Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

4 star cottage pet/family friendly in the heart of the Peak National Park

Bedrooms 3
Space 150 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking


About the property

A Get Away from it all Typically English Cottage in the heart of Bakewel

Peak cottage is an owner run typically English Stone Built English Cottage which dates back to 1790 -located near to Bakewell's historic Church. It is 400 metres from Bakewell Town so you can leave your car and have a drink and dinner without worrying about driving! Fantastic location for discovering the Peak National Park and 10 mins drive to Chatsworth House. Bars/cafes/restaurants/pubs close by and within walking distance. FREE WIFI & Superfast broadband. There are 3 bedrooms with the attic bedroom being accessed via the Master Bedroom or the back bedroom - usually children love this room, but it is suitable for adults as it has a double bed! The bathroom is "jack n jill" to all bedrooms. We offer comfortable beds with feather and synthetic pillows, so you can rest well after those long walks. There is a sunny front patio with a wooden table and chairs and a rear courtyard with table and chairs a lockable storage outhouse to keep bicycles if required.

There is a well equipped kitchen to cook your bacon and eggs! Cosy lounge with seating for 5 people and extendable table for that Christmas Dinner!

More Details

Property Manager
Debra Donoghue
Member since: 2016
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 June, 2018

About Debra Donoghue

Hi i am Debra -

Our cottage is owner run and we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and your comfort is our priority We would love you to have a great time in the Peak District National Park and especially Bakewell - the heart of the Peak District

Debra Donoghue purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Debra Donoghue chose Bakewell

We are near to Town - no need to drive ! We are a get away from it all cottage but still have internet so you can keep in touch with the outside world ! Our cottage is warm and welcoming 🏡

What makes this cottage unique

Comfortable beds - very important / home comforts /fully equipped sheets towels tea towels etc provided - internet supplied free of charge - beautiful views over the rooftops of Bakewell


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Bakewell in Derbyshire Dales District

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 150 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 13:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • town
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bed 1 with 5 ft bed /bed 2 has 4ft 6 bed - attic bedroom has restricted head height and guests who sleep in here will get access to the ground floor via bed 1 or bed 2 / bathroom is "jack n Jill" and accessed via bed 1 and bed 2
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • caving
  • swimming


4/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

25% Complete
50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4 star cottage pet/family friendly in the heart of the Peak National Park
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews

Cute little cottage

  • 4 of 5

Lovely little cottage, great location for Bakewell which has lots of shops and cafes. Cottage was clean, although a little small and dated but would stay here again. Thanks Debra :)

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh hi we offer a cottage homely feel and have just redecorated with laura Ashley fabrics and colours to achieve that cottage feel - thank you so much for your review and come back soon xx
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peak cottage small,compact,well furnished cottage

  • 3 of 5

Cottage situation, away from cottage with limited roadside parking, that was stated in details.Access up to the cottage was via an unmaintained track,up three unstable steps,which at night had limited lighting.

First impressions of the cottage was that it was clean,tidy,well furnished but very small especially for 5 people.

Outside access for 2 dogs,was acceptable but the was no water supply to wash the area down.

Bedroom 1,was well furnished,

Bedroom 2,there was no wardrobe and small amount of storage.

The attic room,suitable for a child or small person.

The Bathroom was inadequate, very small, dangerous with the large hot towel rail ( hazard signs were in place) the shower was limited in flow,the attachment had limited access when attached. Water was intermittently hot. Shower screen was broken,although I was told of that on arrival.

Throughout, some light bulbs were either missing or dead.Bedroom 1,had no bulbs in the bedside lamps!

Turning on the lights in the kitchen , a bulb blew and fused .luckily we found the fuse box.

I was advised by owner,when we had left,there was space bulbs in the pantry.Should clients be replacing light bulbs.

When hoovering, which had to be emptied to use it, it was noticed that 2 of the kitchen chairs had loose legs were loose .

Basic cleaning equipment, which you would expect from a 4 star property was sadly missing. ie toilet rolls,kitchen roll.

In our opinion, we felt the cottage was not of a 4 star rating and definitely not for the price we paid especially out of season.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there thank you for your review - we do leave a feedback form as we do not know if there are any repairs etc required after your stay as only you the guest can inform us of any repairs etc - and I did text you twice during your stay to see if all was okay at the cottage and you replied "yes all good" had you mentioned the lamps or chairs we woukd have happily popped round to fix these minor problems for you ! Our cottage is a 17 th century cottage and is quirky small and unique we have maintained 4 star reviews and the size of it does not enable us to extend the size of the bathroom where we have not had a complaint of its size in the last 10 years ! There is a warning sign to be aware of the hot radiator ! I have ordered a new shower screen as a previous guest damaged it ! We do not know when a bulb is going to blow and I have asked our housekeeping to check that all are working when cleaning the cottage - we offer luxury well maintained accommodation and allow our Doggy friends to stay - the back yard is easily washed down with a bowl of water and washing up liquid and we do not expect our guests to clean before they leave as that is included in the price ! We are tucked away from the hussle and bustle of Bakewell and provide a unique quiet and relaxing location for guests ! Parking is of a premium in Bakewell and on street parking is available. You complain that we did not offer value for money and you paid £67.55 a night (and you paid service fees to Home and Away - we do not receive this fee / had you booked direct it would have just been the £475 we cannot control the service fees paid by Home and Away! - ) kennel fees would be around this price so i disagree that we do not offer value for money - the price is the same whether two or 5 people stay ! I cleaned the cottage myself for your stay and left toilet roll and kitchen roll so I do not understand why you say these were not supplied ! There is a new approach light to the cottage which was unfortunately switched off - but again we could have sorted this during your stay you only had to ask ! Regards Debra donoghue owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely holiday

  • 4 of 5

Loved the cottage and the area, scenery in and around Bakewell is stunning, everything in Bakewell is within walking distance of of Peak Cottage which is good, cottage itself is lovely, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We really enjoyed our stay at Peak cottage well appointed great location excellent facilities

  • 5 of 5

We had great information on how to get there and the owner was very helpful.Well decorated and in working order.Would recommend it for walking,cycling, visit to Chatsworth and a short walk to Bake well. Thanks

  • Review Submitted: 28-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you entitled it come and see us again soon x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Chatsworth House Park & Garden
Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
East Midlands
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Kilometres
Red lion Bakewell
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
30 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
120 Kilometres
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10

3-5 nights vary and extra nights from £55 email owner for a correct quote as system does not allow the correct short break prices !

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.