Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Superb detached villa with private pool in a quiet location

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,054 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms 2 bathroom sleeps 4-6 furnished to a very high standard

Completed at the end 2008 this superb villa is one of only eight on an exclusive small development positioned just 2 km from Kalathies in a tranquil setting with spectacular views overlooking hills and olive groves. The property boasts a driveway and parking with private gardens a private pool with sun lounging area to the rear, and two balconies to enjoy the extensive views. There is a fully equipped kitchen including full size fridge freezer, oven, hob, microwave, and washing machine. There is a six-seater dining table and chairs, DVD player with 42' flat screen, along with a double sofa bed. Also downstairs is a shower-room. Upstairs comprises of a double bedroom with double bed and built in wardrobes, and a second bedroom with 2 full sized single beds and built in wardrobes. Also upstairs is the main family bathroom. All fittings are to an exceptional standard. The villa benefits from 4 x air conditioning units an open fireplace, and a built-in electronic safe. BBQ outside. Wifi is available in the Villa

Safety: Although children are welcome to use the pool as with all pools supervision is required at all times. We accept no liability for accident or injury during your stay at the villa and guest must provide their own holiday and travel insurance whilst staying at the property. Towels supplied are for use in the villa only, and guests are asked to supply their own beach towels.

Location: The Villa is one of only 5 on the small and exclusive development Laventi Homes just 2 km from Kalathies on the road between the village and another village Psinthos. Full directions and maps are providing on confirmation of rentals.

More Details

Owner
Tim & Lesley Gill
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 June, 2018

About Tim & Lesley Gill

We are a UK family who live in the South East of England close to the south coast and about 60 miles from London. I run a specialist aviation software business and my wife is a hair dresser. We have 2 children both girls one aged 19 and at University in London and a second aged 9. We all love Rhodes and have many friends on the Island both Greek and English.

Tim & Lesley Gill purchased this villa in 2008

Why Tim & Lesley Gill chose South Aegean

Having holidayed on Rhodes for more than 20 years and made many friends over that time, when we were looking for an investment property for our future retirement, there was only one place it was going to be. The beautiful island of Rhodes. Even though Rhodes has benefited massively in terms of investment into infrastructure, roads, hospitals and commerce since Greece joined the EU, the island still manages to keep all of it's charm and relaxed feel. We were excited about the prospect of building from scratch, and when we found our development with permission for just 8 villas, close to amenities and beaches yet set in a fantastic rural position, for us, the location was perfect.

What makes this villa unique

Why we love our villa so much is because of it's location. Set in the rolling hills 2km from the local village with all the amenities you need, its secluded and peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of the main holiday resorts, but still close to the lovely beaches of Afandou, Tsambika and Kolymbia. The views across the hills and olive groves are simply fantastic and a constant breeze through the surrounding hills keeps the temperature down a degree or two especially welcome during the sometimes hot months of high summer.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in South Aegean in Aegean

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1054 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure , Wet Room with toilet & Sink
  • Both bathrooms have been finished to a very high standard and include vanity units and mirrors.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , Double bed, fitted wardrobes and balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Twin beds fitted wardrobes and balcony,
  • Both bedrooms have balcony's and are air conditioned. They also have full height fitted wardrobes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
17% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Superb detached villa with private pool in a quiet location
average rating of 4.2608695 based on 23 reviews
North Augusta, Ontario, Canada
5

Great Place to Stay !

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 3 weeks in Sept. and found the villa very much to our liking - new, modern, all conveniences, close to beaches and main roads. Unless you're there at a cool time of year, air conditioning is recommended.

Rural setting with olive groves all around. We enjoyed having breakfast daily on the west-facing balcony. Lovely sunsets in the evening.

Car is required, but you're only about 20 minutes from Rhodes town, and less than 10 minutes from Faliraki or Afandou town and beaches. Many restaurants/cafes within a 10 minute drive. Even closer is the village of Kalithies - within 5 min. drive - has cafes, small grocery stores, post office.

Villa did not have phone or internet access, but many restaurants/cafes in Faliraki do. The pool is relatively small and less than 4 feet deep but good for a refreshing dip after a hot day, and suitable for children.

We have no reservations in recommending this to anyone for a vacation in Rhodes.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: September 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
4

Everything you need is there

  • 4 of 5

Amazing villa, spacious for 2 couples,great pool also. We had stunning weather also. The location is countryside which has many plus points but unfortunately also a minor point as owners leave their dogs to bark. The villa has everything you need. lovely outside with sunbeds and chairs. The local villages are typically Greek but supermarkets, butchers and cafes are all there. We really enjoyed driving into Rhodes town and had several days out at local islands. Thank you also for the late check out, really appreciated.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased you enjoyed our villa and your time on Rhodes thanks for your great review hope to see you again another year! Tim & Lesley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mill Hill
3

Fabulous location but the maintenance and cleaning need attention

  • 3 of 5

This is a lovely villa in a great location in a village superbly positioned for beaches, Rhodes Town, Lindos and general exploring.

However we have reported to the owners a long list of cleaning issues and maintenance problems. Everything is relatively minor but they do need to sort these issues out.

Also they have swapped the bedrooms around so the advertised double room is now a twin room. The double bed has been moved into a smaller room and the result is quite cramped. The photos need updating.

Overall we had a lovely holiday

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and useful feedback on our villa in Rhodes. We are sorry that you experienced a less than usual standard of cleanliness in our villa during your stay, and also the unfortunate technical issue with the pool pump, which was rectified after a couple of days of being made aware of the problem. Hopefully the additional cleans during your stay went some way to mitigate your disappointment. Lesley and I stayed in the villa for a week directly after you vacated and can confirm that some of the issues that you raised were indeed justified. Be sure we have already taken steps to rectify these shortcomings and we do not anticipate sub-standard cleaning of the property in the future. We were both very pleased that overall you had a lovely holiday. Tim & Lesley Gill
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Lovely relaxing family break in Kallithea

  • 4 of 5

Lovely villa with pool, a short drive from Kallithea. Definitely need a car as not within walking distance to anything but a nice rural location just a 5 min drive away from all amenities.

Pool great for the kids and a refreshing dip but not deep enough for any budding divers.

A couple of minor issues were resolved within 24 hours which was great with lovely accommodating owners.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review, it was pleasure to have you stay in our villa and we hope you enjoyed your time on Rhodes!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Wall-to-wall sunshine

  • 4 of 5

Lovely villa, will fantastic views. Hadn't expected the pool, so that was a nice surprise. Pretty quiet most of the time apart from the yappy dogs but there's not a lot you can do about that.

Lots of lovely kitties in healthy condition, who were pleased to welcome us and entertain around the pool area, without being too pushy.

Nice to have lots of clean towels to use.

Nice to have a washing machine. Doesn't take many minutes to dry outside!

Could dos:

-check the lightbulbs - so many not working, or missing;

-a task light or standard lamp by the table;

-fix the inspection panel on balcony as it clangs in the wind (I put the table against it to stop the noise) Needs a new bolt?;

-get some decent photos of the accommodation on the website - too many smiley faces at the seaside, (why? Don't need to see yours, we'll provide our own) and NONE of the inside of the villa. A couple wanting to share the double bed are going to be in for a grumpy surprise when they find the room is too small for the bed and they will have to climb over each other to go to the loo in the middle of the night :( Fortunately for us we wanted separate rooms anyway. And seriously, no-one is going to use the downstairs shower except for after the pool Second bathroom it ain't! You need to make it very clear what holidaymakers are getting so good photos of each room are essential;

-fix the bathroom shower bracket or get a longer hose;

-a toaster might be useful instead of having to use the grill;

-it could have been cleaner, as the bathroom bin wanted emptying, there was a mouldy loaf (I think) in one of the cupboards, and there was dust in the corners.

I don't want to sound negative, but if I lived there, they'd be on my to-do list. So many positives, and it we had a lovely time there. Pity it can't be bottled, and spaced out over the year! Thanks for the stay :) :)

  • Review Submitted: 15-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and positive comments and heads up on things you didn't like. They all seem pretty minor maintenance issues mostly and will be easily fixed in time for next season (long busy season finished now) were out in October so can fix all the niggles you didn't like. Glad you had a nice holiday in our villa. Tim & Lesley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Property in a Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5

Stayed long term at this property throughout the summer of 2014.

What a pleasure it was to stay here. The owners are most flexible, and ensured all my requests and needs were taken care of prior to my arrival. Such as early opening of the pool, interior requests, and bedding requests. Once arrived, the property it is exactly as depicted in the pictures, and spotlessly clean. The Gills were there to greet me and ensure it was in top condition, and to ensure that I was happy with the Villa.

It is a lovely warm Villa, decorated to a high standard, it has peaceful surroundings with friendly neighbours. The villa has beautiful views from every direction, and is in a quiet location, yet close enough to all the sights in Rhodes!

I would 100% recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a wonderful escape, families with children, or anyone interested in Rhodes.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Nov-2014
  • Date of Stay: March 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Rhodes Diagoras
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Kalathies
Nearest Ferry
20 Kilometres
Rhodes TRown
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Afandou
Nearest Motorway
6 Kilometres
Falaraki
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Mezie Mezie
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
Afandou
Car: recommended

Although in a quiet position local amenities are a short drive in Kalathies with bars, tavernas and local shops. Within easy reach by car is Afandou beach which provides quiet areas to relax, and Kolymbia bay has a sandy beach and water sports. Falaraki with its busy tourist centre, shops, bars and nightlife is only 6 km drive away for those requiring a less sedate holiday. A car is highly recommended although there are plenty of local taxis in Kalathies but the convenience of your own transport will allow further exploration of this wonderful Island. Bustling Rhodes Town is to the north with its fascinating historical Old Town and the New Town shopping experience not to mention the vibrant waterfront at Mandraki harbour. Lindos and its famous Acroppolis, and lovely sandy beaches is only 35 minutes away. Anthony Quinn bay made famous in the film The Guns Of Naverone, with the impressively restored Italian ruins at Kalithea Spa where you can try snorkling or scuba diving, are approx 8 km.

Other Activities: Water Park

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in South Aegean, Europe

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Mid Season
27 May 2018 - 16 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£575
for 7 nights
£575
 
 
High Season
17 Jul 2018 - 17 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Air conditioning is included in the rental charge from the 11th of July - 3rd September. For all other renal periods is air conditioning is required, a daily charge of 6 Euros is payable locally to cover the increased electricity charges in Greece.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable