OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Da Costa Houseboat**

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 645 sq. ft.
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet

Overview

About the property

Beautiful 1 bedroom houseboat, close to the centre

The Da Costa Houseboat is an absolutely charming houseboat, which has been recently renovated, so in tip top condition. It's a great vacation rental for your family, couples or business trip. Expats looking for a an accommodation in Amsterdam will find this houseboat very convenient too.

The houseboat has a large living room, with fully equipped kitchen and dining area - all modern and beautifully finished. Just off the living room is the sleeping area or bedroom, but this has no door so if you travel with friends it is not totally private. Just off the bedroom you step onto the terrace and the perfect place to relax, with a sundowner and watch the boats and life go by.

The bathroom is very large for a houseboat and has a bath tub as well as a shower cubicle and feels very relaxing.

Located on the edge of the canal ring and on a quieter canal you are still only 30 minutes walk to Dam Square (or a few tram stops), 20 minutes to the museum quarter (Museumplein) and just 10 minutes from the very trendy Nine Streets, Leidseplein and the popular Vondelpark.

The neighbourhood of 'Amsterdam old west' is an up-and-coming trendy area of Amsterdam (some people refer to the area as 'gold west'). There are so many good (coffee) shops, bars and restaurants that you will find yourself staying in this part of the town more than you had expected.

The main street of this neighbourhood is called Kinkerstraat, which is actually an extension of the Elandsgracht in The Jordaan. The Kinkerstraat is a long shopping street, where you'll also find the Ten Kate Market. This is a cozy Amsterdam market. For all kinds of products such as flowers, cheese, wine, baby items, clothing, vegetables, fruit, etc. The shops in the market behind the stables are strongly represented with various products too. Cafés, clothing, furniture, sewing kit, beds, strollers, etc. You can find it all there.

Staying on a houseboat gives you much more freedom than a hotel room or an apartment, but the people living around the boat are not on vacation, so please respect not only the boat, but also its neighbours.

Smoking is only pleasant for the smoker, so please only smoke outside the boat.

More Details

Property Manager
Rui Bandeira
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 November, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house boat in Oud West in Amsterdam-West

Property Type:
  • house boat
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 645 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Double sofa bed in the living room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , Bed measurement: 160 x 200 cm
  • There's no door between the bedroom and the living, therefore not total privacy, although it is not possible to see the bed from the living, because there is a wall separating them.
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • ice skating

Reviews

4/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
Da Costa Houseboat**
average rating of 4.0 based on 3 reviews
Orlando, FL
2

Be careful

  • 2 of 5

I was disappointed in this property. I travel a good bit. I’ve stayed in cheap hostels and I’ve stayed at the Ritz. My girlfriend and I chose this property for a winter trip to Amsterdam. A houseboat seemed like a fun experience. When you pay for a nice property, you expect a certain level of comfort, service, and security. They did give us an early check in which I appreciate. However, when we showed up, the property had been empty for two days. The person greeting us was not familiar with the property and failed to let us know that the entire kitchen, tv and WiFi were all not working. No electricity. The freezer, which he looked at and thought was the refrigerator, he said was fine. It wasn’t fine. It had water filling up the drawers because it had defrosted. This was not a huge deal, but they told us it would be fixed that night, and no one showed up to fix it, so we spent a night with no tv and no kitchen. The person listed on the contract as a contact was on vacation, so I called the owner and left a message. I never got a call back. So I contacted the rental agency. We used an extension cord to plug in the WiFi, and we were told by the rental agency that we were lucky to have it and that it wasn’t a big deal. We were also told we would get a refund for one night, and that never happened either.

But this is all a minor inconvenience compared to what happened the last night. We were sound asleep at 4:30AM our last night at the property when I woke up to hear someone trying to enter through the door. The bedroom is separated by a wall, and although a little groggy, I knew I heard something. I got up and stuck my head around the wall and saw a man open our door WITH A KEY and walk in with a woman. My girlfriend was starting to wake up, and I yelled at them to get the hell out. They backed out, and when they finally closed the door I walked out and looked through the window to see the man and the woman kissing outside the window. Draw whatever conclusions you want, but that was totally unacceptable. My girlfriend and I couldn’t go back to sleep, and my girlfriend was uncomfortable from that moment on. Watching a stranger enter your home with a key to the house with a woman who he was obviously courting was an experience I won’t forget. The owners put on the greeting sheet that we should respect our neighbors, and that was the Dutch way. I think they need to take some of their own advice.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review. We're very sorry for your bad experience. You should have contact us immediately about the intruder, so we could have taken some action. We were not aware of that - this is very serious and we must find out quickly what has happened. There was indeed a problem with one electric circuit breaker (TV and fridge) on the first day, but it was fixed and you still had Internet connection from the beginning. We have offered you an early check-in for free and never promised refund of a full night.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sehr schönes und modernes Hausboot

  • 5 of 5

Man hat alles was man braucht auf dem Hausboot. Die Lage ist ideal, man ist in wenigen Minuten im Stadtzentrum. Das Personal ist auch sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Ich kann das Hausboot nur empfehlen

  • Review Submitted: 25-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review. Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wunderbar!

  • 5 of 5

Sehr gute Lage, sehr gute Ausstattung, sehr freundliche und zuvorkommende Betreuung!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Kilometres
Schiphol
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Metres
Many different in the area
Nearest Ferry
3 Kilometres
PTA
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Amsterdam Central Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
A10
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Metres
Many different in the area
Nearest Beach
20 Kilometres
Zandvoort
Car: not necessary

Additional information will be provided on arrival.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house boat in Oud West, Amsterdam area

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
LS
8 Jan 2018 - 28 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£571
for 3 nights
From
£190
£1,194
 
 
Easter
29 Mar 2018 - 1 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,011
for 4 nights
From
£253
£1,592
 
 
KIng's/Labours Day
26 Apr 2018 - 1 May 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,264
for 5 nights
From
£253
£1,592
 
 
Pride
2 Aug 2018 - 5 Aug 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,011
for 4 nights
From
£253
£1,592
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£634
for 3 nights
From
£211
£1,327
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £176.14

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable