OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful Cottage On The Cliff Top With Stunning Sea Views

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Historic Cottage On The Cliff Top Close To Whitby Abbey

Wildgoose Cottage is a lovely one bedroom cottage in the heart of historic Whitby overlooking the sea from the cliff top close to Whitby Abbey and 5 minutes by car from the center of Whitby.

Wildgoose Cottage is quaint with one bedroom which has a double bed and en suite bathroom also a TV and DVD player in the bedroom. Downstairs you will find a fully equipped kitchen with all the latest appliances including cooker, microwave and dish washer. There is also a 30 inch flat screen TV with freeview in the living room plus there is also a shower room downstairs. There is a log burner in the living room, we would love for you to use it. Please bring logs with you and once lit please keep the stove door closed for your own safety.

Wildgoose Cottage is wheel chair accessible but its not converted for disabled use.

Check in is at 4pm with check out at 12 noon.

We have a Zero pet policy due to allergies in the family, we would like you politely to respect this request.

There is lots to do in Whitby and whilst in Whitby you have to try the world famous fish and chips available from numerous cafes on the sea front. Whitby was the inspiration for Bram Stoker's novel Dracula which he wrote whilst staying at Whitby. On the hill there is the historic ruins of Whitby Abbey which was the inspiration for Carthax Abbey in Dracula. Whitby also has a sea faring history being the home of Captain Cook which there is a Captain Cook museum in which you can discover more about the legendary sea farer. Also there is the Whitby Regatta in August when you can see some amazing ships and boats. At the life boat museum you can find about the various daring rescues performed by the Whitby lifeguards over the many years.

If music is your thing then Whitby is the place for you hosting the world famous Whitby Goth Weekend twice a year, the 1960s weekend, the Folk Festival, Jazz and Soul Festival plus you also get to hear music and see films at the Bram Stokers International Film Festival at Whitby.

All in all your stay at Wildgoose Cottage will be fun, memorable and one that will stay in your hearts and minds forever.

More Details

Property Manager
Joanne Wildgoose
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Whitby in Hawsker-cum-Stainsacre

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Hand basin
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Double bed, en suite bathroom, DVD player and TV.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(45 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Cottage On The Cliff Top With Stunning Sea Views
average rating of 4.711111 based on 45 reviews
5

A very pleasant and charming place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

I rented Wildgoose Cottage over the April Whitby Goth Weekend and had an absolutely wonderful stay. The cottage is situated a couple of miles out from Whitby at a lovely quiet picturesque location not far from the coast. I found it to be very clean and tidy and well supplied with necessities. It is surprisingly roomy, with an open plan living room, a modern kitchen, a downstars toilet, an upstairs dormer style bedroom with en suite bathroom area, which includes a toilet, a sink and a shower cubicle.

The owner was very helpful and said if there was anything else I required just to let them know but as it was I found I had everything I needed right there.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely cottage to anyone who is thinking of having a nice quiet stay in the vicinity of Whitby and I will almost certainly be booking another holiday there myself in the very near future.

  • Review Submitted: 02-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful little retreat

  • 5 of 5

This is our second stay within a year. It is remote, but close enough to get to Whitby with ease and perfectly located for the coastal footpath. The cottage is really well equiped with everything you could need, and warm, which was really essential given the early April weather!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ilkley
4

Great place to stay

  • 4 of 5

Great place to stay - especially if you enjoy walking.

It was a bit chilly on arrival as we did arrive late but was ok when we had turned up the thermostat - we were surprised that no logs for the wood burner were supplied - I don't remember it saying - bring your own.

But this didn't spoil the stay.

The cottage is done out 5* with lots of lovely things in .

Hope to stay again soon.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

Firstly 10/10 for the peace & tranquility hence the 2 stars.

We arrived at the cottage looking forward to lighting the wood stove, unfortunately there was a log basket but no logs, we had to buy some from Whitby centre the next day.

The carpets in the sitting-room were quite shabby. The cleanliness in general wasn't great, whilst removing spiders every evening from the bedroom we saw there was lots of dust on the skirting board behind the double bed along with the window ledge above the bed that was cracked, where spiders were visible along with cobwebs. The ceiling in the bedroom and bathroom are very low so anyone over 4feet tall will bang thier head, we did. There was no privacy due to no door separating the bathroom from the bedroom & there was no joining strip from the bedroom to bathroom leaving a raw edge. No working bulb in bedside lamp. There was an hairdryer but this was no bigger than my hand, no nozzle & no power to it. The wardrobes were basically badly painted MDF. The kitchen floor had cracked floor tiles from one end to the other & didn't care for the third full bottles of ketchup & brown sauce in the cupboard. The toaster was full of crumbs so we didn't use it. We unfortunately had to leave a little bread & an unopened small box of spring rolls due to only being left one dustbin liner to use. The clock in the kitchen didn't work & the clock in the sitting-room hadn't been changed to BST. We thought the position of the downstairs toilet was very strange, right behind the sofa. Under the stairs is where the vacuum is kept which we needed to give a quick vacuum of the sitting-room carpet before we left, didn't want to leave any mess before we left! but we were shocked to see stairs made from MDF with loose nails pertruding out, which we pushed in to avoid scratching ourselves. Up to the cottage is nearly a mile & narrow, single track basically, this wasn't mentioned in the cottage profile when we booked so anyone who isn't good on their feet or as an old car may find this a problem. We also don't feel the pictures are accurate as we thought we would have been able to walk down the field to the cliff but it is fenced/gated off. A man put the green bin out whilst we were there but would have thought if this was anything to do with the cottage he would have said a simple hello, is everything alright? but he didn't, my partner put the bin back. We love Whitby but unfortunately the cottage needs alot of work & TLC.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Paul Thank you for taking the time to review our little cottage.So sorry you did not enjoy your stay,however I have taken your comments on board. I do hope the next time you stay in Whitby you find a place that will meet your needs and requirements and does not disappoint. Kind regards Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3
5

Very nice,cozy and quiet

  • 5 of 5

Loved the cottage in a great spot with fab views and really close to the coastal path for lovely walks.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
5

Amazing a hidden gen

  • 5 of 5

what a little hidden miracle. i stayed here in the middle of the "beast from the east" snow storm and cant think of a place i would rather have been snowed in, i will definitely be back the owner is lovely and so understanding and the pictures really do not do the cottage justice. such a nice feel and a comfortable cottage my breath was taken away by the views and the peace and quiet. i cannot think of anything negative and cannot wait to go back

  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Whitby, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Spring
1 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
From
£70
Sat
£385
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£210
for 3 nights
From
£70
 
 
Summer
1 Sep 2018 - 6 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
From
£70
Sat
£420
£1,800
 
 
Nightly Rate
7 Sep 2018 - 9 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
£140
for 2 nights
From
£70
 
 
Summer
10 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
From
£70
Sat
£420
£1,800
 
 
Autumn Goth weekend
25 Oct 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£210
for 3 nights
From
£70
 
 
october HF
29 Oct 2018 - 5 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
£400
 
 
Nightly Rate
23 Dec 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£350
 
 
Nightly Rate
15 Feb 2019 - 24 Feb 2019
3 night minimum stay
£210
for 3 nights
From
£70
 
 
Nightly Rate
15 Apr 2019 - 26 Apr 2019
3 night minimum stay
£210
for 3 nights
From
£70
 
 
Nightly Rate
27 Apr 2019 - 29 Apr 2019
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 May 2019 - 23 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
 
 
Nightly Rate
24 May 2019 - 27 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
£210
for 3 nights
From
£70
 
 
Nightly Rate
28 May 2019 - 30 Jun 2019
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jul 2019 - 24 Jul 2019
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
 
 
Nightly Rate
25 Jul 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
3 night minimum stay
£210
for 3 nights
From
£70
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Sep 2019 - 30 Sep 2019
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£165
for 3 nights
From
£55
£350
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable