OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

The Retreat - Escape The Mainland

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type mobile home
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Heated Pool
  • Parking


About the property

Bedrooms 3, Separate shower & Toilet, Occupancy 6

The Retreat is a privately owned three bedroom static caravan,which has just been warded a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2017, set in the award winning St Helens Holiday Park which is itself located in the idyllic St Helens on the Isle of Wight.

The Retreat, Willow 8, St Helens Holiday Park, Field Lane, St Helens, Isle of Wight PO33 1UX

Please see park map in photographs

The Retreat provides accommodation for up to six and is double glazed with full gas central heating and a gas fire in the lounge area.(Gas & electricity are included in your price).

There is a lounge with TV/DVD and freeview recorder (so you can enjoy your holiday without missing an episode of your favourite programme).

The self catering kitchen has a hob, oven, microwave, fridge, toaster and ample cooking pans, china , cutlery.

There is a shower room and separate toilet.

The three bedrooms consist of a double and two twins.

The Retreat has its own private gated, child friendly deck which creates an outside room, with table and chairs, its ideal for alfresco dining. Other outdoor equipment includes a BBQ and loungers.

All bed linen and tea towels are provided but please remember to bring your own bath & beach towels.

From The Retreat you can easily explore St Helens on foot, take a lovely stroll to the beach and the National Trust's 'Duver', which in Victorian times was a links golf course. Wander along the beach to Bembridge Harbour and the Old Mill Pond. A stroll along the Mill Pond Wall leads back to St Helen's village where there is a Post Office/corner shop , two restaurants and a tea room, all situated around the village green

St Helens Holiday Park is a beautiful destination. It's located on the east of the island and close to some of the most popular beaches and attractions on the Isle of Wight. There is a heated outdoor pool, games room, launderette and play area.

The park is the perfect base for that relaxing family holiday or grown up escape and is incredibly child friendly. Please note that St Helens is a car free site.

If you are really lucky you may even see one of the red squirrels that live nearby!

More Details

Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
2 March, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed here from Saturday to Saturday and had a fabulous time away as a family. We found it easily and it was only a short drive from Fishbourne. We found it very relaxing and having the pool on site was brilliant for our 6 year old. We loved the open space and walks. We found The Retreat to well equipped with everything that we should need. There is a small games room on site which our son really enjoyed. The Retreat is a fabulous get away for any couple or family looking for a quiet relaxing break. We will definitely be looking at going back again soon as we had such an amazing time.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday mobile home in Saint Helens in Isle of Wight

Property Type:
  • mobile home
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Separate toilet and shower room
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Retreat - Escape The Mainland
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews

Great for a week's holiday.

  • 5 of 5

Great sun terrace, BBQ, lovely close playing field, paddling pool.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: May thanks for your comments nice you had a great time. Hope you may come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had a great time!!

  • 5 of 5

Me and my family had a great time there lots to do on the IOW!! St helens is a beautiful place with lovely beech! The caravan is very tidy and has all the fercilities you could need! Sue the owner is very friendly and keeps you well informed through out! I will without a doubt stay again!! Thanks Sue!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Couldnt have asked for better

  • 5 of 5

Super location on the caravan site, which has a good swimming pool and space for children to run around and play games. The area has great amenities and was the perfect base to relax in. St Helens is lovely and the stunning Seaview was a short drive away. THe caravan had everything we could have asked for. 100% recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you coming again. Perfect guests. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely home from home caravan in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at The Retreat. The caravan was very cosy and homely with some nice touches such as lovely plump pillows and duvets. It was spacious and very clean and modern. Sue made us very welcome. The caravan site was also fabulous, especially the heated swimming pool that was open between 9-6 every day. St Helen's beach was a 15 min, very pleasant walk away and the beach/ rock pooling there is amazing. We would like to return one day. We were a party of two adults and two children, we had an amazing stay. Thank you : - )

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing the retreat. Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We will be returning!

  • 5 of 5

Our first (and definitely not our last!) stay at The Retreat.

A very well equipped large caravan on a very quiet and small site, 10m from a football area which was perfect for my teenage son.

The owners met us in the car park and even helped us push the luggage trolley to the caravan, no vehicles on this site so very safe for children.

Milk, biscuits, tea and coffee were welcome on our arrival, thank you Sue.

Clive and Joe Gavin.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Haven

  • 5 of 5

The Retreat was the perfect place for us to stay before and after our Ultra Challenge. It is very well appointed and set in beautiful scenery, with basic amenities (pub, corner store, cafe, beach and other walks) just a stone's throw away. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: 03-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your comments and so nice you enjoyed The Retreat. Thank you for choosing The Retreat at St Helens, Isle Of Wight.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.