Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Farmhouse with Own Private Pool Full of Character and Charm

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,798 sq. ft.
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Situated in the quaint little village of Munxar is this 300 year old converted semi detached farmhouse with private swimming pool and all modern age commodities.

Beyond the lounge area is the pool, sundeck and Bar-B-Q area with spectacular views of ‘Lunzjata’ and ‘Xlendi’ valley, blue skies and the Gozitan skyline.

2016 addition is the, 75sqm sundeck / lounge also all overlooking the valley views.

Located right in the country side but minutes away from all amenities with tasteful Mediterranean decor throughout one can truly enjoy the best of two worlds.

Munxar is conveniently positioned a few minutes from The capital of Gozo ‘Victoria’ (where all the banks, shops, boutiques and supermarkets are) and a few minutes away from the magical ‘Xlendi Bay’. Activities in Xlendi include boat hire, scuba diving and other water sports. Xlendi is also where some of the best restaurants on the island are found and you can dine by candle light out on the terraces inches away from the beach under the clear, blue, Mediterranean skies.

More Details

Owner
Jeff Cassar
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 June, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Der er rigtigt hyggeligt i boligen. Munzar er en hyggelig lille by med dejlig natur omkring sig.
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 18

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse in Munxar, Malta

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2798 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Main Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 3 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Terrace
  • Deck Furniture
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Porch Furniture
  • Terrace
  • Yard
  • 7 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
32% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Farmhouse with Own Private Pool Full of Character and Charm
average rating of 4.52 based on 43 reviews
5

Absolutely delightful!

  • 5 of 5

Have just returned from a glorious week staying at Bebbux. Everything exactly as described and had a wonderfully homely and relaxing feel. Location was perfect for exploring the beautiful island of Gozo and the information shared before and during the stay was most helpful. The farmhouse was charming in every way. Very spacious and comfortable rooms, lacking nothing to further enhance. Communication with Jeff was always prompt and helpful - just what you need when you want to fully relax! Went as a family of four and with my son’s friend and we all loved it for our own reasons!

Can thoroughly recommend and will definitely be visiting again. Many thanks Jeff and Mariella for letting us stay in your Gozitan paradise!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Enjoyed meeting you and our quick chat too. You are all truly wonderful people and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Gozo and at our Bebbux. We look forward to meeting you and having you at Bebbux again. Best Wishes to all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Character and charm

  • 5 of 5

Bebbux always lives up to its name... everything moves at snail’s pace whether you’re enjoying the view, relaxing in the farmhouse or walking in the nearby rural areas.

A break from the real world and a step into tranquility.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Bebbux and thank you for saying so.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing two weeks!

  • 5 of 5

We (five adults an one little child) stayed two weeks in Bebbux. It was great. Gozo is lovely and the view from the sundeck was stunning. There is everything you need in the house. There is no air conditioner in the bedrooms but this have to be clear when you reed the description about the house. Jeff and Mariella were accessible at any time.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, Thank you for your review. It was nice meeting you and we are really happy for you having such a great time at Bebbux and in Gozo. You are a wonderful group of young people and it was our pleasure to have you as our guests. Next time you must explore more of Gozo because it has much to see and offer. Till the next time. With many thanks, Jeff & Mariella
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely farmhouse in quiet village with great pool and views. Comfortable and ideal for visiting gozo

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week staying at bebbux. The farmhouse is ideally located and is a short walk from a well stocked shop. The village is v quiet and good for families who just want to relax and wind down. The house is well kept and has lots of interesting features to make it a fun place to stay. The pool is great for cooling off in the heat and we enjoyed having all our meals outside. We hired a car which was helpfully advised by jeff. It meant we could explore gozo and see the sights, though xlendi is only 20 mins walk away. We found our hosts to be very helpful giving good advice and a warm welcome. For exploring gozo a stay at bebbux would be well worth it. We had a great time! Thanks Jeff!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely building, fantastic island BUT...

  • 3 of 5

...in need of some TLC. Really struggling to write this review because despite everything we had a brilliant holiday in Gozo. However, we wouldn't return to this property for a number of reasons. The price of the holiday was slightly more expensive than we usually pay but given the good reviews we had high expectations. After settling in we spotted that there was no bed linen or towels for the downstairs bedroom - we transferred some spare bedding from the upstairs so were just short of a few towels. Then as night fell the fuses tripped and we were left in darkness. We managed to find one fuse box which didn't solve the problem so called Jeff who directed us to the other fuse box and problem solved. He kept asking what we had plugged in and whilst we hadn't done anything I was left feeling in the wrong. I also told him about the bedding and he promptly arranged to have the housekeeper sort in the morning but again no apology. The fuses continued to trip over the next couple of days and it was discovered to be a broken pool pump... not us!

I had reason to call Jeff later on in the week when a family was let into the house. They had been transferred by a car hire company and taken to the wrong house - quite an in uncomfortable moment for everyone but easily sorted although with little customer care.

The house itself was not uncomfortably dirty but not particularly clean -the worst being - a plughole blocked with hair, brown slime behind the taps in one room and the fridge freezer was a little rusty and mouldy. The kitchen was oddly equipped - not many mugs, lots of glasses and a bizarre amount of plates and frying pans. There were chips in 50% of the crockery, a few of the frying pans had seen better days and the can opener rusted beyond belief. None of this spoilt our holiday just sadly made the house feel a little unloved and uncared for.

The worst problem we encountered was the heat! With no air conditioning and temperatures of around 36 deg not one of us slept properly at night. My son had the back bedroom and it was stifling - the room did have a ceiling fan and floor fan but it didn't seem to help. He ended up sleeping downstairs on the sofa.

Not a particularly positive review but aside from the air conditioning everything I have mentioned could be easily sorted and the house itself is lovely, the pool is great (very well used over the week), the views fantastic and Gozo was beautiful.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Emma, Thank you for your review. Some of the points you mentioned have been noted and will be acted upon and we wish to thank you for pointing these out to us. We are constantly working hard to improve and these comments help us and are appreciated. On the other hand, other comments you made, without going into detail, felt a bit unfair, unnecessary and harsh. We are very sorry we did not meet your full expectations but glad you still had a brilliant holiday and found the house to be lovely. Best Wishes,
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Calgary
5

Clean character home with stunning view!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I chose to vacation on Gozo for our 20th anniversary in May 2016. Jeff kindly met us at the airport as planned and we exchanged payment and keys. The house is in Munxar, a sleepy little town about an hour away by car and ferry. The house is very typical of the island and well renovated and kept. Thick stone walls and a steep spiral staircase are charming and the high ceilings upstairs are lovely. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need for cooking during your stay. Although the pool was beautiful, it was a little cool for swimming most of the week we were there. The patio is lovely and provides stunning views of the nearby town. We spent many hours outside relaxing. We also walked to Xlendi for dinner several times so that we could share some wine and not worry about driving afterward. It's a good walk down to the water (3km?) and the hike back up to Munxar always helped us get a good night's rest! I highly recommend Jeff and Mariella's villa for a very quiet and peaceful holiday. There are very few amenities in the quaint town of Munxar, however, so a car was essential for us. Don't forget to visit the amazing Sanaa cliffs nearby!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you have fond memories of gozo and that you found our house to be comfortable and a good base to enjoy your holiday. Hope we will meet again in the near future. Our best wishes. J&M
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Malta International Airport
Nearest Ferry
8 Kilometres
Mgarr Harbour
Car: recommended

Munxar is wedged between the sloping sides of two parallel valleys and it offers some of the most beautiful landscapes in Gozo.

Being situated between the capital ’Victoria and close to Xlendi bay ( both being about 3.5km away) it is a very sought after location.

Xlendi Bay is a small fishing village engulfed in a fjord like inlet amongst high cliffs. Popular with tourists as it is ideal for bathing and as diving resort especially in summer. Otherwise foreigners and locals could gaze spell bound admiring late spring and early autumn sunsets that adorn the waters with gilded streaks described only by poets and often captured by artists or keen photographers.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday farmhouse in Munxar, Malta

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
May > June
1 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
5 night minimum stay
£747
for 5 nights
From
£149
£967
£2,636
 
 
peak July/Aug
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,362
for 7 nights
£1,362
 
 
September
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
£791
for 5 nights
From
£158
£1,046
 
 
October
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
£615
for 5 nights
From
£123
£747
 
 
November - December
1 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
£549
for 5 nights
From
£110
£681
£2,197
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£791
for 5 nights
From
£158
£879
 
 
Jan > April
3 Jan 2019 - 16 Apr 2019
5 night minimum stay
£527
for 5 nights
From
£105
£677
£1,933
 
 
EASTER
17 Apr 2019 - 25 Apr 2019
5 night minimum stay
£659
for 5 nights
From
£132
£747
 
 
End April
26 Apr 2019 - 30 Apr 2019
5 night minimum stay
£527
for 5 nights
From
£105
£677
£1,933
 
 
May > June
1 May 2019 - 30 Jun 2019
5 night minimum stay
£791
for 5 nights
From
£158
£967
 
 
July > Aug
1 Jul 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
£1,362
for 7 nights
£1,362
 
 
Sept
1 Sep 2019 - 30 Sep 2019
5 night minimum stay
£791
for 5 nights
From
£158
£1,046
 
 
October
1 Oct 2019 - 31 Oct 2019
5 night minimum stay
£615
for 5 nights
From
£123
£747
£1,758
 
 
Nov > Dec
1 Nov 2019 - 21 Dec 2019
5 night minimum stay
£549
for 5 nights
From
£110
£681
£1,933
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Stay tax £0.44 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 18 years.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable