Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

8/6 £749!! SURF'S UP OCEAN BREEZE PENT. APART. JAW DROPPING OCEAN VIEWS(GARAGE)

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Luxury Penthouse Apartment. 2 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms in St Ives Town above Tate

SURF'S UP. FREE WIFI. Fantastic Luxury Penthouse Apartment with jaw dropping ocean views overlooking Porthmeor beach.(Wave 5, Penthouse Apartment with views over the Harbour and St ives bay, property no 437860 also available) Accessed via a spiral staircase within a purpose built turret. Absolute luxury, equipped to the highest standard and with original local artwork.Central heating and double glazing make it perfect for year round holidays. In the kitchen there are built in appliances including washer/dryer,dishwasher a Baby Gaggia Coffee machine and Alessi equipment. The living area has access onto a balcony with views of the ocean,32'' TV/Bluray/video & Bose I pod doc and lead for other devices. The master bedroom/en suite also has ocean views and the 2nd bedroom has harbour views. Molton Brown hand soap/creams are provided in the bathrooms. Rental from 3pm Friday to 10am Friday, with a weekly change of luxury bedding & towels.(Sorry,no pets and no smoking). Included free use of garage in Trerice Place, St Ives, TR26 1AT, location shown on our website. (5 mins walk, 16'9 x 9' max with 7' door width) car parking is also available outside on Barnoon public car park.(Please check Cornwall Council website for weekly parking ticket prices and payment methods)

Option of 2nd apartment, next door.: For larger booking requirements, there is the option to book Wave 5 Ocean Breeze Apartments, property number 437860, subject to availability.

Wave is furnished and equipped to the same high standard as Surf's Up and also has jaw dropping views but over the harbour beach and Godrevy.

Energy Performance Certificate: The Energy Efficiency Rating from the report dated 22nd June 2011 shows Current 79 and Potential 80. Environmental Impact CO2 Rating 83 and Potential 83. The full report is available for inspection before booking the property.

More Details

Owner
Ian , Caroline, and Natalie Dodd
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 May, 2018

Why Ian , Caroline, and Natalie Dodd chose St Ives

Please read all of our fantastic reviews.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in St Ives in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • £100 booking deposit is not refundable on cancelation. Guests are advised to take out holiday insurance to cover cancelation.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The bathrooms are very high quality fittings, mainly Villeroy & Boch. The main bathroom has a full size bath with Grohe shower attachment, wc and basin. The en suite has a shower cubicle with Grohe 2000 Tempesta Duo shower, wc and basin. Bath and hand towels are provided and changed weekly
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , en suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , either 2 singles or large double
  • Bedroom 1 has a quality sprung mattress, wardrobe, large chest of drawers, bedside tables and flat screen digital t.v. Bedroom 2 has quality sprung 3' mattresses which can zip together to make a 6' super king bed, wardrobe, large chest of drawers and bedside tables. Bedroom 2 also has a TV / combi video. Clients need to advise us of their choice of bed layout when booking as all bedding is provided and changed weekly.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
Suitability:
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This second floor property benefits from superb views, there is no compromise with lost space and height restrictions often found at this floor level.The property is furnished with contemporary furniture including a large leather sofa and chair. There are TVs in both bedrooms, (Flat screen free view in bedroom 1 & combi/video in bedroom 2) In the lounge there is a Video/DVD & Blu Ray player and 32 ''wide screen free view T V, & CD mini stereo with USB port, games, books dvd and videos. The Kitchen is fully equipped with Washer/dryer, dishwasher, double oven and gas hob, fridge/freezer, microwave and even a 'Baby Gaggia' Italian cappuccino machine, Alessi electric kettle and toaster.. The bedrooms have quality sprung mattresses, wardrobes, large chests of drawers and bedside tables. Bed linen, bath and hand towels and tea towels are provided. The balcony has own airspace, table/2 chairs, Lounge has Double Sofa Bed which may be used by arrangement. NO PETS ALLOWED IN DEVELOPMENT.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(30 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8/6 £749!! SURF'S UP OCEAN BREEZE PENT. APART. JAW DROPPING OCEAN VIEWS(GARAGE)
average rating of 4.9 based on 30 reviews
5

Beautifully looked after, the owners have thought of everything.

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, comfortable and homely. You would feel happy staying here if you didn't want to go out due to heavy rain (which we had unfortunately). Has a fully, and I mean fully, equipped kitchen and so on. Have spent the last few years in St Ives over NYR but will definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this fantastic 5/5 review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and want to come back
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pennington
5

Great property with a view in St. Ives

  • 5 of 5

Really nice two bedroom apartment with all modern amenities. It is a third floor walk-up using a circular staircase. The garage parking that is provided is more than half a mile (uphill) away so while it may be convenient when it is impossible to find a spot nearby, in December in the rain and cold wind, we chose to pay the extra 50 pounds to park across the street. The flat is very conveniently located for hikes, beach, and trips to restaurants and shopping in the retail commercial district.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for another fantastic 5/5 review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed Christmas in Surf's Up. The modern architect designed Turret and wide spiral staircase to the 2nd floor Penthouse is indeed a fantastic and unusual feature of the building. (In the U K, the ground floor is not counted as a floor). As previous reviews have noted, free use of the garage is 'a godsend' especially in peak season. We are sorry that you only advised us that you couldn't find the garage after your holiday had finished. In the joining instructions we also provide directions to the garage which is on the way to the apartment building. We also provide 2 maps, one showing the apartment and garage locations and the 2nd a U K land registry detailed location plan for the garage block. If you had contacted us we could have given you further instructions to help you find the garage. In order for guests to be aware of the location before booking, we include a link to our own website which shows the garage and apartment locations on google maps. We recently became aware however, that in readiness for on line booking fees being introduced from our advert renewal which should have been on 30th December 2017, web links and contact numbers may have been removed without our knowledge. If we had been aware that you intended to use the public car park outside, we would have advised you to buy a monthly ticket as we understand from owners in the building without garages, that it is actually cheaper to buy than a weekly ticket. Once again, thanks for this fantastic review, we have many regular guests including some from the U S A so we hope as you have visited Cornwall previously, you will perhaps return to Surf's Up in the Spring or Summer. (May and June are often fantastic months for sunny weather.)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic holiday

  • 5 of 5

Brilliantly located property. Excellently equipped and presented. The garage is a real bonus. Fantastic views which will be even better when the Tate extension is finally finished! Just one small improvement could be made - fitted sheets on the beds, to avoid having to remake the children's beds every morning.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This penthouse apartment looks out over Porthmeor beach and truly is in St Ives. There is just a short walk to restaurants, shops, cafes and of course all those lovely clean beaches. Car parking in St Ives is at a premium and in part due to the newly extended and now re-opened Tate St Ives. The gallery is at the bottom of the hill and to the right so whilst work has caused a shortage of public parking on the second car park at times, it hasn't impacted on what is a truly jaw-dropping view! We understand that the works that have closed the car park at times are due to end soon. From our 5* reviews you can see that our guests have commented many times on the luxury of having the free use of a garage. We take the servicing of our apartment seriously and our Laundry partner provides us with crisp white sheets. Unfortunately they don't supply fitted sheets which would of course be easier for our Cleaners to deal with. We are always looking for new ideas to make our guests feel comfortable and at home so this is something we will keep in mind. We thank the reviewer for mentioning this and of course their kind comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyable Apartment break in St. Ives

  • 4 of 5

This was a really enjoyable break. 4 stars out of 5 as the parking situation isn't ideal (not the owner's fault and they have a solution anyway). Apartment was clean and tidy, and had a fully equipped kitchen. Showers were great too! It's on the top floor so you have a one off lug of your baggage upstairs but once there, the apartment is in a great position. Nearest beach is two minutes walk away, the harbour a 5 minute downhill stroll and the shops, restaurants etc equally close by. It's downhill into town, so uphill back. Certainly not more than a few minutes' stretching the calves though!

What impressed me most was Ian and Caroline's customer service. From initial enquiry to repayment of damage deposit, all done professionally, courteously and in a timely manner. I love that! We had a small issue with WiFi (which was otherwise excellent throughout kids!) and Caroline advised to help us sort out almost immediately.

Parking - Not easy to be honest. Public car park right opposite was jam packed all day, every day. However, the owners have a lock up garage some 7-8 minutes walk away (not an overly hilly walk) and this was a godsend to us in the end. It's communicated before you book up but I can see some folk wanting clarification. We took it as a positive as we saw people without this facility struggling to find a spot. You could just get lucky and leave your car there once in though.

Only thing to mention about restaurants is to book in advance. Our favourites were the Mexican (service and food belied the modest shop front), the Italian at the end of the harbour and the Firehouse (good pub grub). One or two pretentious and overpriced places I have to say, but I'll leave you to work this out! Generally the service however was very good.

Period: 5-15 July 2016

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and your kind comments about our customer service which are much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Surf's Up and appreciated the well equipped kitchen for those meals in. We are sorry to have lost a star from you on our apartment as a result of St Ives parking which you have acknowledged is outside of our control. As you have mentioned our garage was a godsend. We provide free use of a garages for both of our Penthouse Apartments because St Ives town is so very popular with global visitors, hence parking can be hectic in July and August. (we own the only two apartments in the complex with garages). Tate St Ives reopens in March 2017 which will result in more parking spaces again. There are many fantastic restaurants in St Ives and we are pleased that you have enjoyed them. Pubs and restaurants cater for all tastes and prices and its good to have plenty of options for everyday food and also special occasions. Booking is essential in many, we enjoy the Porthgwidden Cafe and almost always book even in winter at weekends as it is so popular and very reasonable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magnificent View

  • 5 of 5

Second stay at this fab apartment with the amazing view. Could not fault it. Excellent position for the town and the lovely places to eat. Want to come back. Only criticism was that we had to go home #absolutelylovedit

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this fantastic review, so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves again. Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tolles Appartement mit Blick aufs meer

  • 5 of 5

Wunderschönes Appartement mit exclusiver Ausstattung. Kaffeevollautomat Alessi Kückengeräten, 2 Bädern und 2 Toiletten. Zentral gelegen mit hauseigenem Parkplatz in der Nähe. man ist schnell an den Stränden und mitten im Ort.

Nachts absult ruhig.

Wir kommen gerne wieder

  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fantastic review, come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Newquay
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Sloop Inn, The Wharf, St Ives and many others
Nearest Ferry
70 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Motorway
110 Miles
Exeter
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Seafood restaurant and others, Fore St, St Ives
Car: not necessary

Surf's Up is in the heart of St Ives a lovely historic Cornish fishing village with a maze of cobbled streets jumbled with restaurants, galleries, pubs and clubs. Its many attractions are activities such as swimming, surfing, body boarding, walking, tennis, horse riding, and sea fishing. For Carbis bay beach take the scenic train journey. St Ives has a history in the pilchard trade and during the season there is an opportunity to join 'Shanty Baba', to hear some of the local tales. Food is on offer in restaurants, cafes and pubs offering fresh locally caught fish. Some of these restaurants you may have seen recently on the television. Entertainment in the summer can be found at the open air theatre not too far away. Other attractions near by are the Eden Project, Flambards and the gardens at Helygon close to the Helford river. The main attraction in St Ives is of course the Tate gallery and that's open all year round, 2 minutes away. For more info view www.oceanbreezeapartments.co.uk

Other Activities: TATE ST IVES.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in St Ives, Cornwall

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
May 1/2 T was £995! cancelaton
25 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£799
for 7 nights
£799
 
 
Early June reduced from £850
8 Jun 2018 - 14 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£749
for 7 nights
£749
 
 
Mid June
15 Jun 2018 - 21 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£895
for 7 nights
£895
 
 
Late June
22 Jun 2018 - 28 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
 
Early July was £1095
29 Jun 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£999
for 7 nights
£999
 
 
6th July cancelation was £1195
6 Jul 2018 - 12 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£999
for 7 nights
£999
 
 
Mid July cancelation was £1250
13 Jul 2018 - 19 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,199
for 7 nights
£1,199
 
 
Summer Holidays
20 Jul 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,395
for 7 nights
£1,395
 
 
Late August/ Early September
31 Aug 2018 - 6 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,195
for 7 nights
£1,195
 
 
Early September.
7 Sep 2018 - 13 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
 
Mid Sept. Sept. Fest.
14 Sep 2018 - 27 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
 
Late September
28 Sep 2018 - 4 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
Early October
5 Oct 2018 - 18 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£495
 
 
October Half Term
19 Oct 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
Late October
26 Oct 2018 - 1 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£495
 
 
Winter Specials
2 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
From
£120
Fri,Sat,Sun
£425
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Winter Savers.
4 Jan 2019 - 7 Feb 2019
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
From
£120
Fri,Sat,Sun
£425
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Please note that we do not use the recently introduced Home Away On line payment services as we respond very quickly to enquiries and payment by internet banking is instant in most cases. Our many regular guests have advised us that the prefer to contact the owners direct. We remain committed to a quick response and instant payment by internet banking so that you know that you have booked without the inconvenience of the potential 24 hour delay.
Our contracted change over day is Friday. Out of season between October and May we can offer minimum 3 night breaks for most rental periods and the daily rate is shown if available.
Clients are recommended to take out insurance to cover cancellation at the time of booking the apartment. 8 week cancelation policy
A damage deposit of £100 will be required with the final balance

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable