Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Newly Renovated Traditional Stone House With Private Salt Water Pool

Bedrooms 3
Space 753 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Renovated Traditional Stone House With Private Salt Water Pool. Lot / Dordogne

This property has the charm of a traditional french stone building but it has been recently renovated to provide high standard of accommodation.

Access to the property is through a tree lined lane which opens up to a valley where you see the property. It sits in a peaceful spot with no immediate neighbours with stunning views yet it is within walking distance (1.5 km) to the local town of Gourdon.

Gourdon is on the border of the Lot and the Dordogne so it is well situated within an outstanding area of natural beauty with many beautiful villages, chateaus and caves to visit plus close to the Dordogne River where you can hire a canoe or take a picnic.

The property is all on one level with 2 double bedrooms and a room with twin beds, each bedroom has its own fully equipped ensuite shower room.

The main living area has an open plan fully fitted kitchen, dinning area and lounge. From this area there are two sets of double doors that lead out to a large private terrace area with a stunning 10m x 5m salt water pool.

For alfresco dinning there is a traditional built large covered terrace with a table and seating for 8 people. This is perfect for lunch or a glass of wine or just to relax in the shade, The terrace is surrounded by a lawn and mature trees with views of the surrounding countryside and the only sounds to disturb you is the birds chirping or a local tractor.

Due to the proximity of the pool, this property may not be suitable to families with young children.

Please see "Internet" for more detail about wi fi.

More Details

M Averis
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 June, 2018

About M Averis

I brought this property five years ago when it was in a terrible state. I have spent the last five years renovating it myself and am very proud of what I have achieved. I always wanted it be available to other people to enjoy too as the area is so beautiful and peaceful, with the only sounds to disturb you being a local tractor or the birds chirping.

I live in Yorkshire (another beautiful area) but now all the work is done, I plan to spend some relaxing time here in France as well. This time I can put my feet up with a glass of cool rose.

M Averis purchased this house in 2011


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Gourdon in Lot

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 753 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Shower, sink and toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , shower, sink and toilet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Shower, sink and toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Ensuite bathroom, built in wardrobe. Bedroom size 8.3 m2
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Ensuite bathroom. Built in wardrobe. Bedroom size 8.2 m2
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , Ensuite Bathroom . Size 8.4 m2
  • All bedrooms are equiped with a floor standing fan for when the temperature is uncomfortably hot.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis


4.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newly Renovated Traditional Stone House With Private Salt Water Pool
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews

It was a beautiful villa with everything that you could wish for to enjoy your stay.

  • 5 of 5

It is a beautiful setting, peaceful and tranquil. Easy to walk in to Gourdon and the local shops.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely peaceful location. Suited our needs very well, good layout, comfortably furnished. Nice pool

  • 4 of 5

Couple of small issues on arrival the owner dealt with them promptly and was very helpful. House is located on the side of a bowl in the hills outside Gourdon and was surrounded by trees and fields with a few houses in the distance. It wasn't overlooked and felt very private. House was well furnished and equipped and felt very comfortable. Pool was very nice and

close to the house. Good outside seating. There is a small herd of elegant cows, Parthenaise I think, in the field next door and might seem strange to say but they add to the charm of the place.

One or two small things stopped me giving a 5 star but overall we had a really enjoyable couple of weeks and it always felt good coming back to the house after our day trips.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautifully restored building, wonderful setting, really relaxing stay.

  • 4 of 5

The villa itself is beautiful and has obviously been restored with love and care and great attention to detail. We felt relaxed as soon as we arrived, as it's in a fantastically quiet and picturesque area. We loved having only cows for company! It also meant we could make plenty of noise in the pool and playing music without worrying about disturbing the neighbours! There's plenty of space for two adults and two children to spend time together but also have some space.

Gourdon itself is a lovely town - big enough to provide a small selection of reasonable restaurants (recommend Le Pot Occitan) and shops, and plenty of other attractions within easy reach, so a good base. The town is walkable from the villa. However, as it was 38 degrees and we had two teenagers with us, we spent most of the week at the villa, enjoying the pool and the BBQ!

If we had any criticisms they would be that the villa is not air conditioned, which made sleeping in the hot conditions difficult. Just providing a decent floor standing fan for each of the bedrooms would really have made a difference. Secondly, the villa is marketed as having internet, which was an important one for us when we booked - again, coming with two teenagers. In reality, the wifi is provided via a dongle and the connection is so poor that we couldn't get it to work (we suspect also that the allowance ran out during our stay). This proved to be less of an issue than we needed to worry about as we had other things to occupy us, but we did feel the listing was somewhat misleading and would suggest that better wifi be provided, or that the poor service be made clear in the advert.

Overall, a great stay, and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really sorry that the Wi Fi was a bit of an issue. I am afraid that it was the Owners Direct website that has misled you. I have today, complained to Owners Direct because I too could not see the reference to poor internet that I had entered on the advert. They told me that you need to hover the mouse over the word “internet” to show any comments. This is not explained nor made clear. I had described the internet as :……... “There is Wi Fi. However, it is very, very slow, is intermittent and the data allowance is small. It is OK if you are patient, for accessing and sending emails and getting the weather forecast.”…...This is under the “facilities” section of the advert. The poor internet is something that we had intended to improve, and a satellite system has been ordered for installation which will give a much better and reliable service. Regarding the heat at night, 38 degrees C is a bit above normal. We will however take on board your suggestion and will be purchasing fans. Apologies for any inconvenience, but are pleased that overall, you had an enjoyable holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely rural gite

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic gite with all the facilities and peace you could want. Great pool and great weather all week plus onlooking cows whilst sunbathing!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent séjour

  • 4 of 5

Nous avons passé un très bon séjour dans cette belle maison rénovée . La piscine est agréable , tout est réuni vivre de très bons moments en famille ou entre amis . La région est à découvrir !!!!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
88 Kilometres
Bergerac Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Kilometres
Several bars, Gourdon
Nearest Golf
27 Kilometres
Souillac Golf Club
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
25 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Kilometres
Choice of Restaurants, Gourdon
Car: necessary

The property is situated on the border of the Lot and the Dordogne in a secluded valley but within walking distance (1.5km) of the medieval town of Gourdon which has all the amenities you may need from restaurants, cafes and bars to supermarkets, pharmacies and a hospital.

There is a beautiful lake in Gourdon 'lac d'ecoute s'il pleut' where you can swim and fish but you are also only a short 15 minute drive from the Dordogne River. Here you can swim and picnic or hire a canoe for trips down the River.

There are many beautiful Chateaus along the River such as Beynac (once occupied by Richard the Lionheart) and Castelnaud which is also well worth a visit.

You can take a boat trip from the stunning village of Le Roque de Gageac with houses built into the rock face.

Also a must see is the old town of Sarlat le Canada with is ancient architecture and the stunning village of Rocamadour which is particularly beautiful and famous for pilgrimages. Both have some lovely shops and restaurants.

If you love the natural beauty of caves, then there are many in this area. There is one just a few minutes away in Gourdon, 'grotte cougnac', which is small but very pretty with its display of stalagmites and stalactites and prehistoric paintings. But its also worth the drive to the Gouffre de Padirac where you take a boat along an underground river to the inner caves or to Lacave where the train takes you deep into the rock.

Whatever you choose there is something for everyone in this beautiful unspoilt area of the french countryside.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Gourdon, Midi-Pyrenees

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Mid Season 2018
3 Jun 2018 - 21 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
High Season 2018
22 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Season 2018
2 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early(no pool)
13 Apr 2019 - 8 Jun 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Mid Season
9 Jun 2019 - 19 Jul 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Peak Season
20 Jul 2019 - 30 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Season
31 Aug 2019 - 28 Sep 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

There is a strong and stable internet connection, but it is limited to 5 GB per week, with unlimited between 23.00hrs and 07.00hrs (French time).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question