it added some taste to our impressions from the country.

  • Review Submitted: 13-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
2 Metres
28 Café
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Belavista Golf club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Metres
28 Café
Nearest Ski
325 Kilometres
Serra da Estrela
Car: not necessary

An old neighborhood, with cobblestone polished by time, where on every corner you will find something different and local. A small grocery store where you can buy fresh vegetables and fruits or a small Portuguese tavern that will fill your taste buds with local specialties that you can enjoy at any time of the day or night. The contrast of new cafes, wine shops and shops with products of young Portuguese full of energy. The encounter between the traditions and modernity of arm given in the narrow and charming streets of the castle.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Castelo, Lisbon & Costa de Lisboa

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Nightly Rate
23 Apr 2018 - 23 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £44.25 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £219.43
Stay tax £0.88 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 13 years.
Tax Rate 6.0%

Our Home is a Legal Home - Registered in Portugal Tourism - 33134/AL

- 3pm – 8pm – before 3pm only if i tis possible
- Late check in – 8pm – 11pm – extra fee will be charged – 50€

- 8am-11am – after 11am only if i tis possible

- Extra Cleaning can be requested at an additional cost.
- Extra cleaning fee will be applied for stays up to 7 nights. – 62€

Baby / Child
- Cot and high chair for infants and toddlers can be provided - extra charge 5 € night
- Babysitting - can be provided at extra cost.

Transfers and Tours
- Transfer Airport / house / Airport – 30€ (each trip) – betwen the timings of normal check in/out. Max. 4 pax.
- Tours Cascais/Sintra/Lisbon - with or without guide - Can be arranged with extra cost.

Services that we can provide - Extra costs apply.
- Car rental
- Book a restaurant
- Catering services
- Hire a car or a driver
- Surf lessons
- Diving lessons

Just let us know what you want to do and we can arrange the best ways for you to do it.

- Minimum stay: 3 nights
- Security deposit - 250€
- Extra cleaning fee of €62 applied for stays up to 7 nights.

Before Check in we will ask the guest to fill the accommodation form. This form is a legal request from the Immigration and Borders Service (SEF)

Information for Immigration and Borders Service (SEF)

This information is required to all foreign citizens, whether they are from Member States of the European Union or Third Country Nationals. This obligation falls on companies exploiting hotel establishments, complementary means of tourist accommodation and tourist complexes, as well as on those which provide, for consideration, the accommodation to foreigner’s citizens.
The communication must be made within three days to the Immigration and Borders Service (SEF) or in places where it does not exist, the National Republican Guard or to the Public Security Police.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question